DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to preliminary amendments filed on 10/19/2023.
Claims 8-9 were cancelled. Claims 12-14 were added. Claims 1-7 & 10-14 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/017847 and claims foreign priority to JP2021-073729 filed 4/26/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, & 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2020/0014620 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches:
A management device comprising:
an acquisition unit that acquires change information from which a change in an operational state of one or more functional units included in an onboard network is discernible, and from which a change in a state of use of a transmission path in the onboard network by the functional units is discernible; (gateway may monitor a state of one or more SDN switches as well as states of data of the devices, and in response to an identified change of state of either, control the plurality of SDN switches to change the route for transmitting the data of the devices [Kim: 0101-102; 0116; 0122; Figs. 10-11]);
and a setting change unit that performs setting change to change settings for the onboard network based on the change information acquired by the acquisition unit; (gateway includes an SDN controller for controlling the plurality of SDN switches [Kim: 0106-107]).
With regard to Claim 3, Kim teaches:
The management device according to claim 1,
wherein the setting change unit performs the setting change to change settings for relay processing that is performed by a relay processing unit to relay information between a plurality of functional units included in the onboard network; (gateway includes an SDN controller for controlling the plurality of SDN switches which are connected to one another to form a plurality of routes for transmitting data of the devices to a destination [Kim: 0106-107; 0096], wherein the gateway may identify states of data of the devices and change the route for transmitting the data of the devices by controlling the plurality of SDN switches [Kim: 0101; 0116; 0122]).
With regard to Claims 6 & 10-12, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1 & 3 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 6 & 10-12 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1 & 3.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 7, & 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0014620 A1) in view of Kapur et al. (US 2016/0285640 A1).
With regard to Claim 2, Kim teaches:
The management device according to claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the acquisition unit further acquires the change information from which a change in a state of power supply from a power supply to the functional units is discernible.
In a similar field of endeavor involving re-routing network traffic in a software defined network, Kapur discloses:
wherein the acquisition unit further acquires the change information from which a change in a state of power supply from a power supply to the functional units is discernible; (receive a bandwidth utilization from each device in an SDN environment to determine which devices are being over- or under-utilized, and in response to the bandwidth utilizations, the power module may send commands to shut down or power up certain devices [Kapur: 0086-88]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Kapur in order to acquire change information from which a change in a state of power supply to the functional units is discernible in the system of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kim with Kapur as doing so would allow non-critical devices to be shut down to conserve power and would enable traffic intended for a device being shut down to be re-routed to a different portion of the SDN that is not shut down [Kapur: 0059; 0088].
With regard to Claim 4, Kim teaches:
The management device according to claim 1,
wherein the setting change unit performs the setting change to change bandwidth routing to a transmission path included in the onboard network used by the functional units to perform communication; (the gateway may change a route for transmitting data of a plurality of devices based on a bandwidth allowance of each of one or more SDN switches [Kim: 0101; 0116; 0122; Figs. 10-11]).
However, Kim does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
wherein the setting change unit performs the setting change to change bandwidth allocation to a transmission path included in the onboard network used by the functional units to perform communication.
In a similar field of endeavor involving re-routing network traffic in a software defined network, Kapur discloses:
wherein the setting change unit performs the setting change to change bandwidth allocation to a transmission path included in the onboard network used by the functional units to perform communication; (utilizing a “high water mark” that indicates a threshold bandwidth such that if the bandwidth utilization exceeds the threshold, the critical device sends a notification to the SDN controller to allocate more resources (e.g., bring up non-critical devices that are shut down) [Kapur: 0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Kapur in order to change bandwidth allocation in the system of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kim with Kapur as doing so would allow the system to bring up one or more switches, routers, and/or servers in different portions of the SDN to handle additional load on the SDN [Kapur: 0071].
With regard to Claims 7 & 13-14, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 2 & 4 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 7 & 13-14 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 2 & 4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0014620 A1) in view of Kapur et al. (US 2016/0285640 A1) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 10,554,324 B1).
With regard to Claim 5, Kim-Kapur teaches the management device according to claim 4, but does not teach:
wherein the setting change unit allocates at least a portion of a bandwidth allocated to one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for the one functional unit to perform communication using the transmission path, to another functional unit of the plurality of functional units.
In a similar field of endeavor involving dynamic allocation of network resources, Lim discloses:
wherein the setting change unit allocates at least a portion of a bandwidth allocated to one functional unit of the plurality of functional units for the one functional unit to perform communication using the transmission path, to another functional unit of the plurality of functional units; (maintaining a threshold that indicates when bandwidth capacity has fallen below a certain threshold that the network controller system can release or otherwise reallocate the bandwidth capacity for other routers in the network [Lim: 3:20-56]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Kapur in view of Lim in order to allocate at least a portion of a bandwidth allocated to one functional unit to another functional unit in the system of Kim-Kapur.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kim-Kapur with Lim as doing so would utilize unused bandwidth by providing additional bandwidth to other routers in the network [Lim: 3:20-56].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Baba et al. (US 2021/0400452 A1) which teaches an individual NW repeater that performs communications (packet forwarding) based on Ethernet and sets/controls disconnection, duplication, bandwidth limitation, and priority level on packet communications [Baba: 0059].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446