DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: model storage unit, characteristic point extraction unit, original matching degree calculation unit, target object detection unit, parameter setting unit, detection information storage unit, simple matching degree calculation unit in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mai et al. (US2018/0075300) in view of Odashima et al. (US2019/0340456) and Tang et al. (CN112766216).
To claim 1, Mai teaches an image processing device that detects a target object in a captured image of an imaging device (Fig. 3), the image processing device comprising:
a model storage unit that stores a model pattern (paragraph 0113, one or more template images of each attribute class);
a characteristic point extraction unit that extracts a characteristic point in which an attribute value is equal to or more than an extraction threshold (paragraph 0113, an attribute is classified by applying a predetermined threshold to features extracted from a region of the detected candidate, wherein equal to or more than would be an obvious condition for comparison), from the captured image (paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0113, 0130, features extracted from interest points on the candidate objects);
an original matching degree calculation unit that calculates a matching degree between the model pattern and an arrangement of the characteristic point (paragraph 0060, “detectability” of an attribute describes the degree of certainty with which the attribute can be detected in an image of a candidate object; paragraph 0113, an attribute is classified by computing a matching score between features of the detected candidate and one or more template images of each attribute class);
a target object detection unit that detects the target object in the captured image based on a comparison between the matching degree and a detection threshold (450 of Fig. 4; paragraph 0103, the object of interest is described by a predetermined plurality of attributes; paragraphs 0116-0118)
a parameter setting unit that sets a detection parameter including at least the detection threshold (Fig. 9, paragraph 0150, manually pre-defined probability thresholds for testing that the identity of the candidate);
a detection information storage unit that stores detection information including at least a position of the characteristic point used by the original matching degree calculation unit for calculation of the matching degree (obvious as matching degree calculation requires inputs such as extracted characteristic point information) with respect to the characteristic point of the target object detected by the target object detection unit (Fig. 5; paragraphs 0057, 0111, pixel location; paragraphs 0119-0123, candidate object location; paragraphs 0129, vector comprises position); and
a simple matching degree calculation unit that calculates, when the detection parameter has been changed, the matching degree based on the detection parameter changed and the detection information stored before the detection parameter is changed in the detection information storage unit (paragraphs 0060, 0113, “detectability” of an attribute describes the degree of certainty with which the attribute can be detected in an image of a candidate object; paragraph 0115, using the new camera settings to update the confidence that the candidate object is the object of interest; paragraph 0130, the attribute classifier is updated online while executing the method, for example based on feedback from a user about whether the object of interest has been correctly identified; paragraph 0135, the detectability of each attribute is updated online during execution of method. In one example, the detectability is updated online based on feedback from a user about whether the object of interest has been correctly identified; wherein obviously matching degree would change based on changed attributes, e.g., lighting condition, and stored detection information).
Mai explicitly teaches updating detectability/confidence and online updating of attribute classifiers in response to new camera settings or user feedback (paragraphs 0115, 0130, 0135). A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to change detection parameters (for example, detection thresholds or camera settings) in view of Mai’s disclosure that detectability/confidence is updated to reflect changed imaging conditions, because adjusting such parameters is a routine and predictable optimization to maintain detection accuracy when imaging conditions (e.g., lighting or camera settings) change. Recalculating the matching degree based on stored detection information after a parameter change is a predictable and routine step: Mai teaches both (a) storage of detection information (e.g., pixel locations and candidate vectors) and (b) updating detectability/confidence based on new parameters or feedback, thus providing the necessary teachings to perform a recalculation (Fig. 8; paragraphs 0094-0095), which would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to recalculate the matching degree using the stored detection information upon changing detection parameters to maintain or improve detection performance.
But, Mai do not expressly disclose the extraction threshold.
However, such features are well-known in art for target detection in image processing art.
Odashima teach extracting, a characteristic point, a point in which an attribute value is equal to or more than an extraction threshold, the detection parameter to be set by the parameter setting unit includes the extraction threshold (abstract, paragraphs 0005, 0046-0047, 0064-0068, 0097).
In furthering said obvious above, Tang teach tracking a vehicle throughout a captured video (paragraphs 0004, 0050), it is necessary to dynamically update the historical feature point set of the tracked vehicle, wherein at least a position of the feature point stored is used to calculate original matching degree continuously (paragraphs 0014-0016, 0074-0079, 0129-0131), which correspond to Mai’s teaching for continuous detection processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Odashima and Tang into the apparatus of Mai, in order to implement comparison.
To claim 2, Mai, Odashima and Tang teach claim 1.
Mai, Odashima and Tang teach the detection information stored in the detection information storage unit includes the attribute value (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 3, Mai, Odashima and Tang teach claim 2.
Mai, Odashima and Tang teach wherein the attribute value includes at least any one selected from color, luminance, magnitude of a luminance gradient, and direction of the luminance gradient of the characteristic point (paragraph 0057, intensity gradient; paragraph 0059, body colour; paragraphs 0113, 0134-0135, lighting conditions).
To claim 5, Mai, Odashima and Tang teaches claim 1.
Though Mai, Odashima and Tang does not expressly disclose further comprising a user interface unit that displays the matching degree calculated by the simple matching degree calculation unit, displaying matching result is a well-known practice in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate for preferential display, hence Official Notice is taken.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 August 16, 2026