Status of claims
The following claims have been rejected or allowed for the following reasons:
Claim(s) 1-19 is rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2021-071100, filed on 4/20/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement/statements (IDS) were filed on 10/19/23, 7/8/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 - 9, 13 – 15 and 16 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Henrikson (US 7766213 B2), in further view of Nakanishi (JP 2008275482 A); in further view of Yamamoto (JP 2001300770 A).
Regarding claim 1 Henrikson teaches A welding system comprising: a welding robot having a movable portion configured to move integrally with a welding torch; (Henrikson column 1 lines 30 – 37 reads “The present invention moreover relates to an arrangement for controlling a welding operation, while the operation is ongoing, comprising means for welding, a monitoring device as above, means for processing an image produced by the reproduction means, and means for controlling one or more welding parameters and/or the position of the welding head on the basis of information from the image. The invention furthermore relates to a method for controlling the welding operation.” And column 4 lines 37-43 reads “The control arrangement 1 also comprises the means 7 for welding, which consists of a welding robot comprising a welding head 11 (see FIG. 2).”);
a control device configured to control movement of the welding robot; (Henrikson column 4 lines 43 -50 reads “The control arrangement 1 also comprises means 9 for processing an image produced by the camera 3, which means 9 comprises a central processing unit (CPU), or computer. The control arrangement 1 also comprises means 10 for controlling one or more welding parameters and/or the position of the welding head 11 on the basis of information produced from the image. The central unit 9 is therefore connected to the camera 3 and to the control means 10 of the welding robot 8.”);
wherein a central axis of the welding torch and the measurement axis of the (Henrikson Figure 4 shows a camera system with a field of view that shows the weld area in front of the tip of a welding robot.);
Henrikson Figure 4
Henrikson does not teach and a temperature sensor that is attached to the movable portion and is configured to measure an interpass temperature of an object to be welded present on a measurement axis in a noncontact manner, and the control device is configured to control movement of the welding torch such that the measurement axis of the temperature sensor is positioned at a measurement position of the interpass temperature calculated in advance.
Nakanishi in analogous art, teaches and a temperature sensor that is attached to the movable portion (Nakanishi figure 1 depicts the non-contract temperature probe attached to the moveable end or a robotic manipulator.);
and is configured to measure an interpass temperature of an object to be welded present on a measurement axis in a noncontact manner, (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 8 reads “The measurement unit for measuring the workpiece surface temperature is a non-contact type radiation temperature sensor, and it is preferable that the sensor is shielded from the surroundings by an air shield or other means during welding”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson with that of Nakanishi to provide a method in which interpass temperature could be maintained without interference by an operator. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 4 reads “However, the technique disclosed in Patent Document 3 is premised on temperature measurement between passes by an operator, and there is a problem that if the operator is absent, the automatic welding operation must be stopped.”);
Henrikson/Nakanishi does not teach and the control device is configured to control movement of the welding torch such that the measurement axis of the temperature sensor is positioned at a measurement position of the interpass temperature calculated in advance.
Yamamoto in analogous art, teaches and the control device is configured to control movement of the welding torch such that the measurement axis of the temperature sensor is positioned at a measurement position of the interpass temperature calculated in advance. (Yamamoto [0018] reads “The temperature measuring work tool 26 is a non-contact thermometer 40 as shown in FIG. 3 as an example. Like the preheating / post-heating work tool 25, the non-contact thermometer 40 is provided beside the pneumatic gripper 36. Has been attached. Note that the position at a predetermined temperature measurement distance Lt from the tip of the non-contact thermometer 40 is determined by a temperature measurement position P as a reference position for temperature measurement.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Henrikson/Nakanishi with that Yamamoto to provide an improved low-cost welding system. (Yamamoto abstract reads “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To provide low-cost welding equipment having an auxiliary device for welding, whose installation space is small and is easily movable between welding lines. SOLUTION: The welding equipment having a welding robot, a positioner, a traveling device or the like is further provided with a fixing means which enables an auxiliary welding work tool which is used for an auxiliary work in the welding, mounted to and removed from a welding torch or the motion mechanism part of the welding torch.”);
Regarding claim 2 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 1, wherein the control device further includes a calculation unit configured to calculate the measurement position based on data related to a shape of the object to be welded. (Henrikson column 1 lines 30 – 37 reads “The present invention moreover relates to an arrangement for controlling a welding operation, while the operation is ongoing, comprising means for welding, a monitoring device as above, means for processing an image produced by the reproduction means, and means for controlling one or more welding parameters and/or the position of the welding head on the basis of information from the image.” And column 4 lines 42 – 50 reads “ The control arrangement 1 also comprises means 9 for processing an image produced by the camera 3, which means 9 comprises a central processing unit (CPU), or computer. The control arrangement 1 also comprises means 10 for controlling one or more welding parameters and/or the position of the welding head 11 on the basis of information produced from the image.”);
Regarding claim 5 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to instruct measurement of the interpass temperature at the measurement position only immediately before a specific pass. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 7 reads “Thus, if the welding robot is instructed of the measurement position of the inter-pass temperature measuring device, the welding robot can position the measurement position with high accuracy, and the workpiece surface temperature at this measurement position can be measured. Temperature measurement immediately before and after welding at a measurement position away from the line by a certain distance can be performed.”);
Regarding claim 6 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 2, wherein the control device is configured to instruct measurement of the interpass temperature at the measurement position only immediately before a specific pass. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 7 reads “Thus, if the welding robot is instructed of the measurement position of the inter-pass temperature measuring device, the welding robot can position the measurement position with high accuracy, and the workpiece surface temperature at this measurement position can be measured. Temperature measurement immediately before and after welding at a measurement position away from the line by a certain distance can be performed.”);
Regarding claim 7 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 3, wherein the control device is configured to instruct measurement of the interpass temperature at the measurement position only immediately before a specific pass. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 7 reads “Thus, if the welding robot is instructed of the measurement position of the inter-pass temperature measuring device, the welding robot can position the measurement position with high accuracy, and the workpiece surface temperature at this measurement position can be measured. Temperature measurement immediately before and after welding at a measurement position away from the line by a certain distance can be performed.”);
Regarding claim 8 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 1, wherein the control device further includes a setting unit configured to set a threshold value to be used for management of the interpass temperature at the measurement position, (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 11 reads “It is desirable that the specified management value can be selected from 250 ° C. or 350 ° C. or set to an arbitrary temperature.”);
and a determination unit configured to determine whether the interpass temperature measured by the temperature sensor exceeds the threshold value, and the control device is configured to execute at least one or more of waiting for a start of a next pass, cooling of the object to be welded, or execution of a work different from the next pass in a case where the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, and subsequently instruct resumption of the next pass in a case where the interpass temperature measured again is equal to or lower than the threshold value. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 10 reads “If welding of the next pass is continued and the measurement result exceeds the control specified value, the temperature measurement is performed again one or more times after a predetermined time, and the measurement result falls below the control specified value. The welding of the next pass is resumed at the point of time.”);
Regarding claim 9 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 8, wherein in a case where the determination unit determines that the measured interpass temperature is equal to or lower than the threshold value, (Nakanishi page 3 paragraph 7 reads “If the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 is equal to or less than the control specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the time from the end of the previous pass welding to the start of the next pass welding is stored (step S6), and the next pass welding is performed. Is resumed (step 7).”);
data related to measurement including the measured interpass temperature is recorded in a storage unit. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 9 reads “The interpass temperature measuring device according to the present invention may include a storage unit that records and stores the measurement result of the workpiece surface temperature.”);
Regarding claim 13 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 1, wherein the movable portion is coupled to a tip end portion of an arm having a plurality of drive shafts. (Henrikson figure 1 shows a robotic arm with a multiple joints which would be powered and controlled with a welding torch at the distal end);
Henrikson figure 1
Regarding claim 14 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 8, wherein the movable portion is coupled to a tip end portion of an arm having a plurality of drive shafts. (Henrikson figure 1 shows a robotic arm with a multiple joints which would be powered and controlled with a welding torch at the distal end);
Henrikson figure 1
Regarding claim 16 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches A welding method using a welding system comprising: a process of measuring an interpass temperature at a measurement position using the welding system according to claim 1; (Nakanishi page 3 paragraph 7 reads “Then, the temperature is measured by the interpass temperature measuring device 1, and the measurement result is stored in the storage unit of the interpass temperature measuring device 1 (step S4).”);
a process of continuing a next pass in a case where the measured interpass temperature is equal to or lower than a threshold value; and a process of measuring the interpass temperature at the measurement position one or more times after a predetermined time elapses in a case where the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, and instructing to start the next pass after the measured interpass temperature becomes equal to or lower than the threshold value. (Nakanishi page 3 paragraph 7 reads “When the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 exceeds the management specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the temperature measurement is performed again after a predetermined time has elapsed (step S4). Thus, it repeats from step S4. If the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 is equal to or less than the control specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the time from the end of the previous pass welding to the start of the next pass welding is stored (step S6), and the next pass welding is performed. Is resumed (step 7).”);
Regarding claim 17 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches A welding method using a welding system comprising: a process of measuring an interpass temperature at a measurement position using the welding system according to claim 8; a process of continuing a next pass in a case where the measured interpass temperature is equal to or lower than a threshold value; and a process of measuring the interpass temperature at the measurement position one or more times after a predetermined time elapses in a case where the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, and instructing to start the next pass after the measured interpass temperature becomes equal to or lower than the threshold value. (Nakanishi page 3 paragraph 7 reads “When the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 exceeds the management specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the temperature measurement is performed again after a predetermined time has elapsed (step S4). Thus, it repeats from step S4. If the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 is equal to or less than the control specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the time from the end of the previous pass welding to the start of the next pass welding is stored (step S6), and the next pass welding is performed. Is resumed (step 7).”);
Regarding claim 18 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a process, the process comprising: measuring an interpass temperature at a measurement position using the welding system according to claim 1, continuing a next pass in a case where the measured interpass temperature is equal to or lower than a threshold value, and measuring the interpass temperature at the measurement position one or more times after a predetermined time elapses in a case where the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, and instructing to start the next pass after the measured interpass temperature becomes equal to or lower than the threshold value. (Nakanishi page 3 paragraph 7 reads “When the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 exceeds the management specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the temperature measurement is performed again after a predetermined time has elapsed (step S4). Thus, it repeats from step S4. If the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 is equal to or less than the control specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the time from the end of the previous pass welding to the start of the next pass welding is stored (step S6), and the next pass welding is performed. Is resumed (step 7).”);
Regarding claim 19 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a process, the process comprising: measuring an interpass temperature at a measurement position using the welding system according to claim 8, continuing a next pass in a case where the measured interpass temperature is equal to or lower than a threshold value, and measuring the interpass temperature at the measurement position one or more times after a predetermined time elapses in a case where the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, and instructing to start the next pass after the measured interpass temperature becomes equal to or lower than the threshold value. (Nakanishi page 3 paragraph 7 reads “When the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 exceeds the management specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the temperature measurement is performed again after a predetermined time has elapsed (step S4). Thus, it repeats from step S4. If the measurement result of the temperature measurement in step S4 is equal to or less than the control specified value set in step S2 (step S5), the time from the end of the previous pass welding to the start of the next pass welding is stored (step S6), and the next pass welding is performed. Is resumed (step 7).”);
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto, in further view of Sorreles (US 7552504 B1).
Regarding claim 3 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 1.
Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto does not teach , further comprising: an openable protection mechanism configured to cover the temperature sensor during welding and expose at least a light receiving portion during measurement of the interpass temperature, and/or an ejection mechanism configured to eject air for cleaning the light receiving portion of the temperature sensor.
Sorreles in analogous art, teaches , further comprising: an openable protection mechanism configured to cover the temperature sensor during welding and expose at least a light receiving portion during measurement of the interpass temperature, and/or an ejection mechanism configured to eject air for cleaning the light receiving portion of the temperature sensor. (Sorreles column 4 lines 5 – 15 reads “The flow of pressurized air to the nozzle 14 via the flexible tube 14 and supply lines 16 a, 17 serve to propel dislodged particles out of the open end of the nozzle 11.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto with that or Sorreles to provide a method to clean off the accumulation of debris on welding nozzles. (Sorreles column 1 lines 50 – 60 reads “The present invention generally relates to welding processes that use a metallic core material and a flow of inert gas to prevent oxidation and, more particularly, relates to an apparatus and method for automatically cleaning deposits of metallic core material that accumulate on the surfaces of a welding nozzle during welding operations.”);
Regarding claim 4 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 2.
Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto does not teach further comprising: an openable protection mechanism configured to cover the temperature sensor during welding and expose at least a light receiving portion during measurement of the interpass temperature, and/or an ejection mechanism configured to eject air for cleaning the light receiving portion of the temperature sensor.
Sorreles in analogous art, teaches further comprising: an openable protection mechanism configured to cover the temperature sensor during welding and expose at least a light receiving portion during measurement of the interpass temperature, and/or an ejection mechanism configured to eject air for cleaning the light receiving portion of the temperature sensor. (Sorreles column 4 lines 5 – 15 reads “The flow of pressurized air to the nozzle 14 via the flexible tube 14 and supply lines 16 a, 17 serve to propel dislodged particles out of the open end of the nozzle 11.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto with that or Sorreles to provide a method to clean off the accumulation of debris on welding nozzles. (Sorreles column 1 lines 50 – 60 reads “The present invention generally relates to welding processes that use a metallic core material and a flow of inert gas to prevent oxidation and, more particularly, relates to an apparatus and method for automatically cleaning deposits of metallic core material that accumulate on the surfaces of a welding nozzle during welding operations.”);
Regarding claim 10 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 8 and determine a timing of measurement of an interpass temperature related to a specific pass, and instruct the measurement of the interpass temperature. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 7 reads “Thus, if the welding robot is instructed of the measurement position of the inter-pass temperature measuring device, the welding robot can position the measurement position with high accuracy, and the workpiece surface temperature at this measurement position can be measured. Temperature measurement immediately before and after welding at a measurement position away from the line by a certain distance can be performed.”);
Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto does not teach wherein the control device is configured to compare past data related to a shape of the object to be welded and welding condition past data which are recorded in advance with current data related to the shape of the object to be welded and welding condition current data which are at current.
Juslin in analogous art, teaches wherein the control device is configured to compare past data related to a shape of the object to be welded and welding condition past data which are recorded in advance with current data related to the shape of the object to be welded and welding condition current data which are at current, (Juslin [0010] reads “In an aspect a method for measuring an object using a computer controlled measurement arrangement is disclosed. The method comprises measuring at least one object, wherein the measuring comprises measuring dimensions and a heat distribution of the at least one object, comparing the measured heat distribution with a plurality of stored heat compensation profiles, determining at least one heat compensation profile representing the measured heat distribution, receiving at least one set of compensation coefficients associated with the determined at least one heat compensation profile and applying a set of received compensation coefficients to measured dimensions of the at least one object for producing heat compensation profile compensated dimensions.”);
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto, in further view of Sato (US 20200038983 A1), in further view of Juslin (US 20200318958 A1).
Regarding claim 11 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 8.
Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches does not teach wherein the control device further includes a prediction unit configured to, in a case where the determination unit determines that the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, compare at least one or more of past data related to the measurement, past data related to the shape of the object to be welded, or welding condition past data in the past which are recorded in advance with at least one or more of current data related to the measurement, current data related to the shape of the object to be welded, or welding condition current data which are newly recorded in a current measurement, and in a case where a waiting time or a cooling time can be predicted based on a comparison result, predict the waiting time required for natural cooling and instruct waiting until the start of a next pass, or predict the cooling time required and instruct cooling of the object to be welded, or instruct execution of a work different from the next pass in a case where the predicted waiting time or the predicted cooling time is equal to or longer than a certain period of time.
Juslin in analogous art, teaches wherein the control device further includes a prediction unit configured to, in a case where the determination unit determines that the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, compare at least one or more of past data related to the measurement, past data related to the shape of the object to be welded, or welding condition past data in the past which are recorded in advance with at least one or more of current data related to the measurement, current data related to the shape of the object to be welded, or welding condition current data which are newly recorded in a current measurement, (Juslin [0010] reads “In an aspect a method for measuring an object using a computer controlled measurement arrangement is disclosed. The method comprises measuring at least one object, wherein the measuring comprises measuring dimensions and a heat distribution of the at least one object, comparing the measured heat distribution with a plurality of stored heat compensation profiles, determining at least one heat compensation profile representing the measured heat distribution, receiving at least one set of compensation coefficients associated with the determined at least one heat compensation profile and applying a set of received compensation coefficients to measured dimensions of the at least one object for producing heat compensation profile compensated dimensions.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto with that of Juslin to provide a method in reducing inaccuracies in temperature measurements. (Juslin [0004] reads “One source of inaccuracies is the measuring temperature. Manufactured and measured objects may still be warm or even hot when they come out from the manufacturing line, particularly when the manufactured object is measured immediately after manufacturing. For example, the object may be manufactured using a welding robot and it means that the welded points and also surroundings are probably warm or even hot. Furthermore, some of the objects pass through several working cells, such as several welding robots. In such case some of the welded points or seams that are earlier in the production path may have significantly cooled while the later welding points or seams are still hot.”);
Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto/Juslin does not teach and in a case where a waiting time or a cooling time can be predicted based on a comparison result, predict the waiting time required for natural cooling and instruct waiting until the start of a next pass, or predict the cooling time required and instruct cooling of the object to be welded, or instruct execution of a work different from the next pass in a case where the predicted waiting time or the predicted cooling time is equal to or longer than a certain period of time.
Sato in analogous art, teaches and in a case where a waiting time or a cooling time can be predicted based on a comparison result, predict the waiting time required for natural cooling and instruct waiting until the start of a next pass, or predict the cooling time required and instruct cooling of the object to be welded, or instruct execution of a work different from the next pass in a case where the predicted waiting time or the predicted cooling time is equal to or longer than a certain period of time. (Sato [0080] reads ” For example, the temperature sensor 30 may be configured to monitor the temperature at the deposition start position of each layer, and in the case where the cooling time until the temperature of the measured molten bead 61 reaches the allowable interpass temperature is predictable in advance, deposition of the molten bead of a next layer may be started based on the predicted cooling time tc.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto/Juslin with that of Sato to provide a more efficient welding system. (Sato [0004] reads “In addition, conventionally, as a method for joining pipes to each other by welding, a multilayer welding method as follows is known: in order to enhance the welding efficiency, a welding torch ceasing to generate an arc is moved to a position corresponding to the shortest distance not exceeding the limit of interpass temperature with respect to a weld bead formed in the weld pass of a previous layer and welds a next layer see, for example, Patent Literature 2).”);
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto, in further view of Watanabe (JP 2000218368 A).
Regarding claim 12 Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto teaches The welding system according to claim 8.
Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto does not teach wherein in a case where the determination unit determines that the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, the determination unit is configured to calculate a value of a difference between the measured interpass temperature and the threshold value, and determine and instruct which of waiting for the start of the next pass, cooling of the object to be welded, and a work different from the next pass is to be executed according to the calculated value of the difference.
Watanabe in analogous art, teaches wherein in a case where the determination unit determines that the measured interpass temperature exceeds the threshold value, the determination unit is configured to calculate a value of a difference between the measured interpass temperature and the threshold value, and determine and instruct which of waiting for the start of the next pass, cooling of the object to be welded, and a work different from the next pass is to be executed according to the calculated value of the difference. (Watanabe [0066] reads “On the other hand, when the temperature T of the IGBT or the welding transformer 32 is in the overheat alarm region, a wait time having a length proportional to the temperature T detected as an analog amount is provided.” And [0068 - 0069] reads “For example, the abnormal temperature Ti, the alarm temperature Tk,In the case of the maximum wait time Wm, the wait time W at the temperature T can be calculated as an analog quantity as follows. W = Wm × (T−Tk) / (Ti−Tk) The maximum wait time Wm can be set in advance by the integrated controller 18.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson/Nakanishi/Yamamoto with that of Watanabe to provide a welding method that increases the frequency of welds being made. (Watanabe [0011] reads “In other words, the operation speed of the robot for simply moving the welding gun is high, and the robot moves to the welding location one after another and performs welding one after another. As a result, the welding frequency is increased. As a result, the welding contactor 8 and the welding transformer The temperature of 10 may increase slightly.”);
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Henrikson (US 7766213 B2), in further view of Nakanishi (JP 2008275482 A).
Regarding claim 15 Henrikson teaches A welding robot comprising: a movable portion configured to move integrally with a welding torch; (Henrikson column 1 lines 30 – 37 reads “The present invention moreover relates to an arrangement for controlling a welding operation, while the operation is ongoing, comprising means for welding, a monitoring device as above, means for processing an image produced by the reproduction means, and means for controlling one or more welding parameters and/or the position of the welding head on the basis of information from the image. The invention furthermore relates to a method for controlling the welding operation.” And column 4 lines 37-43 reads “The control arrangement 1 also comprises the means 7 for welding, which consists of a welding robot comprising a welding head 11 (see FIG. 2).”);
wherein a central axis of the welding torch and the measurement axis of the (Henrikson Figure 4 shows a camera system with a field of view that shows the weld area in front of the tip of a welding robot.);
Henrikson Figure 4
Henrikson does not teach and a temperature sensor that is attached to the movable portion and is configured to measure an interpass temperature of an object to be welded present on a measurement axis in a noncontact manner.
Nakanishi in analogous art, teaches and a temperature sensor that is attached to the movable portion and is configured to measure an interpass temperature of an object to be welded present on a measurement axis in a noncontact manner, (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 8 reads “The measurement unit for measuring the workpiece surface temperature is a non-contact type radiation temperature sensor, and it is preferable that the sensor is shielded from the surroundings by an air shield or other means during welding”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Henrikson with that of Nakanishi to provide a method in which interpass temperature could be maintained without interference by an operator. (Nakanishi page 2 paragraph 4 reads “However, the technique disclosed in Patent Document 3 is premised on temperature measurement between passes by an operator, and there is a problem that if the operator is absent, the automatic welding operation must be stopped.”);
Other references not Cited
Throughout examination other references were found that could read onto the prior art. Though these references were not used in this examination they could be used in future examination and could read on the contents of the current disclosure. These references are, Hildebrand (Machine tool, measurement apparatus, method for generating working data, cladding method, method for setting temperature of a workpiece, (US 10525550 B2); Wen (NPL Robotic Surface finishing of curved surfaces: real-time identification of surface profile and control); Hitachi (JP 6018886 B2).
Response to arguments
Applicant argues < Henrikson cannot teach that the measurement axis of a temperature sensor that is completely absent from Henrikson intersects with a central axis of the welding torch> [page 9-10, spanning paragraph]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In the mapping between the claimed invention and combination of sources as presented in the current office action, it is taught that Henrikson teaches a robotic welding torch system in which the central axis of a given sensor, in this case a camera, has a field of view intersects the tip of the welding torch in the manor of the claimed invention. In terms of the arrangement of sensors of the claimed invention that is the only aspect that is taught by this source. Furthermore, Nakanishi then teaches that the previously presented sensor could be a non-contact temperature sensor with a directed field of view and that this sensor is operably attached to the moving end or a robotic manipulator. The combination of the prior art of record would then teach that a robotic system could have a non-contact temperature sensor attached to the end of a robotic arm that would have a field of view directed ahead of the welding torch. Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Applicant argues < the camera system in Fig. 4 of Henrikson cited on page 4 of the Office Action is not "attached to the movable portion" of the welding robot and thus does not have the constraints that the present invention was designed to overcome. > [page 10 spanning paragraph]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner agrees that a given sensor, in this case a camera that is taught by Hendrickson is not attached to the moveable portion of the robotic arm. However, Nakanishi teaches that a non-contract temperature probe may be connected moveable portion on the end of a robotic arm. Thus, in combination would result in the claimed invention of having a non-contract temperature sensor attached to the movable portion of the robotic arm. Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Applicant argues < Yamamoto also does not cure this deficiency of Henrikson in view of Nakanishi. Indeed, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Yamamoto, the measurement axis (from the tip of the temperature measuring work tool 26 towards the temperature measurement position pt does not intersect with a central axis of the nozzle 31 of the torch as the nozzle 31 is not even pictured in Fig. 3 and thus does not teach a person of ordinary skill in the art to intersect a central axis of the nozzle 31 with the measurement axis. > [Paragraph spanning pages 10 and 11]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In the current rejection of record Yamamoto is not used to teach any of the claimed limitation of the position, orientation, attachment or field of view of any of the sensors. The cited sections of Yamamoto are used to cover other claimed limitations that surround the use and control of the robotic arm and temperature sensor combination. In summary, while Yamamoto is not intended to and does not cover the limitation of the claimed invention of the field of view and arrangement of the temperature sensor the combination with Hendrickson and Nakanishi does cover the claimed invention. Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JOHN MARTIN O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658