DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “storage elements” in claim 17-32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-24, 26-28, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chorley et al (NPL U).
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Chorley teaches a system and corresponding method for determining information relating to a first periodic signal (Figure 1 and system implied for performing the disclosed method below), the system comprising: a sequence of storage elements each configured to store at least one charged particle (Fig.1 double quantum dot; charge stability diagram shows storage of single electrons), a first terminal (Figure 1: left side of CNT) configured to deliver charged particles to and receive charged particles from a first storage element (left dot of the double quantum dot) of the sequence of storage elements, the first storage element configured to receive a first DC signal and a first AC signal comprising the first periodic signal (Page 1, Col. 2, second paragraph "The two plunger gates..."; Page 2, Col.1, second paragraph: "the occupation number (n, m) of the quantum dots..."), a signal source (Page 1, Col.2, second paragraph: "High frequency synthesized waveforms...") configured to provide a second periodic signal having a period at least substantially equal to an integer time a period of the first periodic signal or the period of the first periodic signal divided by an integer (same frequency; Page 2, Col. 1, second paragraph: "the occupation number (n, m) of the quantum dots..."), a second terminal (Figure 1: right side of CNT) configured to deliver charged particles to and receive charged particles from a second storage element (right dot of the double quantum dot) of the sequence of storage elements, the second storage element being configured to receive the second periodic signal, as a second AC signal, and a second DC signal (Page 1, Col. 2, second paragraph: "The two plunger gates are connected...."), and a current sensor (Page 1, Col. 2, second paragraph: "the current through the nanotube device is measured by a Keithley 6514 electrometer") configured to sense a current transmitted between the two terminals and output a corresponding current signal.
Chorley further teaches a processor (necessarily included to perform the disclosed method) configured to: a) a number of times (See Figure 2 for illustration of performance multiple times): i) during a plurality of periods of the first AC signal, receive the current signal while keeping the first and second DC signals constant (Figure 2; such a charge stability diagram is achieved with generally constant DC signals relative to the frequency of the pumping AC voltage [and an absolutely "constant" signal is impossible, so all "constant" signals are merely close to being absolutely constant in the same sense]; Page 2, Col.1 discloses "modulation frequency f= 6 MHz") and ii) determine or obtain information as to the voltages of the first and second DC signals, where the first and/or second DC signal vary/ies from time to time (Page 2, Col. 1, second paragraph through Col. 2, first paragraph: "Figure 2 shows the resulting current..."; Figure 2 illustrates measurement along the traces in the charge stability diagram, i.e., for different DC signals and each time completed circular trace around the triple point), and b) determine the information based on the current signals (Figure 2/4; Page 2, Col. 1 through Col. 2: information about frequency of voltage, whether trajectory included triple point, whether voltage crossed triple point).
Regarding claim 18, Chorley discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the storage elements are quantum dots (See previously cited sections).
Regarding claim 19, Chorley discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the charged particles are electrons (See previously cited sections).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Chorley discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the signal source is configured to output a sine-shaped or saw tooth-shaped signal (See previously cited sections, including Page 2, Col. 1).
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Chorley discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the signal source is configured to output, as the second periodic signal, the first periodic signal delayed or phase shifted by a predetermined portion, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the information based also on the delay or phase shift (See previously cited sections, including Page 2, Col. 1).
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Chorley discloses the invention of claims 17 and 28 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the controller is configured to alter one or both of the first and the second DC signals between two adjacent times of the number of times (Page 2, Col. 1: "the centers of the circular paths..." [See resulting pumped current stability diagrams in Figure 2]).
Regarding claim 23, Chorley discloses the invention of claim 21 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the signal source is controllable by the processor to select one of a plurality of predetermined delays or phase shifts, the controller being configured to: for a plurality of different delays or phase shifts: control the delay element to delay the periodic signal by the pertaining delay or phase shift, and perform steps a) and b), where step b) comprises determining the information from the received current signals and the delays/phase shifts (See previously cited sections, including Figure 2).
Regarding claim 24, Chorley discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Chorley teaches that the processor is configured to control the signal source to output a selected second periodic signal of a plurality of second periodic signals, and wherein the processor is configured to: perform step a) for each of a number of different second periodic signals and perform step b) on the basis of the current signals received and the second periodic signals used for each step a) (See previously cited sections, including Figure 2).
Claim(s) 17-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Platonov et al (NPL V).
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Platonov teaches a system and method for determining information relating to a first periodic signal (Abstract; Figure 1 and system implied for performing the disclosed method below; Figure 5; also see Page 13, Col. 1), the system comprising: a sequence of storage elements each configured to store at least one charged particle (Figure 5 and corresponding descriptions; Page 13, Col. 1), a first terminal (of left lead in Figure 5) configured to deliver charged particles to and receive charged particles from a first storage element of the sequence of storage elements, the first storage element configured to receive a first DC signal and a first AC signal comprising the first periodic signal (in Figure 5, VL acts on left lead; also see Figure 1) a signal source configured to provide a second periodic signal having a period at least substantially equal to an integer time a period of the first periodic signal or the period of the first periodic signal divided by an integer (Figure 5; Page 1, Col. 2, final paragraph), a second terminal (of right lead in Figure 5) configured to deliver charged particles to and receive charged particles from a second storage element of the sequence of storage elements, the second storage element being configured to receive the second periodic signal, as a second AC signal, and a second DC signal (in Figure 5, VR acts on quantum dot; also see Figure 1), and a current sensor configured to sense a current transmitted between the two terminals and output a corresponding current signal (See Figure 1a).
Platonov further teaches a processor (necessarily included to perform the disclosed method) configured to: a) a number of times (See Figure 1 for illustration of performance multiple times): i) during a plurality of periods of the first AC signal, receive the current signal while keeping the first and second DC signals constant (Figure 1a; also as noted above, such a charge stability diagram is achieved with generally constant DC signals relative to the frequency of the pumping AC voltage [and an absolutely "constant" signal is impossible, so all "constant" signals are merely close to being absolutely constant in the same sense]), and ii) determine or obtain information as to the voltages of the first and second DC signals, where the first and/or second DC signal vary/ies from time to time (Figure 1a; Page 1, Col. 2, final paragraph), and b) determine the information based on the current signals (Page 5, Col. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the storage elements are quantum dots (See previously cited sections, including Figure 1 and Page 13, Col. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the charged particles are electrons (See previously cited sections, including Figure 1).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the signal source is configured to output a sine-shaped or saw tooth-shaped signal (See equation 1).
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the signal source is configured to output, as the second periodic signal, the first periodic signal delayed or phase shifted by a predetermined portion, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the information based also on the delay or phase shift (See equation 1, and Figures 1c and 2).
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 28 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the controller is configured to alter one or both of the first and the second DC signals between two adjacent times of the number of times (See Figure 1a).
Regarding claim 23, Platonov discloses the invention of claim 21 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the signal source is controllable by the processor to select one of a plurality of predetermined delays or phase shifts, the controller being configured to: for a plurality of different delays or phase shifts: control the delay element to delay the periodic signal by the pertaining delay or phase shift, and perform steps a) and b), where step b) comprises determining the information from the received current signals and the delays/phase shifts (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 24, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 26 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the processor is configured to control the signal source to output a selected second periodic signal of a plurality of second periodic signals, and wherein the processor is configured to: perform step a) for each of a number of different second periodic signals and perform step b) on the basis of the current signals received and the second periodic signals used for each step a) (See Figure 2).
Regarding claims 25 and 32, Platonov discloses the invention of claims 17 and 28 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the processor is configured to, in step b), to determine as the information a voltage over time of the first periodic signal (See Page 5, Col. 1, and previously cited sections).
Regarding claim 29, Platonov discloses the invention of claim 28 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that a delay is identified at which at least substantially no current is generated, and wherein the information relates to the delay (Figure 3; Page 4, Col. 1, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 30, Platonov discloses the invention of claim 28 as discussed above, and Platonov teaches that the step of deriving the information comprises sequentially selecting a plurality of delays and basing the determination on the currents detected and the delays (Figure 3; Page 4, Col. 1, first paragraph).
Conclusion
/KEVIN R STECKBAUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747