DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 October 2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to because FIG. 3 contains illegible text/reference characters. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par 0011, “electronic display one or more temperature sensors” should read --electronic display, one or more temperature sensors--.
In par 0035, “Deadman actuator” should likely read --dead man’s switch-- to not confuse with the ordinary meaning of the term, which covers a spring-loaded valve closure. Examiner notes that Applicant is free to use terms in a manner contrary to or inconsistent with one or more of their ordinary meanings if the written description clearly redefines the terms, see MPEP 2173.05(a)(III).
In pars 0037, 0045, 0046, and 0047, instances of “cannister” should read --canister--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the stem is configured to move rotate relative to the canister” should read --wherein the stem is configured to rotate relative to the canister--.
5. Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “under and space apart from the head” should read --under and spaced apart from the head--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 2 recites the limitation “to determine if the sensed temperature is above a threshold and to wirelessly communicate the sensed temperature to a remote computer”, and it is unclear by the composition of the claim whether this limitation refers to a specific configuration of the one or more temperature sensors, a feature of the electronic display (as in, “an electronic display to determine if the temperature exceeds the threshold”), or an intended use of the apparatus as a whole. For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated broadly as an intended use of the apparatus, and that a prior art system must be capable of carrying out these functions.
9. Claim 4 recites the limitation “further comprising a drawer selectively openable to receive one or more items and one or more UV lights operable to sterilize the one or more items”, and it is unclear by the composition of the claim whether the one or more UV lights are required to be integrally part of the device or whether the one or more UV lights are received by the drawer as an intended use of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 18-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (KR 102216792 B1, references herein made to English Machine Translation).
12. Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device (hand sanitizer, which detects the heat of an approaching user through a thermal imaging camera to inform the user of the current body temperature in real time, and sprays a hand sanitizer, pars 0001, 00, FIGS. 1-5), comprising:
a canister (hand sanitizer case 110, pars 0043 and 0046) extending along a first axis (case 110 depicted to extend along vertical axis in FIG. 3);
a stem (screw 210, pars 0044-0048) coupled to the canister (FIG. 3) and extending along a second axis generally parallel to the first axis (screw 210 depicted to extend along vertical axis in FIG. 3);
an arm (member 220, pars 0047 and 0049) coupled to the stem (FIG. 3) and extending along a third axis transverse to the second axis (member 220 depicted to extend horizontally from screw 210 in FIG. 3); and
a head (disinfectant spray case 130, pars 0047 and 0049) coupled to and suspended from the arm (FIG. 3),
an electronic display (thermal imaging display panel 121, pars 0033-0034, FIG. 5),
one or more temperature sensors (thermal imaging camera 120, pars 0032-0034, FIG. 5), and
a dispensing nozzle (disinfectant spray nozzle 131 is characterized in that it is formed on the upper side inside the disinfectant spray case 130, par 0037),
wherein the head is configured to dispense an amount of a fluid via the dispensing nozzle when a user places their hand under and spaced apart from the head (disinfectant spray nozzle 131 is formed to spray a preset amount of disinfectant toward the hand of a user who has entered the disinfectant spray case 130, par 0037).
In the embodiment relied upon above, the dispensing nozzle is located on the upper side inside the disinfectant spray case (par 0037) i.e., on the underside of the head. The electronic display and one or more temperature sensors are located on the canister 110 (FIGS. 1-2). The embodiment does not teach that the head comprises the electronic display and the one or more temperature sensors.
However, the position of the electronic display and one or more temperature sensors is considered to be noncritical to the function of the device, thus rearranging these elements would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Further, in the embodiment of FIG. 5, the thermal imaging camera 120 and the thermal imaging display panel 121 are rotated (par 0067) using a rotating mechanism similar to head 130 in FIG. 3, so the display and temperature sensor are demonstrated to not only work on a rotating head but also advantageously adjust to the height of the user entering the hand sanitizer case (par 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the rotatable head 130 of Jang to further comprise the electronic display and one or more temperature sensors. This modification would predictably allow movement of the display and one or more temperature sensors to accommodate the height of the user and continue to measure the user’s body temperature (pars 0032 and 0070-0071) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
13. Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, wherein the stem is configured to move relative to the canister (screw 210 rotates, pars 0047-0048) to adjust a height of the head above a ground surface (to raise and lower the disinfectant spray case 130, par 0047).
14. Regarding claim 7, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, wherein the head further comprises a light on an underside of the head (light emitting panel 140 inside the disinfectant spray case 130, par 0038, FIG. 2).
15. Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of Claim 7, but the modified device relied upon above does not teach wherein the light is configured to pulse prior to the head dispensing the fluid.
In another embodiment, Jang teaches flashing i.e. pulsing warning lights to communicate warning information to the user (pars 0018 and 0103). Jang further teaches that Jang further teaches that the light emitting panel 140 is formed to allow the user to check and apply the sprayed disinfectant (par 0038), thus the light emitting panel provides an alert that disinfectant is imminently being sprayed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further configure the light emitting panel of Jang to pulse prior to the head dispensing the fluid. Doing so would predictably provide an alert to the user with reasonable expectation of success, as Jang teaches that pulsing warning lights effectively communicate warning information to the user.
16. Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, wherein the stem is configured to move and/or rotate relative to the canister (screw 210 rotates, pars 0047-0048).
17. Regarding claim 18, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor configured to determine a distance to an object under and spaced apart from the head (hand detection sensor 230 is formed to detect the position of a hand entering the disinfectant spray case 130, par 0052), wherein the head is configured to dispense a variable amount of the fluid via the dispensing nozzle (disinfectant spray nozzle 131 is formed to spray a preset amount of disinfectant toward the hand, par 0037) based on the distance (to detect the position of the user's hand and to perform smooth hand sanitization, par 0016). Examiner notes that under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the teaching that the amount of disinfectant is “preset” implies that this is a setting that can be varied by a skilled artisan, i.e. variable, and the phrasing that the dispensing of this amount occurs “based on the distance” is read upon by the hand sensor activation response taught by Jang.
18. Regarding claim 19, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, though Jang is silent what the electronic display would display when the user is outside the threshold i.e. sensing distance of the device. However, in another embodiment, the display configuration displays detected heat information, and notifies whether or not entry has been made (par 0093). The instance when the display notifies when entry has not been made reads upon wherein the electronic display is configured to display a first display when the device does not detect movement within a threshold distance of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further configure the display of Jang to notify whether or not entry has been made i.e., whether the device has detected movement within the threshold distance. Doing so would predictably provide the ability to inform the user whether or not they have properly approached the device to receive sanitization, with reasonable expectation of success, achieving the claimed condition wherein the display is configured to display a first display when the device does not detect movement within a threshold distance of the device.
19. Regarding claim 21, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 19, wherein the electronic display is configured to display a second display (thermal imaging display panel 121 is formed to display thermal imaging information provided through a thermal imaging camera, par 0034). As this display is present in real time as he or she enters the hand sanitizer (par 0021), it is understood that this display is active when the device detects movement within the threshold distance of the device.
20. Regarding claim 22, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 21, wherein the second display comprises a visualization of a temperature reading location on the user (thermal imaging display panel 121 is formed to display thermal imaging
information provided through a thermal imaging camera, par 0034; allowing the user to easily know his or her current body temperature…by displaying it on the screen, par 0021).
21. Regarding claim 23, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 21, but Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the second display is configured to instruct the user to adjust their position relative to the head for an optimized temperature reading. However, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation instruct the user to adjust their position relative to the head, a mere written instruction telling the user to stand in front of the head for best results would constitute nonfunctional descriptive material, which does not carry patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05. Examiner notes that this interpretation is consistent with the “visual indications on display 70 to instruct” description of this feature in the present Specification, par 0051, without importing limitation therefrom.
Since the electronic display of Jang is configurable to display a temperature value (par 0021) i.e. text, this display is capable of displaying such a printed warning. Jang further teaches that the thermal imaging camera is effective when positioned directed at a user (par 0067), providing motivation for such an instruction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the electronic display of Jang to display such a warning, as doing so would predictably elicit user behavior that ensures effective functioning of the thermal imaging camera as taught by Jang.
22. Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 102159727 B1, references herein made to English Machine Translation).
23. Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, wherein the one or more temperature sensors include a multi-pixel temperature sensor (thermal imaging camera 120, pars 0032-0034), the one or more temperature sensors configured to sense a temperature of the user in front of the electronic display (thermal imaging camera 120 is characterized in that it is formed to measure the heat of a user entering the hand sanitizer case, par 0032). The embodiment does not teach that this would be done to determine if the sensed temperature is above a threshold or to wirelessly communicate the sensed temperature to a remote computer, nor does the embodiment teach a single-pixel temperature sensor in addition to the multi-pixel temperature sensor.
In another embodiment, Jang teaches that an analogous smart hand sanitizer dispenser includes a temperature check sensor to adjust the zero point of the user’s body heat detected by the thermal detection camera 630(pars 0101-0102). This analogous unit further determines if the sensed temperature is above a threshold (comparison to two preset temperature error ranges, par 0103) to establish whether quarantine is necessary for the user (pars 0105-0109).
Lee teaches an analogous body disinfection system using facial recognition and body temperature sensing (par 0001) configured to transmit body temperature along with personal information of the user to a public health center through a wireless communication network (pars 0153-0154) advantageously enabling management of persons with suspected symptoms and confirmed cases and preventing the spread of the virus (par 0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a single pixel temperature check sensor alongside the thermal camera of Jang, as doing so would predictably provide the ability to check and/or normalize the thermal imaging sensed temperatures to determine if the sensed temperature is above a threshold with a reasonable expectation of success. It would further have been obvious to a skilled artisan, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the control unit of Jang to wirelessly communicate the sensed temperature to an external computer as taught by Lee, as this communication would predictably enable the same advantageous remote management of symptomatic persons to stem the spread of disease. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
24. Regarding claim 5, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, further comprising a camera array configured to perform a facial scan of the user in front of the electronic display (facial recognition sensor 423 is formed to recognize the face of a user entering the hand sanitizer case 110, pars 0016 and 0077, FIG. 5). Jang does not teach that this camera array is located in the head, nor that the camera array would wirelessly communicate information associated with the facial scan to a remote computer.
The position of the facial recognition camera array is considered to be noncritical to the function of the device, thus rearranging these elements would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Further, in the embodiment of FIG. 3, the head is adjustable to the height of the user entering the hand sanitizer case (par 0067) which would enable the facial recognition camera array to effectively capture an image of the user’s face. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the rotatable head 130 of Jang to further comprise the facial recognition camera 423 to accommodate the height of the user and continue to obtain facial recognition information (pars 0032 and 0070-0071) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Lee teaches an analogous body disinfection system using facial recognition and body temperature sensing (par 0001) configured to transmit body temperature along with personal information of the user to a public health center through a wireless communication network (pars 0153-0154) advantageously enabling management of persons with suspected symptoms and confirmed cases and preventing the spread of the virus (par 0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the camera in the device of Jang to wirelessly communicate information associated with the facial scan to an external computer as taught by Lee, as this communication would predictably enable the same advantageous remote management of symptomatic persons to stem the spread of disease. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
25. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baranov et al (US 20180117192 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, but Jang does not teach a UV sterilization unit comprising a drawer selectively openable to receive one or more items and one or more UV lights operable to sterilize the one or more items when the drawer is closed.
Baranov teaches an analogous sanitizing device (par 0005) including a container for hand sanitizer (par 0060) wherein the device features a UV sterilization unit (sanitizer 100 operates to sanitize articles using ultraviolet radiation, par 0018) comprising a drawer (moveable tray 220, pars 0027-0028, FIG. 2) selectively openable to receive one or more items (open position for permitting access to first portion 200-1 for placement and retrieval of an article within tray 220, pars 0022-0023 and 0027-0028, FIG. 2) and one or more UV lights (plurality of emitters 216 are ultraviolet bulbs, par 0024, FIG. 2) operable to sterilize the one or more items when the drawer is closed (in second chamber portion 200-2 for exposing the article to sanitizing electromagnetic radiation emitted by emitters 216, par 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of Jang with a UV sterilization unit comprising a drawer selectively openable to receive one or more items and one or more UV lights as taught by Baranov. Doing so would predictably provide the ability to sterilize one or more items with UV light when the door is closed, as the drawer would function identically to that of Baranov and provide effective sanitization of an article such as a user’s smartphone as advantageously taught by Baranov (par 0049). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
26. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aiken et al (US 20020017532 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, wherein the fluid is delivered to the dispensing nozzle (spray a disinfectant through a nozzle, par 0010). Jang does not teach that the nozzle delivery would occur via an iris valve.
Aiken teaches an analogous dispensing canister for a skin-applied fluid product (shaving gel, Abstract, pars 0007-0011 and 0022) wherein the dispenser outlet includes an iris valve (par 0022), this outlet advantageously adapted to close to prevent exposure of the product to air at the outlet (par 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include within the nozzle assembly of Jang an iris valve as taught by Aiken. Doing so would predictably provide the same advantage of preventing exposure of undispensed hand sanitizer to the outside air, with reasonable expectation of success as demonstrated for a heated gel product by Aiken. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
27. Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krenke (US 11,083,346 B1).
28. Regarding claim 11, Jang teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 1, but Jang is silent regarding any fluid delivery mechanism upstream of the nozzle. Thus, Jang does not teach wherein the stem and the arm comprise one or more conduits that lead to the head.
Krenke teaches an analogous hand disinfectant dispensing station (Abstract, FIGS. 1-6) including multiple fluid conduits (fluid conduits 175 and 180, col 5 lines 1-25) that lead from a high-capacity supply reservoir 160 (col 4 lines 47-60, FIG. 3) through the pump assembly toward the spout 130 (FIG. 3), the fluid conduit 180 running inside the upward stem and the angled arm of the spout (FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include leading to the head of Jang one or more conduits from a disinfectant reservoir located in the base i.e. canister and routed through the stem and the arm as taught by Krenke. Doing so would predictably allow for delivery of disinfecting fluid from this storage reservoir to the head nozzle with a reasonable expectation of success, and by positioning the reservoir in the canister, allow the space to store a high capacity of disinfectant formulation as taught by Krenke (col 2 lines 36-47). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
29. Regarding claim 12, Jang as modified by Krenke teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 11, wherein a first reservoir is stored in the canister (reservoir 160, FIG. 3), wherein the first reservoir is configured to store the fluid (high volume capacity liquid hand disinfectant supply reservoir, Krenke col 5 lines 1-8).
30. Regarding claim 13, Jang as modified by Krenke teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 12, wherein a first conduit of the one or more conduits is configured to transport the fluid from the first reservoir to the dispensing nozzle (fluid conduit 180 can connect to the spout 130 for delivering the liquid hand disinfectant formulation from the liquid hand disinfectant supply to the spout for dispensing, Krenke col 5 lines 21-25).
31. Regarding claim 14, Jang as modified by Krenke teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 12, but the combination does not teach wherein at least one conduit of the one or more conduits is configured to transport environmental air from an orifice to the first reservoir.
Krenke further teaches an air compressor 200 that is connected to the pump assembly 170 for dispensing the liquid disinfectant as a foam (col 5 lines 26-38), said air compressor 200 including conduits and at least an inlet and outlet orifice as shown in FIG. 5. The pump assembly 170 to which the compressed air is connected is located at an outlet of the first reservoir 160 (Krenke FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further include within the one or more conduits of modified Jang an air compressor configured to transport environmental air through a second conduit from an orifice to the first reservoir as taught by Krenke. Doing so would predictably provide the same advantage of creating a foaming liquid hand sanitizer product with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
32. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Krenke as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Ciavarella et al (US 20130254136 A1).
33. Regarding claim 15, Jang as modified by Krenke teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 12, but the combination relied upon above does not teach wherein a second reservoir is stored in the canister, wherein the second reservoir is configured to store odorizing fluid.
Ciavarella teaches an analogous hand sanitizer dispensing system (pars 0020-0025) wherein actuating the dispenser delivers a dose of fragrance from an air freshener 216 in the base unit (pars 0054-0055) through a vent orifice in the vicinity of the pump outlet (vent 220, FIG. 7).
Krenke further teaches a second drain reservoir in the canister configured to hold any liquid which flows into the drain aperture (drain reservoir 150, col 4 line 61 to col 3 line 13), illustrating that multiple reservoirs can be logically arranged within the canister body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include within the canister of Jang a second reservoir as taught by Krenke configured to store and dispense odorizing fluid as taught by Ciavarella. Doing so would predictably provide the same advantageous effect of distributing any suitable fragrance that a user may find appealing as taught by Ciavarella (pars 0041-0042), as the hand sanitizer dispensing mechanism and the fragrance dispensing mechanism would merely perform the same functions as separately.
34. Regarding claim 16, Jang as modified by Krenke and Ciavarella teaches the fluid dispensing and temperature scanning device of claim 15, but the combination does not teach wherein a second conduit of the one or more conduits is configured to transport the odorizing fluid from the second reservoir to an orifice in the arm or the head.
However, the position of the fragrance venting orifice is considered to be noncritical to the function of the device, thus rearranging the element would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Ciavarella shows in FIG. 7 that the vent orifice 220 is close to the hand sanitizer dispenser nozzle, to deliver the fragrance upon actuation (Ciavarella par 0054), motivating the choice to position this orifice in the arm or the head as this will be close to the user in the device of Jang (Jang FIG. 3). Krenke teaches multiple conduits (conduits 175,180 and conduits in air compressor system 200, Krenke FIGS. 3 and 5) including a conduit connecting through a stem to an arm and/or outlet head (Krenke FIG. 3, fluid conduit 180 can connect to the spout 130, Krenke col 5 lines 1-25)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to rearrange the orifice of modified Jang to a position in the arm or the head and connect this orifice to the second reservoir using a conduit configured to transport the odorizing fluid as taught by Krenke. Doing so would predictably provide a transport means from the second reservoir that ensures that fragrance is distributed from an orifice near the hand sanitizer dispenser nozzle with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758