Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 14, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (USPN 2007/0252518).
With regard to claim 1,
Lee et al. disclose a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (110); a plurality of mutually independent first electrodes (112) on the base substrate; a pixel definition layer (115) on a side away from the base substrate, of a layer where the plurality of first electrodes are; wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of pixel openings (150), an overlapping portion and a non-overlapping portion are provided between the pixel opening and the first electrode, the non-overlapping portion surrounds the overlapping portion, and the pixel definition layer covers the non-overlapping portion and a gap between the first electrodes (see fig. 5); a light-emitting material layer (121/120) on a side away from the base substrate, of the pixel definition layer; wherein the light-emitting material layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting parts (See figs), and the light-emitting parts extend from the pixel openings to the pixel definition layer; and a support layer (125) on the pixel definition layer; wherein the support layer is in direct contact with the light-emitting parts (See figs), and an orthographic projection of the support layer on the base substrate overlaps orthographic projections of gaps among the plurality of first electrodes on the base substrate (See figs 3,4).
With regard to claim 2,
Lee et al. disclose the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the support layer is only in contact with the light-emitting parts at lateral surfaces (see, e.g., fig. 4).
With regard to claim 14,
Lee et al. disclose the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein a shape of an orthographic projection of the pixel opening covered by the light-emitting part on the base substrate is same as a shape of an orthographic projection of the light-emitting part on the base substrate (See figs. 3, 4).
With regard to claim 21,
Lee et al. disclose the display substrate according to claim 1, further comprising: a second electrode (132); wherein the second electrode is disposed on a side away from the pixel definition layer, of the light-emitting material layer on a whole surface (see figs 3,4).
With regard to claim 22,
Lee et al. disclose a display device, comprising the display substrate according to claim 1 (See figs).
Claims 1, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. (USPN 2017/0250236).
With regard to claim 1,
Xiong et al. disclose a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (11); a plurality of mutually independent first electrodes (12) on the base substrate; a pixel definition layer (17) on a side away from the base substrate, of a layer where the plurality of first electrodes are; wherein the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of pixel openings (in 17), an overlapping portion and a non-overlapping portion are provided between the pixel opening and the first electrode, the non-overlapping portion surrounds the overlapping portion, and the pixel definition layer covers the non-overlapping portion and a gap between the first electrodes (see fig 5b); a light-emitting material layer (14,15) on a side away from the base substrate, of the pixel definition layer; wherein the light-emitting material layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting parts (See figs), and the light-emitting parts extend from the pixel openings to the pixel definition layer; and a support layer (16) on the pixel definition layer; wherein the support layer is in direct contact with the light-emitting parts (See fig 5b), and an orthographic projection of the support layer on the base substrate overlaps orthographic projections of gaps among the plurality of first electrodes on the base substrate (See fig 5b).
With regard to claim 15,
Xiong et al. disclose the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a lateral surface of the support layer is in contact with a lateral surface of the light-emitting part; and a surface edge on a side away from the base substrate, of the support layer is in contact with a surface edge on a side facing the base substrate, of the light-emitting part (See fig. 5b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-13, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (as above).
With regard to claims 3, 5-13,
Lee et al. disclose the display substrate according to claim 2 wherein the plurality of light-emitting parts comprise a plurality of red light-emitting parts, a plurality of green light-emitting parts and a plurality of blue light-emitting parts (See figs). While Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose the claimed subpixel, pixel, and support layer configurations, such configurations were well within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to the same to try in order to optimize for desired color balance and contrast.
With regard to claim 23,
Lee et al. disclose the light emitting material layer of claim 1. While Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose a fine metal mask with openings corresponding to the light emitting parts, such a mask was well known to and widely used by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and would have bene obvious to the same to incorporate as the mechanism for forming the patterns described by Lee et al. without misapplication of the layers.
Claims 16, 17 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (as above)
With regard to claims 16,17,19,
Xiong et al. disclose the display substrate according to claim 15 wherein the plurality of light-emitting parts comprise a plurality of red light-emitting parts, a plurality of green light-emitting parts and a plurality of blue light-emitting parts (See figs). While Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose the claimed subpixel, pixel, and support layer configurations, such configurations were well within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to the same to try in order to optimize for desired color balance and contrast.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2019/0013370, 2007/0210706, 2019/0067390, 2023/0014543, 2018/0294322, 2018/0190731.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875