Detailed Office Action
This office action is in response to the communication dated 10/19/23.
Claims 1-18 are pending
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “Host equipment configured----; Terminal Equipment configured----" in claims 16 and 17 .
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radier U. S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20110196962 A1 [hereinafter Radier].
As per claim 1, 13, 14 Radier discloses A method of processing a request to activate at least one interface of an item of host equipment with a first local area communication network managed by the item of host equipment, the item of host equipment and the at least one interface being in standby mode, wherein the method comprises:
receiving from an item of terminal equipment of an application message requesting activation of the interface of the item of host equipment with the first network on an interface, that has remained active, of the item of host equipment with a second local area communication network(see pars. 0118-0123, where during an activation step E.sub.9, the application server 9 activates the service adapted as a function of these two types of information by sending a command C to the terminal 1a via the home gateway 3. On reception of this command C, the user of the terminal may use the adapted service.
verifying that the item of terminal equipment is authorized to access the at least one first network from an address, referred to as a second address, of the item of terminal equipment on the second network, and when the item of terminal equipment is authorized to access the at least one first network, activating the at least one interface of the first network(see par. 0109, where he application server 9 can use such information to find out the type of connectivity used by a terminal and thus to verify that the terminal is connected to the home gateway 3 or that the access line of the network is not saturated).
as per claim 2, Radier discloses the method of processing according to claim 1, wherein the verifying comprises consulting a table stored in memory, the item of terminal equipment being authorized to access the first local network, when the table associates at least with the second address of the item of terminal equipment for the second local network an address, referred to as a first address, of the item of terminal equipment for the first local network(see par. 0094)
as per claim 3, Radier discloses the method of processing according to claim 2, wherein the verifying includes verifying that the activation request has been received within an authorized time slot(see par. 0093, 0128)
as per claim 4, Radier discloses The method of processing according to claim 1, wherein the receiving comprises obtaining an item of information indicating that the action requested is the activation of the first local network, the item of information being included in the message(see par. 0121-0124).
as per claim 5, Radier discloses The method of processing according to claim 1, wherein the receiving comprises obtaining at least one item of information identifying a service performed by the item of terminal equipment, the item of information being included in the message, and in that the verifying comprises verifying that the service is authorized(see par. 0109,0120)
as per claim 6, Radier discloses the method of processing according to claim 5, wherein the item of host equipment comprises an interface with a wide area communication network, the method comprises determining from the service identifier other network interfaces to activate for implementing the service and activating the other network interfaces(see par. 0132).
As per claim 11 and 15 Radier discloses method of requesting to activate at least one interface of an item of host equipment with a first local area communication network managed by the item of host equipment, the item of host equipment and the at least one interface being in standby mode, wherein the method is implemented by an item of terminal equipment and comprises: sending to the item of host equipment an application message requesting activation of the at least one interface of the first network on an interface that has remained active of the item of host equipment with a second local area communication network(see par. 0118, 0123, where during a sending step E.sub.6, the autoconfiguration server 5 sends the session server 7 a message M.sub.1 containing the local environment information I.sub.5 previously obtained. For example, the message M.sub.1 includes parameters relating to the various communications interfaces available at the level of the home gateway 3 of the home network 2).
upon detection of the first network, sending a connection request to the interface (see par. 0126-0150-0151)); and
executing a service using the connection to the first network(see par. 0150-0151).
As per claim 12, Radier discloses The method of requesting to activate according claim 11, wherein the method comprises a search for the first network of the item of host equipment and in that it triggers the transmission in the second network of an application message requesting activation of an interface of the item of host equipment with the first network in the absence of detection of the first network(see par. 0121-0123).
As per claim 16-17 Radier discloses A host equipment configured to manage a first local area communication network and a second local area communication network, the item of host equipment comprising at least one interface with the first network, the host equipment and the at least one interface being in standby mode, and at least one interface that has remained active with the second local network, wherein the item of host equipment comprises a device for processing a request for activating an interface with the first network from an item of terminal equipment according to claim 14(see pars. 0118-0123).
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466