DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 23, 26-31, 33, and 37-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 9-15, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 17715128 (reference application) in view of Huepf et al. (US 2020/0113544; hereinafter Huepf). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to systems and methods for guiding positioning and orienting of an ultrasound probe including receiving image data, analyzing the data, and conveying to the user of the probe the current position and orientation of the probe relative to the target position and orientation . Regarding claim 13 of the instant invention, the claim differs from claim 1 of the reference application in that it includes limitations regarding superimposing fluid flow information. However, it is noted that these features are described in claims 7-8 of the reference application. Furthermore, regarding the specific shape of the visual cues describes in claims 21 and 31 of the instant application, it would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation, to utilize visual cues having known shapes to convey the information regarding position of the probe and the target. In particular, a cross-hair reticle type view is known in the art of image processing/analysis, for aligning with a target in an image.
Furthermore, regarding the limitation “a visual marker whose position near said cross figure corresponds to a position of a physical marker on a probe”, this feature is taught by Huepf ([0039]-[0041]; Figs. 2-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, without undue experimentation, to utilize visual cues having known shapes to convey the information regarding position of the probe and the target. In particular, a cross-hair reticle type view is known in the art of image processing/analysis, for aligning with a target in an image.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 26-31, 33, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kezurer et al. (US 2019/0354856; hereinafter Kezurer) in view of Takeuchi (US 2004/0019270), Huepf et al. (US 2020/0113544; hereinafter Huepf), and Choi et al. (US 2016/0287215; hereinafter Choi).
Kezurer shows a method and system for positioning and orienting of an ultrasound probe (abstract), the system comprising: a computer processor; and one or more sets of instructions which, when executed, cause the computer processor to: receive or determine a dataset indicating a type, a direction and a measure of motion required to bring an ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation, wherein the target position and orientation align the ultrasound probe to correctly acquire a selected view of a body part ([0066]-[0067]; [0078]-[0079]); generate, based on at least a portion of the dataset, one or more images each comprising one or more visual cues indicating the type, the direction and the measure of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation its target position and orientation; and cause a presentation of the one or more images on a display ([0066]-[0067]; [0078]-[0079]); wherein each of the one or more images comprises: a first visual cue indicating the target position and orientation of the ultrasound probe ([0078]-[0079]); and a second visual cue indicating the current position and orientation of the ultrasound probe relative to the target position and orientation of the ultrasound probe ([0078]-[0079]);
Also, wherein the one or more sets of instructions, when executed, cause the computer processor further to: receive at least one ultrasound image acquired by the ultrasound probe in the current position and orientation thereof ([0066]); and feed the at least one ultrasound image and the selected view of the body part as an input into a neural network, wherein the neural network being implemented on the computer processor and configured to output the dataset ([0065], [0068]-[0069], [0110]); wherein analyzing the image comprises using an artificial intelligence process ([0065], [0068]-[0069], [0110]).
Kezurer further shows a relative position and orientation between the second visual cue and the first visual cue are indicating the type and the direction of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation ([0078]-[0079]). Kezurer further shows wherein the second visual cue comprises an arrow ([0067]).
Kezurer fails to show a distance between a specified point on the second visual cue and a corresponding specified point on the first visual cue is indicating the measure of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation; wherein the first visual cue comprising: 15P-601791-US a cross figure having two bars which are perpendicular to each other and intersecting at an intersection point; wherein the cross figure represents a proximal end of the ultrasound probe in its target position and orientation; wherein the intersection point represents a central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe in its target position and orientation; and wherein a plane defined by the bars represents a plane that is perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe its target position and orientation; wherein the first visual cue further comprises a visual marker which position corresponds to a position of a corresponding physical marker on the ultrasound probe; wherein the second visual cue comprising: a 2D projection of a 3D representation of the ultrasound probe in its current position and orientation; and a second cross figure having two second bars which are perpendicular to each other and intersecting at a second intersection point; wherein the second cross figure represents the proximal end of the ultrasound probe in its current position and orientation; wherein the second intersection point represents the central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe in its current position and orientation; and wherein a plane defined by the second bars represents a plane that is perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe its current position and orientation; wherein the second visual cue further comprises a second visual marker which position corresponds to a position of a corresponding physical marker on the ultrasound probe; wherein the second visual cue comprises an arrow, wherein a shape of the arrow indicates the type of motion, a direction of the arrow indicates the direction of 16P-601791-US motion and a size of the arrow indicates the measure of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation; wherein the second visual cue comprises a text indicator having numeral values to quantify the measure of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation; wherein the first visual cue comprises a visual representation of at least a portion of the subject body.
Kezurer fails to show an ultrasound probe having a physical marker thereon on one lateral side thereof; and a visual marker at one end of one of said two bars whose position corresponds to a position of a physical marker on said probe.
Kezurer fails to show an image quality indication scale indicating a quality of a received ultrasound image produced by the ultrasound probe at its current position and orientation as being of the selected view.
Takeuchi discloses guidance information for and ultrasonic diagnostic probe. Takeuchi teaches wherein the first visual cue further comprises a visual marker which position corresponds to a position of a corresponding physical marker on the ultrasound probe (probe information 46 is considered a visual marker which corresponds to the real position of the physical markings of the ultrasound probe; Figure 7A); wherein the second visual cue comprising: a 2D projection of a 3D representation of the ultrasound probe in its current position and orientation; and a second cross figure having two second bars which are perpendicular to each other and intersecting at a second intersection point; wherein the second cross figure represents the proximal end of the ultrasound probe in its current position and orientation; wherein the second intersection point represents the central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe in its current position and orientation; and wherein a plane defined by the second bars represents a plane that is perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe its current position and orientation (probe movement information 46 which illustrates a view of the physical probe in its current position and in its desired target position, including intersecting perpendicular lines defining the plane of the probe, Figure 7A); wherein the second visual cue further comprises a second visual marker which position corresponds to a position of a corresponding physical marker on the ultrasound probe (probe information 46 is considered a visual marker which corresponds to the real position of the physical markings of the ultrasound probe; Figure 7A).
Takeuchi also teaches a distance between a specified point on the second visual cue and a corresponding specified point on the first visual cue is indicating the measure of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation (probe movement information including both direction and quantity of movement, [0048]); wherein the first visual cue comprising: 15P-601791-US a cross figure having two bars which are perpendicular to each other and intersecting at an intersection point; wherein the cross figure represents a proximal end of the ultrasound probe in its target position and orientation; wherein the intersection point represents a central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe in its target position and orientation; and wherein a plane defined by the bars represents a plane that is perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of the ultrasound probe its target position and orientation (probe movement information 46 which illustrates a view of the physical probe in its current position and in its desired target position, including intersecting perpendicular lines defining the plane of the probe, Figure 7A); wherein the second visual cue comprises a text indicator having numeral values to quantify the measure of motion required to bring the ultrasound probe from its current position and orientation to its target position and orientation (display position information 44, [0057]; Figure 7A); wherein the first visual cue comprises a visual representation of at least a portion of the subject body (Figure 7A illustrates the ultrasound image which is a visual representation of the subject body along with the position of the physical ultrasound probe).
Huepf discloses methods an systems for enhanced visualization of ultrasound probe positioning feedback. Huepf teaches an ultrasound probe having a physical marker thereon on one lateral side thereof (position sensing system 112 attached to probe, provides probe position data to generate the reticle 300 corresponding with the probe position and orientation, [0026], [0040], [0058]); and a visual marker at one end of one of said two bars whose position corresponds to a position of a physical marker on said probe (lateral reticle element 304; [0039]-[0041]; Figs. 2-10).
Choi discloses and ultrasound imaging apparatus and method of processing ultrasound images. Choi teaches an image quality indication scale indicating a quality of a received ultrasound image produced by the ultrasound probe at its current position and orientation as being of the selected view ([0202]-[0204]; Fig. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Kezurer to utilize a graphical display which illustrates the probe in its current and desired position by utilizing a cross figure as taught by Takeuchi, as this type of display format will allow the user to more quickly understand the position of the probe and the manner in which the user must move it to properly align the probe in the desired position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Kezurer to utilize a distance to indicate the measure of motion required to bring the probe from its current to its target position as taught by Takeuchi, as this will provide additional guidance information to the user, allowing the user to more accurately guide the ultrasound probe.
Furthermore, as Kezurer utilizes arrows to indicate directions of movement to guide the probe, in the combined invention with Takeuchi which also provides the user with the quantity of movement required of the probe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Kezurer to utilize arrows which indicate directions of movement and also which indicate quantity of movement, as this will provide both types of probe movement information (direction and quantity) in a single easy to view format.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Kezurer to utilize text information as taught by Takeuchi, as this will provide the user with an additional display format to more readily determine the location of the probe and the manner in which it should be moved to reach the desired position.
Further, it should be noted that Kezurer recognizes that any suitable display or interface may be used to convey the information to the user (Kezurer, [0079]), and thus the use of different types of displays or user interfaces for the guidance information as described above would be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Kezurer and Takeuchi, to provide an additional diagnostic display such as a visual marker at one end of said two bars whose position corresponds to a position of a physical marker on a probe as taught by Huepf, as Huepf teaches that this type of visual marker will aid the user in aligning the probe into the desired imaging arrangement, by defining the appropriate position, rotation, and tilt of the probe as described by Huepf ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Kezurer, Takeuchi, and Huepf to display a quality indication scale as taught by Choi, in order to provide the user with an improved visual indication regarding the quality of the obtained diagnostic values as described by Choi ([0006], [0204]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN CWERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797