DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1, and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The new matter is that "a second surface has a convex portion."
Claims 5, 6, 15, 16 and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the limitation "the protruding portion" lacks antecedent basis in the claims. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to mean "the recess."
Claims 15 and 16 are indefinite for appearing to recite numerous structural details that the gasket engages or is attached to (such as a guide member, a cylindrical body with a storage chamber, a needle, and a second cylindrical body) even though claims 15 and 16 recite a gasket in their preambles. For this reason, the metes and bounds of the protection sought by Applicant are unclear. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted to recite a gasket that is capable of engaging with the aforementioned structural features functionally (e.g., the gasket comprises a protrusion/protruding portion that is capable of engaging, or configured to engage, a guide member).
Further, the limitation in claim 16 of "the thread groove of the convex portion side" lacks antecedent basis in the claims. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to mean "the screw groove of the protrusion."
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barker et al (U.S. Pat. 6,569,115 B1, hereinafter "Barker").
Regarding claim 1, Barker discloses a tubular body kit for preparing platelet-rich plasma from a liquid (the preamble recites intended use, without requiring platelet-rich plasma to be present in the tubular body kit; though it is noted that Barker does not explicitly disclose platelet-rich plasma, its tubular body kit would be capable of the intended use recited in the preamble), comprising:
a tubular body 170 (see Fig. 13) including a storage chamber partitioned by a gasket 190 (see Fig. 13), the storage chamber being configured to store a liquid (see col. 3, line 1); and
the gasket 190 movable in a tube axial direction in the tubular body (see Figs. 13 and 14), the gasket including a first surface facing the storage chamber (see Figs. 13 and 14, showing the bottom of the gasket facing the section holding the medicament), wherein the first surface has a flat surface shape or a curved surface shape (Figs. 13 and 14 show that the first surface is flat),
a first recessed portion 196 (see Fig. 13) extending from the first surface, the gasket comprises a second surface, and a second recessed portion (accommodating mounting stem 138 of an actuator 130; see Fig. 13 and further description below) extending from the second surface and facing the first recessed portion (see Fig.13);
a guide member 138 (see Fig. 13) comprising a through hole (extension of lumen 132; see Fig. 13) configured to guide a needle piercing through the gasket,
wherein the second recessed portion is configured to engage with the guide member, each of at least a part of an inner side surface of the second recessed portion and at least a part of the guide member comprises a respective one of screw grooves configured to engage with each other (see Figs. 13-14, showing the mounting stem 138 engaging with the recess in the gasket via screw threads; see also col. 10, lines 1-3, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is "externally threaded and the gasket 190" and has "corresponding internal threads") and allow a position of a tip of the needle to be adjustable in the tube axial direction in the tubular body from a first position where the tip of the needle does not pierce the gasket and a second position where the needle pierces the gasket and protrudes from the first recessed portion (see col. 10, lines 6-9, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is screwed into the gasket 190 of the vial 170 [when the vial is mounted onto the mounting stem 138], causing the needle 116 to pierce the wall of the gasket 190, so that the needle 116 extends into the first recessed portion 196) to draw platelet-rich plasma from a fraction of the liquid (see col. 10, lines 18-22, disclosing that after the needle extends into the first recessed portion 196, the gasket 190 can be moved through the tubular body 170, causing the fluid in the tubular body 170 to be drawn through the needle 116).
Regarding claim 10, Barker discloses a tubular body kit for preparing platelet-rich plasma from a liquid (the preamble recites intended use, without requiring platelet-rich plasma to be present in the tubular body kit; though it is noted that Barker does not explicitly disclose platelet-rich plasma, its tubular body kit would be capable of the intended use recited in the preamble) comprising:
a tubular body 170 (see Fig. 13) including a storage chamber partitioned by a gasket 190 (see Fig. 13), the storage chamber being configured to store a liquid (see col. 3, line 1); and
the gasket 190 movable in a tube axial direction in the tubular body (see Figs. 13 and 14), the gasket including a first surface facing the storage chamber (see Figs. 13 and 14, showing the bottom of the gasket facing the section holding the medicament), wherein the first surface has a flat surface shape or a curved surface shape (Figs. 13 and 14 show that the first surface is flat),
a first recessed portion 196 (see Fig. 13) extending from the first surface, and the gasket comprises a second surface (the top of the gasket; see Figs. 13 and 14) and a protruding portion extending from the second surface (the protruding portion protrudes inward from top of the gasket, forming a recess that accommodates mounting stem 138 of an actuator 130; see Fig. 13 and further description below)
a guide member 138 (see Fig. 13) comprising a through hole (extension of lumen 132; see Fig. 13) configured to guide a needle piercing through the gasket,
wherein the protruding portion engages with the guide member, each of at least a part of the protruding portion and at least a part of the guide member comprises a respective one of screw grooves configured to engage with each other (see Figs. 13-14, showing the mounting stem 138 engaging with the recess in the gasket via screw threads; see also col. 10, lines 1-3, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is "externally threaded and the gasket 190" and has "corresponding internal threads") and allow a position of a tip of the needle to be adjustable in the tube axial direction in the tubular body from a first position where the tip of the needle does not pierce the gasket and a second position where the needle pierces the gasket and protrudes from the first recessed portion (see col. 10, lines 6-9, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is screwed into the gasket 190 of the vial 170 [when the vial is mounted onto the mounting stem 138], causing the needle 116 to pierce the wall of the gasket 190, so that the needle 116 extends into the first recessed portion 196) to draw platelet-rich plasma from a fraction of the liquid (see col. 10, lines 18-22, disclosing that after the needle extends into the first recessed portion 196, the gasket 190 can be moved through the tubular body 170, causing the fluid in the tubular body 170 to be drawn through the needle 116).
Regarding claim 11, Barker discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the first recessed portion is provided at a central region of the first surface (see Figs. 13 and 14).
Regarding claim 13, Barker discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the tubular body is a tubular container comprising a closed end (at the bottom of the vial) and an open end (at the top of the vial, where the guide member is inserted).
Regarding claim 14, Barker discloses a stopper 144 configured to close the open end (see Fig. 14), the gasket being detachably attached to the stopper 144 (the stopper 144 is part of actuator 130 which encompasses guide member 138, and so the stopper 144 can engage the gasket by the aforementioned attachment and detachment of the guide member 138 to the gasket).
Regarding claim 15, Barker discloses a gasket 190 (see Figs. 13 and 14) comprising:
a second surface (the top of the gasket; see Figs. 13 and 14) opposite to a first surface (the surface facing the medicament in the storage chamber; see Figs. 13 and 14) and movable in an axial direction within a first cylindrical body 170 capable of storing liquid (see Figs. 13 and 14), the liquid stored in a storage chamber defined by the first cylindrical body and the first surface (see Fig. 13), wherein the first surface is planar or concave (Figs. 13 and 14 show that the first surface is planar) and has a first recess 196 (see Fig. 13), and the second surface has a second recess at a position opposite the first recess (the second recess accommodates mounting stem 138; see Fig. 13 and further description below), the second recess engages with a guide member 138 (see Fig. 13) having a through hole (extension of lumen 132; see Fig. 13) for guiding a needle that pierces the gasket;
at least a part of an inner surface of the second recess has a thread groove that is threadably engaged with a thread groove formed in at least part of the guide member (see Figs. 13-14, showing the mounting stem 138 engaging with the recess in the gasket via screw threads; see also col. 10, lines 1-3, disclosing that the guide member 138 is "externally threaded and the gasket 190" and has "corresponding internal threads"), the guide member 138 is movable in the cylindrical axis direction from the gasket by sliding the thread groove on the guide member side along, the thread groove on the inner surface side (see col. 10, lines 6-9, disclosing that the guide member 138 is screwed into the gasket 190 of the vial 170 [when the vial is mounted onto the mounting stem 138]), the needle 116 is attached to a second cylindrical body (such as an insertion needle 114; see Fig. 13) capable of containing a predetermined liquid extracted by the needle 116 from the liquid in the first cylindrical body, wherein
the second cylindrical body 114 (see Fig. 13) to which the needle is attached is disposed above the guide member when the needle pierces the gasket (see Fig. 14 showing the second cylindrical body 114 extending above the guide member 138), and moves from the gasket together with the guide member in the cylindrical axis direction, thereby enabling adjustment of the position of the tip of the needle piercing the gasket in the cylindrical axis direction (since the body 114 is fixed within the actuator 130 that encompasses the guide member 138, movement of the guide member 138 is accompanied with corresponding movement of the body 114).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Ogawa et al (U.S. Pat. 9,039,664 B2, hereinafter "Ogawa") in view of Barker.
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa discloses a tubular body kit for preparing platelet-rich plasma from a liquid (the preamble recites intended use, without requiring platelet-rich plasma to be present in the tubular body kit; though it is noted that Barker does not explicitly disclose platelet-rich plasma, its tubular body kit would be capable of the intended use recited in the preamble) comprising:
a tubular body 6 (see Fig. 1) including a storage chamber partitioned by a gasket 1 (see Fig. 1), the storage chamber being configured to store a liquid (see col. 3, line 63 referring to a "drug containing portion 7"); and
the gasket movable in a tube axial direction in the tubular body (see col. 4, lines 27-30, disclosing that the gasket can be moved axially with respect to the tubular body), the gasket including a first surface facing the storage chamber (where protective film 3 is located), wherein the first surface has a flat surface shape or a curved surface shape (the surface is flat), a first recessed portion 4 (see Fig. 1) or 9 (see Fig. 4) extending from the first surface, the gasket comprising a second surface, and a second recessed portion extending from the second surface and facing the first recessed portion (see Annotation "A" of Fig. 4, below).
Ogawa, Annotation "A" of Fig. 4
It is noted that while Ogawa does disclose a needle that is intended to pierce the gasket (see needle 8 in Fig. 1), and also discloses that at least a part of an inner side surface of the second recessed portion comprises screw grooves 5 (see Fig. 4), Ogawa does not appear to disclose a guide member comprising a through hole configured to guide the needle piercing through the gasket, wherein the second recessed portion is configured to engage with the guide member, at least a part of an inner side surface of the second recessed portion comprises respective screw grooves configured to engage with the screw grooves on the part of the guide member each other and allow a position of a tip of the needle to be adjustable in the tube axial direction in the tubular body from a first position where the tip of the needle does not pierce the gasket and a second position where the needle pierces the gasket and protrudes from the first recessed portion to draw platelet-rich plasma from a fraction of the liquid.
Barker discloses a kit comprising a gasket 190 (see Figs. 13 and 14) with a second surface (the top of the gasket; see Figs. 13 and 14) opposite to a first surface (the surface facing the medicament in the storage chamber; see Figs. 13 and 14) having a second recess at a position opposite the first recess (the second recess accommodates mounting stem 138; see Fig. 13), the second recess engages with a guide member 138 (see Fig. 13) having a through hole (extension of lumen 132; see Fig. 13) for guiding a needle that pierces the gasket,
each of at least a part of an inner side surface of the second recessed portion and at least a part of the guide member comprises a respective one of screw grooves configured to engage with each other (see Figs. 13-14, showing the mounting stem 138 engaging with the recess in the gasket via screw threads; see also col. 10, lines 1-3, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is "externally threaded and the gasket 190" and has "corresponding internal threads") and allow a position of a tip of the needle to be adjustable in the tube axial direction in the tubular body from a first position where the tip of the needle does not pierce the gasket and a second position where the needle pierces the gasket and protrudes from the first recessed portion (see col. 10, lines 6-9, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is screwed into the gasket 190 of the vial 170 [when the vial is mounted onto the mounting stem 138], causing the needle 116 to pierce the wall of the gasket 190, so that the needle 116 extends into the first recessed portion 196) to draw platelet-rich plasma from a fraction of the liquid (see col. 10, lines 18-22, disclosing that after the needle extends into the first recessed portion 196, the gasket 190 can be moved through the tubular body 170, causing the fluid in the tubular body 170 to be drawn through the needle 116).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Ogawa, according to the teaching in Barker, thereby providing the guide member that engages the screw grooves already present in the invention of Ogawa, with a reasonable expectation of success in maintaining axial alignment between the needle and the gasket during the piercing step.
Regarding claim 3, Ogawa discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the first recessed portion comprises an opening with a width (see Annotation "A" of Fig. 4, below), and the second recessed portion comprises an opening portion having a same width as or a narrower width than the width of an opening of the first recessed portion (see Annotation "A" of Fig 4, below).
Ogawa, Annotation "A" of Fig. 4
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the protruding portion surrounds (annularly) a region of the second surface facing the first recessed portion, and protrudes from the second surface in the tube axial direction.
Ogawa, Annotation "B" of Fig. 4
Additionally regarding claim 5 and regarding claim 6, an alternative interpretation of Ogawa is applied in which Ogawa discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the protruding portion is shown to surround (annularly) a region of the second surface facing the first recessed portion, and protrudes from the second surface in the tube axial direction, and as per claim 6, the second surface comprises a second recessed portion at a position facing the first recessed portion, and the protruding portion surrounds the second recessed portion, and protrudes from the second surface in the tube axial direction.
Ogawa, Annotation "C" of Fig. 4
Regarding claim 10, Ogawa discloses a tubular body kit for preparing platelet-rich plasma from a liquid (the preamble recites intended use, without requiring platelet-rich plasma to be present in the tubular body kit; though it is noted that Barker does not explicitly disclose platelet-rich plasma, its tubular body kit would be capable of the intended use recited in the preamble) comprising:
a tubular body 6 (see Fig. 1) including a storage chamber partitioned by a gasket 1 (see Fig. 1), the storage chamber being configured to store a liquid (see col. 3, line 63 referring to a "drug containing portion 7"); and
the gasket movable in a tube axial direction in the tubular body (see col. 4, lines 27-30, disclosing that the gasket can be moved axially with respect to the tubular body), the gasket including a first surface facing the storage chamber (where protective film 3 is located), wherein the first surface has a flat surface shape or a curved surface shape (the surface is flat), a first recessed portion (see Fig. 4, annotation "A", above), and the gasket comprises a protruding portion extending from the second surface and facing the first recessed portion (the location of screw threads 5).
It is noted that while Ogawa does disclose a needle that is intended to pierce the gasket (see needle 8 in Fig. 1), and also discloses that at least a part of an inner side surface of the second recessed portion comprises screw grooves 5 (see Fig. 4), Ogawa does not appear to disclose a guide member comprising a through hole configured to guide the needle piercing through the gasket, wherein the protruding portion is configured to engage with the guide member, at least a part of an inner side surface of the protruding portion comprises respective screw grooves configured to engage with the screw grooves on the part of the guide member each other and allow a position of a tip of the needle to be adjustable in the tube axial direction in the tubular body from a first position where the tip of the needle does not pierce the gasket and a second position where the needle pierces the gasket and protrudes from the first recessed portion to draw platelet-rich plasma from a fraction of the liquid.
Barker discloses a kit comprising a gasket 190 (see Figs. 13 and 14) with a second surface (the top of the gasket; see Figs. 13 and 14) opposite to a first surface (the surface facing the medicament in the storage chamber; see Figs. 13 and 14) having a protruding portion at a position opposite the first recess (the protruding portion protrudes inward from the top of the gasket and accommodates mounting stem 138; see Fig. 13), the second recess engages with a guide member 138 (see Fig. 13) having a through hole (extension of lumen 132; see Fig. 13) for guiding a needle that pierces the gasket,
each of at least a part of an inner side surface of the protruding portion and at least a part of the guide member comprises a respective one of screw grooves configured to engage with each other (see Figs. 13-14, showing the mounting stem 138 engaging with the protruding portion in the gasket via screw threads; see also col. 10, lines 1-3, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is "externally threaded and the gasket 190" and has "corresponding internal threads") and allow a position of a tip of the needle to be adjustable in the tube axial direction in the tubular body from a first position where the tip of the needle does not pierce the gasket and a second position where the needle pierces the gasket and protrudes from the first recessed portion (see col. 10, lines 6-9, disclosing that the mounting stem 138 is screwed into the gasket 190 of the vial 170 [when the vial is mounted onto the mounting stem 138], causing the needle 116 to pierce the wall of the gasket 190, so that the needle 116 extends into the first recessed portion 196) to draw platelet-rich plasma from a fraction of the liquid (see col. 10, lines 18-22, disclosing that after the needle extends into the first recessed portion 196, the gasket 190 can be moved through the tubular body 170, causing the fluid in the tubular body 170 to be drawn through the needle 116).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Ogawa, according to the teaching in Barker, thereby providing the guide member that engages the screw grooves already present in the invention of Ogawa, with a reasonable expectation of success in maintaining axial alignment between the needle and the gasket during the piercing step.
Regarding claim 11, Ogawa discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the first recessed portion is provided at a central region of the first surface (see Fig. 3 showing central recess 4).
Regarding claim 12, Ogawa discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the tubular body is a syringe tube (see Abstract), and the gasket is detachably attachable to a plunger movable in the syringe tube (using threads 5, which are provided on the back side thereof for attaching a plunger; see col. 4, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 13, Ogawa discloses the tubular body kit according to claim 1, wherein the tubular body is a tubular container comprising a closed end and an open end (see Fig. 1 showing a closed end at the bottom of the tubular container and open end at the top of the tubular container).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Barker in view of Jeon (U.S. Pub. 2015/0335812, hereinafter "Jeon").
Regarding claim 16, Barker discloses a gasket 190 (see Figs. 13 and 14) for preparing platelet-rich plasma from a liquid (the preamble recites intended use, without requiring platelet-rich plasma to be present; though it is noted that Barker does not explicitly disclose platelet-rich plasma, its gasket would be capable of the intended use recited in the preamble), comprising:
a second surface (the top of the gasket; see Figs. 13 and 14) opposite to a first surface (the surface facing the medicament in the storage chamber; see Figs. 13 and 14) and movable in an axial direction within a first cylindrical body 170 capable of storing liquid (see Figs. 13 and 14), the liquid stored in a storage chamber defined by the first cylindrical body and the first surface (see Fig. 13), wherein the first surface is planar or concave (Figs. 13 and 14 show that the first surface is planar) and has a first recess 196 (see Fig. 13),
a protrusion (the second recess accommodating mounting stem 138; see Fig. 13 and further description below), engages with a guide member 138 (see Fig. 13) having a through hole (extension of lumen 132; see Fig. 13) for guiding a needle that pierces the gasket, at least a part of the protrusion has screw grooves that are screwed into at least a part of the guide member, wherein the guide member is movable in the cylindrical axis direction from the gasket by sliding the thread groove of the guide member side along the thread groove of the second surface side (see col. 10, lines 6-9, disclosing that the guide member 138 is screwed into the gasket 190 of the vial 170 [when the vial is mounted onto the mounting stem 138]),
the needle is attached to a second cylindrical body 114 (see Fig. 13) capable of containing a predetermined liquid extracted by the needle from the liquid in the first cylindrical body (fluid flows from the needle 116 into the second cylindrical body 114),
the second cylindrical body to which the needle is attached is disposed above the guide member when the needle pierces the gasket (see Fig. 14 showing the second cylindrical body 114 extending above the guide member 138), and moves from the gasket together with the guide member in the cylindrical axis direction, thereby enabling adjustment of the position of the tip of the needle piercing the gasket in the cylindrical axis direction (since the body 114 is fixed within the actuator 130 that encompasses the guide member 138, movement of the guide member 138 is accompanied with corresponding movement of the body 114).
It is noted that Barker does not appear to disclose that the second surface has a convex portion.
Jeon discloses a gasket 65 (see Fig. 6) for a container with a liquid product, comprising a second surface (the top surface of the gasket) having a convex portion (see Fig. 6 and para [0066]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the second surface of the gasket of Barker to have a convex portion, in order to facilitate disinfection of the top of the gasket, with a reasonable expectation of success (see para [0066] of Jeon).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 08/24/2026