DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 49-61 in the reply filed on 3/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 62-68 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 50-52 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 50, the phrases "preferably” and “more preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 51 recites the limitation “SnSb alloy (e.g. 95% Sn, 5% Sb),” which renders the claim indefinite. The use of parentheses around the recited limitation “e.g. 95% Sn, 5% Sb” makes it unclear whether the limitation with in the parentheses is required or not. Additionally, the phrase “e.g.” (i.e., for example) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Furthermore, “95% Sn, 5% Sb” is infinite because it does not specify if the percentages are weight percentages or atomic percentages.
Claim 51 recites the limitation “Innolot alloy (Sn-Ag3.7Cu0.65Bi3.0Sb1.42Ni0.15),” which renders the claim indefinite. The use of parentheses around the recited limitation “Sn-Ag3.7Cu0.65Bi3.0Sb1.42Ni0.15” makes it unclear whether the limitation with in the parentheses is required or not. Furthermore, “Sn-Ag3.7Cu0.65Bi3.0Sb1.42Ni0.15” is infinite because it does not specify if the percentages are weight percentages or atomic percentages.
Regarding claim 52, the phrase "preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 61 recites “Sn20%In2%Ag” which renders the claim indefinite, because the limitation does not specify if the percentages are weight percentages or atomic percentages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2011/0220704), as cited in the IDS dated 11/1/2023, hereinafter “Liu.”
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches a solder material for use in electronic assembly ([0022], Fig. 1), the solder material comprising solder layers, which may be made of SnAg or SnAgCu ([0027]), a core layer comprising a core material, which may be made of Ag ([0028]), the core layer being sandwiched between the solder layers (Fig. 1), wherein the thermal conductivity of the core material (e.g., Ag) is greater than the thermal conductivity of the solder (e.g., SnAg or SnAgCu).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50, 52, and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0220704).
Regarding claim 50, Liu anticipates the limitations recited in claim 1, as detailed above. Liu further teaches wherein the thickness of the solder layers is 5 µm or more, for example 5-50 µm ([0026]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
As to claim 52, Liu anticipates the limitations recited in claim 1, as detailed above. Liu further teaches wherein the thickness of the solder layers is 5 µm or more, for example 5-50 µm ([0026]), and wherein the thickness of the core layer may be between 2 and 10 times as thick as the solder layers ([0023]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Liu further teaches that the core layer may comprise one or more of Cu and Ag ([0028]).
With respect to claim 61, Liu anticipates the limitations recited in claim 1, as detailed above. Liu teaches that the core material may be absent copper, such as a core material made of Ag ([0028]), which reads on claim 61.
Double Patenting
Claims 49-50, 52, and 61 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 29 and 37 of copending Application No. 17/755,193 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 29 and 37 of the reference application discloses a solder material which closely reads on the limitations set forth in the instant claims 49-50 and 52. Specifically regarding the instant claim 61, claims 29 and 37 of the reference application discloses that the solder material may be absent Sn20%In2%Ag and the core material may be absent copper.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 53-60 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 53, the prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the solder material as recited. In particular, the closest prior art, Liu (US 2011/0220704), teaches a solder material for use in electronic assembly ([0022], Fig. 1), the solder material comprising solder layers, which may be made of SnAg or SnAgCu ([0027]), a core layer comprising a core material, which may be made of Ag ([0028]), the core layer being sandwiched between the solder layers (Fig. 1), wherein the thermal conductivity of the core material (e.g., Ag) is greater than the thermal conductivity of the solder (e.g., SnAg or SnAgCu). However, Liu does not teach or adequately suggest wherein the core layer comprises two or more core sublayers separated by one or more further solder layers, the two or more core sublayers formed of core material, the core material of one sublayer having a different coefficient of thermal expansion to the core material of another sublayer, as required by claim 53. Thus, claim 53 is distinct over the teachings of the prior art. Claims 54-60 further limit the subject matter recited in claim 53 and are thus also distinct over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734