DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 19 October 2023.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority based on a WIPO application filed in Italy on 20 April 2021.
Response to Arguments
The specification objections have been withdrawn.
The drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s responses to the merirts have been considered but are moot for not considering the present references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuai et als “Transient Angle Stability of Virtual Synchronous Generators Using Lyapunov’s Direct Method” (IEEE NPL) in view of Taul’s et als “Current Limiting Control With Enhanced Dynamics of Grid-Forming Converters During Fault Conditions” (IEEE NPL) and Garcia (US 20150137520).
As to claim 1, Shuai discloses a method of controlling a power converter (Fig. 1/2), wherein the method comprises:]determining a frequency control error (input kp) in dependence on at least a setpoint frequency (w0) and an actual frequency (w), determining an active power target (P*), determining a phase angle target (theta (output 1/s)),determining a voltage control error (input Dq) in dependence on at least a setpoint voltage (E0) and an actual voltage (E), determining a reactive power target (Q*), [[- ]]determining an output voltage target (Vd*), and controlling the power converter based on the output voltage target (Fig. 1, has phase and PWM inputs) and the phase angle target, wherein the method comprises at least one of
Shuai does not disclose freezing the active power target (PSet) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected, freezing the phase angle target (Ф) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected, freezing the reactive power target (Exc) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected, or freezing the output voltage target (Vd*) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF).
Garcia teaches freezing the active power target (PSet) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected, freezing the phase angle target (Ф) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected, freezing the reactive power target (Exc) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected are frozen to the saved/pre-fault values, the WTGs are working in their local LVRT mode during the FREEZE-Q CTRL state.”), or freezing the output voltage target (Vd*) to remain constant in case a fault signal (SF) (See Fig. 5, specifying a freeze control state, and ¶8 “and at least that part of the central plant controller which provides control of electric production in the nominal-operation mode is frozen and a pre-fault-operation value of at least one control variable is stored.” describing how at least one individual control value shown in Fig. 4 corresponding to Pref (power), PFref (phase angle), Qref (reactive power), and Vref (votlage)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use the fault control of Garcia in the system above to provide low voltage ride through.
As to claim 2, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches wherein the method comprises determining [[a]]an initialization value of at least one of an actual active power (Pact) and an actual reactive power (Qact) of the power converter when the fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected (The value is frozen, so it must be stored from prefault data).
As to claim 3, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches wherein the method comprises continuously storing data in a memory in predetermined periods, wherein the data include at least one of the actual active power and the actual reactive power, and wherein determining the initialization value includes selecting the initialization value out of the data stored in the memory (The value is frozen, so it must be stored from prefault data)..
As to claim 4, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches wherein the method comprises determining that the fault is no longer detected, and determining the active power target using the initialization value of the actual active power (Shuai, Fig. 2a) and/or determining the reactive power target using the initialization value of the actual reactive power (Shuai, Fig. 2b).
As to claim 5, Shuai in view of Garcai teaches wherein the method comprises waiting for a predetermined time after detecting that the fault is no longer (Garcia, Fig. 5) detected before determining the active power target (PSet) using the initialization value of the actual active power (Shuai, Fig. 2) and/or determining the reactive power target using the initialization value of the actual reactive power (Shuai, Fig. 2).
As to claim 6, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches wherein the method is configured to mimic a synchronous generator (title Shuai).
As to claim 7, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches wherein, in case no fault signal indicating a fault is detected, determining the phase angle target in dependence on at least the active power target includes: determining an active power error in dependence on at least the active power target and an actual active power, and determining the phase angle target in dependence on at least the active power error (Shuai, Fig. 2).
As to claim 9, wherein, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches in case no fault signal (SF) indicating a fault is detected, determining the output voltage target in dependence on at least the reactive power target (Exc) includes: determining a reactive power error in dependence on at least the reactive power target and an actual reactive power and determining the output voltage target in dependence on at least the reactive power error (Shuai, Fig. 2).
As to claim 11, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches a control arrangement and -a power converter (Virtual synchronous generator) that is realized as a voltage-controlled voltage source converter, wherein the control arrangement (item generating gate signals) is configured to execute the method of controlling the power converter of claim 1.
As to claim 12, Shuai in view of Garcia teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having a computer program comprising instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of controlling the power converter of claim 1 (Garcia, ¶109).
As to claims 13-20, these are similar to claims already rejected above and are obvious for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839