DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 102062484), hereinafter Lee in view of Iwamoto (JP H08159654), hereinafter Iwamoto and H. Knapp (US Patent No. 2,959,020), hereinafter Knapp.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a device for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen resulting from an evaporation of dihydrogen in a liquid state stored in at least one tank (Fig. 3, hydrogen reliquefaction system 10a, storage tank 100; Pg. 7, paragraph 33, the boil-off gas branched from the boil-off gas transferred from the storage tank 100 to the compression unit 200 and transferred to the first energy generating unit 400 is the storage tank 100), the device for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen comprising:
at least one heat exchanger with a plurality of passes (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, first heat exchanger 301, second heat exchanger 302, first pass A, second pass B, third pass C; Fig. 5, cooling unit 500, heat exchanger 541), at least one supply branch configured to bring at least a portion of the gaseous dihydrogen from the at least one tank to a gaseous dihydrogen consumer (Fig. 3, branch 310b, first energy generating unit 400; Pg. 7, paragraph 33, Branch 310b from the boil-off gas transferred to the first heat exchange unit 301), a part of the at least one supply branch passing through the at least one heat exchanger via a first pass of the plurality of passes (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, first pass A),
at least one cooling branch configured to liquefy at least a part of the gaseous dihydrogen (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, cooling branch D; Pg. 8, paragraph 37, The condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 collects the evaporated gas cooled by the cooling unit 500, and transfers the condensed hydrogen from the evaporated gas cooled by the cooling unit 500 to the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101. That is, the condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 includes hydrogen, which is cooled by the first heat exchanger 301, the second heat exchanger 302, the cooling unit 500, and the expansion unit 700, and mixes a liquid and a gas state. Are recruited. Among them, the liquefied hydrogen in the liquid state is sent to the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101, the gaseous evaporated gas is transferred to the evaporation gas mixing unit 800), the at least one cooling branch having at least one compression member (Fig 3, compression unit 200; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above), a portion of the at least one cooling branch passing through the at least one heat exchanger via a second pass of the plurality of passes disposed after the at least one compression member (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, cooling branch D includes second pass B downstream of the compression unit 200), the second pass exchanging heat energy with the first pass in order to liquefy at least a part of the dihydrogen circulating in the at least one cooling branch (Pg. 8, paragraph 37, The condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 collects the evaporated gas cooled by the cooling unit 500, and transfers the condensed hydrogen from the evaporated gas cooled by the cooling unit 500 to the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101. That is, the condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 includes hydrogen, which is cooled by the first heat exchanger 301, the second heat exchanger 302, the cooling unit 500, and the expansion unit 700, and mixes a liquid and a gas state. Are recruited. Among them, the liquefied hydrogen in the liquid state is sent to the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101, the gaseous evaporated gas is transferred to the evaporation gas mixing unit 800; Further, second pass B of annotated Fig. 3 of Lee is at least used for precooling the flow in the first heat exchanger 301 via being in thermal communication with first pass A in the liquefaction process performed in the cooling branch D),
wherein another portion of the at least one cooling branch passes through the at least one heat exchanger via a third pass of the plurality of passes, an outlet of the third pass being connected to an inlet of the second pass by a connection portion of the at least one cooling branch, the connection portion comprising the at least one compression member (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, third pass C is depicted with outlet C-1 being connected to inlet B-1 of second pass B via the connection portion D1 of the cooling branch D which comprises the compression unit 200).
However, Lee does not disclose the first pass inside which is disposed a catalyst involved in a conversion of the para isomer of the dihydrogen into ortho isomer of the dihydrogen.
Iwamoto teaches the passes of a set of heat exchangers through which a boil-off gaseous dihydrogen flows from a tank to include catalysts involved in the conversion of the para isomer of the dihydrogen into ortho isomer of the dihydrogen (Fig. 1, vessels 92, 93, 94; Pg. 3, paragraph 18, The hydrogen gas recovery system 91 is provided in each of the first to third heat exchangers 31, 3 and 33, and reverse ortho-para conversion for performing cold recovery by heat exchange and reverse ortho-para conversion. It is equipped with vessels 92, 93, and 94, and a merging path 95 for merging the recovered hydrogen gas after cold recovery with the raw material hydrogen gas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first pass of the heat exchanger of the device of Lee of claim 1 to include a catalyst involved in the conversion of the para isomer of the dihydrogen into ortho isomer of the dihydrogen as taught by Iwamoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by performing reverse ortho-para conversion at the same time as recovering the cold, the cold contained in the recovered hydrogen gas can be effectively recovered (Iwamoto, Pg. 3, paragraph 19).
However, Lee as modified does not disclose wherein the device for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen further comprises a bypass branch connecting a convergence point arranged on the at least one supply branch before an inlet of the first pass of the heat exchanger and a junction point arranged on the at least one cooling branch before the at least one compression member and after an outlet of a fourth pass of the plurality of passes.
Knapp teaches comprising a bypass branch connecting a convergence point arranged on the at least one supply branch before an inlet of the first pass of the heat exchanger and a junction point arranged on the at least one cooling branch before the at least one compression member and after an outlet of a fourth pass of the plurality of passes and after an outlet of a fourth pass of the plurality of passes (See annotated Fig. 1 of Knapp below, a bypass branch E is depicted connecting a convergence point F arranged on line 12 before an inlet A-1 of the first pass A of the heat exchanger 14 and a junction point G arranged on the cooling branch D’ before the compression member 20 and after an outlet H-2 of a fourth pass H of the plurality of passes).
Lee as modified fails to teach wherein the device for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen further comprises a bypass branch connecting a convergence point arranged on the at least one supply branch before an inlet of the first pass of the heat exchanger and a junction point arranged on the at least one cooling branch before the at least one compression member and after an outlet of a fourth pass of the plurality of passes, however Knapp teaches that it is a known method in the art of gas liquefaction to include a bypass branch connecting a convergence point arranged on the at least one supply branch before an inlet of the first pass of the heat exchanger and a junction point arranged on the at least one cooling branch before the at least one compression member and after an outlet of a fourth pass of the plurality of passes. This is strong evidence that modifying Lee as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing additional boil-off gas to the cooling branch). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee as modified by Knapp and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing additional boil-off gas to the cooling branch.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Knapp
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified discloses the liquefaction device as claimed in claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the second pass of the at least one heat exchanger is arranged so as to exchange heat energy with the first pass and the third pass of the at least one heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, second pass B is arranged so as to exchange heat energy with the first pass A and the third pass C of the first heat exchangers 301 and the second heat exchanger 302).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified discloses the liquefaction device as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), comprising a gas-liquid separator arranged on the at least one cooling branch after an outlet of the second pass (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 is shown to be arranged in the cooling branch D after an outlet B-2 of the second pass B).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 7, Lee as modified discloses the liquefaction device as claimed in claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), configured to place a liquid outlet of the gas-liquid separator in fluidic communication with the at least one tank (Pg. 8, paragraph 38, The liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101 is a container having a space in which liquefied hydrogen is stored. According to an embodiment, the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101 may be a storage tank 100. That is, liquid hydrogen reliquefied by the present hydrogen reliquefaction system 10 may be introduced into the storage tank 100 again. Alternatively, the reliquefied liquefied hydrogen may be supplied to a storage container separate from the storage tank 100).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified discloses the liquefaction device as claimed in claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), comprising a gas-liquid separator arranged on the at least one cooling branch after an outlet of the second pass, wherein a gas outlet of the gas-liquid separator is in fluidic communication with the at least one cooling branch before an inlet of the third pass of the at least one heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 is shown to be arranged in the cooling branch D after an outlet B-2 of the second pass B and gas outlet 600-1 is shown in fluidic communication with the cooling branch D via mixing unit 800 before an inlet C-2 of the third pass C).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 10, Lee as modified discloses a structure intended for storing dihydrogen in the liquid state that comprises the at least one tank containing liquid dihydrogen (Fig. 3, hydrogen reliquefaction system 10a, storage tank 100), the structure comprising:
at least one of the dihydrogen consumer, and at least one of the device for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above; Fig. 3, first energy generating unit 400), the at least one dihydrogen consumer being configured to be supplied with fuel by the dihydrogen in the gaseous state circulating at least in part in said at least one of the device for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen (Fig. 3, first energy generating unit 400; Pg. 7, paragraph 35, The first energy generator 400 generates energy by using the evaporated gas branched from the evaporated gas transferred from the storage tank 100 to the compression unit 200 as a fuel; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding claim 11, Lee as modified discloses the structure as claimed in claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein a flow of the dihydrogen in the first pass of the at least one heat exchanger is oriented in a direction opposite a flow of the dihydrogen in the second pass of the at least one heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, first pass A is shown to flow in a direction opposite of the second pass B).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 12, Lee as modified discloses the structure as claimed in claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein a flow of the dihydrogen in the first pass of the at least one heat exchanger is oriented in the same direction as a flow of the dihydrogen in the third pass of the at least one heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 3 of Lee below, third pass C is depicted with outlet C-1 being connected to inlet B-1 of second pass B via the connection portion D1 of the cooling branch D which comprises the compression unit 200 and third pass C is shown to flow in the same direction as first pass A).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 15, Lee as modified discloses a method for liquefying gaseous dihydrogen resulting from evaporation of the dihydrogen in the liquid state stored in at least one tank by a the device for liquefying the gaseous dihydrogen as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), the method comprising a step of compression of the gaseous dihydrogen by the at least one compression member and a step of exchange of heat energy in the at least one heat exchanger between the compressed gaseous dihydrogen and the gaseous dihydrogen withdrawn from the at least one tank, so that the compressed gaseous dihydrogen is at least partially liquefied, the conversion, in the presence of the catalyst, of the para isomer into the ortho isomer for the withdrawn gaseous dihydrogen occurring during the step of exchange of heat energy (Lee, Pg. 7, paragraph 36 and 38, the cooling unit 500 cools the evaporated gas compressed in the compression unit 200 and heat exchanged in the first heat exchange unit 301. The evaporated gas used as the refrigerant in the first heat exchange part 301 and the second heat exchange part 302 is provided by vaporizing liquefied hydrogen in the storage tank 100, and thus, the first heat exchange part 301 and the second heat exchange part 302. Since only the evaporation gas cannot be cooled to the liquefaction temperature, the evaporation gas is additionally cooled by using the cooling unit 500… The condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 collects the evaporated gas cooled by the cooling unit 500, and transfers the condensed hydrogen from the evaporated gas cooled by the cooling unit 500 to the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101. That is, the condensed hydrogen collecting unit 600 includes hydrogen, which is cooled by the first heat exchanger 301, the second heat exchanger 302, the cooling unit 500, and the expansion unit 700, and mixes a liquid and a gas state. Are recruited. Among them, the liquefied hydrogen in the liquid state is sent to the liquefied hydrogen storage unit 101, the gaseous evaporated gas is transferred to the evaporation gas mixing unit 800; Iwamoto, Pg. 3, paragraph 18, The hydrogen gas recovery system 91 is provided in each of the first to third heat exchangers 31, 3 and 33, and reverse ortho-para conversion for performing cold recovery by heat exchange and reverse ortho-para conversion. It is equipped with vessels 92, 93, and 94, and a merging path 95 for merging the recovered hydrogen gas after cold recovery with the raw material hydrogen gas). Further, the limitations of claim 15 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as modified by Iwamoto and Knapp as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of You et al. (WO 2022114861), hereinafter You.
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified discloses the liquefaction device as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Lee as modified does not disclose wherein the catalyst is chosen from among gels of nickel, copper, iron or metal hydride, nickel, copper or iron films, iron, cobalt, nickel, chromium, manganese hydroxides, iron oxides, nickel-silicon complexes, activated charcoal, and/or at least one combination thereof.
You teaches the use of an iron oxide catalyst for conversion of para-hydrogen into ortho-hydrogen (Pg. 3, paragraph 18 and 25, According to one aspect of the present invention, in the temperature control device for a liquid hydrogen storage tank provided on the inner upper portion of the hydrogen storage tank in which liquid hydrogen is stored, ortho of para-hydrogen among the liquid hydrogen catalyst for hydrogen conversion; and a catalyst holder configured to be provided with the catalyst and disposed on an upper portion of the hydrogen storage tank, wherein inducing a catalytic reaction in which para-hydrogen is converted into ortho-hydrogen according to a change in the internal temperature of the hydrogen storage tank A temperature control device for a liquid hydrogen storage tank may be provided…The catalyst may be iron oxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catalyst of the device liquefaction of Lee as modified to be iron oxide as taught by You. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure an efficient conversion of para-hydrogen to ortho-hydrogen to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as modified by Iwamoto and Knapp as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanei et al. (US Patent No. 11,168,620), hereinafter Kanei.
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified discloses the liquefaction device as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Lee as modified does not disclose wherein the at least one supply branch comprises a compression device arranged after an outlet of the first pass.
Kanei teaches wherein the at least one supply branch comprises a compression device arranged after an outlet of the first pass (Fig. 3, cooling heat exchanger 27, third path 32, second boosting member 33; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply branch of the liquefaction device of Lee as modified to include a compression device arranged after an outlet of the first pass as taught by Kanei. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure the flow to the consumer has sufficient pressure to meet the consumer demands.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as modified by Iwamoto and Knapp as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Deletre et al. (WO 2016128696), hereinafter Deletre.
Regarding claim 13, Lee as modified discloses structure as claimed in claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Lee as modified does not disclose a transfer system for dihydrogen in a liquid state, the system comprising:
the structure as claimed in claim 10,
insulated pipelines arranged so as to connect the at least one tank installed on the structure to a floating or onshore storage facility, and
a pump for driving a stream of cold liquid product through the insulated pipelines from the floating or onshore storage facility or to the floating or onshore storage facility to the at least one tank of the structure or from the at least one tank of the structure.
Deletre teaches a transfer system for dihydrogen in a liquid state, having a tank for storing cryogenic fuel insulated pipelines arranged so as to connect the tank installed on the structure to a floating or onshore storage facility and a pump for driving a stream of cold liquid product through the insulated pipelines from or to the floating or onshore storage facility to or from the tank of the structure (Pg. 12, lines 5-10, According to one embodiment, the invention also provides a transfer system for a fluid, the system comprising the abovementioned vessel, insulated pipes arranged to connect the vessel installed in the hull of the vessel to a floating or ground storage facility. and a pump for driving fluid through the insulated pipelines from or to the floating or land storage facility to or from the vessel; Pg. 1, lines 9-10, The liquefied gas 8 may also be nitrogen, helium, ethylene or liquid hydrogen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee as modified to be used in a transfer system for dihydrogen in the liquid state that includes insulated pipelines arranged so as to connect the tank installed on the structure to a floating or onshore storage facility and a pump for driving a stream of cold liquid product through the insulated pipelines from or to the floating or onshore storage facility to or from the tank of the structure as taught by Deletre. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a sufficient flow of liquid product to the liquefaction device to allow for continued operation.
Regarding claim 14, Lee as modified discloses structure as claimed in claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Lee as modified does not disclose a method for loading or offloading from the structure as claimed in claim 10, comprising conveying the dihydrogen in the liquid state through the insulated pipelines from a floating or onshore storage facility or to the floating or onshore storage facility to or from the at least one tank of the structure.
Deletre teaches a method for loading or offloading from the structure as claimed in claim 10, comprising conveying the dihydrogen in the liquid state through the insulated pipelines from a floating or onshore storage facility or to the floating or onshore storage facility to or from the at least one tank of the structure (Pg. 12, lines 5-10, According to one embodiment, the invention also provides a transfer system for a fluid, the system comprising the abovementioned vessel, insulated pipes arranged to connect the vessel installed in the hull of the vessel to a floating or ground storage facility. and a pump for driving fluid through the insulated pipelines from or to the floating or land storage facility to or from the vessel; Pg. 1, lines 9-10, The liquefied gas 8 may also be nitrogen, helium, ethylene or liquid hydrogen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee as modified to be used in a method for loading or offloading from the structure as claimed in claim 10, comprising conveying the dihydrogen in the liquid state through the insulated pipelines from a floating or onshore storage facility or to the floating or onshore storage facility to or from the at least one tank of the structure as taught by Deletre. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a sufficient flow of liquid product to the liquefaction device to allow for continued operation.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 May 12th, 2026