DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YouTube video by user SSundee titled “POKEMON MASTER imposter Role in Among Us” (hereinafter SSundee) dated March 18th, 2021 which describes functionality of a modified version of the software “Among Us”, in view of evidence of computer program “Among Us” (Innersloth) hereinafter “Among Us”. The evidence constituting Among Us consists of 1) Wikipedia page “Among Us” (AU Wikipedia) describing functionality of the Among Us software, 2) Among-us.fandom.com webpage “Voting” (AU Voting) describing functionality of the Among Us software, and 3) Among-us.fandom.com webpage “Kill” (AU Kill) describing functionality of the Among Us software.
In Reference to Claims 1, 15, and 21
SSundee teaches a method for attacking a target in a game, comprising: providing. by a terminal device, wherein a graphical user interface is provided through a terminal device; wherein the graphical user interface comprises at least a part of a game scene (See SSundee throughout which shows a game interface for a version of the software “Among US” including where a mouse cursor is shown on screen), a first virtual object with a target identity and a plurality of second virtual objects in a survival state, the plurality of second virtual objects are other virtual objects in a same match with the first virtual object (See SSundee at 5:55 where a game starts and SSundee is designated with the “Imposter” role and his name is shown in red text to him. Where examiner considers the “Imposter” to be the first virtual object. And 7:11 which shows an in game screen where the game participants are listed including a plurality of other living participants and one other dead participant), in response to a movement operation for the first virtual object, controlling the first virtual object to move in a first virtual scene, and controlling a range of the first virtual scene displayed in the graphical user interface to change correspondingly according to a movement of the first virtual object (See, for example, 6:26-6:36 where SSundee is shown moving his character around in the environment and where the areas of the map which are in line of sight and fully lit and show the current presence of other players and other area behind walls which are darkened and other players do not appear).
With regard to Claim 15, SSundee also teaches in response to a movement operation for a target virtual object in the second virtual objects, controlling the target virtual object to move in a first virtual scene, and controlling a range of the first virtual scene displayed in the graphical user interface to change correspondingly according to a movement of the target virtual object (See, for example 5:30-5:41 which shows another game session where SSundee is not playing in the Imposter role where he moves his character in the environment and the field of undarkened view moves with his character);
Further, SSundee teaches controlling a temporary virtual object in the first virtual scene to move from an initial position to a position where a target virtual object is located and to perform a specified operation on the target virtual object, such that the target virtual object enters a target state (See 11:16-11:30 where SSundee activates a “Charizard” ability where they are shown transforming into a dragon character which moves above the map and where the can input an operation to shoot a fireball at another game player which flies toward their location and kills them if it hits them), wherein the temporary virtual object is a virtual object controlled by the first virtual object with the target identity, and the target identity is an identity attribute assigned at a beginning of a match (See 5:55 where he is assigned the “Imposter” role at the start of the match where he can use the Charizard power), the target virtual object is a virtual object determined from the plurality of second virtual objects in the survival state (See 11:16-11:35 where SSundee moves his mouse pointer to the location of another player and shoots a fireball at and kills that other player “Henwy” where the targeted player’s avatar is shown replaced by a pile of ash), and the second virtual scene is a virtual scene displayed in the graphical user interface in response to a preset trigger event, wherein the second virtual scene comprises at least one second virtual object or an object icon of the second virtual object (See 11:42-11:44 where an “Emergency Meeting” game state is triggered and then the game moves to a meeting interface where game players are each shown with a depiction of their avatar next to their name and their status as alive or dead is shown. Notice “Henwy” who was killed by the Fireball is shown as dead).
However, although SSundee depicts a game variant of the game “Among Us” and where the Fireballs kill other participants it hits when it is fired at them, which constitutes a “target state,” SSundee does not explicitly teach where the target state is a state where at least a portion of interactions configured for the target virtual object in a second virtual scene are in a restricted state. Nor, does SSundee explicitly teach an electronic device, comprising a processor and memory, wherein the memory stores with a machine-executable instruction capable of being executed by the processor.
AU Wiki teaches where the target state is a state where at least a portion of interactions configured for the target virtual object in a second virtual scene are in a restricted state (See under “Gameplay” “Impostors can sabotage vital systems (such as the ship's oxygen supply), covertly travel through vents, and work with other Impostors to kill Crewmates. If a player dies, they become a ghost.” And “During a meeting, players discuss who they believe is an Impostor based on the available evidence. A plurality vote is held, and the chosen player is ejected from the map and they become a ghost. Players can communicate in a text chat, but only during meetings, and only if they are alive (though ghosts can speak with one another at any time).” Where examiner considers dead players being unable to communicate with living players to constitute “a restricted state.”) and an electronic device, comprising a processor and memory, wherein the memory stores with a machine-executable instruction capable of being executed by the processor (Page 1 “Platforms Android, iOS, Microsoft Windows…” and “It was released on iOS and Android devices in June 2018 and on Windows in November 2018”).
It would be desirable to modify the method and system of SSundee to include a “restricted state” of communication for killed players as taught by Among Us in order to preserve the “social deduction” aspect of the game where killed player cannot tell the remaining living players who killed them. Further in would be desirable to include a device with a processor and memory with machine executable instructions as taught by Among Us so that players can easily download and run the software to play the game on their computing devices such as iPhones or windows computers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method and system of SSundee to include a “restricted state” of communication for killed players and to include a device with a processor and memory with machine executable instructions as taught by Among Us.
In Reference to Claim 2
SSundee teaches in response to the preset trigger event, displaying the second virtual scene on the graphical user interface, and providing an identity voting control for each virtual object in the second virtual scene (See 11:44 which teaches an emergency meeting voting screen. See “Who is the Imposter” “Skip Vote” and “Voting Ends In: 57s”); However, SSundee does not explicitly teach in response to a voting operation for an identity voting control of a third virtual object in the second virtual scene, performing a voting instruction corresponding to the voting operation.
Among Us teaches in response to a voting operation for an identity voting control of a third virtual object in the second virtual scene, performing a voting instruction corresponding to the voting operation (AU Voting “Every living player gets to cast a vote on who they think The Impostor(s) are, and whoever has the most votes, at the end of voting time or when all living players have voted, will get ejected. To vote, players must select the person they wish to vote or the "skip vote" button, then confirm by clicking the green checkmark. The selection can be canceled by clicking the red X, or changed by selecting another player or the "skip vote" button.”).
It would be desirable to modify the method of SSundee to include voting operations corresponding to a players voting instructions in the emergency meeting as taught by Among Us in order to allow players in the social deduction game to eliminate the “Imposter” character if enough players learn or suspect the identity of the imposter player and thereby win the game.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of SSundee to include voting operations corresponding to a player’s voting instructions in the emergency meeting as taught by Among Us.
In Reference to Claim 3
SSundee as modified by Among Us teaches wherein in the second virtual scene, the target virtual object does not have an authority to send information and a voting operation authority for the identity voting control (AU Wiki “Players can communicate in a text chat, but only during meetings, and only if they are alive” and AU Voting “Every living player gets to cast a vote on who they think The Impostor(s) are” where the target player hit be the fireball is dead as described above and thus cannot vote or communicate with living players who can vote).
In Reference to Claim 4
SSundee teaches in response to a selection operation of the target virtual object in the second virtual object, controlling the temporary virtual object in the first virtual scene to move from the initial position to the position where the target virtual object is located, and performing an attack operation on the target virtual object (SSundee 11:16-11:35 where the Charizard is shown shooting a slow moving Fireball that travels from the Charizard’s current position to the position of the targeted player at the location of the mouse cursor who is hit by the Fireball and killed).
In Reference to Claim 5
SSundee teaches in response to the selection operation of the target virtual object in the second virtual object, generating a moving path of the temporary virtual object according to the position where the target virtual object is located; controlling the temporary virtual object to move along the moving path from the initial position until the temporary virtual object reaches the position where the target virtual object is located (SSundee 11:16-11:35 which shows the Fireball traveling from the Charizard to the location of the selected target player).
In Reference to Claim 6
SSundee teaches in response to a path setting operation, generating the moving path of the temporary virtual object; wherein a destination of the moving path comprises: the position where the target virtual object is located (SSundee 11:16-11:35).
In Reference to Claim 8
SSundee teaches in response to a movement of the temporary virtual object, displaying a moving direction of the temporary virtual object in the first virtual scene (SSundee 11:16-11:35).
In Reference to Claim 9
SSundee teaches in response to the selection operation of the target virtual object in the second virtual object, displaying first information; wherein the first information is set to indicate that the temporary virtual object starts moving (SSundee 11:16-11:35 which shows the fireball moving on the game screen. See also 11:25 where when the Fireball is shot the “Fireball” ability icon is greyed out and displays a ten second cooldown countdown. See also 5:30-5:41 which shows that the traveling fireball is displayed on the screen of targeted players as well).
In Reference to Claim 10
SSundee teaches controlling the temporary virtual object to return to the initial position and displaying second information; wherein the second information is set to indicate that the temporary virtual object returns to the initial position (SSundee 11:16-11:35 which shows that when the timer for the Charizard ability counts down to zero the imposter player returns to the location they activated the Charizard ability from and a cooldown timer of 40 seconds appears over the ability).
In Reference to Claim 17
SSundee teaches in response to that the target virtual object is performed with an attack operation by the temporary virtual object, controlling the target virtual object to enter the target state (SSundee 11:16-11:35 where the Fireball hits and kills the selected player it is fired at).
In Reference to Claim 18
SSundee as modified by Among Us teaches in response to that the target virtual object is performed with the specified operation by the temporary virtual object, controlling the target object to be moved to a specified position in a third virtual scene (See SSundee 10:09 and 11:42-11:44 which teaches where multiple emergency meetings can be called in a game. So one emergency meeting could be the second scene and a later addition emergency meeting where the player is still dead and in a restricted state could be the third virtual scene. Not that in the emergency meeting killed players including those killed by the fireball are listed at the bottom of the player list which examiner considers “a specified position in a third virtual scene”); setting that the target virtual object is restricted from using any operation within a specified time period (AU Voting “Depending on the options, there can be a limited amount of discussion time before voting. The voting and discussion periods are adjustable in the options. Every living player gets to cast a vote on who they think The Impostor(s) are, and whoever has the most votes, at the end of voting time or when all living players have voted, will get ejected.” Which teaches that killed players may not perform voting operations during the specified voting time period).
In Reference to Claim 19
SSundee teaches that when a the Charizard ability ends it goes on cooldown controlling the temporary virtual object to return to the initial position, wherein if the temporary virtual object returns to the initial position, the temporary virtual object no longer has an authority to perform the specified operation on the target virtual object (SSundee 11:16-11:35 where when the Charizard ability ends the Charizard disappears and the player returns to their initial position where the activated the ability and the ability is now greyed out with a cooldown timer shown). However, SSundee does not explicitly teach the ability going on cooldown in response to that the plurality of second virtual objects in the survival state complete a specified operation.
Among Us teaches where an impostor ability goes on cooldown in response to that the plurality of second virtual objects in the survival state complete a specified operation (AU Kill “The kill cooldown ranges from 10 to 60 seconds, depending on the game options. Upon spawning in for the first time in the match, The Impostor's kill cooldown starts at 10 seconds from the beginning of the game. After an emergency meeting or The Impostor killing a player, the cooldown will change to that of the in-game options.”).
It would be desirable to modify the method of SSundee to include placing the impostors ability on cooldown as taught by Among Us (And thus resetting the impostor from the Charizard ability as described above) in order to increase the enjoyment of players by managing the pace of play such that player know there is a brief but predicable period of safety after an emergency meeting where the can try to complete task before they have to worry about danger again to help ensure that non imposter players have time to make some progress to winning the game.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of SSundee to include placing the impostor’s ability on cooldown as taught by Among Us.
In Reference to Claim 20
SSundee teaches wherein before the target virtual object is performed with the specified operation by the temporary virtual object, the temporary virtual object is pre-moved from the initial position to the position where the target virtual object is located; in response to that the temporary virtual object starts moving, displaying first information, wherein the first information is set to indicate that the temporary virtual object starts moving; and adjusting a display state of the game scene (SSundee 11:16-11:35 which shows the fireball moving on the game screen. See also 11:25 where when the Fireball is shot the “Fireball” ability icon is greyed out and displays a ten second cooldown countdown. See also 5:30-5:41 which shows that the traveling fireball is displayed on the screen of targeted players as well).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SSundee and evidence of computer program Among Us, further in view of Pierce et al., US 5,299,810.
In Reference to Claim 7
SSundee teaches where a player can shoot a fireball projectile as a temporary virtual object in the game world which travels and hit and kills an opposing player in a survival state, and which teaches multiple players as described above. See also 5:30-5:41 which shows a player moving away from the location of the fireball and it hitting a different player. However, SSundee does not explicitly teach in response to that the projectile moves along the moving path, determining a minimum distance between the virtual object and the projectile in the first virtual scene; in case that there is a fourth virtual object with the minimum distance less than a specified distance in the virtual object in the survival state, determining that the fourth virtual object is attacked by the projectile.
Pierce et al. teaches in response to that the projectile moves along the moving path, determining a minimum distance between the virtual object and the projectile in the first virtual scene; in case that there is a fourth virtual object with the minimum distance less than a specified distance in the virtual object in the survival state, determining that the fourth virtual object is attacked by the projectile (Col. 8 lines 36-60 which teaches that a projectile moving in virtual space checks to see if it hits any allowed targets by checking to see if it’s location “coincides” with a object in the space that is allowed to be hit and if it does it registers a hit with that object. Examiner considers the determination of a projectile in space “coinciding” with allowed targets to constitute a minimum distance less than a specified distance. Thus SSundee modified by Pierce et al. would have the traveling projectile check to see if it coincides with any living player and hit and kill them if so. And another player could “get in the way” of the projectile similar to SSundee 5:30-5:41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of SSundee and Among Us to include collision detection for the Fireball projectile moving in space allowing is to hit the first player it “coincides” with as taught by Pierce et al. in order to increase the sense of excitement and verisimilitude that the fireball projectile is a real object flying through the game world and that player should move out of the way to avoid being hit and killed by the fireball.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of SSundee and Among Us to include collision detection for the Fireball projectile moving in space allowing is to hit the first player it “coincides” with as taught by Pierce et al.
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SSundee and evidence of computer program Among Us, further in view of Lin, US 2023/0078571.
In Reference to Claim 11
SSundee teaches the temporary virtual object is access via a skill that can be activated by the imposter player, and where the temporary virtual object is unable to be controlled to move from the initial position to the position where the target virtual object is located and to perform the specified operation on the target virtual object when using it as described above (SSundee 11:16-11:35 which shows using the Charizard and Charizard Fireball abilities).
However, SSundee does not explicitly teach where in the initial state, the temporary virtual object being in a locked state, wherein in the locked state, the ability cannot be controlled; in response to a current game state reaching a specified condition, setting the ability to be in an unlocked state; wherein in the unlocked state, the ability is able to be controlled.
Lin teaches a game where a skill is initially in a locked state and there is a condition for unlocking and being able to use a game a skill (Par. 58 “In some embodiments, the unlocking condition includes at least one of the follows: the duration of the game reaches a target duration; and the achievement of the first virtual object reaches a target achievement. For example, if the duration of the game reaches 4 min, a first check skill is unlocked, and thus the first virtual object carries a first check skill; and if the duration of the game reaches 5 min, a second check skill is unlocked, and thus the first virtual object carries a second check skill.” See also Par. 57 which teaches where the mode of unlocking the skill based on progress is a different embodiment from the skill being available at the beginning of the game).
It would be desirable to modify the method of SSundee and Among Us to include game progress based ability unlocking as taught by Lin in order to increase the excitement of players be creating ramping action and tension as the game goes on where the imposter unlocks new abilities to use as the game progresses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include game progress based ability unlocking as taught by Lin.
In Reference to Claim 12
SSundee , Among Us and Lin teach where wherein the specified condition comprises: a current game progress reaching a preset progress value, or a number of virtual objects in a dead state in a current game reaching a preset number (Lin Par. 58. For example “the duration of the game reaches a target duration”).
In Reference to Claim 14
SSundee , Among Us and Lin teach wherein in the unlocked state, the temporary virtual object is able to be triggered by the first virtual object with the target identity (SSundee 11:16-11:35 where the imposter player can shoot fireballs with Charizard. Line Par. 57-58 which teach unlocking the ability for use).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CARL V LARSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715