This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 02/05/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 1, 11 - 12, 16, and the cancellation of claim 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, the limitation of “assessing an impact of the remedial action in different predefined time intervals before and after a configuration change to determine whether a configuration change associated with the remedial action should be reversed” is not described in the specification. It has not been disclosed how such limitation is taken place. Therefore, one skilled in the art would not know how to make and/or use the invention.
Applicant has cancelled claim 23 and inserted it into the independent claims. However, Such limitation has been modified and is not supported by the specification. Paragraph [0137] only recites “Note that during the recommendation workflow, a recommendation may have a status to let a network operator or administrator assess the current state of the recommendation. For example, the status may be: new, scheduled for application, applied, scheduled for reversion, reverted, failed, and/or interrupted.”
Claims 2 – 11 and 13 – 15, and 17 – 22 are necessarily rejected as being dependent upon the rejection of claims 1, 12, and 16.
Claims 1, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, the term “a configuration change” (claim 1, line 29, claim 12, line 25, claim 16, line 24 before associated) is confusing. Is Applicant referring to another configuration change or is it the same as the previous one?
Claims 2 – 11 and 13 – 15, and 17 – 22 are necessarily rejected as being dependent upon the rejection of claims 1, 12, and 16.
Claims 1 – 22 are rejected with art as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2014/0114613; hereinafter Wang) in view of Dunn et al (US 2023/0336581; hereinafter Dunn), and further in view of Xu et al (US 2020/0021511; hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a computer system, comprising:
an interface circuit (fig. 5; paragraphs [paragraphs [0053], [0069]);
a memory configured to store program instructions (502-503, fig. 5; paragraphs [0038], [0067 - 0068]); and
a processor coupled to the interface circuit and the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program instructions (502-503, fig. 5; paragraphs [0038], [0067 - 0068]), and wherein, when executed by the processor, the program instructions cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving information specifying communication in a network (abstract; paragraphs [0024 - 0025]; Wang discloses that the monitoring apparatus 100 comprises a collecting unit 101 configured to collect information on a symptom of the problem in the system);
detecting a network problem based at least in part on the information (abstract; paragraphs [0012], [0024 - 0025]; Wang discloses that the collecting unit 201 according to embodiments of the present invention is operable to collect any information related to the problem symptoms); and
performing a first group of operations or a second group of operations, wherein the first group of operations comprises automatically determining a remedial action based at least in part on the detected network problem (paragraphs [0012]; [0024 – 0025]; Wang discloses that upon receiving such information, the diagnosis apparatus, for example, may automatically determine a root cause of the problem by querying a backend knowledge repository); and
wherein the second group of operations comprises:
when the remedial action cannot be determined, selectively and automatically instructing one or more edge electronic devices or one or more controllers in the network to collect additional information for a predefined time interval (paragraphs [0009], [0012]; [0024 – 0025], [0052]; Wang discloses that a control unit configured to communicate with the monitoring apparatus to control the monitoring apparatus to collect additional information on the problem in response to being unable to determine the root cause or a confidence of the determined root cause below a predetermined threshold);
after receiving the additional information, automatically diagnosing the network problem (paragraphs [0032 - 0033], [0052]; Wang discloses that a receiving unit 103 configurable to receive from the diagnosis apparatus a command of collecting additional information on the problem and to cause the collecting unit 101 to collecting the additional information responsively);
automatically computing a second remedial action based at least in part on the diagnosis of the network problem (paragraphs [0033], [0052]; Wang discloses that the diagnosis apparatus may issue a command to the receiving unit 103 to instruct the monitoring apparatus 100 to collect information on further symptoms of the problem. In these embodiments, the receiving unit 103 receives the command and informs the collecting unit 101 to operate correspondingly);
providing information specifying the second remedial action for approval; and receiving approval of the second remedial action, wherein, based at least in part on the received approval, the computer system is configured to automatically perform the second remedial action when a subsequent instance of the network problem is detected (paragraphs [0033 - 0034]; Wang discloses that the information as collected will be transmitted to the diagnosis apparatus by the transmitting unit 102).
Wang discloses all the limitations, but fails to specifically disclose that when the determined remedial action is preapproved, automatically performing the determined remedial action.
Dunn, in an analogous art, discloses that when the determined remedial action is preapproved, automatically performing the determined remedial action (paragraphs [0090], [0101], [0135]; Dunn discloses that the autonomous response module located in the endpoint agent may take one or more autonomous response actions preapproved by a human user when predefined conditions of suspicious behavior and/or anomaly level are met).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Wang by showing that when the determined remedial action is preapproved, automatically performing the determined remedial action as evidenced by Dunn for the purpose of enabling users of the system to rank different alerts in a rigorous manner and prioritize those that most urgently require action, simultaneously removing the problem of numerous false positives associated with a rule-based approach (see [0198]).
Wang and Dunn disclose substantively all the limitations, but fail to specifically disclose that wherein the operations comprise assessing an impact of the remedial action in different predefined time intervals before and after a configuration change to determine whether a configuration change associated with the remedial action should be reversed.
Xu, in an analogous art, discloses that wherein the operations comprise assessing an impact of the remedial action in different predefined time intervals before and after a configuration change (paragraph [0023], [0025]; Xu discloses that the pattern being repeated at least a predefined number of times in the log file, detecting, subsequent to identifying the repeated pattern, a deviation from the repeated pattern, and identifying, based on detecting the deviation from the repeated pattern, an anomaly in the transport network) to determine whether a configuration change associated with the remedial action should be reversed (paragraph [0109]; Xu discloses In some embodiments, taking corrective action may include initiating a trap or an interrupt in order to execute an exception or debugging routine, performing a further analysis to determine whether a change in the transport network caused the identified anomaly or to determine whether the identified anomaly represents a functional failure or a performance degradation only, initiating a reversal of a recent hardware configuration or software change, initiating an additional hardware configuration or software change, or disabling a network element or link in the transport network found to have failed or suffered a significant performance degradation, among other possible actions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Wang and Dunn by showing that wherein the operations comprise assessing an impact of the remedial action in different predefined time intervals before and after a configuration change to determine whether a configuration change associated with the remedial action should be reversed as evidenced by Xu for the purpose of taking corrective action to mitigate the identified anomaly in the transport network.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise computing communication-performance metrics for the network based at least in part on the information (paragraphs [0043 - 0044]; Wang discloses that the diagnosis apparatus 200 further comprises an analyzing unit 202 configurable to analyze the received information to determine a root cause of the problem. According to some embodiments, the analyzing unit 202 may analyze the received information based on rules); and
wherein the network problem is detected based at least in part on the communication performance metrics (paragraphs [0043 - 0044]; Wang discloses a series of predetermined rules may be maintained at the diagnosis apparatus 200 side, indicating the correspondence between problem symptoms and root causes. These rules may be stored in any proper manner, for example, text file, formatted text, database, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the network problem is detected using a pretrained model (paragraphs [0044], [0046]; Wang discloses that Alternatively or additionally, data mining and training methods may be utilized to manage the knowledge repository.); and
wherein, when detecting the network problem, the information is input to the pretrained model and information specifying the network problem is output from the pretrained model (paragraphs [0044], [0046]; Wang discloses that based on relevant information of a previously occurring problem, various currently known or future developed techniques may be utilized to train the knowledge repository to thereby obtain "symptom-root cause" and "root cause-solution" mapping ).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 3, wherein the pretrained model comprises a machine-learning model or a neural network (paragraphs [0044], [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the remedial action is determined using a rule engine, a look-up table or a second pretrained model (paragraphs [0044], [0046]); and
wherein, when determining the remedial action, the information specifying the network problem is used as an input to the rule engine, the look-up table or the second pretrained model and the remedial action is an output from the rule engine, the look-up table or the second pretrained model (paragraphs [0044], [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 5, wherein the second pretrained model comprises a machine-learning model or a neural network (paragraphs [0043 - 0043]; Wang discloses that the root cause determined by the expert may be fed to the knowledge repository for the training and learning of the knowledge repository to thereby update the knowledge).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 5, wherein the operations comprise, based at least in part on the received approval, adding the second remedial action to the rule engine, the look-up table or the second pretrained model (paragraph 0043]; Wang discloses that the analyzing unit 202 may analyze the received information based on rules. For example, a series of predetermined rules may be maintained at the diagnosis apparatus 200 side, indicating the correspondence between problem symptoms and root causes).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein, when the subsequent instance of the network problem is detected, the computer system is configured to automatically perform the second remedial action in one or more portions of the network, or one or more regions of the network associated with the network problem (paragraphs [0037 – 0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 8, wherein the one or more portions of the network or the one or more regions of the network comprise:
a zone, a wireless local area network (WLAN) group, a WLAN, a group of access points, and/or an access point (paragraph [0029]; Wang discloses that the network, for example, may be a wired network, a wireless network, or a combination thereof, including, but not limited to, at least one of the following: a cellular telephone network, Ethernet, a wireless local area network (WLAN) based on IEEE 802.11, 802.16, 802.20, and/or Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX) network).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein providing the information specifying the second remedial action for approval comprises presenting the information specifying the second remedial action in a user interface, and the received approval corresponds to user-interface activity specifying a user selection in the user interface (paragraphs [0034], [0046]; Wang discloses that if the analysis unit 202 cannot locate a root cause of the problem matching the symptom in the knowledge repository, it may turn to a human expert. The root cause determined by the expert may be fed to the knowledge repository for the training and learning of the knowledge repository to thereby update the knowledge.).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the remedial action or the second remedial action comprises a configuration change in the network (paragraph [0038]; Wang discloses that such additional information, for example, may comprise the configuration of the physical machine where the system is located, software environment, OS environment, network environment, memory and/or processor utilization, etc. The collected additional information will be transmitted from the transmitting unit 102 to the diagnosis apparatus so as to generate the executable software package for recovering the problem).
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the additional information is collected for the predefined time interval when the determined remedial action is unavailable (paragraphs [0011], [0024], [0027], [0038]; Wang discloses that analyzing the received information to determine a root cause of the problem; and communicating with the monitoring apparatus to control the monitoring apparatus to collect additional information on the problem in response to being unable to determine the root cause or a confidence of the determined root cause below a predetermined threshold).
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the predefined time interval is configurable and is user-defined (paragraphs [0022], [0027], [0034]; Wang discloses that the collecting unit 101 may operate intermittently based on a predetermined period. Further, the collecting unit 101 may also be interactively enabled and disabled by a user of the system.).
Claims 12 – 20 incorporate substantively all the limitations of claims 1 – 11 in computer product and method form rather than system form. The reasons for rejecting claims 1 – 11 apply in claims 12 – 20. Therefore, claims 12 – 20 are rejecting for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SALTSGAVER et al (US 2020/0067774) discloses a secure mechanism to manage network device configuration and audit with a blocking.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/YVES DALENCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457