DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 is dependent on claim 0. Claim 0 does not exist. Therefore, it is unclear and confusing what the scope of the claim should be and which claim limitations should be included into dependent claim 8. For examination purposes, claim 8 will be interpreted as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahn et al US 2017/0326862.
Per claim 1, Spahn teaches a process for preparing a can end stock (Fig. 1, abstract, [0009]) comprising pre-heating a metal strip (802) to a first temperature below 250C [0009]; laminating a polymer film (824) to a first side of the metal strip, wherein the first side of the metal strip and applying a lacquer to a second side of the strip [0039]; and annealing the laminated metal strip at an annealing temperature greater than 175C [0010]. Spahn exemplifies that the first side is the interior and the second side is the exterior of the can but does not explicitly teach laminating on the exterior and applying a lacquer onto the interior side. However, Spahn clearly teaches that a metal strip can be laminated on one side and lacquered on the other side [0039] (note: there are only two possible configurations where this statement can be true). Spahn then exemplifies laminate interior and lacquer exterior but states that “other configurations can be used” [0039]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have laminated an exterior facing side and lacquered an interior facing side of the can with a reasonable expectation for success and predictable results, as Spahn teaches that this configuration is suitable and envisaged in the process.
Per claim 2, Spahn teaches an aluminum strip [0062].
Per claim 3, Spahn teaches polyethylene terephthalate lamination to a metal strip [0121].
Per claim 4, Spahn teaches a layer that improves adhesion between the aluminum and film (interpreted as an adhesion layer) [0057].
Per claim 5, Spahn teaches that color can be included in the film [0038].
Per claims 9-10, Spahn teaches an annealing temperature of at, for example, 250C which falls within the claimed range [0049].
Per claim 11, Spahn teaches cooling the metal strip after annealing [0050].
Per claim 12, Spahn teaches application of a lubricant after exiting the annealing furnace [0055].
Per claim 24, Spahn teaches that an adhesion coating can be applied prior to the lacquer (between the metal strip and lacquer) [0057].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahn et al US 2017/0326862 in view of Kawahara et al US 4828136.
Per claim 8, Spahn teaches application of a lacquer on an interior side of a strip but is silent regarding the claimed composition. Kawahara teaches process of forming and coating a can, wherein a an epoxy thermosetting resin is coated on the inside of the can on the adhesive paint (col. 3, lines 49-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized an epoxy resin as the lacquer because Kawahara teaches that an epoxy type resin shows excellent adhesion and is suitable for coating on an interior surface of cans (col. 3, lines 64-69).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the prior art teaches laminating on the interior facing side and applying lacquer on the exterior side. As explained above, Spahn does exemplify this orientation of coatings on the can end, but also suggests the claimed arrangement (see above). As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718