DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 5/19/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newbold et al. (US 2024/0092570) in view of Shi (CN 110606365).
Regarding independent claim 1 and dependent claim 5, Newbold discloses a container handler (31) for handling a storage container (9, 50) in a column (see Fig. 3) of a frame structure (1) of an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the container handler comprises: a lifting frame (101) which is arranged for vertical movement within the column of the frame structure; a first guide pin (140) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for guiding the lifting frame vertically within the column of the frame structure relative to the storage container (50); a gripper element (150) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for gripping the storage container; a first sensor (114) for sensing the position of the lifting frame relative to the storage container; wherein the container handler comprises a control system provided in communication with the first sensor (see at least para. 0158); wherein the control system is configured to control the vertical movement of the lifting frame and is configured to control the gripper element based on a signal received from the first sensor (see at least para. 0158); wherein the control system is configured to start the movement of the gripper element while the lifting frame is being lowered towards the storage container and before the lifting frame is in physical contact with the storage container based on the signal received from the first sensor (see at least para. 0158).
Newbold discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 5, but it does not disclose that the first guide pin comprises the first sensor provided at a vertical distance below the lifting frame. Rather, Newbold discloses that the sensor is mounted on the peripheral wall of the lifting frame immediately adjacent to the first guide pin. However, Shi discloses a similar device which includes a lifting frame (11) having first guide pin (51) comprising a first sensor (54) provided at a vertical distance below the lifting frame (see Fig. 7) for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Newbold by having the first guide pin comprise the first sensor provided at a vertical distance below the lifting frame, as disclosed by Shi, for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted.
Regarding independent claim 15, Newbold discloses a container handling vehicle for handling a storage container in an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the container handling vehicle comprises: a vehicle body (see Fig. 5); a container handler (31) for handling a storage container (9, 50) in a column (see Fig. 3) of a frame structure (1) of an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the container handler comprises: a lifting frame (101) which is arranged for vertical movement within the column of the frame structure; a first guide pin (140) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for guiding the lifting frame vertically within the column of the frame structure relative to the storage container (50); a gripper element (150) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for gripping the storage container; a first sensor (114) for sensing the position of the lifting frame relative to the storage container; wherein the container handler comprises a control system provided in communication with the first sensor (see at least para. 0158); wherein the control system is configured to control the vertical movement of the lifting frame and is configured to control the gripper element based on a signal received from the first sensor (see at least para. 0158); wherein the control system is configured to start the movement of the gripper element while the lifting frame is being lowered towards the storage container and before the lifting frame is in physical contact with the storage container based on the signal received from the first sensor (see at least para. 0158).
Newbold discloses all the limitations of claim, but it does not disclose that the first guide pin comprises the first sensor. Rather, Newbold discloses that the sensor is mounted on the peripheral wall of the lifting frame immediately adjacent to the first guide pin. However, Shi discloses a similar device which includes a lifting frame (11) having first guide pin (51) comprising a first sensor (54) for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Newbold by having the first guide pin comprise the first sensor, as disclosed by Shi, for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted.
Regarding independent claim 16, Newbold discloses a method for handling a storage container (9, 50) in a column (see Fig. 1) of a frame structure (1) of an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein a container handler (31) is used to perform the method, wherein the container handler comprises a lifting frame (101) which is arranged for vertical movement within the column of the frame structure; a first guide pin (140) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for guiding the lifting frame vertically within the column of the frame structure relative to the storage container (50); a gripper element (150) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for gripping the storage container; a first sensor (114) for sensing the position of the lifting frame relative to the storage container; the container handler comprises a control system provided in communication with the first sensor (see at least para. 0158); the method comprising: controlling the vertical movement of the lifting frame and controlling the gripper element based on a signal received from the first sensor (see at least paras. 0158-0159); starting the movement of the gripper element while the lifting frame is being lowered towards the storage container and before the lifting frame is in physical contact with the storage container based on the signal received from the first sensor (see at least para. 0158-0159).
Newbold discloses all the limitations of claim 16, but it does not disclose that the first guide pin comprises the first sensor provided at a vertical distance below the lifting frame. Rather, Newbold discloses that the sensor is mounted on the peripheral wall of the lifting frame immediately adjacent to the first guide pin. However, Shi discloses a similar device which includes a lifting frame (11) having first guide pin (51) comprising a first sensor (54) provided at a vertical distance below the lifting frame (see Fig. 7) for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Newbold by having the first guide pin comprise the first sensor provided at a vertical distance below the lifting frame, as disclosed by Shi, for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, and 14, Newbold discloses that the first sensor is a non-contact sensor (see para. 0158). The first sensor is a capacitive sensor, an ultra-sonic sensor or an optical sensor (see para. 0158). The control system is configured to decelerate the lowering of the lifting frame down towards the storage container based on the signal received from the first sensor (see at least paras. 0158-0159). The container handler comprises a top structure (see Figs. 5 and 8) and an electric motor (see at least para. 0103) for moving the lifting frame vertically relative to the top structure. The first sensor is directed towards a central axis of the lifting frame (see at least Fig. 7). The lifting frame is adapted to be received at least partially within the top structure, wherein a second sensor (see at least para. 0118) is directed away from a central axis of the lifting frame.
Regarding claim 6, Newbold discloses that the container handler comprises four first guide pins (140) protruding downwardly from the lifting frame for guiding the lifting frame vertically within the column of the frame structure relative to the storage container; where the frame comprises two first sensors (114, see Fig. 7) for sensing the position of the lifting frame relative to the storage container. As noted above, Newbold discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that at least two of the first guide pin comprise first sensors. Rather, Newbold discloses that the first sensors are mounted on the peripheral wall of the lifting frame immediately adjacent to the first guide pins. However, Shi discloses a similar device which includes a lifting frame (11) having four first guide pins (51) at least two of the first guide pins comprising first sensors (54) for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Newbold by having at least two of the first guide pins comprise first sensors, as disclosed by Shi, for the purpose of providing a highly accurate indication of the position of a gripping assembly relative to a container to be lifted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states the Newbold does not disclose starting movement of the gripper element “while the lifting frame is being lowered towards the storage container and before the lifting frame is in physical contact with the storage container based on the signal received from the first sensor” as recited in the independent claims. The examiner disagrees with the applicant. In paragraph 0158, Newbold discloses that once a sensor determines that the frame has reached a predetermined height above the container as the lifting frame is being lowered, the grippers are driven to the open configuration. Therefore, Newbold discloses starting movement of the gripper element “while the lifting frame is being lowered towards the storage container and before the lifting frame is in physical contact with the storage container based on the signal received from the first sensor” as recited in the independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK H MACKEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653