Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 10/18/2023, 02/07/2024, 03/30/2026 and 04/17/2026.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 5-14 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search and examination of the full set of claims can be made with occasioning a serous search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement is set forth on unity of invention and as discussed in the rejection KILCULLEN (US 6436371 B2) teaches the overlapping special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 15-16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/556,014 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application recites:
A method of assessing the ability of a test oral care flavour ingredient or a test oral care flavour composition to improve the invigoration state of a human subject, comprising the steps of:
a) measuring a base invigoration state of a human test by an optical neuroimaging via functional Near Infrared Spectroscopy (fNIRS) of (i) the left brain hemisphere of the human test subject, (ii) the right brain hemisphere of the human test subject, and (iii) the full brain of the human test subject;
b) providing the test oral care flavour ingredient or the test oral care flavour composition to the human test subject for oral application wherein the human test subject orally applies the test oral care flavour ingredient or the test oral care flavour composition;
c) measuring a resulting invigoration state of the human test subject subjected to the test oral care flavour ingredient or the test oral care flavour composition by an optical neuroimaging via fNIRS of (i) the left brain hemisphere of the human test subject, (ii) the right brain hemisphere of the human test subject, and (iii) the full brain of the human test subject; and
d) determining an improved invigoration state difference between the measured resulting invigoration state and the measured base invigoration state for the human test subject (claim 1)
wherein Channels 1 to 8 and 11 are located in the left brain hemisphere of the human test subject, Channels 9 and 12 are located on the midline of the human test subject, and Channels 10 and 13 to 20 are located in the right brain hemisphere of the human test subject (claim 1).
Channel 20 shows a statistically significant difference of measured Deoxy Hb 5-10 seconds after the oral application (claim 4)
The co-pending application does not teach the specific channels names are used to measure particular values as claimed. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the specific names of each of the channels (channel 1, channel 2, etc) because, in such a method, where the specific names of the channels is not critical, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that varying the channel names would result in an equivalent means of carrying out the method. In the instant case, the channels, although names differently, are still measuring the same locations, (left hemisphere, right hemisphere, midline) and obtaining the same data (deoxyHb, oxyHb, totalHb).
The copending application differs from the instant application in the recitation of “invigoration state” instead of “relaxation state”. However, according to MPEP 2112.02, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. Thus the copending application teaches the same device, fNIRS, with the same method steps (a, b, c and d) would inherently be able of the function of assessing the relaxation state of a human subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MINEMATSU (Activity of frontal pole cortex reflecting hedonic tone of food and drink: fNIRS study in humans. Scientific Reports. 2018.).
Regarding claim 1, MINEMATSU teaches using optical neuroimaging via functional near-infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS) to measure the effect of food and drink on patients (abstract), specifically flavors, such as sweet or bitter (figure 4) and page 1 paragraph 2). Note “oral care flavor” is an intended use of flavor and since MINEMATSU teaches testing flavors, they could be used as “oral care flavors”. The method comprising:
a) a base measurement of the brain was taken, where values were examined on the left hemisphere, right hemisphere and midline of the brain (figure 7), which would be the full brain. Note Applicant’s specification states that measurement from the right and left hemisphere and midline were used for full brain analysis (Applicant’s specification, page 6, paragraph 1).
b) the patient then eats or drinks (figure 7), such as chewing then swallowing (page 9, paragraph 9), which reads on the test subject orally applies the test oral care flavor ingredient.
c) after administration the resultant brain activity was measured (figure 7) on the left hemisphere, right hemisphere and midline of the brain (figure 7), which would be the full brain.
d) the pre-stimulus baseline and taste condition measurements were compared to determine the difference (page 11, paragraph 3). Note, “determining an improved relaxation state difference” appears to be a mental state since one could simply look at the results and mentally determine if there is a difference or not.
The channels are located on the left and right hemispheres, as well as the midline (figure 7).
Oxygenated hemoglobin (oxyHb) and deoxygenated hemoglobin (deoxyHb) levels were measured (figure 7). MINEMATSU teaches measurements were taken continuously during and after administration, measurements were taken and differences of oxyHb, deoxyHb and the sum of both oxyHb and deoxy Hb (totalHb) were seen 0-5 seconds after application (figure 7 and figure 1). In particular channel 6 showed a statistically significant difference in measures totalHb after the oral application (figure 7 and figure 1), which is located in the right brain hemisphere and corelates to the instant recitation of channel 8.
Regarding claim 3, MINEMATSU teaches measurements were taken continuously during and after administration, measurements were taken and differences of deoxyHb and the sum of both oxyHb and deoxy Hb (totalHb) were seen 0-5 seconds after application (figure 7 and figure 1). The device allowed for the measurement of oxyHb and deoxyHb changes in 12 channels (Fig. 7A and page 9, paragraph 6). Differences in measurement were seen in the hemispheres and midline (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, MINEMATSU teaches OxyHb changes were seen 15s after the patient swallowed the test substance in both hemispheres and midline (figure 6). The device allowed for the measurement of oxyHb and deoxyHb changes in 12 channels (Fig. 7A and page 9, paragraph 6). Differences in measurement were seen in the hemispheres and midline (figure 2).
Note, MINEMATSU teaches the results allowed for determination of measured values that corelated to like and dislike of test substances, which is useful for objective evaluation of pleasantness of food and drink (abstract). A subjects feeling of “pleasantness”, reads on an relaxation state. Note, Applicant’s specification states "improving the relaxation state" is meant to express that a certain item has a positive, low activation moods and emotions, such as relaxation (Applicant’s specification, page 8, paragraph 7).
Furthermore, according to MPEP 2112.02, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. Thus the prior art teaches the same device, fNIRS, with the same method steps (a, b, c and d) would inherently be able of the function of assessing the relaxation state of a human subject.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MINEMATSU (Activity of frontal pole cortex reflecting hedonic tone of food and drink: fNIRS study in humans. Scientific Reports. 2018.) in view of STOVELL (Important considerations in the development of toothpaste formulations for children. International Dental Journal. 2013.).
MINEMATSU teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
MINEMATSU does not teach that the test substance is an oral care flavor ingredient, such as toothpaste and using those results to design a toothpaste flavor.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, STOVELL teaches that flavors in perceived as pleasant during brushing studies have been linked to increased brushing time, which, in turn, can increase the delivery and efficacy of fluoride from toothpastes (abstract). Therefore, manufacturers select tested, child-friendly flavors to maximize compliance, providing a more pleasurable brushing experience and oral health benefits (abstract).
Regarding claim 15, STOVELL teaches flavor development for children’s toothpaste should take flavor type, flavor intensity, level of sweetness and masking of any bitter tastes in the formulation into consideration (page 59, paragraph 6), which reads on developing guidelines for creatin an oral care flavor composition.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate having toothpaste be the test substance and in turn using those results to develop guidelines for making toothpaste flavors. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because toothpaste flavors are important to be determined if they will be liked or not, especially in regards to children. Since if children do not like the taste of toothpaste it can lead to poor oral hygiene. If children like the taste it can maximize compliance, providing a more pleasurable brushing experience and oral health benefits and reasonably would have expected success because the method taught in MINEMATSU teaches the results allowed for determination of measured values that corelated to like and dislike of test substances, which is useful for objective evaluation of pleasantness of a test substance and the method described in STOVELL is towards determining the pleasantness of a test substance for future use.
Claims 1-4 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MINEMATSU (Activity of frontal pole cortex reflecting hedonic tone of food and drink: fNIRS study in humans. Scientific Reports. 2018.) and STOVELL (Important considerations in the development of toothpaste formulations for children. International Dental Journal. 2013.) in view of PINTI (The present and future use of functional near-infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS) for cognitive neuroscience. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences. 2018.).
MINEMATSU, CHOUDHARI and STOVELL teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above. Including, MINEMATSU teaching using fNIRS to measure OxyHb and deoxyHB.
Regarding claim 16, MINEMATSU, CHOUDHARI and STOVELL do not specifically state that fNIRS is based on brain tissue concentrations.
Regarding claim 16, PINTI teaches that NIRS is an optical, noninvasive neuroimaging technique that allows the measurement of brain tissue concentration changes of oxygenated (HbO2) and deoxygenated (HbR) hemoglobin following neuronal activation. (page 6, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate basing the fNIRS on brain tissue concentrations. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, and reasonably would have expected success because MINEMATSU teaches using fNIRS and PINTI teaches that fNIRS is always based on brain tissue concentrations.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618