DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but the amendment required the new reference show below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17: Line 2 recites “the base portion”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, it appears this claim should depend on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroyer (US 2012/0214346), in view of Lehmann (EP 0 838 878 A1, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1: Leroyer discloses a piston assembly for a spring-loaded contact (Fig. 5), including:
- a piston body (52) to be received into a housing (51) of the spring-loaded contact and having a first end (55) to be connected directly or indirectly with an external part (62),
- a clip (54) to mate with a conductive portion (57) of the spring-loaded contact, wherein the piston body has a through hole (interior of 54 and 531).
Leroyer does not explicitly disclose the through hole extending longitudinally through the piston body and is configured to receive the clip.
However, Lehmann discloses a through hole (at 11A) extending longitudinally through the piston body (11) and is configured to receive the clip (14, as the clip is interior to 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the clip of Leroyer to be in the through hole, as disclosed by Lehmann, in order to ensure adequate pressure on the clip (last sentence, first partial paragraph of page 3 of the translation).
Regarding claim 2: Leroyer discloses the piston body has a length representing 65% to 100% of the length of the piston assembly (about 75% in Fig. 5, as stated above, this claim is indefinite).
Regarding claim 3: Leroyer discloses the first end has a contacting surface (55) to contact the external part directly (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10: Leroyer discloses the clip defines a through cavity (allowing for 571 to be inserted).
Regarding claim 13: Leroyer discloses the conductive portion includes a pin portion (571) for mating with the clip.
Regarding claim 14: Leroyer discloses the pin portion and the piston assembly are configured so that the pin portion does not protrude out of the piston assembly (in that the pin portion is internal to 54).
Regarding claim 15: Leroyer discloses the conductive portion includes a base portion (572) for connecting another external part (70), an electronic or electric circuit (70).
Regarding claim 16: Leroyer discloses a base portion has a base groove (573) to accommodate at least part of a coil spring (56) of the spring-loaded contact.
Claims 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroyer and Lehmann, further in view of Preci-Dip SA (EP 3 764 476).
Regarding claim 11: Leroyer discloses the piston body, but does not explicitly disclose the piston body includes a piston groove to accommodate at least part of a coil spring of the spring-loaded contact.
However, Preci-Dip discloses a piston groove (43) to accommodate at least part of a coil spring (60) of the spring-loaded contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the piston body of Leroyer to include the piston groove in order to better support the spring.
Regarding claim 17: Leroyer discloses a coil spring but does not explicitly disclose the coil spring located between the base portion and the piston body.
However, Preci-Dip discloses the coil spring (60) located between the base portion (20) and the piston body (40, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sping of Leroyer to be between the base portion and the piston body in order to exert a force on the contact.
Regarding claim 18: Leroyer discloses the housing, but does not explicitly disclose the housing includes an external bulge.
However. Preci-Dip discloses the housing (10) includes an external bulge (at 20, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Leroyer to include the bulge in order to accommodate larger components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the spring-loaded contact of the following claims, specifically comprising:
Regarding claim 4: a cap at least partially received in the through holes and closing the first end, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Regarding claim 5: the piston body has a second end opposite the first end and wherein the clip protrudes partially from the second end, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Regarding claim 6 the clip is press-fitted in the through hole, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Regarding claims 7-9: the clip includes a base end, opposite to the clipping portion, wherein the base end is located in the through hole on the side of the first end of the piston body, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834