DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
1. This application is a 371 of PCT/NZ2022/050043, which was filed on 04/19/2022.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-19, 21-22, & 24 were originally presented in this application for examination.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-19, 21-22, & 24 are currently pending in this application and under consideration.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The foreign document NZ775151, filed on 04/19/2021, has been received and placed in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2023 and 10/17/2025 have been made of record. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
An initialed copy of the PTO-1449 Form accompanies this O.A.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-2, 4, 7- 9, 12, 14-15, 18, & 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. In claim 1, line 2, “;” should change to --:--.
B. In claim 2, line 1, --,-- should be inserted before “including”.
C. In claim 2, line 3, “alkaline earth” should change to --alkaline-earth--.
D. In claim 4, line 2, “50” should change to --50%--.
E. In claim 7, last line, the claim refers to “polyacrilates” which appears to be a typographical error of --polyacrylates--.
F. In claim 8, line 2, “w/w.” should change to --w/w--.
G. In claim 9, line 2, “or at” should change to --, or--.
H. In claim 12, last line, “0.5mm – 15mm” should change to –0.5 mm – 15 mm--.
I. In claim 14, line 2, “at” should change to --in--.
J. In claim 15, last line, “100g/pellet” should change to --100 g/pellet--.
K. In claim 18, line 2, “at” should change to --in--.
L. In claim 24, line 3, “using” should change to --according to--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, 18-19, & 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CA 2255287 A1.
The claimed invention relates to a process for the manufacturing of a porous composite material for use in a gas/solid reaction system, the process including:
a) combining at least one active ingredient, organic binder and an inorganic binder to form a mixture A;
b) adding water to a mixture A to form green pellets;
c) partially drying the green pellets at 80-180oC to produce partially dried pellets; and
d) curing the partially dried pellets at 15-50oC to form a porous composite material made from cured pellets;
wherein the cured pellets formed during steps a) – d) have a crushing strength of 4,000 – 20,000 g/pellet (as recited in instant claim 1).
Regarding claim 1, step a), b), and c), CA 2255287 A1 discloses the production of porous pellets for the capture of CO2 (see p. 7).
Example 3 of the reference teaches 5 grams of polyvinyl alcohol (an organic binder) was dissolved in about 50 mL water. To this solution were added 40 grams of CaCO3 (a carbon dioxide carrying active ingredient) and 5 grams of Fe2O3 (an oxygen carrying active ingredient) and thoroughly mixed to form a slurry. The slurry was then partially dried by heating at about 70-80oC with occasional stirring to form a plastic-like mass of desired consistency (corresponding to a moisture content of about 10-20% based on the weight of CaCO3). The material was thereafter formed into several pieces of cylindrical pellets of 20 mm diameter and 10-20 mm length. Pellets were then dried at about 150oC until constant weight. The pellets have a crushing strength of 7.3 kg/cm2 (Table 5), which is 7,300 g/pellet.
CA 2255287 A1 further discloses the use of inorganic binders, such as bentonite or clay, and such binders may be utilized in combination with organic binders for forming porous pellets (see p. 11, paragraph 2).
The instant claim 1, step b) recites “adding water to mixture to form green pellets” is noted. However, it is considered the addition of water to the mixture in step b) is done the same way in the Example of the reference thus green pellets would have been formed as well.
Regarding claim 1, step d) & claim 19, it is considered that the fully dried pellets disclosed would inherently be stored and left to stand at room temperature, i.e. approximately 25oC, for at least some amount of time and such that the pellets would be “cured” to a moisture content of less than 1%, i.e. 0% due to the previous drying steps that were performed until the pellets were fully dried.
Regarding claims 2 & 3, the claimed carbon dioxide carrying compound (calcium carbonate, CaCO3) and oxygen carrying compound (iron oxide, Fe2O3) are disclosed (see Example 3).
Regarding claim 7, the organic binders are organic polymers/resins, such as polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polyethylene and combination thereof, or methylcellulose, ethylcellulose, hydroxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxybutylcellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, and mixtures thereof (see p. 11, paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 8 & 9, according to Example 3(c), the organic binder used is polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) and at 5%, meeting the claimed ranges of 0.01-20% and 5-15%, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, the inorganic binders are clay materials, such as bentonite, kaolin, etc. (see p. 11, paragraphs 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 11, the binder is used in an amount ranging from about 5% to about 30% (see p. 11, paragraph 4), which encompassed the claimed range of 5% to 15%.
Regarding claim 18, the additional claim feature of “wherein the green pellets are partially dried at step c) until 30-50% of the moisture is removed” is met by the reference in view of the same drying step disclosed and claimed.
Regarding claim 24, the reference teaches porous pellets material, which is a composite porous material, having a crushing strength of 7.3 kg/cm2 (see Table 5), which is 7,300 g/pellet which falls within the claimed range of 4,000 – 20,000 g/pellet. It is considered the porosity percentage of the disclosed porous pellets would be the same as claimed, which is at least 20%, because the product was made by the same process.
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 18-19, & 24 are unpatentable as being anticipated by CA 2255287 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 & 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by CA 2255287 A1.
CA 2255287 A1 discloses the production of porous pellets for the capture of CO2 (see p. 7) as set forth in the precedent paragraph, the reference however does NOT disclose the additional claim features as further defined in the following claims.
Regarding claims 4 & 5, the reference teaches 40 wt% CaCO3, 5 wt% Fe2O3, and 55 wt% of a solution of organic and/or inorganic binder and water (according to Example 3), which are outside of the claimed range of 50-75% wt. for carbon dioxide carrying compound and 15% - 40% wt. for oxygen carrying compound.
Even though the reference does NOT disclose the weight percentage of the carbon carrying compound and the oxygen carrying compound as further defined in these claims, it is considered that the alternation of the weight percentage of the claimed components is a routine experimentation that a person skilled in the art would be motivated to perform. Furthermore, metal content is a results-effective variable in view of In re Boesch and In re Aller, and thus finding of an optimum and effective amount of such metal compounds that is workable for the claimed process is prima facie obvious to a person skilled in the art.
Regarding claims 21 & 22, the reference does NOT disclose heating the cured pellets, such as to a temperature of 300-600oC for 30-120 mins or until the organic binder has been removed from the pellets. However, calcination of the pellets at high to remove most or all of the organic components used during the process is obvious in order to obtain a high purity product since it involves only routine experimentation of a person having the ordinary skill in the art to do so without technical skill or special technique required.
Claims 4-5 & 21-22 are unpatentable as being obvious over CA 2255287 A1.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 12-15 & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The applied reference, CA 2255287 A1, is the most relevant prior art that teaches the claimed method for the production of a porous composite material comprising step a) – step d) as set forth in the instant claim 1, however this reference does not teach the additional claim features as further defined in these claims.
There would be no motivation to combine the teachings of the prior art references together to arrive to the claimed invention.
Citations
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references are cited for related art. See PTO-892 Form prepared.
US 5,000,783 and US 5,306,327 (relate to a method for making mineral ore pellets having modified starch base binders).
US 10,537,872 (relates to a sorbent structure material for CO2 capture, comprising one or more natural minerals and inorganic oxides).
US 10,675,606 (relates to a method for manufacturing a solid sorbent for CO2 capture, the sorbent comprising an active ingredient (calcium magnesium carbonate, etc.), a support, a reaction accelerator, an inorganic binder (bentonite or kaolin), and a viscosity modifier).
US 2021/0252481 A1 (relates to a method for preparing sorbent pellets for CO2 capture, comprising calcining a starting material comprising dolomite, water, and additives).
US 2022/0111350 A1 (relates to a method of preparing a sorbent composition for CO2 capture, comprising calcium oxide, calcium aluminate, etc.)
Conclusion
9. Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-19, 21-22, & 24 are pending. Claims 1-5, 7-11, 18-19, 21-22, & 24 are rejected. Claims 12-15 & 17 are objected. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/Cam N. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/CNN/
October 23, 2026