DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1-3, filed 03/25/2026, with respect to claims 1-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112a and 112b rejection of 01/30/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 103 rejection filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, the applicant discloses that the Office Action rejection does not identify any disclosure in the cited references of the amended limitation (i) normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure, or (ii) performing such normalization at a centralized gateway by converting different data formats into a single standardized format prior to SCADA processing. The examiner agrees. However, upon review, the examiner has added an additional reference that teaches the amended limitation and therefore maintains the rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims specified contain the phrase "and like. This phrase can interpreted by the MPEP 2173.05(d) as exemplary claim language and can render the claim indefinite. Applicant can overcome the claim objection by removing said phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 through 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pionzio et al. (US20020029097, 2002-03-07) herein referred to as Pionzio, in view of Kiles et al. (US20190170118A1, 2019-06-06) herein referred to as Kiles, in view ofMeng et al. (CN110134740A, 2019-08-16) herein referred to Meng and Hyldgaard (DK201300364A1, 2015-01-12).
Regarding Claim 1, Pionzio et al. teaches a system for remote monitoring of wind turbines for extraction and transformation of wind turbine data into a uniform consolidated datamart, the wind turbines being either an individual unit or a cluster of plurality of wind turbines and equipped with plurality of sensors with signal conditioning and processing circuits capturing operational parameters related to input and output characteristics thereof (Abstract; [0021]), the system comprising:
a modem receiving wind turbine data from the plurality of sensors and operably connected to a cloud network either in a wired or wireless manner to facilitate data transfer there between (TPU (210) [0049-0051]);
a M2M gateway unit receiving data from the modem and connected to an application server (APU; [0027-0029])
a SCADA server connected to the application server through a centralized gateway; wherein the centralized gateway converts the received data format into single IEC-61850 standard and passes to the SCADA server (Abstract);
a real time database module operably connected to the SCADA server wherein the data from SCADA server is transformed to a readable format to have a single view of all the data collected from the wind turbines (TACS [0023], [0030]);
an application module consuming data from the OLAP database module available at source independent of the data from real time database module to ensure the users can analyze the historical data by slicing and dicing across the regions/farms/turbine makes & models without impacting on data collection from turbine [0007, 0030].
Pionzio fails to specifically teach by normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module; providing a secured connectivity over GSM network for data transfer thereto; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format.
However, in a related field, Kiles teaches providing a secured connectivity over GSM network for data transfer thereto [0065].
Kiles fails to teach an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module; normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format.
However, in a related filed Meng teaches an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module (page 9 third and fourth paragraph).
Meng fails to teach normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format.
However, in a related field, Hyldgaard teaches normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format (pg. 2-3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pionzio to incorporate the teachings of Kiles, Meng and Hyldgaard by including: an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module; providing a secured connectivity over GSM network for data transfer thereto in order to communicate with different data systems and assist in operating an efficient and reliable wind farm remotely.
Regrading Claim 2, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination fails to specifically teach wherein the modem is a GPRS modem supported with GPRS technology for data transmission. However, GPRS modem is known by one of ordinary skill in the art as a modem with GSM capability. This is taught by Kiles [0065] as previously stated in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3., the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of sensors of the wind turbine cluster is connected to the modem through a serial converter unit and a data collection unit (Pionzio [0080]; fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of sensors of the individual wind turbine is connected to the modem through a data acquisition controller configured to receive sensor data and transmit the sensor data to the modem (Pionzio: [[0022; 0049-0050] [0083](TPU)).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the SCADA server receives data directly from the modems through the M2M gateway module, a gateway module configured to aggregate and route data between the modem and the SCADA server and the centralized gateway module (Kiles: [0081]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the real time database module is an OLTP database configured as a central repository of real time data from the individual turbines (Pionzio: [0021-0025]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination further teaches The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the centralized gateway module works on protocols selected from OPC, OPC-DA, IEC104, IEC103, IES101, IEC61850, MODBUS TCP & OPC-XML-DA and like (Pionzio: [0164]).
Regarding Claim 8, Pionzio et al. teaches a system for remote monitoring of wind turbines for extraction and transformation of wind turbine data into a uniform consolidated datamart, irrespective of make and model of wind turbine, the wind turbines being either an individual unit or a cluster of plurality of wind turbines and equipped with plurality of sensors with signal conditioning and processing circuits capturing operational parameters related to input and output characteristics thereof (Abstract; [0021]), the system comprising:
a modem receiving wind turbine data from the plurality of sensors and operably connected to a cloud network either in a wired or wireless manner to facilitate data transfer there between (TPU (210) [0049-0051];
a M2M gateway unit receiving data from the modem and connected to an application server (APU; [0027-0029])
a SCADA server connected to the application server through a centralized gateway; wherein the centralized gateway converts the received data format into single IEC-61850 standard and passes to the SCADA server (Abstract);
a real time database module operably connected to the SCADA server wherein the data from SCADA server is transformed to a readable format to have a single view of all the data collected from the wind turbines (TACS [0023], [0030]);
an application module consuming data from the OLAP database module available at source independent of the data from real time database module to ensure the users can analyze the historical data by slicing and dicing across the regions/farms/turbine makes & models without impacting on data collection from turbine [0007, 0030].
Pionzio fails to specifically teach by normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module; providing a secured connectivity over GSM network for data transfer thereto; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format.
However, in a related field, Kiles teaches providing a secured connectivity over GSM network for data transfer thereto [0065].
Kiles fails to teach an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module; normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format.
However, in a related filed Meng teaches an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module (page 9 third and fourth paragraph).
Meng fails to teach normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format.
However, in a related field, Hyldgaard teaches normalizing data received from wind turbines of different makes and models into a common data structure; configured to normalize data received from wind turbines of different makes and models by converting different data formats into a single standardized data format (pg. 2-3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pionzio to incorporate the teachings of Kiles, Meng and Hyldgaard by including: an OLAP database module operably connected to the real time database module through an ETL module; providing a secured connectivity over GSM network for data transfer thereto in order to communicate with different data systems and assist in operating an efficient and reliable wind farm remotely.
Regrading Claim 9, the combination teaches the method as claimed in claim 8. The combination fails to specifically teach wherein the modem is a GPRS modem supported with GPRS technology for data transmission. However, GPRS modem is known by one of ordinary skill in the art as a modem with GSM capability. This is taught by Kiles [0065] as previously stated in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 8. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of sensors of the wind turbine cluster is connected to the modem through a serial converter unit and a data collection unit (Pionzio [0080]; fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 8. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of sensors of the individual wind turbine is connected to the modem through a data acquisition controller configured to receive sensor data and transmit the sensor data to the modem (Pionzio: [[0022; 0049-0050] (TPU)).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 8. The combination further teaches wherein the SCADA server receives data directly from the modems through the M2M gateway module, a custom gateway module and the centralized gateway module (Kiles: [0081]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 8. The combination further teaches wherein the real time database module is an OLTP database configured as a central repository of real time data from the individual turbines (Pionzio: [0021-0025]).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination teaches the system as claimed in claim 1. The combination further teaches The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the centralized gateway module works on protocols selected from OPC, OPC-DA, IEC104, IEC103, IES101, IEC61850, MODBUS TCP & OPC-XML-DA and like (Pionzio: [0164]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J SINGLETARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857