Remarks
This Office Action full acknowledges applicant’s remarks filed 07/17/2026. Claims 1-7 and 9-30 are pending. Claims 1, 5-8, 23, and 30 have been amended. Claim 8 was canceled.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because the term “know” should read as “known” in the expression “known concentration” in the last line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the microfluidic device” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note, claim 1 from which claim 4 depends recites “a plurality of microfluidic devices.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 2, 9, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0176149 to Shachar et al. (cited by applicant) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0019881 to Fujimoto and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0352550 to Bhargava et al.
Shachar et al. discloses in Figs. 2 and 4 a microfluidic cartridge (microfluidic manifold 11 [0105]) which includes a substrate comprising several microfluidic devices such as a reservoir chamber 26, a piezo pump 36, a one way check-valve 68, a piezoelectric active mixer 41, a passive mixer 42 etc., as well as a negative temperature coefficient thermistor 156 as a temperature sensors. Shachar et al. further discloses an RGB LED and photodiode 162, 166 for measuring light absorption spectra The system is coupled to a microcontroller 54 to determine the presence and concentration of circulating analytes based on absorption spectra [0110].
Shachar et al. does not teach that the controller is configured to determine a temperature- compensated concentration of the analytes based on the measured absorbance value and real-time temperature.
Fujimoto teaches an analyzer that analyzes samples using absorbance. The samples react with reagents in reaction cells. (Abstract). Absorbance is measured in the reaction cells. [0006]
Fujimoto teaches that “the value of the absorbance may be affected by the temperature of the reaction cell 24. Thus, in Embodiment 1, the calculating part 14 corrects the reactivity of the sample that reacts with the reagent, for example, the absorbance or a density of a component that is calculated from the absorbance, based on the temperature of the reaction cell 24.” [0069]
Fujimoto teaches that the analyzer includes a memory part for storing a correction factor group that is set for each temperature. ([0030]) and that a calculating part 14 reads out a correction factor that corresponds to the temperature of the reaction cell among the correction factor group, and divides the absorbance or the density of the component by the correction factor that is read out, thereby achieving correction. [0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto to include correction factors for different temperatures and use the controller of Shachar et al. to adjust/correct absorbance measurements for different temperatures for purposes of determining and providing temperature-compensated absorbance concentration determinations of the analytes in Shachar et al.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto does not teach a temperature sensor configured and arranged to measure a real-time temperature of the sample fluid upstream of and proximate to the measurement device.
Bhargava et al. teaches a discrete element for microfluidics (Title), including a glass bead thermistor (sensor) 1405 that is configured to make contact with a channel 1410 and therefore measure the temperature of the microfluidic flow in the channel. (Fig. 14; [0141])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto to include a temperature sensor configured and arranged to measure a real-time temperature of the sample fluid as taught by Bhargava et al.
It would have further been obvious to provide the temperature sensor upstream of and proximate to the measurement device for purpose of obtaining the temperature of the sample fluid when absorbance measurements are being made.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. and Bhargava et al. renders all the limitations of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto renders claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites that temperature sensor is embedded internally in the substrate proximate to the sample fluid.
In Fig. 14 of Bhargava et al. the temperature sensor is located internally of the module and proximate to channel 1410.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to locate the temperature in the substrate of Shachar et al. proximate to the sample fluid in view of Bhargava et al. teaching the temperature sensor is located internally of the module and proximate to the flow channel.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 9, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 9 depends.
Claim 9 recites that the temperature sensor is a thermistor or a thermocouple.
As noted above, Bhargava et al. teaches discrete element for microfluidics (Title), including a glass bead thermistor (sensor) 1405
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 9 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 10, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 10 depends.
Claim 10 recites that the controller is configured to receive the absorbance value from the measurement device and correlate the absorbance value to the concentration of analyte using a preprogrammed base calibration curve.
Shachar et al. teaches spectrophotometry, including light absorption spectra can be used for detection. [0008], [0110]
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. provides for correlating the absorbance measurement to the concentration of analyte using the correction factors that adjust measured absorbance to temperature (equivalent to a base calibration curve).
Therefore, Shachar et al. in Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 10 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 14, as noted above, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 14 depends.
Claim 14 recites that the measurement device is an optical absorbance measurement device.
As noted above, Shachar et al. teaches spectrophotometry including light absorption spectra can be used for detection. [0008], [0110]
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 14 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 15, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 15 depends.
Claim 15 recites that the measurement device is mounted in a mounting aperture extending through and between opposite first and second major sides of the substrate.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto does not teach that the measurement device is mounted in a mounting aperture extending through and between opposite first and second major sides of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shahar et al. in view of Fujimoto to provide the photo diode sensing device shown in Fig. 4 in an aperture extending though and between the sides of the substrate as a fabrication design that will allow access of the photo diode sensing device for repair or replacement.
Therefore, Shachar in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 15 obvious.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 16, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 15 obvious from which claim 16 depends.
Claim 16 recites that the measurement device includes a transmitter printed circuit board mounted adjacent to the first major side and an opposing detector printed circuit board mounted adjacent to the second major side.
Shachar et al. teaches a printed circuit board 184 and teaches that the microprocessor analyzes the data and stores or transmits the results to a user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to provide the measurement device with a transmitter printed circuit board mounted adjacent to a one side of the substrate and an opposing detector printed circuit board mounted adjacent to another side of the substrate for purposes of processing the absorbance measurements and transmitting the results to a user as taught by Shachar et al.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 16 obvious.
2. Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 UCS 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. as applied to claim 10 and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,822,058 to Adler-Golden et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 11, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 10 obvious from which claim 11 depends.
Claim 11 recites that the controller is configured to: receive the real-time temperature of the sample fluid from the temperature sensor; and automatically adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. does not teach that the controller is configured to: receive the real-time temperature of the sample fluid from the temperature sensor; and automatically adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature.
Adler-Golden et al. teaches receiving real-time temperature data 40 (or Fig. 7A, no. 114) of a sample fluid from a thermistor 50 (temperature sensor; col. 4, lines 12-17); and automatically adjusting a calibration curve of the spectra 126 based on real-time temperature measurements (col. 6, lines 42-63; col. 7, lines 34-47; see Figs. 7A,C).
Adler-Golden further teaches the measured spectra is correlated to a library spectra 112 (i.e., preprogrammed base calibration curve) (col. 6, lines 58-63; col. 7, lines 34-47).
Adler-Golden teaches that the disclosed manner of adjusting the calibration curve bas on real-time temperature measurement provides motivation and states that this process improves measurement accuracy (col. 7, lines 61-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to configure the controller to: receive the real-time temperature of the sample fluid from the temperature sensor; and automatically adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature in the manner taught by Adler-Golden to improve measurement accuracy.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 11 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 12, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 10 obvious from which claim 12 depends.
Claim 12 recites that the controller uses a plurality of preprogrammed temperature compensation curves to adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature of the sample fluid received from the temperature sensor.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. does not teach that the controller uses a plurality of preprogrammed temperature compensation curves to adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature of the sample fluid received from the temperature sensor.
As noted above, Adler-Golden et al. teaches that the use of temperature adjusted calibration curves improves measurement accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to store derived temperature compensated calibration curves (as preprogrammed temperature compensation curves) as references to compare and adjust a further measured base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature of the sample fluid received from the temperature sensor.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 12 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 13, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 12 obvious from which claim 13 depends.
Claim 13 recites that the temperature compensation curves provide a variance of absorbance versus a range of temperatures for plural calibration standard fluids each having a different know concentration of the analyte.
Claim 13 does not further limit the elements of the microfluidic manifold of claim 12
In Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. as applied to claim 12 above, the temperature compensation curves provide a variance of absorbance versus a range of temperatures for plural calibration standard fluids each having a different know concentration of the analyte.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 13 obvious.
3. Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0243304 to Padmanabhan et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 20, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 20 depends.
Claim 20 recites that the measurement device is threadably coupled to the substrate by fasteners.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. does not teach that measurement device is threadably coupled to the substrate by fasteners.
Padmanabhan et al. teaches a using screws to fix a plate member to an optical analysis cartridge which plate member can include a hole for allowing one or more light detectors of the optical assembly module 140 to directly access the flow stream window of the removable cartridge. [0084]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to configure the measurement device to be coupled by a plate member and screws as taught by Padmanabhan et al. for purposes of assembly and/or easy replacement of the measurement device.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Padmanabhan et al. renders claim 20 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 21, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Padmanabhan et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 21 depends.
Claim 21 recites that the substrate is multi-layered comprised of a plurality of layers formed of polymeric material joined together.
Shachar et al. illustrates that the microfluidic cartridge is formed from several layers in Fig. 5 and teaches that the microfluidic system can be made of cyclic olefin copolymer. [0113]
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Padmanabhan et al. renders claim 21 obvious.
III) Regarding applicant’s claim 22, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 21 obvious from which claim 22 depends.
Claim 22 recites that the microfluidic devices are embedded within the layers between opposing outer major surfaces of the substrate.
In Shachar et al. at least some of the microfluidic devices are embedded within the layers between opposing outer major surfaces of the substrate as shown in Figs. 5 and 6.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Padmanabhan et al. renders claim 22 obvious.
4. Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. as applied to claim 14 and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,537,501 to Holl et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 17, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 14 obvious from which claim 17 depends.
Claim 17 recites that the measurement device includes an elongated measurement passageway formed between a pair of transparent windows, an inlet fluidly coupled to the measurement passageway and configured to receive the sample fluid from one of the microchannels, and an outlet fluidly coupled to the measurement passageway and configured to receive the sample fluid therefrom and return the sample fluid to another one of the microchannels.
In Fig. 5 Shachar et al. shows that the microfluidic cartridge is formed from several layers.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. does not teach the measurement device includes an elongated measurement passageway formed between a pair of transparent windows, an inlet fluidly coupled to the measurement passageway and configured to receive the sample fluid from one of the microchannels, and an outlet fluidly coupled to the measurement passageway and configured to receive the sample fluid therefrom and return the sample fluid to another one of the microchannels.
Holl et al. discloses a laminated microfluidic flow device in which a channel is formed in transparent sheets and teaches that the sheets themselves can serve as windows. (column 7, lines 27-30)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the microfluidic cartridge of Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. from transparent sheets that serve as windows as taught by Holl et al. defining the microchannels of Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al., including end portions that coincide with the microchannels of Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al. renders claim 17 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 18, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al. renders claim 17 obvious from which claim 18 depends.
Claim 18 recites that the measurement passageway is vertically oriented and operable to carry entrained gas in the sample fluid out of the measurement passageway.
Shachar et al. teaches removing bubbles before the measure is taken.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al., the device can be oriented so that the measurement pathway is vertically oriented and operable to carry entrained gas in the sample fluid out of the measurement passageway.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al. renders claim 18 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 19, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Hartstein et al. renders claim 18 obvious from which claim 19 depends.
Claim 19 recites that the sample fluid flows upwards in the measurement passageway.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al., the device can be oriented so and the pump of Shachar et al. can be used to direct the sample fluid upwards in the measurement passageway.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al renders claim 19 obvious.
5. Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of European Patent Application Publication No. EP3543680 to Müske et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 2 obvious from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 recites that the temperature sensor is mounted in a measurement bore formed through the substrate from a first outer surface of the substrate.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. includes a temperature sensor, but does not teach that the temperature sensor is embedded internally in the substrate proximate to the sample fluid.
Müske et al. teaches sample holder that is providing temperature sensors 19 in bores 16c as shown in Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to embed the temperature sensor in a bore of the cartridge as taught by Müske et al. with the bore formed in the substrate proximate to the sample fluid for purposes of measuring the temperature of the fluid.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Müske et al. and Bhargava et al. renders claim 3 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 3 obvious from which claim 4 depends.
Claim 4 recites that the microfluidic device includes at least one micropump, the temperature sensor being configured to measure the real-time temperature of the sample fluid in the at least one micropump.
As noted above, Shachar et al. teaches a piezo pump that is interpreted as being a micropump.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. does not teach that the temperature sensor being configured to measure the real-time temperature of the sample fluid in the at least one micropump.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. to configured the temperature sensor to measure the real-time temperature of the sample fluid in the at least one micropump, for purposes of measuring the fluid flowing through the device.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 4 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 5 depends.
Claim 5 recites that the measurement bore comprises a closed terminal end separated from the at least one micropump by a partition wall formed from the substrate.
Müske et al. teaches that the bore in which the temperature sensor is position is a blind bore. (English translation, page 3, 3rd paragraph)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. to provide the temperature sensor in a blind bore having an end forming a partition near the at least one micropump for purposes of measuring the fluid flowing through the device.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava and Müske et al. renders claim 5 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites that the at least one micropump is fluidly coupled to the measurement device located upstream of and proximate to the measurement device.
Shachar et al. teaches a micropump located upstream to the measurement device as shown in Fig. 4.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et ai. and Müske et al. renders claim 6 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 6 obvious to which claim 7 is assumed to depend.
Claim 7 recites that the at least one micropump is fluidly coupled to the measurement device through a microvalve configured to control flow of the sample fluid between the at least one micropump and the measurement device.
Shachar et al. teaches a one-way check valve between reservoir chamber 26 to a pump chamber 70 and piezo-pump 36. [0111]
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. does not teach the at least one micropump is fluidly coupled to the measurement device through a microvalve configured to control flow of the sample fluid between the at least one micropump and the measurement device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. to couple the micropump to the measurement device through a microvalve configured to control flow of the sample fluid between the at least one micropump and the measurement device, for purposes of being able to control the fluid flow to the measurement device.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 7 obvious.
VI) Regarding applicant’s claim 8, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Müske et al. renders claim 3 obvious from which claim 8 depends.
Claim 8 recites that the measurement bore and temperature sensor are configured and arranged to measure the real-time temperature of the sample fluid upstream of the measurement device.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. does not teach that the measurement bore and temperature sensor are configured and arranged to measure the real-time temperature of the sample fluid upstream of the measurement device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. so that the measurement bore and temperature sensor are configured and arranged to measure the real-time temperature of the sample fluid upstream of the measurement device for purposes of accurately measuring the temperature when the analyte content is measured.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Müske et al. renders claim 8 obvious.
6. Claims 23, 24, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al.
As noted above, Shachar et al. discloses in Figs. 2 and 4 a microfluidic cartridge (microfluidic manifold 11 [0105]) which includes a substrate comprising several microfluidic devices such as a reservoir chamber 26, a piezo pump 36, a one way check-valve 68, a piezoelectric active mixer 41, a passive mixer 42 etc., as well as a negative temperature coefficient thermistor 156 as a temperature sensors. Shachar et al. further discloses an RGB LED and photodiode 162, 166 for measuring light absorption spectra The system is coupled to a microcontroller 54 to determine the presence and concentration of circulating analytes based on absorption spectra [0110].
Shachar et al. does not teach that the controller is configured to determine a temperature- compensated concentration of the analytes based on the measured absorbance value and real-time temperature.
Fujimoto teaches an analyzer that analyzes samples using absorbance. The samples react with reagents in reaction cells. (Abstract). Absorbance is measured in the reaction cells. [0006]
Fujimoto teaches that “the value of the absorbance may be affected by the temperature of the reaction cell 24. Thus, in Embodiment 1, the calculating part 14 corrects the reactivity of the sample that reacts with the reagent, for example, the absorbance or a density of a component that is calculated from the absorbance, based on the temperature of the reaction cell 24.” [0069]
Fujimoto teaches that the analyzer includes a memory part for storing a correction factor group that is set for each temperature. ([0030]) and that a calculating part 14 reads out a correction factor that corresponds to the temperature of the reaction cell among the correction factor group, and divides the absorbance or the density of the component by the correction factor that is read out, thereby achieving correction. [0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto to include correction factors for different temperatures and use the controller of Shachar et al. to adjust/correct absorbance measurements for different temperatures for purposes of determining and providing temperature-compensated absorbance concentration determinations of the analytes in Shachar et al.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto does not teach a temperature sensor configured and arranged to measure a real-time temperature of the sample fluid upstream of and proximate to the measurement device.
Bhargava et al. teaches discrete element for microfluidics (Title), including a glass bead thermistor (sensor) 1405 that is configured to make contact with a channel 1410 and therefore measure the temperature of the microfluidic flow in the channel. (Fig. 14; [0141])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto to include a temperature sensor configured and arranged to measure a real-time temperature of the sample fluid as taught by Bhargava et al.
It would have further been obvious to provide the temperature sensor upstream of and proximate to the measurement device for purpose of obtaining the temperature of the sample fluid when absorbance measurements are being made.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 23, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. and Bhargava renders all the limitations of claim 23 obvious.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto renders claim 23 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 24, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. and Bhargava renders claim 23 obvious from which claim 24 depends.
Claim 24 recites that the controller receives the absorbance value from the measurement device and correlates the absorbance value to the concentration of analyte using a preprogrammed base calibration curve.
Shachar et al. teaches spectrophotometry, including light absorption spectra can be used for detection. [0008], [0110]
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. provides for correlating the absorbance measurement to the concentration of analyte using the correction factors that adjust measured absorbance to temperature (equivalent to a base calibration curve).
Therefore, Shachar et al. in Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 24 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 28, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. and Bhargava et al. renders claim 23 obvious from which claim 28 depends.
Claim 28 recites that the measurement device is an optical absorbance measurement device.
As noted above, Shachar et al. teaches spectrophotometry including light absorption spectra can be used for detection. [0008], [0110]
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava renders claim 28 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 29, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. and Bhargava renders claim 23 obvious from which claim 29 depends.
Claim 29 recites that the step of measuring the absorbance value associated with the analyte further comprises flowing the sample fluid vertically upwards through a measurement passageway of the measurement device.
In Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al., the device can be oriented so and the pump of Shachar et al. can be used to direct the sample fluid upwards in the measurement passageway.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Holl et al renders claim 19 obvious.
7. Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 UCS 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. as applied to claim 24 and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,822,058 to Adler-Golden et al.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 25, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. renders claim 24 obvious from which claim 25 depends.
Claim 25 recites that the controller is configured to: receive the real-time temperature of the sample fluid from the temperature sensor and automatically adjusts the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. does not teach that the controller is configured to: receive the real-time temperature of the sample fluid from the temperature sensor and automatically adjusts the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature.
Adler-Golden et al. teaches receiving real-time temperature data 40 (or Fig. 7A, no. 114) of a sample fluid from a thermistor 50 (temperature sensor; col. 4, lines 12-17); and automatically adjusting a calibration curve of the spectra 126 based on real-time temperature measurements (col. 6, lines 42-63; col. 7, lines 34-47; see Figs. 7A,C).
Adler-Golden further teaches the measured spectra is correlated to a library spectra 112 (i.e., preprogrammed base calibration curve) (col. 6, lines 58-63; col. 7, lines 34-47).
Adler-Golden teaches that the disclosed manner of adjusting the calibration curve bas on real-time temperature measurement provides motivation and states that this process improves measurement accuracy (col. 7, lines 61-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al. to configure the controller to: receive the real-time temperature of the sample fluid from the temperature sensor; and automatically adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature in the manner taught by Adler-Golden to improve measurement accuracy.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 25 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 26, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto. Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 25 obvious from which claim 26 depends.
Claim 26 recites that the controller uses a plurality of preprogrammed temperature compensation curves to adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature of the sample fluid received from the temperature sensor.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler et al. does not teach that the controller uses a plurality of preprogrammed temperature compensation curves to adjust the base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature of the sample fluid received from the temperature sensor.
As noted above, Adler-Golden et al. teaches that the use of temperature adjusted calibration curves improves measurement accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhagava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. to store derived temperature compensated calibration curves (as preprogrammed temperature compensation curves) as references to compare and adjust a further measured base calibration curve based on the real-time temperature of the sample fluid received from the temperature sensor.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 26 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 27, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 26 obvious from which claim 26 depends.
Claim 13 recites that the temperature compensation curves provide a variance of absorbance versus a range of temperatures for plural calibration standard fluids each having a different know concentration of the analyte.
Claim 13 merely recites a characteristic of the temperature compensation curves of claim 26.
In Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. as applied to claim 26 above, the temperature compensation curves provide a variance of absorbance versus a range of temperatures for plural calibration standard fluids each having a different know concentration of the analyte.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto, Bhargava et al. and Adler-Golden et al. renders claim 27 obvious.
8. Claim 30 is rejected under 35USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto and Bhargava et al.
As noted above, Shachar et al. discloses in Figs. 2 and 4 a microfluidic cartridge (microfluidic manifold 11 [0105]) which includes a substrate comprising several microfluidic devices such as a reservoir chamber 26, a piezo pump 36, a one way check-valve 68, a piezoelectric active mixer 41, a passive mixer 42 etc., as well as a negative temperature coefficient thermistor 156 as a temperature sensors. Shachar et al. further discloses an RGB LED and photodiode 162, 166 for measuring light absorption spectra. The system is coupled to a microcontroller 54 to determine the presence and concentration of circulating analytes based on absorption spectra [0110].
Shachar et al. does not teach that the controller is configured to determine a temperature- compensated concentration of the analytes based on the measured absorbance value and real-time temperature.
Fujimoto teaches an analyzer that analyzes samples using absorbance. The samples react with reagents in reaction cells. (Abstract). Absorbance is measured in the reaction cells. [0006]
Fujimoto teaches that “the value of the absorbance may be affected by the temperature of the reaction cell 24. Thus, in Embodiment 1, the calculating part 14 corrects the reactivity of the sample that reacts with the reagent, for example, the absorbance or a density of a component that is calculated from the absorbance, based on the temperature of the reaction cell 24.” [0069]
Fujimoto teaches that the analyzer includes a memory part for storing a correction factor group that is set for each temperature. ([0030]) and that a calculating part 14 reads out a correction factor that corresponds to the temperature of the reaction cell among the correction factor group, and divides the absorbance or the density of the component by the correction factor that is read out, thereby achieving correction. [0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto to include correction factors for different temperatures and use the controller of Shachar et al. to adjust/correct absorbance measurements for different temperatures for purposes of determining and providing temperature-compensated absorbance concentration determinations of the analytes in Shachar et al.
Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto does not teach a temperature sensor configured and arranged to measure a real-time temperature of the sample fluid upstream of and proximate to the measurement device.
Bhargava et al. teaches discrete element for microfluidics (Title), including a glass bead thermistor (sensor) 1405 that is configured to make contact with a channel 1410 and therefore measure the temperature of the microfluidic flow in the channel. (Fig. 14; [0141])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto to include a temperature sensor configured and arranged to measure a real-time temperature of the sample fluid as taught by Bhargava et al.
It would have further been obvious to provide the temperature sensor upstream of and proximate to the measurement device for purpose of obtaining the temperature of the sample fluid when absorbance measurements are being made.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 30, as noted above Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. renders all the limitations of claim 30 obvious.
Therefore, Shachar et al. in view of Fujimoto renders claim 30 obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 5,726,026 to Wilding et al. teaches a Mesoscale device in which a substrate is sandwiched between two transparent layers. (column 8, lines 44-47)
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798