DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/13/26. The applicant has overcome the objection and the 35 USC 102 rejections as set forth in the previous office action. Refer to the aforementioned amendment for specific details on applicant's rebuttal arguments and/or remarks. However, the present claims are now finally rejected over new grounds of rejection as formulated hereinbelow and for the reasons of record:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/10/26 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication JP 2013-239426 (heretofore JP’426) in view of Xu et al 11165097.
As to claims 1-3 and 20:
JP’426 discloses that it is known in the art to make a lithium battery comprising a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte including a lithium salt, an organic solvent, and two additives wherein a first additive is a boron-based lithium salt and a second additive includes a material having the following chemical structure wherein R1-R4 may be the same and may be alkylene, fluoroalkylene, hydrogen, alkyl, fluoroalkyl groups, wherein the second additive may be a di(2/3-butynyl) carbonate (as per substituted groups) (Abstract; 0013-0016; 0024-0028; 0101; 0077-0078; 0081-0083):
As to claims 4:
JP’426 discloses that the content of the first and second additives range from 0-5 weight % (0092; 0098; 0102; 0120).
As to claims 8:
JP’426 discloses lithium difluoro(oxalate) borate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium bis(oxalate) borate, and lithium salts such as (0050-0055):
As to claims 7, 9:
JP’426 discloses carbonate-based solvents such as ethylene/propylene carbonates; dimethyl/ethyl methyl/diethyl carbonates; and/or additives such as vinylene/vinylethylene carbonates, fluoroethylene carbonate in the amount of 5-25 weight % (0057; 0067; 0077).
JP’426 discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte according to the foregoing aspects. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium.
As to claim 1:
Xu et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising, inter alia, lithium salt additives such as lithium difluoro(oxalate)borate in the amount of about 0.001-2 wt % (Abstract; see CLAIM 6).
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium of Xu et al in the electrolyte solution of JP’426 as Xu et al teach that the specifically disclosed lithium salt can effectively improve the high temperature storage performance, cycle performance and overcharge performance of an electrochemical device such as a lithium-ion battery. Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With regard to the amount/mass percent of the Li-based salt, it is stressed that a showing that the amount of the Li-based salt is about 0.001-2 wt % is enough to realize that a reasonable and concrete prima-facie case of obviousness exists against applicant's range of 0.5-1.0 mass % as it is well settled that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication CN 1322027 (heretofore CN’027) in view of Xu et al 11165097.
As to claims 1 and 20:
CN’027 discloses that it is known in the art to make a lithium battery comprising a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte including a lithium salt, an organic solvent, and two additives wherein a first additive is a boron-based lithium salt and a second additive includes a material having the following chemical structure wherein R1-R4 may be the same and may be alkylene or alkylene carbonate derived materials (Abstract; see CLAIMS 1-20):
CN’027 discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte according to the foregoing aspects. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium.
As to claim 1:
Xu et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising, inter alia, lithium salt additives such as lithium difluoro(oxalate)borate in the amount of about 0.001-2 wt % (Abstract; see CLAIM 6).
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium of Xu et al in the electrolyte solution of CN’027 as Xu et al teach that the specifically disclosed lithium salt can effectively improve the high temperature storage performance, cycle performance and overcharge performance of an electrochemical device such as a lithium-ion battery. Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With regard to the amount/mass percent of the Li-based salt, it is stressed that a showing that the amount of the Li-based salt is about 0.001-2 wt % is enough to realize that a reasonable and concrete prima-facie case of obviousness exists against applicant's range of 0.5-1.0 mass % as it is well settled that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication JP 2001-256995 (heretofore JP’995) in view of Xu et al 11165097.
As to claims 1 and 20:
JP’995 discloses that it is known in the art to make a lithium battery comprising a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte including a lithium salt, an organic solvent, and two additives wherein a first additive is a boron-based lithium salt and a second additive includes a material having the following chemical structure wherein R1-R4 may be the same and may be alkynyl and/or alkynylene carbonate derived materials (Abstract; 0016-0022; see CLAIMS 1-2):
JP’995 discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte according to the foregoing aspects. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium.
As to claim 1:
Xu et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising, inter alia, lithium salt additives such as lithium difluoro(oxalate)borate in the amount of about 0.001-2 wt % (Abstract; see CLAIM 6).
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium of Xu et al in the electrolyte solution of JP’995 as Xu et al teach that the specifically disclosed lithium salt can effectively improve the high temperature storage performance, cycle performance and overcharge performance of an electrochemical device such as a lithium-ion battery. Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With regard to the amount/mass percent of the Li-based salt, it is stressed that a showing that the amount of the Li-based salt is about 0.001-2 wt % is enough to realize that a reasonable and concrete prima-facie case of obviousness exists against applicant's range of 0.5-1.0 mass % as it is well settled that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication JP 2002-100399 (heretofore JP’399) in view of Xu et al 11165097.
As to claims 1 and 20:
JP’399 discloses that it is known in the art to make a lithium battery comprising a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte including a lithium salt, an organic solvent, and two additives wherein a first additive is a boron-based lithium salt and a second additive includes a material having the following chemical structure wherein R1-R4 may be the same and may be alkynylene carbonate derived materials or hydrogen, aryl and/or any cycloalkyl (Abstract; 0006-0014; see CLAIMS 1-7):
JP’399 discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte according to the foregoing aspects. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium.
As to claim 1:
Xu et al disclose that it is known in the art to make a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising, inter alia, lithium salt additives such as lithium difluoro(oxalate)borate in the amount of about 0.001-2 wt % (Abstract; see CLAIM 6).
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific additive B comprising the boron-containing lithium of Xu et al in the electrolyte solution of JP’399 as Xu et al teach that the specifically disclosed lithium salt can effectively improve the high temperature storage performance, cycle performance and overcharge performance of an electrochemical device such as a lithium-ion battery. Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With regard to the amount/mass percent of the Li-based salt, it is stressed that a showing that the amount of the Li-based salt is about 0.001-2 wt % is enough to realize that a reasonable and concrete prima-facie case of obviousness exists against applicant's range of 0.5-1.0 mass % as it is well settled that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/13/26, with respect to foregoing claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752