DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 09/09/2026 has been received and entered into the application file. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: ‘sorbitan monolaurate (SML))’ is a typing error, extra parenthesis. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: multiple instances of ‘diacrylatee or triacrylatee’. Typo correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name Triton, Poloxamer. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe emulsifiers and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
This rejection is repeated because applicant did not correct the problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sears (Emulsion Inks: A New Class of Materials For 3D Printing Porous Tissue Engineered Grafts, A Dissertation by Nicholas Allen Sears, May 2017), Tae et al. (KOR 100810736 B1, 2008), and Zaupa et al. (US 2019/0194460 A1).
Sears discloses that recent advances in 3D printing technologies have enabled the fabrication of custom-fit scaffolds that resemble native tissue. Although these scaffolds can more closely mimic defect shape, new inks are needed to provide tunable control over multiple levels of scaffold structure and function. To address these limitations, we have developed an extensible system for printing complex tissue engineered scaffolds by creating emulsion templated inks. These emulsion inks exhibit tunable pore sizes, modulus, and strength. Formulation of inks with viscous, reactive macromers results in extruded material that holds its shape after extrusion and polymerizes rapidly upon exposure to UV light (ii). Photocurable emulsion inks for use with solid freeform fabrication (SFF) to generate constructs with hierarchical porosity are presented. A high internal phase emulsion (HIPE) templating technique was utilized to prepare water-in-oil emulsions from a hydrophobic photopolymer, surfactant, and water (pg 27). In this method a hydrophobic organic phase is dispersed within a hydrophilic aqueous phase, forming a viscous emulsion referred to as a hydrocolloid. Once extruded, the continuous phase, consisting of the hydrogel solution, is polymerized using UV irradiation to lock in the emulsion geometry (pg 67).
Sears discloses a polymer solution continuous phase comprising a photoinitiator but does not explicitly mention emulsifier-coated hydrogel microparticles dispersed within a polymer solution).
Tae discloses a polysaccharide-functionalized nanoparticle comprising a core made of a biodegradable polymer, an external hydrogel film made of biocompatible polymer emulsifier (Abstract). Polysaccharide-functionalized nanoparticles, hydrogel carrier, nanoparticle-protein-hydrogel complex, can have sustained release of bone filler protein drug. Tae discloses dispersion of nanoparticles filled with the protein in an aqueous biocompatible polymer solution for preparing a hydrogel carrier (pg 8, 4th paragraph).
Above references do not explicitly mention polymer solutions comprising hexanediol diacrylate.
Zaupa discloses a composition comprising a gelatin polymer solution, photoinitiator useful for 3D printing, extrusion systems (Abstract). The composition is useful for new bio-fabrication technologies for use in biomedical and alimentary fields ([0001]). The polymer solution comprises hexanediol diacrylate (HDDA) ([0013]). Zaupa discloses the use of these compositions for bioink printing ([0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined teachings of above to create a bioink composition comprising emulsifier-coated hydrogel microparticles dispersed within a polymer solution comprising a photoinitiator to create a 3D bioink scaffold for tissue regeneration. This is taking some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Sears discloses bioactive hydrogel solutions (pages 1 and 69).
Regarding claims 3-4, Sears discloses various hydrogel inks – gelatin methacrylate (GelMA), poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate (PEGDA) (pg 68).
Regarding claims 5-6, Zaupa discloses HDDA.
Regarding claims 7-8, Sears discloses the use of PGPR for creating emulsion inks (pg 31).
Regarding claims 9-10, Sears discloses BAPO as photoinitiator (pg 31).
Regarding claim 11, Sears discloses mixing DUDMA, PPG-DMA, BAPO photoinitiator and PGPR surfactant (pg 31). Zaupa discloses that HDDA is routinely used 3D printing polymer solutions as discussed above. Tae discloses that hydrogel microparticles can be coated with emulsifiers. In combination, one of ordinary skill in the art would create an emulsifier-coated hydrogel microparticles dispersed within a polymer continuous phase for 3D printing with bioink emulsions. PGPR, GelMA, and HDDA are routinely used in bioink printing.
Regarding claim 12, BAPO is taught above.
Regarding claim 13, Tae discloses that sustained-release systems routinely encapsulate and deliver growth factors in tissue regeneration (pg 3, 2nd paragraph). Sears teaches cell encapsulation in crosslinked hydrogels (pg 21, last paragraph).
Regarding claims 14-15, growth factors are taught above.
Regarding claim 16, Sears discloses that emulsion inks are rapidly cured after deposition by constant UV irradiation to form high porosity constructs (pg 29, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Sears discloses that emulsion inks are useful for creating a biomaterial scaffold for bone regeneration (pg 43).
Regarding claims 19-20, UV light to form a solid scaffold is taught above.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sears (Emulsion Inks: A New Class of Materials For 3D Printing Porous Tissue Engineered Grafts, A Dissertation by Nicholas Allen Sears, May 2017), Tae et al. (KOR 100810736 B1, 2008), and Zaupa et al. (US 2019/0194460 A1) as applied to claims 1-16 and 18-20 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0179574 A1).
Yang discloses methods, compositions, devices, and systems for the 3D printing of biomedical implants (Abstract). Yang discloses micro-continuous liquid interface production using biomaterial ink ([0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have contemplated the microscale continuous liquid interface production for creating bioscaffolds. This is taking some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-6 of remarks, applicant argues that the claim does not merely require a hydrogel somewhere in a composition, an emulsifier somewhere in a composition, and particles somewhere in a composition. It requires hydrogel microparticles coated by an emulsifier and dispersed in the continuous phase. Applicant argues that The Office Action attempts to assemble this arrangement from three references directed to materially different compositions. Per MPEP 2145 (III) "It is well-established that a determination of obviousness based on teachings from multiple references does not require an actual, physical substitution of elements."
Sears clearly teaches a bioink composition comprising a continuous phase comprising a photoinitiator – “Briefly, DUDMA, PPG-DMA (polymers used in 3D printing), and BAPO (photoinitiator) were mixed to create an aqueous, continuous phase (pg 31, 2nd paragraph). Tae teaches a polysaccharide-functionalized nanoparticle with an external hydrogel film (coated) with an emulsifier (Abstract). Tae discloses that coating hydrogel microparticles is routinely practiced within the field of hydrogel. Tae discloses that the nanoparticle-hydration gel complex system can be applied to other growth factor delivery systems, which are important in tissue engineering (pg 14, Advantageous Effects). One of ordinary skill in the art would have contemplated using the hydrogel microparticles encapsulating bioactive factors or cells in the bioink composition taught by Sears.
On page 6 of remarks, applicant argues that Sears does not disclose the claimed dispersed hydrogel microparticles. Per MPEP 2145 (IV), One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. As stated above, Tae is relied upon to disclose the limitation.
On page 7 of remarks, applicant argues that Tae does not disclose emulsifier-coated hydrogel microparticles. Instant specification prepares the coated hydrogel microparticles by mixing HDDA, BAPO, and emulsifier PGPR in a bottle stirred. Similarly, Tae discloses that a biocompatible polymer emulsifier is mixed with the biodegradable polymer (pg 9, 3rd paragraph). The applicants do not point to how the coating process would be any different from disclosure of Tae. Instant claim 1 does not require a process to distinguish how the “coated” microparticle would be any different from the external emulsifier coating taught in Tae. Both processes require simple mixing.
On page 8 of remarks, applicant argues that Zaupa does not disclose the claimed architecture or an HDDA continuous phase. However, Zaupa clearly teach that a polymer solution comprising hexanediol diacrylate (HDDA) can be used in bioink printing. Zaupa teaches that the invention refers to a composition comprising a solution comprising an amino acidic chain gelatin polymer, photoinitiator, and hexanediol diacrylate ([0013]). Zaupa discloses a polymer solution, photoinitiator, and hexanediol diacrylate all in one. Furthermore, Zaupa discloses that HDDA is useful in bioink compositions and one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely use such an ingredient as they see fit.
On pages 9-10 of remarks, applicant argues that the proposed combination does not produce the claimed composition. Tae discloses the advantages of using emulsifier-coated microparticles to deliver bioactive agents. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to experiment with these emulsifier-coated microparticles within a bioink composition. Instant claim 1 does not claim any limitations as to how the bioink composition is created but simply claims a bioink composition comprising emulsifier-coated hydrogel microparticles dispersed within a polymer solution comprising a photoinitiator. As mentioned above, applicant prepares the bioink composition by simply mixing HDDA, BAPO, and emulsifier and stirring (pg 11, lines 5-20). The Examiner cannot determine what and how the resulting bioink composition would be distinguishable if the method of preparation is critical. Instant claim 1 does not claim any processes.
On page 10 of remarks, applicant argues that the proposed modification would depart from Sear’s emulsion-templating principle. Per MPEP 2145 (III) "It is well-established that a determination of obviousness based on teachings from multiple references does not require an actual, physical substitution of elements." Given the advantages of emulsifier-coated microparticles, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the emulsifier-coated microparticles within a bioink composition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN SEUNGJAI KWON/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615