DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed July 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 15, 25, and 28 have been amended.
Claims 2, 16, 26, and 29 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1, 3-15, 17-25, 27, 28, and 30 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on July 3, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-14, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 25 have been amended to include the limitation “…wherein the aerial measurements are configured to be obtained in a connected mode, an idle mode, and an inactive mode at the UE…”. Upon review of the specification, it appears there is no support for the combination of a connected mode, an idle mode, and an inactive mode at the UE for obtained aerial measurements. The specification appears to only suggest that the UE can be in one of an idle or inactive mode or connected mode, as described in paragraph [0020] (“…the UE is in an idle or inactive mode (or in a connected mode if an immediate MDT is requested)…”), paragraph [0058] (“…measurements may be made by aerial UE 115-b as part of a measurement procedure such as a MDT procedure that may collect measurements of multiple base stations 105 while the UE 115-b is in an idle or inactive mode…”), paragraphs [0083], [0089], [0091], [0101] (“…where the aerial measurements are configured to be obtained in any of a connected mode or an idle mode or an inactive mode at the UE…”), and paragraphs [0111], [0117], [0119], [0130] (“…where measurements of the reference signals are configured to be performed during any of a connected mode or an idle mode or an inactive mode at the UE…”). Therefore, the claims fails to comply with the written description requirement as defined in 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 3-14 and 27 rejected based on their dependency on claims 1 and 25, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17, 19-21, 23-25, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOK et al. (hereinafter Mok) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0288370 A1) in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (hereinafter Haustein) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0189382 A1), and further in view of Xue et al. (hereinafter Xue) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0306675 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Mok teaches and discloses a method and apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE/terminal, figures 1 and 3), comprising: memory (storage, figure 3); and at least one processor (controller, figure 3) coupled with the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first base station (base station, figures 1 and 2), configuration information (configuration information) for transmission of measurement reports of reference signals from neighboring base stations (measurement reports of neighboring base stations; [0063]; [0073]) that are measured at the UE, wherein the UE is an aerial UE (aerial terminal/UAV; [0062]) and the configuration information indicates parameters associated with aerial measurements of the UE (such as altitude) ([0062]; “…the terminal receives, from a base station, configuration information regarding at least one handover event corresponding to an altitude state of the terminal. The altitude state of the terminal may include at least one of an aerial state…the aerial state refers to a state in which the altitude of the terminal is higher than a threshold altitude…the terminal in the aerial state may be referred to as an “aerial terminal”…”; [0069]; “…the base station transmits a measurement configuration message to the terminal…the measurement configuration message may include configuration information regarding the first handover event corresponding to the aerial state… the measurement report message (measurement configuration message) and/or respective configuration information may include information regarding a threshold altitude (height_threshold)…”; [0073]; “…the measurement configuration message and/or configuration information…include parameters for determining the altitude state of the terminal, in addition to the information regarding the threshold altitude…The threshold signal strength refers to a threshold value regarding a signal strength of a neighboring base station for the terminal to determine the neighboring base station as a discoverable neighboring base station…”; teaches the UE/terminal receives configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station for the UE/terminal to transmit a measurement report of reference signals from a neighboring base stations, wherein the UE/terminal is in a connected mode);
measure the reference signals from the neighboring base stations ([0084]; “…the terminal may measure a reference signals received power (RSRP) of the signal received from at least one neighboring base station…”; teaches measuring reference signals from a neighboring base station); and
transmit a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signals and aerial parameters associated with the measurements ([0063]; [0074]; “…the terminal transmits a measurement report message to the base station…the terminal may transmit the measurement report message including information regarding measurement performed to make such determination to the base station…”; [0075]; “…the measurement report message may include information regarding whether measurement regarding the neighboring base station…the measurement report message may include the altitude state of the terminal…”; teaches the UE/terminal transmits a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report).
However, Mok may not explicitly disclose wherein the aerial measurements are configured to be obtained in a connected mode, an idle mode, and an inactive mode at the UE (although Mok does teach the UE/terminal receives configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station for the UE/terminal to transmit a measurement report of reference signals from a neighboring base stations, wherein the UE/terminal is in a connected mode).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Haustein teaches and suggests wherein the aerial measurements are configured to be obtained in a connected mode, an idle mode, and an inactive mode at the UE ([0159]; [0174]; [0190]; [0227]; teaches aerial measurements related to a device, such as altitude, can be configured to be obtained in an active, inactive and idle mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate aerial measurements related to a device, such as altitude, can be configured to be obtained in an active, inactive and idle mode as taught by Haustein with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok for the purpose of improving quality of service related to drone/UAV communications by configuring measurement, logging, and reporting of measurements, as suggested by Haustein.
However, Mok, as modified by Haustein, may not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement report includes one or more characteristics associated with a hardware configuration of the UE, and wherein the one or more characteristics include an antenna type, an antenna location, an antenna direction, or any combination thereof, of the UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Xue teaches and suggests wherein the measurement report (report; [0095]) includes one or more characteristics associated with a hardware configuration of the UE, and wherein the one or more characteristics include an antenna type, an antenna location, an antenna direction, or any combination thereof, of the UE ([0095]; “…the UE 800 can additionally report the orientation of transmit and receive antennas. The orientation reported can be the orientation relative to other cells, or an absolute orientation…the UE 800 can also report three-dimensional location, antenna patterns…”; [0103]; “…a UAV 1200 can perform beamforming to adjust antenna direction…the UAV 1200 can report position, direction, or other information for the UAV…the UAV 1200 includes directional antennas, the UAV 1200 can tilt an antenna toward the serving cell…”; [0110]; “…the UE can report 3D position, antenna direction, preferred cells…”; teaches the UE including in a report information reporting hardware configuration of the UE including characteristics including the antenna orientation, location and pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE including in a report information reporting hardware configuration of the UE including characteristics including the antenna orientation, location and pattern as taught by Xue with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok, as modified by Haustein, for the purpose of improving detection and mitigation of interference related to drone/UAV communications, as suggested by Xue.
Regarding claim 3, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the one or more characteristics include an aerial UE type of the UE ([0062]; teaches the measurement report includes characteristics of the UE/terminal, such as the type of UE/terminal being an aerial or ground terminal).
Regarding claims 4 and 27, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the configuration information is received in radio resource configuration (RRC) signaling that configures at least one aerial-type measurement report separately from measurement reports provided from a ground-based UE ([0070]; “…configuration information regarding the plurality of handover events and the threshold altitude may be expressed in a radio resource control (RRC) message. For example, triggerType of ReportConfiguEUTRA in the RRC message may be set to one of a plurality of different trigger events according to the altitude state of the terminal, and a field regarding the threshold altitude may be included in the RRC message…”; teaches the UE/terminal receiving RRC message that comprises configuration information for an aerial terminal).
Regarding claim 5, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses determine, based on the configuration information, a number of neighboring base stations to include in the measurement report based at least in part on one or more limit values (N_NeighCell_threshold) associated with the configuration information ([0073]; “…the measurement configuration message and/or the configuration information…include at least one of the threshold altitude…a threshold number (N_NeighCell_Threshold)…”; [0075]; teaches determining a number of neighboring base stations to include in the measurement report based on the limit value associated with the measurement configuration).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the aerial parameters include a height of the UE associated with the measurements of the reference signals from the neighboring base stations ([0062]; “…the terminal receives, from a base station, configuration information regarding at least one handover event corresponding to an altitude state of the terminal. The altitude state of the terminal may include at least one of an aerial state…the aerial state refers to a state in which the altitude of the terminal is higher than a threshold altitude…the terminal in the aerial state may be referred to as an “aerial terminal”…”; [0069]; “…the base station transmits a measurement configuration message to the terminal…the measurement report message (measurement configuration message) and/or respective configuration information may include information regarding a threshold altitude (height_threshold)…”; [0073]; teaches the UE/terminal receives configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station for the UE/terminal to transmit a measurement report of reference signals from a neighboring base stations).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the measurement of the reference signals responsive to a trigger event associated with the UE ([0062]; [0070]; [0075]; [0084]; “…the terminal may measure a reference signals received power (RSRP) of the signal received from at least one neighboring base station…”; teaches measuring reference signals based on a triggering event).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the trigger event is a height of the UE that is at or above a configured lower height threshold, or at or below a configured upper height threshold, or within a configured range of heights ([0062]; [0070]; [0075]; teaches the trigger event is a threshold altitude).
Regarding claim 11, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein height of the UE is implicitly indicated based on the trigger event ([0062]; [0070]; [0075]; teaches reference altitude is implicit based on the trigger event which is a threshold altitude).
Regarding claims 13 and 23, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the measurement report further includes an indication of whether reported measurements were obtained by the UE when in an aerial state or in a ground state ([0062]; teaches the measurement report includes characteristics associated with the hardware configuration of the UE/terminal, such as the type of UE/terminal being an aerial or ground terminal).
Regarding claim 14, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses transmit, to the first base station, a capability message that indicates the UE has an aerial capability, that indicates capabilities to provide different types of measurement reports to the first base station, or any combinations thereof ([0062]; teaches the UE/terminal indicates to the base station the aerial capability of the UE/terminal, such as the type of UE/terminal being an aerial or ground terminal).
Regarding claims 15 and 28, Mok teaches and discloses a method and apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (base station, figures 1 and 2), comprising: memory (storage, figure 2); and at least one processor (controller, figure 2) coupled with the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (UE/terminal, figures 1 and 3), configuration information (configuration information) for transmission of measurement reports by the UE to indicate measurements of reference signals from neighboring base stations (measurement reports of neighboring base stations; [0063]; [0073]), wherein the UE is an aerial UE (aerial terminal/UAV; [0062]) and the configuration information indicates aerial parameters associated with aerial measurements of the UE (such as altitude) ([0062]; “…the terminal receives, from a base station, configuration information regarding at least one handover event corresponding to an altitude state of the terminal. The altitude state of the terminal may include at least one of an aerial state…the aerial state refers to a state in which the altitude of the terminal is higher than a threshold altitude…the terminal in the aerial state may be referred to as an “aerial terminal”…”; [0069]; “…the base station transmits a measurement configuration message to the terminal…the measurement configuration message may include configuration information regarding the first handover event corresponding to the aerial state… the measurement report message (measurement configuration message) and/or respective configuration information may include information regarding a threshold altitude (height_threshold)…”; [0073]; “…the measurement configuration message and/or configuration information…include parameters for determining the altitude state of the terminal, in addition to the information regarding the threshold altitude…The threshold signal strength refers to a threshold value regarding a signal strength of a neighboring base station for the terminal to determine the neighboring base station as a discoverable neighboring base station…”; teaches the base station transmits to an UE/terminal configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, for the UE/terminal to transmit a measurement report of reference signals from a neighboring base stations, wherein the UE/terminal is in a connected mode); and
receive a measurement report from the UE that includes the measurements of the reference signals from the neighboring base stations ([0084]; “…the terminal may measure a reference signals received power (RSRP) of the signal received from at least one neighboring base station…”; teaches measuring reference signals from a neighboring base station), wherein one or more of the measurements have one or more associated aerial parameters ([0063]; [0074]; “…the terminal transmits a measurement report message to the base station…the terminal may transmit the measurement report message including information regarding measurement performed to make such determination to the base station…”; [0075]; “…the measurement report message may include information regarding whether measurement regarding the neighboring base station…the measurement report message may include the altitude state of the terminal…”; teaches the base station receives from the UE/terminal measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report).
However, Mok may not explicitly disclose wherein the measurements of the reference signals are configured to be performed during an idle mode or an inactive mode at the UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Haustein teaches and suggests wherein the measurements of the reference signals are configured to be performed during an idle mode or an inactive mode at the UE ([0114]; [0174]; [0210]; [0227]; teaches measurements of the reference signals are configured to be performed in an inactive or idle state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate measurements of the reference signals are configured to be performed in an inactive or idle state as taught by Haustein with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok for the purpose of improving quality of service related to drone/UAV communications by configuring measurement, logging, and reporting of measurements, as suggested by Haustein.
However, Mok, as modified by Haustein, may not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement report includes one or more characteristics associated with a hardware configuration of the UE, and wherein the one or more characteristics include an antenna type, an antenna location, an antenna direction, or any combination thereof, of the UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Xue teaches and suggests wherein the measurement report (report; [0095]) includes one or more characteristics associated with a hardware configuration of the UE, and wherein the one or more characteristics include an antenna type, an antenna location, an antenna direction, or any combination thereof, of the UE ([0095]; “…the UE 800 can additionally report the orientation of transmit and receive antennas. The orientation reported can be the orientation relative to other cells, or an absolute orientation…the UE 800 can also report three-dimensional location, antenna patterns…”; [0103]; “…a UAV 1200 can perform beamforming to adjust antenna direction…the UAV 1200 can report position, direction, or other information for the UAV…the UAV 1200 includes directional antennas, the UAV 1200 can tilt an antenna toward the serving cell…”; [0110]; “…the UE can report 3D position, antenna direction, preferred cells…”; teaches the UE including in a report information reporting hardware configuration of the UE including characteristics including the antenna orientation, location and pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE including in a report information reporting hardware configuration of the UE including characteristics including the antenna orientation, location and pattern as taught by Xue with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok, as modified by Haustein, for the purpose of improving detection and mitigation of interference related to drone/UAV communications, as suggested by Xue.
Regarding claims 17 and 30, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses wherein the configuration information is transmitted in radio resource configuration (RRC) signaling to the UE that configures at least one aerial-type measurement report separately from measurement reports provided by a ground-based UE ([0070]; “…configuration information regarding the plurality of handover events and the threshold altitude may be expressed in a radio resource control (RRC) message. For example, triggerType of ReportConfiguEUTRA in the RRC message may be set to one of a plurality of different trigger events according to the altitude state of the terminal, and a field regarding the threshold altitude may be included in the RRC message…”; teaches the UE/terminal receiving RRC message that comprises configuration information for an aerial terminal).
Regarding claim 24, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, further teaches and discloses receive, from the UE, a capability message that indicates the UE has an aerial capability, indicates capabilities to provide different types of measurement reports to the base station, or any combinations thereof ([0062]; teaches the base station receives from the UE/terminal an indication of the aerial capability of the UE/terminal, such as the type of UE/terminal being an aerial or ground terminal).
Claims 6, 7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOK et al. (hereinafter Mok) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0288370 A1) in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (hereinafter Haustein) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0189382 A1) and Xue et al. (hereinafter Xue) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0306675 A1), and further in view of LU et al. (hereinafter Lu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0160749 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, teaches a terminal receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the number of neighboring base stations is a configured maximum number of base stations measured when in an aerial state, a configured total number of base stations measured when in the aerial state and a non-aerial state, or any combinations thereof.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches and suggests wherein the number of neighboring base stations is a configured maximum number of base stations measured when in an aerial state, a configured total number of base stations measured when in the aerial state and a non-aerial state, or any combinations thereof ([0172]; “…generate measurement and report configuration related information based on at least height information of a user equipment. The measurement and report configuration related information includes…a maximum number (maxReportCells) of report cells, a trigger quantity (triggerQuantity), a report quantity (reportQuantity)…”; [0212]; “…the maximum number of report cells “maxReportCells” in the generated measurement and report configuration related information may be set to an integer between 1 and a predetermined threshold…”; teaches the number of report cells is limited to a maximum number of report cells measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the number of report cells is limited to a maximum number of report cells measured as taught by Lu with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, for the purpose of configuring the range of measured cells for an aerial vehicle in order to reduce frequent handover, as suggested by Lu.
Regarding claim 7, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, teaches a terminal receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the number of neighboring base stations corresponds to an amount of base stations having a measurement value that triggers the UE to log a measurement.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches and suggests wherein the number of neighboring base stations corresponds to an amount of base stations having a measurement value that triggers the UE to log a measurement ([0172]; “…generate measurement and report configuration related information based on at least height information of a user equipment. The measurement and report configuration related information includes…a maximum number (maxReportCells) of report cells, a trigger quantity (triggerQuantity), a report quantity (reportQuantity)…”; [0212]; “…the maximum number of report cells “maxReportCells” in the generated measurement and report configuration related information may be set to an integer between 1 and a predetermined threshold…”; [0213]; teaches the number of report cells is to include in a measurement report corresponds to the number of report cells having a measurement value for logging the measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the number of report cells is to include in a measurement report corresponds to the number of report cells having a measurement value for logging the measurement as taught by Lu with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, for the purpose of configuring the range of measured cells for an aerial vehicle in order to reduce frequent handover, as suggested by Lu.
Claims 12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOK et al. (hereinafter Mok) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0288370 A1) in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (hereinafter Haustein) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0189382 A1) and Xue et al. (hereinafter Xue) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0306675 A1), and further in view of XU et al. (hereinafter Xu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0379657 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, teaches a terminal receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report, but may not explicitly disclose identify a number of other aerial UEs within a predetermined range of the UE based on the configuration information; and provide an indication of the number of other aerial UEs to the first base station with the measurement report, wherein the measurement report includes newly measured reference signal measurements or previously measured reference signal measurements.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches and suggests identify a number of other aerial UEs within a predetermined range of the UE based on the configuration information; and provide an indication of the number of other aerial UEs to the first base station with the measurement report, wherein the measurement report includes newly measured reference signal measurements or previously measured reference signal measurements ([0056]; [0068]; [0069]; [0070]; teaches identifying the number of second UAV UEs within a range of the UE and indicating the number of other UAV UEs in the measurement report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate identifying the number of second UAV UEs within a range of the UE and indicating the number of other UAV UEs in the measurement report as taught by Xu with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, for the purpose of determining and triggering the reporting of ranging information, as suggested by Xu.
Regarding claim 22, Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, teaches a terminal receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report, but may not explicitly disclose receiving, from the UE, a number of other aerial UEs within a predetermined range of the UE, wherein the number of other aerial UEs is provided with the measurement report or separately from the measurement report.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches and suggests receiving, from the UE, a number of other aerial UEs within a predetermined range of the UE, wherein the number of other aerial UEs is provided with the measurement report or separately from the measurement report ([0056]; [0068]; [0069]; [0070]; teaches identifying the number of second UAV UEs within a range of the UE and indicating the number of other UAV UEs in the measurement report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate identifying the number of second UAV UEs within a range of the UE and indicating the number of other UAV UEs in the measurement report as taught by Xu with the method and apparatus for receiving configuration information, indicating parameter associated with aerial measurement of the aerial UE/terminal, from a base station and a measurement report comprising measurements of the reference signal and altitude parameter associated with the measurement report as disclosed by Mok, as modified by Haustein and Xue, for the purpose of determining and triggering the reporting of ranging information, as suggested by Xu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-15, 17-25, 27, 28, and 30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
July 22, 2026