DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a control device” cited in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a guiding means” in claim 1;
“a further guiding means” in claim 1;
“an actuating means” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a radiation source" in line 4 and “at least one radiation source” in line 6. It is not clear if “a radiation source” is one of or different from “at least radiation source”. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the partial flow" in line 5 and “a partial flow” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 2-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-11, 13-14, and 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over by Law (PG-PUB US 20160271550).
Regarding claim 1, Law discloses an air purification apparatus (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises at least one UV sterilizer 29 in a gas treatment section 9 for receiving a portion of air flow 15, wherein at least another portion of air flow 15 does not flow through the gas treatment section 9 (i.e., a irradiation device …, at least one/a radiation source…, a guiding means …, at least one further guiding means …, Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0027], [0056], [0081], & [0085]).
Law teaches that the UV sterilizer 29 irradiates UV light within the apparatus (paragraph [0085]). It is known that the wavelength of UV radiation is in a range of 100 to 400 nm. It has been held that the disclosure in the prior art of any value within the claimed range is an anticipation of that range. And a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed range overlaps range disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90.
“a guiding means” and “at least one further guiding means” are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Thus, they are interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The instant specification discloses that the guiding means 9 is designed as a flow channel while the further guiding means is designed as a flow channel that does not open or by-pass the irradiation device (paragraphs [0114] – [0115], & [0122]).
Law teaches that a flow path/channel flows through the UV sterilizer 29 while at least another flow path/channel does not pass through the UV sterilizer 29 (Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0027], & [0081]), reading on “a guiding means” and “at least one further guiding means”, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Law teaches that the gas treatment section 9 is provided in an enclosure extending from an inlet and an outlet (Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0027] & [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Law teaches that the UV sterilizer 29 is provided within the gas treatment section 9 extending from the inlet and the outlet and the another portion of the split air flow 15 flows from the inlet and the outlet (Figures 3 & 5, paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Law teaches a plurality of flow path/channels by-passing the UV sterilizer (Figures 3 & 5).
Regarding claim 5, Law teaches that the inlet includes a plurality of apertures and is coupled to the flow path/channel to the UV sterilizer 29 (Figures 3 & 5, paragraph [0081] & [0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Law teaches that the flow path/channel from the UV sterilizer 29 combines with the flow path/channel by-passing the UV sterilizer 29 downstream thereof (Figures 3 & 5, paragraph [00856] & [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, it should be noted that velocity of the partial flow is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Moreover, Law teaches that the blower 12 and/or 17 is provided and a central processing mechanism is used to control the speed of the blowers to achieve desired velocity for properly operating the apparatus (paragraphs [0031] –[0036] & [0084]).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Law teaches that the device comprises a particle filter which may be HEPA (Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0041], [0055] & [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, Law teaches that at least one blower 12 is provided (Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0027], & [0081]).
Regarding claim 11, Law teaches that blowers 12 and 17 are provided (Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0027], & [0081]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, it should be noted that volumetric flow of the partial flow is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Moreover, Law teaches that the blower 12 and/or 17 is provided and a central processing mechanism is used to control the speed of the blowers to achieve desired volumetric flow rate for properly operating the apparatus (paragraphs [0031] –[0036] & [0084]).
Regarding claims 16, and 19-20, it should be noted that volumetric flow or velocity of the partial flow is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Moreover, Law teaches that the blower 12 and/or 17 is provided and a central processing mechanism is used to control the speed of the blowers to achieve desired volumetric flow rate for properly operating the apparatus (paragraphs [0031] –[0036] & [0084]).
Regarding claim 17, Law teaches that the device comprises a particle filter which may be HEPA (Figures 3 & 5, paragraphs [0041], [0055] & [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law (PG-PUB US 20160271550) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Goswami et al (PG-PUB US 20190120508).
Regarding claim 12, Law teaches that the airflow rate and/or speed of the blower may be controlled by a central processing unit for properly operating the apparatus (paragraphs [0031] – [0036], & [0084]), but does not teach an actuating means for controlling the flow rate, However, Goswami et al disclose an air purification apparatus (ABSTRACT). Goswami teaches that the apparatus comprises a filter assembly 120, a flow control mechanism 140 , and a photo source 130, wherein a controller 150 is coupled to the flow control mechanism 140, which may include at least one valve, for properly control the operation of the system (Figure 1, paragraphs [0021], [0088] – [0089], & [0099]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a valve along the flow path as suggested by Goswami in order to properly control the operation within the device of Law.
“an actuating means” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Thus, it is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The instant specification discloses that the actuating means is designed as a valve (paragraph [0127]).
Goswami teaches that valves may be used for controlling the flow rate of air flow (paragraph [0099]), reading on “an actuating means”.
Regarding claim 15, Law teaches a central processing unit to control the speed of the blowers (paragraphs [0031] – [0036]). Goswami teaches a controller 150 provided for controlling the flow control mechanism 140 which may include valves (paragraphs [0021], [0088] – [0089], & [0099]).
Regarding claim 18, Goswami teaches valves for controlling the flow rate of airflow (paragraphs [0021], [0088] – [0089], & [0099]).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795