DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/30/2023 and 10/18/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 10/18/2023 is acknowledged and has been approved for entry by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Figures: The examiner provides illustrations from the prior art with additional annotations as needed to facilitate discussion of the claim elements. Moreover, it is held that guidance as provided by the figures is sufficient to enable public possession of an inventive concept. That is, an enabling picture may be used to reject claims directed to an article to include: anticipating claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). And when the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979), see MPEP 2125.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2024/0049782 A1), in view of Bless et al. (US 2019/0000144 A1), in view of Xu (CN 110464055 B).
Regarding claims 1-2, Jung discloses an aerosol generating system – (construed as a flavor-compensated aerosol generating product). The system to include as best depicted in at least FIG. 2, a main body – (not depicted but is construed as a housing), a battery 11 – (construed as a power supply), a processor 12 - (construed as a control module), second heater 14 and cartridge 15, see also [0049] - (construed as an electronic atomization module) and a cigarette 2 – (construed as a heat-not-burn module). The battery, the processor and the second heater/cartridge are disposed inside the main body. The battery is communicated with the second heater/cartridge via the processor, see [0036]. One end of the main body is provided with an internal space, depicted throughout the FIGS – (construed as an accommodation cavity), one end of the cigarette is arranged in the internal space, depicted throughout the FIGS.
Jung does not explicitly disclose a first aerosol channel is arranged between the accommodation cavity and the housing, a hollow second aerosol channel is arranged inside the middle of the heat-not-burn module, one end of the first aerosol channel is communicated with the electronic atomization module, and the other end of the first aerosol channel is communicated with the second aerosol channel through a sealing element and is sealed from the outside.
Bless discloses a smoking article. The article is configured to have a cavity 522 – (construed as a first aerosol channel), arranged between a tubular passage 514 – (construed as an accommodation cavity) and a housing 520, a mouthpiece channel 512 – (construed as a hollow second aerosol channel) is arranged inside the middle of the cigarette, one end of the cavity 522/first aerosol channel is communicated with a heater 530, see also [0029] – (construed as an electronic atomization module), and the other end of the cavity 522/first aerosol channel is communicated with the mouthpiece channel 512/second aerosol channel. One of ordinary skill would appreciate and envision such a construction as Bless suggests the configuration contributes to the smoking sensation of holding a cigarette article much like a traditional type of smoking article, draw on one end of that article for inhalation of an aerosol produced by that article, and take puffs at selected intervals of time, see at least [0026].
Xu discloses an air heated non-combustible cigarette smoking device. The device is configured to have a base 2013 which is fastened in a sealing manner – (construed as a sealing element). The sealing manner being sufficient for directing air flow from an entrance point at 20131 through a first flow channel 8, into a second flow channel 9, into a third flow channel 10 via second air holes 1011 – (construed as an inner wall through hole inside the outer end of the accommodation cavity, wherein the base/sealing elements are respectively provided on both sides of the inner wall through hole 1011) and ultimately through to the user after being heated and flavored, see at least figure 2. That is, the fastened manner of the base seals the internal air channels from the outside. One of ordinary skill would appreciate and envision such a construction as Xu suggests the configuration contributes to avoiding waste of energy while reducing the shell temperature and recycling the process heat, see at least page 11 paragraph 3.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung as claimed and taught by Bless and Xu to provide Jung’s aerosol generating device with the aforementioned benefits.
Regarding claim 5, modified Jung discloses the inner wall of the internal space/accommodation cavity is provided with a first heater 13 – (construed as heating element), and the first heater/heating element is coupled to the power supply through the control module, see at least Jung [0036].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record Jung does not teach or reasonably suggest forming the aerosol generating device to have the claimed structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749