DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-5 and 7-12 in the reply filed on 4/6/26 is acknowledged. Since the election is made without traverse, the restriction is deemed as proper and therefore made FINAL. Claims 13-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 is dependent on claim 0, which is a typographical error as no claim 0 exists. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 is dependent on claim 0. Claim 0 does not exist. Therefore, it is unclear and confusing what the scope of the claim should be and which claim limitations should be included into dependent claim 8. For examination purposes, claim 8 will be interpreted as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spahn et al US 2017/0326862.
Per claim 1, Spahn teaches a process for preparing a can end stock (Fig. 1, abstract, [0009]) comprising pre-heating a metal strip (802) to a first temperature below 250C [0009]; laminating a polymer film (824) to a first side of the metal strip, wherein the first side of the metal strip corresponds to an exterior facing side of the can end (Fig. 1) [0010]; annealing the laminated metal strip at an annealing temperature greater than 175C [0010].
Per claim 2, Spahn teaches an aluminum strip [0062].
Per claim 3, Spahn teaches polyethylene terephthalate lamination to a metal strip [0121].
Per claim 4, Spahn teaches a layer that improves adhesion between the aluminum and film (interpreted as an adhesion layer) [0057].
Per claim 5, Spahn teaches that color can be included in the film [0038].
Per claim 7, Spahn teaches applying a lacquer to a second side of the strip, which corresponds to an interior facing side of the can [0039].
Per claims 9-10, Spahn teaches an annealing temperature of at, for example, 250C which falls within the claimed range [0049].
Per claim 11, Spahn teaches cooling the metal strip after annealing [0050].
Per claim 12, Spahn teaches application of a lubricant after exiting the annealing furnace [0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahn et al US 2017/0326862 in view of Kawahara et al US 4828136.
Per claim 8, Spahn teaches application of a lacquer on an interior side of a strip but is silent regarding the claimed composition. Kawahara teaches process of forming and coating a can, wherein a an epoxy thermosetting resin is coated on the inside of the can on the adhesive paint (col. 3, lines 49-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized an epoxy resin as the lacquer because Kawahara teaches that an epoxy type resin shows excellent adhesion and is suitable for coating on an interior surface of cans (col. 3, lines 64-69).
Conclusion
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718