DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an amendment filed 4/23/2026.
Claims 1, 2 and 6-19 are pending.
This application claims priority as a 371 filing of PCT/EP23022/060774 filed 4/22/2022 which claims priority to foreign application EP 21170264.2 filed 4/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement filed 5/22/2026 has been identified and the documents considered. The corresponding signed and initialed PTO Form 1449 has been mailed with this action. Initials indicate that the document has been considered even if the reference is lined through. Applicants have asserted that no size fee is required.
Response to Amendments
Applicants amendments are sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 112, second paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 7-11 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claims 2 and 7-11 are drawn to properties that simply describe a use for the vehicle of claim 1. There are no additional properties recited in claims 2 and 7-11 and hence considering the structures are duplicate recitations. This objection is maintained.
Claim 1 is newly objected to for reciting FIX-R338L without a full spelling.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the claims are not duplicates as they are drawn to specific patients, dosage and dosing regimen as well as target joints. However, the claims are drawn to products and not methods. The patient type does not alter the nature of the product nor does dosage and dosing regimen as well as target joints. As the claims do not alter the nature of the product, the claims are duplicates. They simply recite desired use of the product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
Claims 2 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This portion of the rejection has not been overcome and applicants have not addressed this issue.
Claim 1 is drawn to a vehicle wherein the vehicle comprises a nucleic acid that encodes a coagulation factor having Factor IX activity. Therefore, the claim is drawn to a molecule claimed by its property. The claim recites a sequence encoding “a coagulation factor” wherein the coagulation factor is claimed in terms of its function as having Factor IX activity. Claims 2 and 7-11 do not alter the structure of the vehicle of claim 1 as they simply recite properties that are desired of the vehicle. These claims therefore are only supported by the description as found for claim 1. The vehicle is a product wherein claims 2 and 7-11 are drawn to methods. Claim 2 by restricting the patient FIX level does not change the product. The administration dose does not change the product . Hence, claims 2 and 7-11 are only as described in claim 1. Thus, the claims are drawn to generically recited functionally required effects. Structural features that could distinguish the compounds of the claimed genus from others not encompassed by the genus are missing from the disclosure. No common structural attributes identify the members of the genus. The general knowledge and level of skill in the art do not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general, guidance is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genera, and because the genera are highly variant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, first paragraph
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating hemophilic arthropathy of a joint in a patient with hemophilia B prior to synovitis, the method comprising administering 5x1012 or 2x1013 vg/kg AAV5 intravenously, the AAV comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding the hyperactive variant that comprises a R338L mutation in the wild type sequence wherein the nucleic acid sequence is operably linked to a promoter, does not reasonably provide enablement for any other embodiment. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Applicants have not addressed the issues underlined above.
The test of enablement is whether one skilled in the art could make and use the claimed invention from the disclosures in the patent coupled with information known in the art without undue experimentation (United States v. Telectronics, Inc., 8 USPQ2d 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). Whether undue experimentation is required is not based on a single factor but is rather a conclusion reached by weighing many factors (See Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter, 1986) and In re Wands, 8USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988); these factors include the following:
1) Nature of invention. The instant claims are drawn to a method of gene therapy for joint arthropathy resulting from hemophilia B.
2) Scope of the invention. The scope of the invention is extremely broad in that the method includes preventing, arresting or treating hemophilic arthropathy of the joint in the patient wherein the delivery is of any gene therapy vehicle and the method of administration is any.
3) Number of working examples and guidance. Three examples detail Clinical trials of patients with hemophilia B. Delivery of 5x1012 or 2x1013 vg/kg AAV5 intravenously led to improvement in a range of subjects .
4) State of the art. Hemophilic arthropathy is a severe, disabling joint disease caused by repeated bleeding into the joints in people with hemophilia, leading to chronic pain and reduced joint mobility. This damage occurs because with hemophilia, cartilage and bone are broken down due to loss of blood triggering inflammation and joint remodeling. Hemophilia B is a X-linked disorder caused by deficiency in coagulation factors FVIII and FIX (see Gualtierotti et al, J Thromb Haemost, page 2113, col 1-2). Recurrent joint bleeding leads to synovitis and osteochondral damage and the art teaches, (Gualiterotti et al, bridging ¶ page 2117-2118).
Once it has become established, synovitis cannot be treated with factor replacement alone and it has been suggested TNFα blockade with monoclonal antibodies may be a means of controlling synovitis and potentially reducing joint bleeding.92 However, this cannot be considered an option until the pathophysiological mechanisms underlying the development and progression of hemophilic arthropathy have been defined, and the precise role of pro-inflammatory cytokines has been established. F
5) Unpredictability of the art. For gene therapy, the delivery of any vehicle has not shown plausible for successful therapy (see for example Sosnowska-Sienkiewicz and Januszkiewicz-Lewandowska, page 8-9). AAV has risen as a top delivery agent using doses acceptable to achieve sustained transgene expression (see page 7-8 of Sosnowska-Sienkiewicz and Januszkiewicz-Lewandowska). But, the art teaches that treatment therapies rely on identifying proper delivery vehicle methods. This is complicated by the lack of an expression control sequence to direct expression.
6) Undue experimentation. The claims have been evaluated in light of the art at the time of filing and found not to be commensurate in scope with the specification. MPEP 2164.05 teaches, “However, the examiner should carefully compare the steps, materials, and conditions used in the experiments of the declaration with those disclosed in the application to make sure that they are commensurate in scope; i.e., that the experiments used the guidance in the specification as filed and what was well known to one of skill in the art. Such a showing also must be commensurate with the scope of the claimed invention, i.e., must bear a reasonable correlation to the scope of the claimed invention. The invention recites use of a broad group of sequence. Given the unpredictability of the art, the poorly developed state of the art with regard to predicting the structural/ functional characteristics of antagonists, the lack of adequate working examples and the lack of guidance provided by applicants, the skilled artisan would have to have conducted undue, unpredictable experimentation to practice the claimed invention.”
Claims 1, 2 and 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meisbach et al, (Blood Thrombosis and Hemostasis, 2018, pages 1022-1031, IDS filed 11/15/2024) in view of Monahan et al, (Human Gene Therapy, 2015, pages 69-81, IDS filed 11/15/2024) and Dumont et al, (U.S. 20190381149). This rejection is new based upon applicants’ amendment. The combination of references overcomes the deficiencies identified in each.
The art as a whole teaches gene therapy vehicles comprised of AAV5 encoding FIX-R338L especially for treatment of hemophilia B related disorders. Base claim 1 only requires though that there be a vehicle comprised of AAV5 encoding R338L and to that end, Meisbach et al teach an AAV5 vector encoding Factor IX (see abstract). Both Monahan et al (see abstract) and Dumont et al (see e.g. ¶0148 and 0294) teach an AAV vector encoding hyperactive Factor IX (R338L).
Meisbach et al teach that such vector is used to treat hemophilic arthropathy (page 1023, col 1).
Based on such teachings, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the R338L into the vector of Meisbach et al. Such a modification would have resulted in a method encompassed by claim 1. As noted above: 1) AAV5 to deliver FIX was well known in the art for treating hemophilic arthropathy (see page 1023, col 1, last ¶) ; 2) Both Monahan and Dumont teach the benefits of using R338L i.e. Monahan et al, abstract. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, would have reasonably expected that the combination would improve therapeutic effects.
Claims 2 and 7-11 recite properties desired of the vehicle but the claims do not add structure that delineates that of claim 1 from what is desired and hence the properties are believed to be inherent in the vehicle.
As to claim 6, each of the references teach that the sequence is under control of a liver specific promoter (see Meisbach abstract, Monahan. page 70, col 2 and Dumont ¶0298).
As to claim 11 and 12, the administration is in humans and requires a pharmaceutical composition (see Monahan for example, page 71, col 2).
As regards claims 12-16, Meisbach et al teach a single dose of 5x1012 or 2x 1013 genome copies of the AAV vector was administered to subjects with hemophilia B and hemophilic arthropathy (see page 1023, col 1, last ¶). The composition is a pharmaceutical composition therefore for intravenous administration (see page 1022, col 2). It is in liquid form (see page 1023, col 2). Therefore, the limitations of claims 12-16 are met.
Monahan A single dose of 2x 1012 genome copies of the AAV vector was administered to mice with hemophilia B and hemophilic arthropathy (see abstract). The composition is a pharmaceutical composition therefore for intravenous administration and hence as it is injected by tail vein is known to be in liquid form (see page 70, col 2). Therefore, the limitations of claims 12-16 are met. The method was intended to be a study for human administration (see page 70, col 1).
Dumont teaches HJHS 2.1 (also called standard HJHS in Dumont) to monitor joint health improvement (see ¶0172). The HJHS is measured before therapy and after wherein it is lower after treatment (see e.g. ¶0177). Measurements were after at least a year (see e.g. ¶0324 and table 4) as recited in claim 19. The composition is administered by intravenous and as part of a pharmaceutical composition (see ¶0101) as recited in claims 12-13 and 16. It can be liquid (see ¶0201) as recited in claim 14.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 2 and 6-19 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent 12,544,459 (copending Application No. 19/046,845). This application is a divisional of the parent application 18/508,998 but is a continuation filing of the instant claims.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claims because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claims. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of the instant invention are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent 12,544,459. That is, the cited claims of U.S. Patent 12,544,459 anticipate and fall entirely within the scope of the rejected claims of the instant application. Specifically, U.S. Patent 12,544,459 and the instant claims are drawn to vectors i.e. AAV5 and methods of treating hemophilia with a normal of hyperactive FIX active factor. It is noted that instant claims 2 and 7-11 recite desired properties that do not alter the structure of the nucleic acid and hence are inherently encompassed.
Additionally, if a patent resulting from the instant claims was issued and transferred to an assignee different from the assignee holding the copending Application No. 19/046,845, then two different assignees would hold a patent to the claimed invention of copending Application No. 19/046,845, and thus improperly there would be possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA MARVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634