DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsegood in view of (US 2016/0278304) in view of Che et al. (US 2015/0030705 henceforth Che).
Regarding claim 1, Elsegood discloses a light source module for plant cultivation, comprising: a substrate (panel 110, para. 0027); a main light source electrically connected to the substrate and supplying background light to a plant (white LED 126, para. 0033); and a supplemental light source electrically connected to the substrate and supplying supplemental light to the plant (blue LED 126, para. 0033), wherein the supplemental light source is configured to continuously supply the supplemental light for a continuous period of 5 to 7days (switch 50 can be turned on for a continuous period of time, para. 0033), the background light and the supplemental light have different peak wavelengths (a blue LED 126 and white LED have different peak wavelengths), and the supplemental light has an irradiance of about 5 W/m2 (para. 0035) and a peak wavelength (para. 0032) but fails to teach the supplemental light has an irradiance of about 30 W/m2 and a peak wavelength of 385 nm or 395 nm, the plant is an ice plant, and the supplemental light enhances both growth of the ice plant and the content of a sugar alcohol selected from pinitol, myo-inositol, and sucrose without causing visible damage to the plant. However, Che teaches supplemental light having an irradiance (para. 0061) and a peak wavelength of 385 nm or 395 nm (para. 0061), the plant is an ice plant (claim 8), and the supplemental light enhances both growth of the ice plant and the content of a sugar alcohol selected from pinitol, myo-inositol, and sucrose without causing visible damage to the plant (claim 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Elsegood’s light source with a wavelength as taught by Che to help increase the functional contents of a plant. Regarding “an irradiance of about 30 W/m2 “ it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an irradiance of 30 W/m2, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, Elsegood as modified by Che teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Elsegood further teaches wherein the main light source supplies the plant with white light as the background light (white LED 126 is can be used all the time, para. 0032).
Regarding claim 4 Elsegood as modified by Che teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Che further teaches wherein the supplemental light has at least one peak wavelength selected from among 385 nm and 395 nm (para. 0061).
Regarding claim 5, Elsegood as modified by Che teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Elsegood further teaches wherein the main light source is turned on or off every 12 hours to allow or interrupt supply of the background light (para. 0033).
Regarding claim 6, Elsegood as modified by Che teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Elsegood further teaches wherein the supplemental light source continuously supplies the supplemental light to the plant before harvesting of the plant (para. 0033).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12 and 14 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 4/10/2026, with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of 1, 2, and 4-6 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647