Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-37, 45, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “intended to” is unclear in claims 32-37. Based on the claims construction it is unclear if the limitations following the term are required or not. Because it is unclear and it is not defined in applicant’s disclosure and based on the claim construction a definition cannot be derived, therefor unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
It is unclear how averaging the reference interference sample signals is equivalent to combining them. The specification merely recites the claimed subject matter with no explanation. Because it is unclear and it is not defined in applicant’s disclosure and based on the claim construction a definition cannot be derived, therefor unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-31, 33-37, 39-43, 47-53, and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boloorian et al. (US 20200072979 A1) in view of Ellis et al. (US 20150103356 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Boloorian teaches [Note: what Boloorian fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system with suppressed Doppler frequency shift, wherein the system comprises: (The LIDAR output signal can be configured such that the change in frequency due to the Doppler shift (Δf.sub.d) is less than 10%, 1%%, 0.1%, or 0.01% of the Doppler shift (paragraph 0026)) at least one light source configured to emit a first light; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) at least one imaging input aperture and one imaging channel associated to the at least one imaging input aperture, configured to receive an input reflected light that is reflected by a moving object that is irradiated by the light source; (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078)) at least one reference aperture and one reference channel associated to the at least one reference aperture, configured to receive a reference reflected light that is reflected by the moving object that is irradiated by the light source; (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078)) at least one imaging oscillator; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) at least one first imaging optical receiver associated to the imaging input aperture and the imaging oscillator and configured to obtain an interference signal between the input reflected light and the imaging oscillator; (A first splitter 102 divides the reference signal carried on the reference waveguide 27 onto a first reference waveguide 110 and a second reference waveguide 108. The first reference waveguide 110 carries a first portion of the reference signal to the light-combining component 28. (paragraph 0082)) a reference oscillator; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) a reference optical receiver associated to the reference aperture and the reference oscillator and configured to obtain a reference interference signal between the reference reflected light and the reference oscillator; (The second light-combining component 112 combines the second portion of the comparative signal and the second portion of the reference signal into a second composite signal. (paragraph 0085)) A signal filter(see paragraph 0105) intermodulation product between the interference signal and the reference interference signal, such that the Doppler frequency shift caused by the moving object is cancelled or decreased. (The distance branch includes an adder 150 that sums the first multiplied data signal and the second multiplied data signal. The adder outputs a summed data signal. Suitable adders include, but are not limited to, RF combiners including resistive or hybrid combiners. (paragraph 0094) Accordingly, the LIDAR system can include one or more filters in addition to the illustrated components. (paragraph 0105))
Ellis teaches,
a signal filter arrangement positioned following the reference optical receiver, wherein the signal filter arrangement comprises a temporal filtering unit configured to accumulate samples of the reference interference signal and combine the samples to increase the SNR of the reference interference signal; (Part of beam B reflected from the lower beam splitter 22 is reflected at the top of upper beam splitter 21 where another reference interference signal 57 is generated which travels upstream along the path of source beam A and which can be detected (not shown). The combined reference interference signal 27 of interfering beam portions 25 and 31 is used to calculate the nominal, instantaneous frequency difference between the two optical input beams A and B. This value, the reference interference frequency, typically ranges between a few kilohertz to hundreds of megahertz. (paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ellis into the invention of Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Ellis and Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce noise of the signal.
Regarding claim 31, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the at least a first imaging optical receiver is an optical IQ receiver configured to obtain an interference signal between the input reflected light and the imaging oscillator comprising a first in phase component and a first quadrature component, and the reference optical receiver is an optical IQ receiver configured to obtain a reference interference signal comprising a reference in-phase component and a reference quadrature component. (The first reference waveguide 110 and the second reference waveguide 108 are constructed to provide a phase shift between the first portion of the reference signal and the second portion of the reference signal. For instance, the first reference waveguide 110 and the second reference waveguide 108 can be constructed so as to provide a 90 degree phase shift between the first portion of the reference signal and the second portion of the reference signal. As an example, one reference signal portion can be an in-phase component and the other a quadrature component. (paragraph 0087))
Regarding claim 33, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the at least one mixer comprises: a first mixer, intended to mix the first quadrature component and the reference in-phase component; (The distance branch includes a first distance branch line 142. During the first period, the first distance branch line 142 carries the first data signal to a first multiplier 144. In FIG. 6B, the first multiplier 144 is configured to square the amplitude of the first data signal and to output a first multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B)) and a second mixer, intended to mix the first in-phase component and the reference in-phase component. (In FIG. 6B, the second multiplier 148 is configured to square the amplitude of the second data signal and to output a second multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 34, Boloorian further teaches
further comprising a low-pass filter associated with each mixer. (The distance branch includes a low-pass filter 152 that receives the summed data signal and outputs a beating data signal. (paragraph 0094 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 35, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the at least one mixer comprises: a first mixer, intended to mix the first quadrature component and the reference quadrature component; (The distance branch includes a first distance branch line 142. During the first period, the first distance branch line 142 carries the first data signal to a first multiplier 144. In FIG. 6B, the first multiplier 144 is configured to square the amplitude of the first data signal and to output a first multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B)) and a second mixer, intended to mix the first in-phase component and the reference quadrature component. (In FIG. 6B, the second multiplier 148 is configured to square the amplitude of the second data signal and to output a second multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 36, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the at least one mixer comprises: a third mixer, intended to mix the first in-phase component and the time-derived reference quadrature component; (The distance branch includes a first distance branch line 142. During the first period, the first distance branch line 142 carries the first data signal to a first multiplier 144. In FIG. 6B, the first multiplier 144 is configured to square the amplitude of the first data signal and to output a first multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B)) and a fourth mixer, intended to mix the first quadrature component and the time-derived reference quadrature component. (In FIG. 6B, the second multiplier 148 is configured to square the amplitude of the second data signal and to output a second multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 37, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the at least one mixer comprises: a third mixer, intended to mix the first in-phase component and the time-derived reference in-phase component; (The distance branch includes a first distance branch line 142. During the first period, the first distance branch line 142 carries the first data signal to a first multiplier 144. In FIG. 6B, the first multiplier 144 is configured to square the amplitude of the first data signal and to output a first multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B)) and a fourth mixer, intended to mix the first quadrature component and the time-derived reference in-phase component. (In FIG. 6B, the second multiplier 148 is configured to square the amplitude of the second data signal and to output a second multiplied data signal. (paragraph 0093 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 39, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the reference oscillator and the imaging oscillator share a common origin. (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029) The light source is the common origin for both oscillators)
Regarding claim 40, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the reference aperture is the same as the input aperture and the reference channel and the imaging channel are derived from it by means of a splitter. (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078 and fig. 6A) In figure 6A it can be seen that there is a splitter 26 forming the channels)
Regarding claim 41, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the reference oscillator's wavelength stays static and the first optical oscillator's wavelength is swept following a standard FMCW (Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave) scheme. (Accordingly, the amplitude modulation signal can be a function of a sinusoid with a chirped or unchirped frequency. (paragraph 0092))
Regarding claim 42, Boloorian further teaches
further comprising one or more low-pass filters, associated with the optical receivers and configured to filter the interference signal and the reference interference signal. (The distance branch includes a low-pass filter 152 that receives the summed data signal and outputs a beating data signal. (paragraph 0094 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 43, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the mixers are Gilbert cells. (Suitable first multipliers and/or second multipliers include, but are not limited to, RF mixers such as a Gilbert cell mixer. (paragraph 0093))
Regarding claim 44 Boloorian fails to teach wherein the signal filter arrangement mixes the reference interference signal with a plurality of other reference signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Ellis teaches wherein the signal filter arrangement mixes the reference interference signal with a plurality of other reference signals. (Part of beam B reflected from the lower beam splitter 22 is reflected at the top of upper beam splitter 21 where another reference interference signal 57 is generated which travels upstream along the path of source beam A and which can be detected (not shown). The combined reference interference signal 27 of interfering beam portions 25 and 31 is used to calculate the nominal, instantaneous frequency difference between the two optical input beams A and B. This value, the reference interference frequency, typically ranges between a few kilohertz to hundreds of megahertz. (paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ellis into the invention of Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Ellis and Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce noise of the signal.
Regarding claim 47, Boloorian teaches [Note: what Boloorian fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A LIDAR system that comprises: (The LIDAR output signal can be configured such that the change in frequency due to the Doppler shift (Δf.sub.d) is less than 10%, 1%%, 0.1%, or 0.01% of the Doppler shift (paragraph 0026)) at least one light source configured to emit a first light; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) at least one imaging input aperture and one imaging channel associated to the at least one imaging input aperture, configured to receive an input reflected light that is reflected by a moving object that is irradiated by the light source; (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078)) at least one reference aperture and one reference channel associated to the at least one reference aperture, configured to receive a reference reflected light that is reflected by the moving object that is irradiated by the light source; (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078)) at least one imaging oscillator; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) at least one first imaging optical receiver associated to the imaging input aperture and the imaging oscillator and configured to obtain an interference signal between the input reflected light and the imaging oscillator; (A first splitter 102 divides the reference signal carried on the reference waveguide 27 onto a first reference waveguide 110 and a second reference waveguide 108. The first reference waveguide 110 carries a first portion of the reference signal to the light-combining component 28. (paragraph 0082)) a reference oscillator; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) a reference optical receiver associated to the reference aperture and the reference oscillator and configured to obtain a reference interference signal between the reference reflected light and the reference oscillator; (The second light-combining component 112 combines the second portion of the comparative signal and the second portion of the reference signal into a second composite signal. (paragraph 0085)) A signal filter(see paragraph 0105) (The distance branch includes an adder 150 that sums the first multiplied data signal and the second multiplied data signal. The adder outputs a summed data signal. Suitable adders include, but are not limited to, RF combiners including resistive or hybrid combiners. (paragraph 0094) Accordingly, the amplitude modulation signal can be a function of a sinusoid with a chirped or unchirped frequency. (paragraph 0092) Accordingly, the LIDAR system can include one or more filters in addition to the illustrated components. (paragraph 0105))
Ellis teaches,
a signal filter arrangement positioned following the reference optical receiver, wherein the signal filter arrangement comprises a temporal filtering unit configured to accumulate samples of the reference interference signal and combine the samples to increase the SNR of the reference interference signal; (Part of beam B reflected from the lower beam splitter 22 is reflected at the top of upper beam splitter 21 where another reference interference signal 57 is generated which travels upstream along the path of source beam A and which can be detected (not shown). The combined reference interference signal 27 of interfering beam portions 25 and 31 is used to calculate the nominal, instantaneous frequency difference between the two optical input beams A and B. This value, the reference interference frequency, typically ranges between a few kilohertz to hundreds of megahertz. (paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ellis into the invention of Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Ellis and Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce noise of the signal.
Regarding claim 48, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the at least a first imaging optical receiver is an optical IQ receiver configured to obtain an interference signal between the input reflected light and the imaging oscillator comprising a first in phase component and a first quadrature component, and the reference optical receiver is an optical IQ receiver configured to obtain a reference interference signal comprising a reference in-phase component and a reference quadrature component. (The first reference waveguide 110 and the second reference waveguide 108 are constructed to provide a phase shift between the first portion of the reference signal and the second portion of the reference signal. For instance, the first reference waveguide 110 and the second reference waveguide 108 can be constructed so as to provide a 90 degree phase shift between the first portion of the reference signal and the second portion of the reference signal. As an example, one reference signal portion can be an in-phase component and the other a quadrature component. (paragraph 0087))
Regarding claim 50, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the reference oscillator and the imaging oscillator share a common origin. (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029) The light source is the common origin for both oscillators)
Regarding claim 51, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the reference aperture is the same as the input aperture and the reference channel and the imaging channel are derived from it by means of a splitter. (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078 and fig. 6A) In figure 6A it can be seen that there is a splitter 26 forming the channels)
Regarding claim 52, Boloorian further teaches
wherein the reference oscillator's wavelength stays static and the first optical oscillator's wavelength is swept following a standard FMCW (Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave) scheme. (Accordingly, the amplitude modulation signal can be a function of a sinusoid with a chirped or unchirped frequency. (paragraph 0092))
Regarding claim 53, Boloorian further teaches
further comprising one or more low-pass filters, associated with the optical receivers and configured to filter the interference signal and the reference interference signal. (The distance branch includes a low-pass filter 152 that receives the summed data signal and outputs a beating data signal. (paragraph 0094 and fig. 6B))
Regarding claim 54 Boloorian fails to teach wherein the signal filter arrangement mixes the reference interference signal with a plurality of other reference signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Ellis teaches wherein the signal filter arrangement mixes the reference interference signal with a plurality of other reference signals. (Part of beam B reflected from the lower beam splitter 22 is reflected at the top of upper beam splitter 21 where another reference interference signal 57 is generated which travels upstream along the path of source beam A and which can be detected (not shown). The combined reference interference signal 27 of interfering beam portions 25 and 31 is used to calculate the nominal, instantaneous frequency difference between the two optical input beams A and B. This value, the reference interference frequency, typically ranges between a few kilohertz to hundreds of megahertz. (paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ellis into the invention of Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Ellis and Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce noise of the signal.
Regarding claim 57, Boloorian teaches [Note: what Boloorian fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A LIDAR system that comprises: (The LIDAR output signal can be configured such that the change in frequency due to the Doppler shift (Δf.sub.d) is less than 10%, 1%%, 0.1%, or 0.01% of the Doppler shift (paragraph 0026)) at least one light source configured to emit a first light; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) at least one imaging input aperture and one imaging channel associated to the at least one imaging input aperture, configured to receive an input reflected light that is reflected by a moving object that is irradiated by the light source; (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078)) at least one reference aperture and one reference channel associated to the at least one reference aperture, configured to receive a reference reflected light that is reflected by the moving object that is irradiated by the light source; (The mirror is positioned in the mirror recess such that the mirror receives the LIDAR output signal from the utility waveguide. A lens serves as a collimating device 92 that receives the LIDAR output signal from the mirror and provides collimation of the LIDAR output signal. (paragraph 0078)) at least one imaging oscillator; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) at least one first imaging optical receiver associated to the imaging input aperture and the imaging oscillator and configured to obtain an interference signal between the input reflected light and the imaging oscillator; (A first splitter 102 divides the reference signal carried on the reference waveguide 27 onto a first reference waveguide 110 and a second reference waveguide 108. The first reference waveguide 110 carries a first portion of the reference signal to the light-combining component 28. (paragraph 0082)) a reference oscillator; (The laser cavity includes a light source 10 that can include or consist of a gain medium (not shown) for a laser. (paragraph 0029)) a reference optical receiver associated to the reference aperture and the reference oscillator and configured to obtain a reference interference signal between the reference reflected light and the reference oscillator; (The second light-combining component 112 combines the second portion of the comparative signal and the second portion of the reference signal into a second composite signal. (paragraph 0085)) A signal filter(see paragraph 0105) (The distance branch includes an adder 150 that sums the first multiplied data signal and the second multiplied data signal. The adder outputs a summed data signal. Suitable adders include, but are not limited to, RF combiners including resistive or hybrid combiners. (paragraph 0094) Accordingly, the amplitude modulation signal can be a function of a sinusoid with a chirped or unchirped frequency. (paragraph 0092) Accordingly, the LIDAR system can include one or more filters in addition to the illustrated components. (paragraph 0105))
Ellis teaches,
a signal filter arrangement positioned following the reference optical receiver, wherein the signal filter arrangement comprises a temporal filtering unit configured to accumulate samples of the reference interference signal and combine the samples to increase the SNR of the reference interference signal; (Part of beam B reflected from the lower beam splitter 22 is reflected at the top of upper beam splitter 21 where another reference interference signal 57 is generated which travels upstream along the path of source beam A and which can be detected (not shown). The combined reference interference signal 27 of interfering beam portions 25 and 31 is used to calculate the nominal, instantaneous frequency difference between the two optical input beams A and B. This value, the reference interference frequency, typically ranges between a few kilohertz to hundreds of megahertz. (paragraph 0025)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ellis into the invention of Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Ellis and Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce noise of the signal.
Regarding claim 58 the method claim is substantially similar to claim 57 and is rejected using the same reasoning.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boloorian et al. (US 20200072979 A1) in view of Ellis et al. (US 20150103356 A1) in further view of Schwarz et al. (US 20140268098 A1).
Regarding claim 32 modified Boloorian teaches all the elements of claim 31 as previously stated, however modified Boloorian fails to teach further comprising a time derivation module, associated to the reference optical receiver and intended to time derivate the reference in-phase component and the reference quadrature component.
In the same field of endeavor, Schwarz teaches further comprising a time derivation module, associated to the reference optical receiver and intended to time derivate the reference in-phase component and the reference quadrature component. (The signal 100 from the pulse receiving sensor 60 can be received by a differentiator 72. The differentiator 72 can be an analog differentiator circuit, configured to output a time derivative of the signal 100 from the pulse receiving sensor 60. (paragraph 0041))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Schwarz into the invention of modified Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Schwarz and modified Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to separate return signals.
Claims 38 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boloorian et al. (US 20200072979 A1) in view of Ellis et al. (US 20150103356 A1) in further view of Tanemura et al. (US 20200088876 A1).
Regarding claim 38 modified Boloorian teaches all the elements of claim 31 as previously stated, however modified Boloorian fails to teach further comprising transimpedance amplifiers positioned following the reference optical receiver and the first imaging optical receiver, and configured to amplify the reference in-phase component, the reference quadrature component, the first in-phase component and the first quadrature component.
In the same field of endeavor, Tanemura teaches further comprising transimpedance amplifiers positioned following the reference optical receiver and the first imaging optical receiver, and configured to amplify the reference in-phase component, the reference quadrature component, the first in-phase component and the first quadrature component. (Each of the TIAs 9 converts the current signal input thereto from the corresponding converter 8 to a voltage signal and outputs the voltage signal. Each of the TIAs 9 is connected to the calculation unit 10 by the wire 13, and the voltage signal output from the TIA 9 is input to the calculation unit 10. (paragraph 0068))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Tanemura into the invention of modified Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Tanemura and modified Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase measurement capability of the signal.
Regarding claim 49 modified Boloorian teaches all the elements of claim 31 as previously stated, however modified Boloorian fails to teach further comprising transimpedance amplifiers positioned following the reference optical receiver and the first imaging optical receiver, and configured to amplify the reference in-phase component, the reference quadrature component, the first in-phase component and the first quadrature component.
In the same field of endeavor, Tanemura teaches further comprising transimpedance amplifiers positioned following the reference optical receiver and the first imaging optical receiver, and configured to amplify the reference in-phase component, the reference quadrature component, the first in-phase component and the first quadrature component. (Each of the TIAs 9 converts the current signal input thereto from the corresponding converter 8 to a voltage signal and outputs the voltage signal. Each of the TIAs 9 is connected to the calculation unit 10 by the wire 13, and the voltage signal output from the TIA 9 is input to the calculation unit 10. (paragraph 0068))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Tanemura into the invention of modified Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose LIDAR systems for distance measurement. The combination of Tanemura and modified Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase measurement capability of the signal.
Claims 46 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boloorian et al. (US 20200072979 A1) in view of Ellis et al. (US 20150103356 A1) in further view of Rakuljic (US 20090245306 A1).
Regarding claim 46 modified Boloorian teaches all the elements of claim 30 as previously stated, however modified Boloorian fails to wherein the temporal filtering unit is configured to combine the samples by using a series of phase locked loops (PLLs).
In the same field of endeavor, Rakuljic teaches wherein the temporal filtering unit is configured to combine the samples by using a series of phase locked loops (PLLs). (cascading a number of semiconductor lasers 12 and OPLLs 100, each locked to the previous OPLL of the series casecade at a particular frequency offset within the limited bandwidth of the photodetector 22. (paragraph 0024 and fig. 2A))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Rakuljic into the invention of modified Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose laser based optical systems. The combination of Rakuljic and modified Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to create a smooth signal.
Regarding claim 56 modified Boloorian teaches all the elements of claim 47 as previously stated, however modified Boloorian fails to wherein the temporal filtering unit is configured to combine the samples by using a series of phase locked loops (PLLs).
In the same field of endeavor, Rakuljic teaches wherein the temporal filtering unit is configured to combine the samples by using a series of phase locked loops (PLLs). (cascading a number of semiconductor lasers 12 and OPLLs 100, each locked to the previous OPLL of the series casecade at a particular frequency offset within the limited bandwidth of the photodetector 22. (paragraph 0024 and fig. 2A))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Rakuljic into the invention of modified Boloorian. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose laser based optical systems. The combination of Rakuljic and modified Boloorian would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to create a smooth signal.
Conclusion
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648