DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following minor informality: the phrase “a second a second predetermined pressure value (Pmax)” contains an obvious duplication. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 omits essential elements of the claimed system, namely a first compressor and a second compressor. Claim 6 recites a first coupling means arranged to connect or disconnect the electric motor to or from “said first compressor,” a second coupling means arranged to connect or disconnect the electric motor to or from “said second compressor,” and a control means arranged such that the driving torque is selectively supplied to the first compressor, the second compressor, or both. However, claim 6 never positively recites a first compressor or a second compressor as elements of the claimed system. This omission leaves a gap between the recited coupling/control elements and the compressors to which those elements are defined by reference, and also results in unclear antecedent basis for “said first compressor” and “said second compressor.” The specification, by contrast, consistently describes the system as including the first compressor 303 and second compressor 307 as system components. See, e.g., Spec. [0050]-[0053], [0146]-[0149], and [0156]-[0157]. Accordingly, claim 6 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 13 recites “said control unit is arranged to define first time-intervals...” although the antecedent basis in claim 6 and the earlier dependent claims is “a control means.” Claim 13 later returns to “said control means.” As written, it is unclear whether “said control unit” is intended to be the same element as the previously recited control means or a different element. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 13 are not reasonably certain.
Claim 18 recites that the air dryer means is arranged to generate dried compressed air “to be supplied to said main reservoir.” However, claim 18 depends from claim 6, and neither claim 6 nor claim 18 positively recites a main reservoir. Thus, “said main reservoir” lacks antecedent basis, and it is unclear whether the main reservoir is part of the claimed system or an external component. Accordingly, claim 18 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention.
REFERENCES RELIED UPON
Reference 1: WO2021053524A1 System for the generation of compressed air and for air conditioning, for a railway vehicle
Reference 2: US9302682B2 Multiple compressor system and method for locomotives
Reference 3: US6419454B1 Air compressor control sequencer
Reference 4: WO2017042140A1 Method and device for controlling an air dryer unit of an air supply system for the main and auxiliary air supply, particularly for a rail vehicle
Reference 5: US20100139298A1 Motor-compressor drive apparatus
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIM STATUS SUMMARY
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 5.
CLAIMS 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 14, AND 15 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 1
A method for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle, comprising the step of: a) selectively connecting a first compressor, or a second compressor, or simultaneously said first compressor and said second compressor, to an electric motor arranged to generate a driving torque.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 discloses a method and system 600 including an electric motor 601 arranged to generate driving torque. Reference 1 further discloses a first compressor 602, a first coupling means 603 associated with half shafts 604 and 605, a second compressor 608, and a second coupling means 609 associated with half shafts 610 and 611. Reference 1 teaches that when first coupling means 603 is engaged, electric motor 601 transmits mechanical torque to first compressor 602, and when second coupling means 609 is engaged, electric motor 601 transmits mechanical torque to second compressor 608. Reference 1 also teaches that electronic control unit 607 may activate first coupling means 603 alone, second coupling means 609 alone, or both coupling means 603 and 609 simultaneously, thereby selectively supplying the motor torque to the first compressor 602, the second compressor 608, or both simultaneously.
Reference 1 also teaches that first compressor 602 is a compressed-air compressor that supplies compressed air through air dryer unit 615 to main tank 616 and main brake pipe 617. Thus, Reference 1 teaches selective connection of an electric motor to a first compressor used for vehicle compressed-air generation.
Reference 2 discloses a railroad-locomotive multiple compressor system 100 including at least two air compressors 102 and a control system 104. Reference 2 further teaches that the control system can energize either the first air compressor, the second air compressor, or both the first and second air compressors simultaneously.
Reference 1 differs from claim 1 in that its second compressor 608 is used for air conditioning refrigerant compression rather than compressed-air generation. Reference 2 teaches that it was known in the vehicle compressed-air art to provide a first air compressor and a second air compressor in the same locomotive compressed-air system, and to operate either one or both. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Reference 1 by replacing the second compressor 608 with a second compressed-air compressor, as taught by Reference 2, so that the single motor 601 and selective coupling architecture of Reference 1 would generate compressed air with either one air compressor or both air compressors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the single-motor dual-coupling architecture of Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 so that both selectively driven compressors are vehicle compressed-air compressors, because such modification predictably reduces motor count, weight, and packaging volume while preserving the known ability to operate either compressor individually or both compressors simultaneously in response to pneumatic demand.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 2
The method for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 1, comprising the step of: measuring a pressure value indicative of the internal pressure of a main reservoir arranged to store compressed air generated by said first compressor and said second compressor, wherein the pressure value within said main reservoir is arranged to assume over time a value within a pressure range including: a null value; a first predetermined pressure value (Pmin); a second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 1 as set forth above.
Reference 1 further discloses pressure measuring device 618 that generates first electrical signal 619 indicative of pressure in main brake pipe 617 and/or main tank 616. Thus, Reference 1 teaches measuring a pressure value indicative of internal pressure of a main reservoir. Reference 1 also teaches that main tank 616 stores compressed air generated by first compressor 602 through air dryer unit 615.
Once the second compressor 608 of Reference 1 is modified in view of Reference 2 to be a second compressed-air compressor, it would have been obvious to route the compressed-air output of that second compressor into the same vehicle compressed-air storage path used in Reference 1, namely the path leading to main tank 616, so that main tank 616 stores compressed air generated by both the first compressor and the second compressor.
Reference 1 also teaches threshold-based pressure operation. Pressure measuring device 618 and first electrical signal 619 indicate when the pressure reaches a minimum pressure and when the pressure reaches a maximum pressure. Reference 1 gives example values for the minimum pressure and the maximum pressure. An unpressurized or depleted reservoir state corresponds to the claimed null value.
Accordingly, Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches or renders obvious measuring a pressure value within a main reservoir, the pressure varying over time within a range including a null value, a first predetermined pressure value Pmin, and a second predetermined pressure value Pmax greater than Pmin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the existing pressure sensor 618 and common main tank 616 of Reference 1 as the pressure-feedback reservoir for both compressed-air compressors after modifying the second compressor into an air compressor under Reference 2, because a shared reservoir and shared pressure monitoring loop is the most direct and predictable control arrangement for a two-compressor vehicle pneumatic system.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 4
The method for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 2, wherein, when the pressure value in said main reservoir is equal to, or greater than, said second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), step a) comprises: disconnecting, or keeping disconnected, said first compressor from said electric motor; disconnecting, or keeping disconnected, said second compressor from said electric motor; keeping said first compressor and said second compressor disconnected from said electric motor, until the pressure value in said main reservoir is equal to or less than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claims 1 and 2 as set forth above.
Reference 1 teaches that when the pressure measured by pressure measuring device 618 reaches the maximum pressure, first electrical signal 619 indicates deactivation of first compressor 602, and electronic control unit 607 deactivates first coupling means 603. Reference 1 further teaches that when requests from the second electrical signal 621 and third electrical signal 622 are not present, second coupling means 609 is deactivated or kept deactivated and power supply unit 613 is deactivated.
After the modification of Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 so that both first compressor 602 and second compressor 608 are compressed-air compressors using the same reservoir demand logic, it would have been obvious that when the reservoir reaches Pmax both compressors are disconnected or kept disconnected from motor 601 and remain disconnected until pressure falls back to the lower threshold corresponding to Pmin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to keep both compressors disconnected after the reservoir reaches the upper threshold because continued compressor loading above the desired maximum pressure would waste energy, increase wear, and risk over-pressurization, whereas hysteresis-based shutoff until the lower threshold is reached is a predictable and conventional pressure-control strategy.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 6
A system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle, particularly at least one railway vehicle, comprising: an electric motor arranged to generate a driving torque; a first coupling means, arranged to selectively assume a first state in which it connects said electric motor to said first compressor or a second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said first compressor; a second coupling means, arranged to selectively assume a first state in which it connects said electric motor to said second compressor or a second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said second compressor; a control means arranged to control the transition between the first state and the second state, and vice versa, of said first coupling means and the transition between the first state and the second state, and vice versa, of said second coupling means, so that said driving torque generated by said electric motor is selectively supplied to the first compressor or to the second compressor or simultaneously to said first compressor and to said second compressor.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 discloses a system 600 comprising electric motor 601, first coupling means 603, second coupling means 609, and electronic control unit 607. Reference 1 teaches that first coupling means 603 selectively couples and decouples first compressor 602 relative to motor 601, and second coupling means 609 selectively couples and decouples second compressor 608 relative to motor 601. Reference 1 further teaches that electronic control unit 607 controls both coupling means and selectively supplies motor torque to first compressor 602, second compressor 608, or both simultaneously.
Reference 2 discloses that a vehicle compressed-air system 100 includes at least two air compressors 102 and control system 104. Reference 2 also teaches operation of either one air compressor or both simultaneously. Therefore, Reference 2 teaches the desirability and known use of dual air compressors in a railroad compressed-air system.
Reference 1 differs from claim 6 in that second compressor 608 is not itself a compressed-air compressor. Reference 2 cures this deficiency by teaching the use of two air compressors in a railroad-locomotive compressed-air system.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Reference 1 so that both selectively driven compressors are compressed-air compressors, thereby yielding a system comprising an electric motor, a first coupling means, a second coupling means, and a control means arranged so that driving torque is selectively supplied to either air compressor or both.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to adapt the single-motor, dual-coupling system of Reference 1 for dual compressed-air generation as taught by Reference 2 in order to obtain a compact railway compressed-air system capable of selectively driving either one air compressor or both air compressors while reducing duplicate motor hardware.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 7
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 6, comprising: a main reservoir arranged to store compressed air generated by said first compressor and said second compressor; and a pressure sensor means arranged to measure a pressure value inside said main reservoir; wherein the pressure value within said main reservoir is arranged to assume over time a pressure value within a range of pressures including a null value, a first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) greater than said null value, and a second a second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 6 as set forth above.
Reference 1 further discloses main tank 616 and pressure measuring device 618 associated with main tank 616 and main brake pipe 617. Reference 1 teaches minimum pressure and maximum pressure thresholds for the compressed-air system. Thus, Reference 1 teaches a main reservoir and a pressure sensor means arranged to measure a pressure value inside that reservoir.
After the modification of Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 so that second compressor 608 is also a compressed-air compressor, it would have been obvious that main tank 616 stores compressed air generated by both compressors. The pressure in that tank varies over time from an unpressurized state, corresponding to a null value, through a lower pressure threshold Pmin and an upper pressure threshold Pmax.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the already-disclosed main tank 616 and pressure measuring device 618 of Reference 1 as the shared reservoir and sensor for both air compressors after the second compressor is converted to compressed-air service under Reference 2, because a common tank and common sensor simplify control and directly reflect the pneumatic state of the vehicle system.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 14
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin), said control means is arranged to: control said first coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said first compressor; control said second coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said second compressor; keep said first coupling means in its second state, and said second coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or lower than, said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claims 6 and 7 as set forth above.
Reference 1 teaches that when pressure measuring device 618 indicates the maximum pressure has been reached, electronic control unit 607 deactivates first coupling means 603. Reference 1 also teaches deactivating second coupling means 609 when there is no continuing demand, and deactivating power supply unit 613. After the modification of Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 so that both compressors are compressed-air compressors controlled according to the same reservoir pressure, it would have been obvious for electronic control unit 607 to place both coupling means 603 and 609 in their disconnect states at or above Pmax and maintain them disconnected until pressure again falls to the lower threshold Pmin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to maintain both coupling means in their disconnected states throughout the upper-threshold portion of the control band because that is the predictable implementation of threshold-based reservoir charging and avoids unnecessary motor loading until renewed charging is required.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 15
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 14, wherein when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), said control means is arranged to: drive the electric motor, so as to generate a driving torque of null value.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 14 as set forth above.
Reference 1 teaches that when maximum pressure is reached and no continuing second-compressor request exists, second coupling means 609 is deactivated or kept deactivated and power supply unit 613 is deactivated. In the modified compressed-air-only system produced by substituting the second compressor of Reference 1 with the second air compressor of Reference 2, there is no separate refrigerant-demand reason to continue operating motor 601 after Pmax is reached. Thus, deactivation of power supply unit 613 results in electric motor 601 generating no driving torque, i.e., a null torque value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to drive the motor to a null torque value at the upper pressure threshold because once the reservoir has reached the desired maximum pressure there is no useful purpose in continuing to apply motor torque, and stopping the motor conserves energy and reduces wear.
CLAIMS 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, AND 17 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 3.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 3
The method for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 2, wherein, when the pressure value in said main reservoir is less than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin), step a) comprises: connecting said first compressor to said electric motor; connecting said second compressor to said electric motor; keeping said first compressor and said second compressor connected to said electric motor until the pressure value in said main reservoir reaches or exceeds said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claims 1 and 2 as set forth above.
Reference 3 discloses controller 10, pressure sensor 55, tank 50, motors 21-26, and compressors 31-36. Reference 3 expressly teaches that the number of compressors in use is controlled as a function of tank pressure, with more compressors activated at lower pressure and fewer compressors activated at higher pressure. Reference 3 gives the example that when pressure is below a lower pressure level more compressors are turned on, and when pressure rises into higher bands fewer compressors remain on. Reference 3 also teaches that if tank 50 pressure is lower than the set point and the rate of change is not recovering quickly, controller 10 turns on one of motors 21-26 to run one of compressors 31-36 and continues staged additions as needed.
Accordingly, once Reference 1 is modified in view of Reference 2 to have two air compressors, it would have been obvious to apply the low-pressure staging logic of Reference 3 so that below Pmin both available air compressors are connected to electric motor 601 and remain connected until pressure recovers to at least Pmin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use both compressors during the below-Pmin condition because Reference 3 teaches that lower tank pressure calls for a greater number of active compressors, and using both available compressors is the predictable high-capacity recovery mode for the modified two-compressor system.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 5
The method for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 2, wherein when the pressure value in said main reservoir is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), step a) selectively comprises: connecting, or keeping connected, said second compressor to said electric motor; disconnecting, or keeping disconnected, said first compressor from said electric motor; keeping said second compressor connected to said electric motor, and keeping said first compressor disconnected from said electric motor, until the pressure value in said main reservoir is equal to or greater than the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax); or, disconnecting, or keeping disconnected, said second compressor from said electric motor; connecting, or keeping connected, said first compressor to said electric motor; keeping said second compressor disconnected from said electric motor, and keeping said first compressor connected to said electric motor, until the pressure value in said main reservoir is equal to or greater than the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claims 1 and 2 as set forth above. Reference 1 already teaches that either coupling means 603 alone or coupling means 609 alone may be activated so that only one compressor is driven by motor 601.
Reference 3 teaches pressure-band staging in which fewer compressors are operated as pressure rises toward the upper control level, and teaches lead/lag sequencing so that controller 10 rotates the order of use of compressors 31-36 to approximately even run time. Therefore, Reference 3 teaches both one-compressor operation in a higher pressure band and selective alternation between available compressors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use only one of the two compressors in the pressure band from Pmin up to Pmax in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system, while selectively choosing either the first compressor or the second compressor and maintaining the selected compressor active until Pmax is reached.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to reduce operation from two compressors to one compressor in the intermediate pressure band because Reference 3 teaches using fewer compressors as tank pressure rises and rotating which compressor leads to balance wear, thereby conserving energy while still completing charging to the upper threshold.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 8
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein, when the pressure value measured by the pressure sensor means is less than the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin), said control means is arranged to: control said first coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said first compressor; control said second coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said second compressor; keep said first coupling means in its first state and said second coupling means in its first state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means reaches said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claims 6 and 7 as set forth above.
Reference 3 teaches using the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 55 in tank 50 to determine how many compressors 31-36 are to be active, with lower pressure calling for more active compressors. Therefore, in the modified two-compressor system, it would have been obvious for the control means to place both first coupling means 603 and second coupling means 609 into their connect states when pressure is below Pmin and to keep them connected until pressure reaches Pmin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the control means for simultaneous two-compressor operation below Pmin because Reference 3 teaches that the controller should bring additional compressors online when tank pressure is in the low-pressure region and charging demand is highest.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 9
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein, when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), said control means is arranged to selectively: control said second coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said second compressor, and control said first coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said first compressor; keep said second coupling means in its first state and said first coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin); or, control said first coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said first compressor, and control said second coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said second compressor; keep said first coupling means in its first state, and said second coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), which is greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claims 6 and 7 as set forth above. Reference 1 already teaches selective independent actuation of first coupling means 603 and second coupling means 609.
Reference 3 teaches that the controller uses pressure-band staging so that fewer compressors operate as pressure rises, and also rotates the order of use to even run time. Therefore, Reference 3 teaches the desirability of operating only one compressor in an upper or intermediate pressure band and selecting which compressor leads.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the control means in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system so that between Pmin and Pmax either the first compressor alone or the second compressor alone is coupled to motor 601 until Pmax is reached.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to employ one-compressor operation in the intermediate pressure band and to alternate which compressor is selected because Reference 3 teaches pressure-dependent reduction in the number of active compressors and lead/lag rotation to distribute use among the available compressors.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 10
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein said control means is arranged to measure a first overall activation time of said first compressor and to measure a second overall activation time of said second compressor; wherein, when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), and the first overall activation time of said first compressor is greater than said second overall activation time of said second compressor, said control means is arranged to: control said second coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said second compressor, and control said first coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said first compressor; keep said second coupling means in its first state and said first coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin); wherein, when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), and the first overall activation time of said first compressor is shorter than said second overall activation time of said second compressor, said control means is arranged to: control said first coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said first compressor, and control said second coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said second compressor; keep said first coupling means in its first state, and said second coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), which is greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3 teaches the subject matter of claim 9 as set forth above.
Reference 3 expressly teaches that controller 10 rotates the order of use of compressors 31-36 to approximately even run time on each compressor. Reference 3 further teaches that it is an object to provide run time data for each compressor and to alternate the lead/lag sequence for even wear. Therefore, Reference 3 teaches measuring accumulated operating time and selecting compressors based on runtime-balancing considerations.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that in the one-compressor intermediate pressure band between Pmin and Pmax, the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system would select the compressor having the lower overall activation time and keep that compressor coupled until Pmax is reached. If the first compressor had been used longer, the second would be selected; if the second had been used longer, the first would be selected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to measure overall activation time and choose the less-used compressor during one-compressor operation because Reference 3 expressly teaches runtime equalization and alternating lead/lag order to even wear and maintenance burden among the compressors.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 11
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein said control means is arranged to measure a first overall activation time of said first compressor and to measure a second overall activation time of said second compressor; wherein said control means is arranged to: if the first overall activation time of said first compressor is greater than said second overall activation time of said second compressor, prevent activation of the first compressor for a first inhibition time period; if the first overall activation time of said first compressor is shorter than said second overall activation time of said second compressor, prevent activation of the second compressor for a second inhibition time period.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 7 as set forth above.
Reference 3 teaches tracking run time data and on/off counts for each compressor, rotating the order of use of compressors to even runtime, alternating the lead/lag sequence for even wear, and limiting cycles on a given compressor during a period of time by extra rotation of the lead/lag sequence. Reference 3 also uses programmed timers and timed control intervals in its add and shed logic.
Reference 3 does not use the exact phrase “inhibition time period.” However, Reference 3 teaches the same underlying control concept of temporarily withholding a particular compressor from being the next selected lead compressor during a programmed period in order to reduce wear and limit excessive cycling. In view of the runtime-tracking and lead/lag rotation teachings of Reference 3, it would have been obvious to implement the wear-balancing selection in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system by preventing activation of the more-used compressor for a programmed interval, thereby favoring the less-used compressor during that interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the runtime-balancing rotation of Reference 3 as a temporary inhibition of the more-used compressor for a programmed interval, because such temporary lockout is a straightforward software implementation of lead/lag rotation and directly advances Reference 3’s stated goals of even runtime, even wear, and reduced cycling on a given compressor.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 12
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 11, wherein in said first inhibition time period, when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), said control means is arranged to: control said second coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said second compressor, and control said first coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said first compressor; keep said second coupling means in its first state and said first coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin); wherein, in said second inhibition time period, when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), said control means is arranged to: control said first coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said first compressor, and control said second coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said second compressor; keep said first coupling means in its first state, and said second coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), which is greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3 teaches the subject matter of claims 9 and 11 as set forth above. Reference 1 provides the selective independent actuation of coupling means 603 and 609, and Reference 3 provides the runtime-based lead/lag rotation and timed selection logic.
Once the more-used compressor is temporarily inhibited as discussed in claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that, during the intermediate pressure band between Pmin and Pmax, only the non-inhibited compressor would be connected to motor 601 and remain connected until Pmax is reached. Thus, during a first inhibition interval the second compressor would be active and the first inactive, and during a second inhibition interval the first compressor would be active and the second inactive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to apply the temporary inhibition rule directly to the one-compressor intermediate pressure mode because once one compressor is intentionally withheld for wear-balancing purposes, the other compressor is the predictable and necessary active compressor for charging the reservoir through that interval.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 13
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein said control unit is arranged to define first time-intervals in which activation of the first compressor is prevented, and second time-intervals in which activation of the second compressor is prevented, wherein said first time-intervals and said second time-intervals are alternated to each other in time; wherein, when in one of said first time-intervals, the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), said control means is arranged to: control said second coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said second compressor, and control said first coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said first compressor; keep said second coupling means in its first state and said first coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin); wherein, when in one of said second time-intervals, the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) or comprised between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), said control means is arranged to: control said first coupling means so that it is in its first state in which it connects said electric motor to said first compressor, and control said second coupling means so that it is in its second state in which it disconnects said electric motor from said second compressor; keep said first coupling means in its first state, and said second coupling means in its second state, until the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is equal to, or greater than, the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), which is greater than said first predetermined pressure value (Pmin).
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3 teaches the subject matter of claims 9 and 11 as set forth above.
Reference 3 teaches alternating the lead/lag sequence of the compressors for even wear, rotating the order of use of compressors to approximately even runtime, and limiting on/off cycles on a given compressor during a period of time by extra rotation of the lead/lag sequence. Therefore, Reference 3 teaches alternating designated operating order over successive control periods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the alternating lead/lag sequence of Reference 3 in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system as alternating first and second time intervals during which one compressor is prevented from being selected as the active intermediate-band compressor and the other compressor is used instead. This is a straightforward software scheduling implementation of Reference 3’s alternating lead/lag concept.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to express the lead/lag alternation of Reference 3 as alternating first and second time intervals for compressor preference because timed alternation is a routine way to implement a rotating lead/lag schedule and predictably distributes wear between two compressors.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 16
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 7, wherein when the pressure value measured by the pressure sensor means is less than the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin), said control means is arranged to: drive the electric motor, so as to generate a driving torque having a first torque value.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3 teaches the subject matter of claim 8 as set forth above, namely the below-Pmin condition in which both compressors are connected for high-capacity charging.
Reference 3 further teaches that variable speed motors can be used in embodiments where the controller not only controls which motors to turn on but what speed as well. Therefore, Reference 3 teaches controlling motor output as a function of system demand.
In the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system, when both compressors are engaged below Pmin as taught by claim 8 and by the staged low-pressure logic of Reference 3, motor 601 necessarily supplies a first torque value sufficient to drive that higher-demand two-compressor state. Thus, the claimed first torque value is rendered obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to drive the motor at a first torque value in the below-Pmin condition because Reference 3 teaches demand-dependent motor control, and the low-pressure two-compressor charging stage predictably requires a motor output corresponding to the higher load of that stage.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 17
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 16, wherein, when the pressure value measured by said pressure sensor means is between the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin) and the second predetermined pressure value (Pmax), which is greater than the first predetermined pressure value (Pmin), said control means is arranged to: drive the electric motor, so as to generate a driving torque having a second torque value, less than or equal to said first torque value.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3 teaches the subject matter of claims 9 and 16 as set forth above. In the intermediate pressure band, only one compressor is active, whereas in the below-Pmin condition both compressors are active.
Reference 3 teaches variable-speed motor control, and therefore suggests adjusting motor output to match differing compressor load states. Because the one-compressor intermediate band places a lesser or equal load on motor 601 than the two-compressor low-pressure stage, it would have been obvious that the corresponding motor torque in the intermediate band would be less than or equal to the first torque value used below Pmin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to drive the motor at a second torque value less than or equal to the first torque value in the intermediate pressure band because Reference 3 teaches controllable motor output and the one-compressor operating state predictably requires less or no greater torque than the two-compressor low-pressure state.
CLAIM 18 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 4.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 18
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 6, comprising an air dryer means; wherein said air dryer means is arranged to receive compressed air generated by the first compressor, receive compressed air generated by the second compressor and generate dried compressed air to be supplied to said main reservoir.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 6 as set forth above. Reference 1 teaches first compressor 602 supplying compressed air through air dryer unit 615 to main tank 616 and main brake pipe 617. Reference 1 therefore teaches an air dryer means in the compressed-air path.
Reference 4 teaches air-supply architectures in which a plurality of compressors 1a to 1c with associated electric motors 4a to 4c are used for main and auxiliary air supply, and further teaches that several compressors connected in parallel fill at least one air dryer unit and the main air tank. Reference 4 also teaches air dryer unit 8 and air dryer units 8a to 8c in the compressed-air supply path.
Thus, Reference 4 teaches that multiple compressors may feed at least one common air dryer unit before delivery to a tank. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Reference 1/Reference 2 system so that both air compressors feed a common air dryer means upstream of the shared main reservoir.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to route the output of both air compressors through a common air dryer means before the shared main reservoir because Reference 4 teaches that multiple compressors can fill at least one air dryer unit, and such an arrangement predictably reduces duplicated dryer hardware, weight, and installation volume while still providing dried compressed air to the reservoir.
CLAIMS 19 AND 20 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND FURTHER IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 5.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 19
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 6, wherein the electric motor comprises: a first drive shaft arranged to transmit driving torque to the first compressor via the first coupling means and a first mechanical coupling; a second drive shaft, arranged to be integral with the first drive shaft and to transmit the driving torque to the second compressor through the second coupling means and a second mechanical coupling.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 6 as set forth above.
Reference 5 teaches a pair of compressors 11 and 12 driven by a common motor 21 having a common drive shaft extending from both ends as shaft ends 22 and 23. Shaft end 22 drives compressor 11 by mechanical coupling 24, and shaft end 23 drives compressor 12 by mechanical coupling 26. Reference 5 further teaches that mechanical couplings 24 and 26 may include engaging-disengaging apparatus 27 and 28 such as clutches, thereby permitting selective engagement and disengagement.
Accordingly, Reference 5 teaches a first drive shaft portion arranged to transmit torque to a first compressor through a first coupling and mechanical coupling, and a second drive shaft portion integral with the first and arranged to transmit torque to a second compressor through a second coupling and a second mechanical coupling. It would have been obvious to use this known dual-ended-shaft arrangement in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to employ the dual-ended common shaft and selective mechanical coupling arrangement of Reference 5 in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system because Reference 5 teaches a known and compact way to transmit one motor’s torque to two compressors with selective engagement capability.
──────────────────────── CLAIM 20
The system for generating compressed air of at least one vehicle according to claim 6, wherein the electric motor comprises a drive shaft on which the first coupling means and the second coupling means are arranged to be bound; said compressed air generation system of at least one vehicle comprising a first pulley and a second pulley; wherein the first pulley is arranged to be mechanically bound to a shaft of the first compressor, and the second pulley is arranged to be mechanically bound to a shaft of the second compressor; wherein the first coupling means is arranged to transmit driving torque to the first pulley by at least one drive belt, and the second coupling means is arranged to transmit driving torque to the second pulley by at least one drive belt.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the subject matter of claim 6 as set forth above.
Reference 5 teaches an embodiment in which drive motor 29 has shaft end 31 with pulleys 32 and 33 rigidly attached thereto. Pulley 32 is mechanically connected by belt 34 to pulley 36 which drives compressor 37, and pulley 33 is mechanically connected by belt 38 to pulley 39 which drives compressor 41. Reference 5 also teaches a double-ended motor 42 with shaft ends 43 and 44 carrying pulleys 46 and 47, with belt 48 driving pulley 49 of compressor 51 and belt 52 driving pulley 53 of compressor 54. Reference 5 further teaches that either compressor may be selectively engaged or disengaged.
Thus, Reference 5 teaches the claimed drive-shaft, pulley, and belt arrangement for selectively transmitting motor torque to two compressors. It would have been obvious to implement the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system using this known belt-and-pulley mechanical architecture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the pulley-and-belt arrangement of Reference 5 as the mechanical implementation of the first and second selective drive paths in the modified Reference 1/Reference 2 system because Reference 5 teaches that such arrangements provide a known alternative for transmitting one motor’s torque to multiple compressors while allowing selective engagement and packaging flexibility.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615