Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges preliminary amendment to the claims filed on 02/15/2022. They have been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamb (USPGPUB 20070190496) “Lamb”.
Regarding claim 1, Lamb discloses a furnishing planning system (Fig. 1), for assisting with the selection of the number, arrangement and/or configuration of pieces of furniture and/or their ordering (“Couch”, “Love Seat”, “End Table”, etc...), characterized wherein the furnishing planning system has at least one simulation device (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) configured for simulating the floor space requirement of at least one piece of furniture in a real room (100) to be furnished.
Regarding claim 2, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, wherein the simulation device (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) comprises or is formed by at least one physical placeholder ([0017]) of a floor plan of a piece of furniture (“Couch”, “Love Seat”, “End Table”, etc...).
Regarding claim 3, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, wherein the simulation device (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) is plate-shaped and has an outline ([0028]) that at least substantially coincides with the floor plan of a piece of furniture (“Couch”, “Love Seat”, “End Table”, etc...).
Regarding claim 4, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, wherein the simulation device (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) comprises at least one piece of information (206) which contains the configuration of the respectively simulated piece of furniture (“Couch”, “Love Seat”, “End Table”, etc...).
Regarding claim 5, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, wherein the simulation device (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) comprises resizing aids ([0020]).
Regarding claim 6, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one simulation device (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) comprises a stencil (204).
Regarding claim 11, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, wherein multiple simulation devices (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) for simulating the floor space requirements of a piece of furniture (“Couch”, “Love Seat”, “End Table”, etc...) in a real room (100) to be furnished are arranged in the container (212), which are different from each other and form a set ([0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamb, and further in view of Kelly et al. (USPGPUB 20050277093) “Kelly”.
Regarding claim 7, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, and the furnishing planning system with multiple simulation devices (104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) which are different from each other.
Lamb does not disclose a connecting means for reversibly connecting to each other and form a set.
Kelly teaches a means for reversibly connecting to form a set (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kelly’s connectors in Lamb’s furnishing planning system to better maintain the position of Lamb’s simulation devices and reduce setup time when exploring multiple layouts.
Regarding claim 10, Lamb and Kelly disclose the furnishing planning system according to claim 7, wherein the furnishing planning system comprises a container (Lamb; 212) for accommodating the simulation devices (Lamb; 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120), and the mass of the container (Lamb; 212) together with the simulation devices is less than 25 or 10 or 5 kg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Lamb’s container in Lamb and Kelly’s furnishing planning system, making it easier to ship Lamb’s simulation devices to the user.
Claims 8, 9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamb, and further in view of Barlett (US Patent 6782119) “Barlett”.
Regarding claim 8, Lamb discloses the furnishing planning system according to claim 4.
Lamb does not disclose software for an electronic data processing device.
Barlett teaches software for an electronic data processing device (100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Barlett’s software for an electronic data processing device in Lamb’s furnishing planning system, connecting physical template planning with digital planning and making it easier for the user to design their room layout.
Regarding claim 9, Lamb and Barlett disclose the furnishing planning system according to claim 8, wherein the data processing device (Barlett; 100) comprises an electronic reading device (Barlett; 90), and the information (Lamb; 206), the reading device (Barlett; 90) and the software are coordinated with one another (Barlett; 96) such that the information (Lamb; 206) is configured to be read by the reading device (Barlett; 90) and processed in the data processing device (Barlett; 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to coordinate Lamb’s information with Barlett’s reading device and software, making it easier for the user to digitally access information regarding their furniture layout.
Regarding claim 12, Lamb discloses a stencil for furniture construction or for the furnishing planning system according to claim 1, which is made of a material in defined dimensions ([0019]), wherein the stencil comprises multiple markings aligned in the longitudinal and/or transverse direction of the material (204), wherein by means of the markings, sections of different depth ([0020]), width and/or height are marked at a defined distance from their outer edges to be created to a side edge of the material ([0020]).
Lamb does not disclose at least one piece of information configured to be scanned and/or read in electronically.
Barlett teaches at least one piece of information configured to be scanned and/or read in electronically (Fig. 6A-6D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Barlett’s scannable information on Lamb’s stencil for furnishing planning, providing an easier way for the user to get information about the size of furniture that works in their room.
Regarding claim 13, Lamb and Barlett disclose the stencil according to claim 12, wherein the defined distances (Lamb; 204) correspond to the standard widths, depths, and/or heights of kitchen furniture ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to correspond Lamb’s defined distances with standard widths, depths, and/or heights of kitchen furniture, ensuring better consistency and making planning faster and easier.
Regarding claim 14, Lamb and Barlett disclose a method for using the furniture planning system according to claim 1, further including the following steps:
configuring at least one piece of furniture (Lamb; “Couch”, “Love Seat”, “End Table”, etc...) by selecting and/or resizing a simulation device (Lamb; 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120),
simulating the configuration in a real room (Lamb; 1100) to be furnished by means of the at least one simulation device (Lamb; 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120),
checking the configuration (Barlett; 120), and
depending on the result of this check, either keeping the configuration, or discarding the configuration and creating a new configuration and re-simulating and checking the new configuration (Barlett; 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Lamb’s simulation devices in Barlett’s configuration checking method, allowing the user to achieve their desired layout while verifying it meets spatial and functional requirements before implementation.
Regarding claim 15, Lamb and Barlett disclose the method for using a furnishing planning system according to claim 14, wherein after keeping the configuration (Barlett; 126), the information of the at least one selected and/or resized simulation device (Lamb; 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120) is entered and/or read into the electronic data processing device (Barlett; 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Barlett’s configuration checking method in Lamb and Barlett’s method for using a furnishing planning system, allowing the user to achieve their desired layout while verifying it meets spatial and functional requirements before implementation.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855