Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that prior art Elder does not disclose the claimed “first-level map” and “second-level map” because Elder operates on “a single geographical map”, Applicant noting that a change of marker sizes does not provide for a change of map and that a maximum zoom implies a single map. Examiner disagrees with this reading of the claims and Elder and notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims does not provide for the narrow reading of the terms “first-level map” and “second-level map”. A first zoom level map and a second zoom level map as provided for in Elder meets this definition with the “first-level map” being a zoomed in image of the map and the “second-level map” being a zoomed out image. Furthermore, the claimed maps have a first and second level which suggest a level of zoom which is exactly what is disclosed by Elder. While Applicant’s arguments suggest that the claimed maps have some sort of distinction in display, no particular distinction is made in the claims and if a distinction is to be made it should be positively recited. Accordingly, the claims remain rejected by Elder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9-11 and 13-15, 18, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2022/0074754 by Elder.
Regarding claim 1, Elder discloses a map display control method (abstract), comprising increasing a first scale of a first-level map in response to a map enlargement instruction for the first-level map (para. 19 – see changing zoom), and displaying the first-level map according to the first scale (fig. 4A; para. 19, 37-40 – see the first zoom level of the map); and in response to the first scale being greater than or equal to a first threshold (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see the displayed second level map and the adjusted scale of the map), determining a target position in the first-level map according to the map enlargement instruction in response to the first scale being greater than or equal to a first threshold (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see the preset threshold), and displaying a second-level map corresponding to the target position (para. 19, 41; fig. 4B-4C – see the second zoom level being displayed according to the set threshold), position, wherein the first-level map and the second-level map are two different preset maps, wherein displaying the second-level map corresponding to the target position comprises: displaying the second-level map corresponding to the target position in a second initial scale, wherein the second initial scale is greater than or equal to a maximum scale of the first- level map (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see the displayed second level map and the zoom level of the map including the first region).
Regarding claim 2, Elder discloses the map display control method according to claim 1, wherein the first-level map is a map corresponding to a first region, the second-level map is a map corresponding to a second region, the first region comprises the second region, and the second region comprises the target position (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 - see the zoom level of the map including the first region).
Regarding claim 5, Elder discloses the map display control method according to claim 1, wherein the target position is a focus position of the map enlargement instruction (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see the enlargement of the map).
Regarding claim 7, Elder discloses the map display control method according to claim1, further comprising: reducing a second scale of the second-level map in response to a map reduction instruction for the second-level map, and displaying the second-level map according to the second scale; displaying the first-level map in response to the second scale being less than or equal to a second threshold (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see zooming back into the original map).
Regarding claim 9, Elder discloses the map display control method according to claim 7, wherein displaying the first-level map comprises: displaying the first-level map in a first initial scale (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see the scale of the map).
Regarding claim 10, Elder discloses the map display control method according to claim 9, wherein the first initial scale is less than or equal to a minimum scale of the second-level map (fig. 4A-4C; para. 19, 37-41 – see the scale difference of the maps).
Regarding claims 11 and 13-15, 18-19 and 21, these claims are rejected as noted above regarding claims 1-7 and 9-10, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elder.
Regarding claim 8, Elder discloses the map display control method according to claim 7 and user instructions to change the zoom of a map at para. 19. However, Elder does not explicitly disclose wherein the map enlargement instruction is a two-finger open operation acting on the first-level map, and the map reduction instruction is a two-finger pinch operation acting on the second-level map. Examiner is taking official notice of the use of two finger pinch and zoom operations within a computing environment. This type of operation is completely ubiquitous and numerous references could be found that would indicate the use of two finger pinch and zoom operation to navigate a map. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would motivated to use two finger pinch to zoom operations in Elder because the use of such navigation inputs is extremely common as of the effective filing date of 2021 and would be a naturally understood way for users to navigate a map. This natural language of navigation is shared by many users and to use such a technique would allow Elder to conform with the standard that most people know.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715