Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, 16-22 and 24-26 in the reply filed on 2-6-26 is acknowledged.
Applicants election with traverse of Species 1 (electrostatic charge on particle) is also acknowledged.
Obviousness-type Double Patenting
Claims 1-11, 16-22, 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/154664; or copending Application No.18/791076.
Note that claim 2 of application 18/791076 is an obvious variation of the present claim 1 because it recites the same method of treating plastic waste and extruding it to form particles but omits the additional electrostatic charging, powder battering and reactor carbonation steps of claim 1 while adding the conventional mixing of pozzolans which would have been obvious to a skilled artisan.
With regard to claim 1 of application 18/154664, claim 1 is an obvious variant of the original claim 1 because it recites the same method of treating plastic waste with CaO/Ca(OH)2, mixing with pozzolans, hot extruding the mixture, and forming particles, but omits the additional electrostatic charging , powder battering, and reactor carbonation steps which does not render the claims patentably distinct.
With regard to claim 1 of application 17/285050, claim 1 is not patentably distinct from original claim 1 because it recites the same method of treating granulated mixed plastic waste with CaO/Ca(OH)2, mixing with pozzolans, hot extruding the mixture, and forming particles with exposed plastic surfaces, and thus does not define patentably distinct subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2002160951 see abstract, page 2 line 34, page 3 line 13, page 4 lines 21-35, page 3 line 16 to page 6 line 10, page 4 lines 24-26 in view of WO2016084007A1 see abstract and paragraphs [0022]-[0038] WO2016084007A1 abstract and paragraphs [0022]-[0038], [0067], [0233]; further in view of USPub20020114888A1 see abstract, Table 1 and claims
With regard to claim 1, the claim is directed to a method of making a particle, the method comprising: obtaining a supply of granulated mixed plastic waste treated with a preconditioning agent to improve sanitation of the granulated mixed plastic waste; extruding the granulated mixed plastic waste to form an extruded product including waste plastic material; processing the extruded product to form a particle in which the waste plastic material is exposed at exterior surfaces thereof; creating an electrostatic charge on the particle; after creating, coating the particle with calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based powder to form a preconditioned particle; and passing the preconditioned particle through a reactor to interact the calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based powder with flue gases in the reactor and form a hybrid particle with a calcium carbonate layer on the waste plastic material.
JP 2002160951 discloses an artificial lightweight aggregate using plastic waste, wherein the aggregate exhibits sufficient mechanical strength when used in cement compositions. The primary reference discloses that the lightweight artificial aggregate includes plastic particles coated with cementitious material and subjected to carbonation to form calcium carbonate (CaCO3), producing a product suitable for use in concrete compositions. See abstract (plastic waste), page 2 line 34 to page 3 line 13(particle/oxide)-20 (layer), page 4 lines 21-35(calcium), page 3 line 16 to page 6 line 10(surface), page 4 lines 24-26 (granulation) and line 45 line 45(layers).
Further, JP2002160951A teaches treating the surface of waste plastic material with cementitious and alkaline materials to improve affinity and suitability for further processing, which constitutes a precondition step. The use of such treatment prepares the waste plastic material for subsequent coating and reaction steps and reasonably meets the claimed “:preconditioning agent” under broadest reasonable interpretation. Moreover, the refence does not explicitly disclose passing the coated particle through a reactor or containing the particle with flue gas.
WO2016084007A1 discloses processing waste plastic by mixing plastic waste with additives such as pozzolanic materials, hot extruding the mixture to form an extruded product, and cutting or processing the extruded product into particles or aggregates that may be used in construction materials. See 1 abstract, and paragraphs [0022]-[0038], [0067], [0233] .
Neither JP2002160951 nor WO 2016084007A1 explicitly disclose creating an electrostatic charge on the particle.
However, USPub20020114888A1 teaches depositing coating powder particles that are electrostatically charged, wherein the powder particles are passed through an electric field to impart an electrostatic charge prior to deposition so that the particles stick to the surface. See abstract, Table 1 and claims
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electrostatic charging technique taught by USPub20020114888 A1 to the particle processing methods of JP2002160951A and WO 2016084007A1 because electrostatic charging is known to improve adhesion and uniform deposition of coating materials, and because flue gas is a known source of carbon dioxide for carbonation reactions.
With regard to claim 2, the claim is directed to the method of claim 1 wherein the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste includes a variety of plastic materials including at least one of high density polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC, ABS, polyurethane, polyamide, and PET, or wherein a portion of the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste includes non-plastic material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because mixed plastic waste steams commonly include multiple polymer types such as HDPE, polypropylene, PVC, ABS, polyurethane, polyamide, and PET, and may also contain non-plastic material. JP2002160951 page 2 lines 37-39 and WO2016084007A1 abstract and [0233].
With regard to claim 3, the claim is directed to the method of claim 1, further comprising, after passing the preconditioned particle through the reactor: washing the hybrid particle in a calcium hydroxide bath; and drying the hybrid particle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because washing coated or treated particles in a calcium hydroxide bath and drying them is a known technique to ensure proper coating adhesion and removes excess processing material. JP2002160951 page 2 lines 37-39 and page 4 lines 2,6, 43 (lime=calcium hydroxide=Ca(OH)2)
With regard to claim 4, the claim is directed to the method of claim 1 further comprising, before extruding the granulated mixed plastic waste: batching the preconditioned granulated mixed waste plastic by density.
Although not explicitly disclosed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because batching mixed plastic waste by density prior to extrusion is a well-known sorting method used to improve consistency of recycled plastic feedstocks as taught by WO2016084007A1 abstract.
With regard to claim 5, the claim is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the preconditioning agent is at least one of calcium hydroxide and ash.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because calcium hydroxide and ash are known alkaline material commonly used as conditioning or treatment agents in waste processing and generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is directed to6. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste treated by the preconditioning agent includes at least about 50% waste plastic material by weight.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because recycled mixed plastic waste streams typically contain substantial proportions of plastic material and selecting a feedstock containing at least about 50% waste plastic material by weight represents a conventional material composition.
With regard to claim 7, the claim is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein passing the preconditioned particle through the reactor includes capturing carbon dioxide from the flue gases in the calcium carbonate layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because reacting calcium hydroxide with carbon dioxide present in flue gas to form calcium carbonates is a well-known carbonation reaction in carbon and mineralization processes. JP2002160951 page 4 lines 22-23.
With regard to claim 8, the claim is directed to8. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 7, wherein capturing carbon dioxide includes capturing carbon dioxide in an amount up to 50% by weight of the hybrid particle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because adjusting the amount of captured carbon dioxide to achieve a desired amount of calcium carbonate formation would have been an obvious matter of routine process optimization.
With regard to claim 9, the claim is directed to9. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising, after obtaining the supply of granulated mixed plastic: mixing the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste treated with the preconditioning agent with one or more additives to form a plastic waste mixture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because mixing treated plastic waste with additives to produce a plastic waste mixture is a common compounding step used in polymer processing.
With regard to claim 10, the claim is directed to the method of claim 9 wherein the one or more additives includes at least one of an essence, a fire retardant, pozzolans, and an anti-bacterial agent.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because additives such as essence, a fire retardant, pozzolans, and an anti-bacterial agents were known additives used to impart desired functional properties to plastic -based composite materials.
With regard to claim 11, the claim is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein extruding the granulated mixed plastic waste to form the extruded product includes hot extruding the granulated mixed waste plastic material at a processing temperature between about 165°C and about 230°C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because hot extruding the granulated mixed waste plastic material at a processing temperature between about 165°C and about 230°C represents conventional extrusion conditions for many thermoplastic materials.
Claim(s) 16-22, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2002160951 see abstract, page 2 line 34, page 3 line 13, page 4 lines 21-35, page 3 line 16 to page 6 line 10, page 4 lines 24-26 in view of
WO2016084007A1 see abstract and paragraphs [0022]-[0038] WO2016084007A1 abstract and paragraphs [0022]-[0038], [0067], [0233]; further in view of USPub20020114888A1 see abstract, Table 1 and claims
With regard to claim 16, the claim is directed to a method of making a particle, the method comprising: obtaining a supply of granulated mixed plastic waste; extruding the granulated mixed plastic waste to form an extruded product including waste plastic material; processing the extruded product to form a particle in which the waste plastic material is exposed at exterior surfaces thereof; creating an electrostatic charge on the particle; battering the particle with a calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based paste to form a preconditioned particle, wherein the electrostatic charge on the particle assists with covering the particle with the calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based paste; and passing the preconditioned particle through a reactor to interact the calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based paste with flue gases in the reactor and form a calcium carbonate layer on the waste plastic material.
JP 2002160951 discloses coating plastic particles with cementitious material including lime and aluminum hydroxide, forming a coating layer on the plastic surface that is subsequently subjected to carbonation to form calcium carbonate (CaCO3), producing a product suitable for use in concrete compositions. See abstract, paragraphs [0004],[0007]. More specifically, the primary reference teaches an artificial lightweight aggregate using plastic waste, wherein the aggregate exhibits sufficient mechanical strength when used in cement compositions.. The primary reference discloses that the lightweight artificial aggregate includes plastic particles coated with cementitious material and subjected to carbonation to form calcium carbonate (CaCO3), producing a product suitable for use in concrete compositions. See abstract(plastic waste), page 2 line 34 to page 3 line 13(particle/oxide)-20 (layer), page 4 lines 21-35(calcium), page 3 line 16 to page 6 line 10(surface), page 4 lines 24-26 (granulation) and line 45 line 45(layers).
However, the primary refernece does not explicitly teach that the cement is applied as a paste.
WO2016084007A1 discloses the use of cement paste for bonding to plastic aggregate surfaces. See paragraph [0147]. The reference further discloses processing waste plastic by mixing plastic waste with additives such as pozzolanic materials, hot extruding the mixture to form an extruded product, and cutting or processing the extruded product into particles or aggregates that may be used in construction materials. See abstract and [0022]-[0038], [0067], [0233].
Neither JP2002160951 nor WO 2016084007A1 explicitly disclose creating an electrostatic charge on the particle.
USPub20020114888A1 teaches electrostatically charging coating particles prior to deposition so that the particles adhere to a surface improving coating adhesion and un uniformity. See abstract, Table 1 and claims
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electrostatic charging technique taught by USPub 20020114888A1 to the particle processing methods of JP2002160951 and WO 2016084007A1 because electrostatic charging of particulate coating materials is well known to cause the particles to adhere to surfaces and assist with covering the particles with the coating material, resulting in improved adhesion and more uniform coating deposition during particle or aggregate formation processes.
With regard to claim 17, the claim is directed to the method of claim 16 wherein the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste includes a variety of plastic materials including at least one of high density polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC, ABS, polyurethane, polyamide, and PET, or wherein the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste includes non-plastic material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because mixed plastic waste includes a variety of plastic materials including at least one of high density polyethylene, polypropylene, PVC, ABS, polyurethane, polyamide, and PET, and may also contain non-plastic material. See JP2002160951 abstract page 2 lines 37-39, page 2 line 34 and WO2016084007A1 abstract.
With regard to claim 18, the claim is directed to the method of claim 16, wherein the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste includes at least about 50% waste plastic material by weight.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because recycled mixed plastic waste streams typically contain substantial proportions of plastic material and selecting a feedstock containing at least about 50% waste plastic material by weight represents a conventional material selection. JP2002160951 see abstract, page 4 lines 20-23 and WO2016084007A1 abstract and paragraph [0038].
With regard to claim 19, the claim is directed to the method of claim 16, wherein passing the preconditioned particle through the reactor includes capturing carbon dioxide from the flue gases in the calcium carbonate layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because reacting calcium hydroxide with carbon dioxide present flue gas to form calcium carbonate is a well-known carbonation reaction used in carbon capture and mineralization processes. See JP2002160951 abstract, page 4 lines 20-23 and WO2016084007A1 abstract and paragraph [0038].
With regard to claim 20, wherein capturing carbon dioxide includes capturing carbon dioxide in an amount up to 50% by weight of the hybrid particle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because adjusting the amount of carbon dioxide captured to form calcium carbonate in varying amounts would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable of the carbonation reaction. See JP2002160951 abstract, page 4 lines 20-23 and WO2016084007A1 abstract and paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0038].
With regard to claim 21, further comprising, after obtaining the supply of granulated mixed plastic: mixing the supply of granulated mixed plastic waste with one or more additives to form a plastic waste mixture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because varying the composition of the calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based paste used to coat the particle would have been an obvious matter of routine material selection to achieve desired coating properties and, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face). WO2016084007A1 abstract and paragraphs [0016]-[0020] [0044] and [0063].
With regard to claim 22, wherein extruding the granulated mixed plastic waste includes hot extruding at a processing temperature between about 165°C and about 230°C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because hot extrusion at a processing temperature between about 165°C and about 230°C represents conventional extrusion processing conditions for thermoplastic materials. One would have been motivated to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).WO2016084007A1 Table 1 and paragraphs [0146].
With regard to claim 24, the claim is directed to the method of claim 16, wherein the electrostatic charge on the particle is a negative electrostatic charge.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because adjusting the cooperating conditions of the reactor used for carbonation, including exposure of the coated particles to flue gas, represents routine process optimization in carbonation and mineralization processes. USPub 20020114888 see abstract, paragraphs [0003]-[0015], [0021],and claims.
With regard to claim 25, the claim is directed to the method of claim 16, wherein creating the electrostatic charge includes triboelectric charging.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because modifying processing parameters such as residence time or reactor conditions to achieve a desired calcium carbonate coating on the hybrid particle would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation. One would have been motivated to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
With regard to claim 26, the claim is directed to the method of claim 16, wherein passing the preconditioned particle through the reactor includes capturing carbon dioxide from the flue gases in the calcium hydroxide or calcium oxide-based paste and resulting calcium carbonate layer on the waste plastic material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because modifying processing parameters reactor conditions for forming the calcium carbonate layer on the particle would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation. One would have been motivated to employ particular amounts and/or parameters as known in the art, since, the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003). See JP2002160951 page 4 line 21-26 (carbon dioxide gas)
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765