Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, an abstract idea, that does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The following is an analysis of independent claim 1 based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
Step 1, Statutory Category:
Yes: Claim 1 is directed to a method.
Step 2A Prong 1, Judicial Exception:
The Examiner submits that the following claim limitations constitute mental process and/or mathematical relationships given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Abstract ideas are bolded.
calculating voltage stability indexes of load nodes of a power system before a thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
calculating, according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes obtained before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
traversing the load nodes according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes and a preset rule, and ending the traversing
wherein a formula for calculating the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes is
where
is the voltage stability index of the load node j,
is an equivalent power allocated to the load node j by the power system,
, is a conjugate of self-admittance of the load node j,
is self-admittance of the load node j, and
is a voltage of the load node j.
The limitations calculating voltage stability indexes of load nodes of a power system before a thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed (mathematical relationship/equation), calculating, according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes obtained before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed (mathematical relationship/equation), traversing the load nodes according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes and a preset rule, and ending the traversing (mathematical relationship/equation), wherein a formula for calculating the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes is
where
is the voltage stability index of the load node j,
is an equivalent power allocated to the load node j by the power system,
, is a conjugate of self-admittance of the load node j,
is self-admittance of the load node j, and
is a voltage of the load node j (mathematical relationship/equation) are directed towards an abstract idea because they are directed towards mathematical relationships and equations.
Step 2A Prong 2, Integration into a Practical Application:
Claim 1 recites additional limitations of a thyristor controlled phase shifter that would fall under field of use (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) and generic computer functions that fall under MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B, Significantly More:
When considered individually or in combination, the additional limitations and elements of Claim 1 do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions for the same reasons above as to why the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional limitations identified as general field of use and generic computer functions above are carried over and also do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.05(h) and MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Therefore, considering the claim limitations in combination as a whole make Claim 1 ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2-4 are dependent on Claim 1 and only recites limitations that fall under the judicial exception of “mental processes/ mathematical relationship” and then “generally linking” to a technical field, as per MPEP 2106.05(h). Therefore, they remain ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claim 1.
Claim 5 is substantially similar to Claim 1. Therefore, it remains ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claim 1.
Claims 6-8 are dependent on Claim 5 and only recites limitations that fall under the judicial exception of “mental processes/ mathematical relationship” and then “generally linking” to a technical field, as per MPEP 2106.05(h). Therefore, they remain ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claim 5.
Claims 9-10 are dependent on Claim 1 and only recite limitations directed towards an abstract idea that do not cure the issues of Claim 1. Therefore, they remain ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qun (CN111162538A), in view of Tiwari (Optimal Allocation of Thyristor-Controlled Series Capacitor (TCSC) and Thyristor-Controlled Phase-Shifting Transformer (TCPST)), further in view of Singh (Voltage stability index and APFC for performance improvement of modern power systems with intense renewables).
Regarding Claim 1:
Qun teaches:
calculating voltage stability indexes of load nodes of a power system (use the system load degree factor to calculate the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor of each alternative branch; select the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor)
calculating, according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes obtained before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed (use the system load degree factor to calculate the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor of each alternative branch; select the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor)
traversing the load nodes according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes and a preset rule (screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules; traversing all the alternative branches, and calculating the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor)
calculating the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes (use the system load degree factor to calculate the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor of each alternative branch; select the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor)
taking the corresponding load node as an installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter if the voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed is greater than the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed (and selecting the alternative branch with the maximum absolute value of the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor as the installation branch of the controllable phase shifter)
and ending the traversing (screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules; traversing all the alternative branches, and calculating the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor)
Qun does not teach:
before a thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes
wherein a formula for calculating the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes is
where
is the voltage stability index of the load node j,
is an equivalent power allocated to the load node j by the power system,
, is a conjugate of self-admittance of the load node j,
is self-admittance of the load node j, and
is a voltage of the load node j.
However, Tiwari does teach:
before a thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed,
after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes
(Page 1: seek the optimal locations and sizing of Thyristor-controlled series capacitor (TCSC) and Thyristor-controlled phase-shifting transformer (TCPST) to improve the voltage stability margin and decrease active and reactive power losses in the power sector)
It would have been obvious to swap the thyristor controlled phase shifter of Tiwari with the controllable phase shifter of Qun since “The installation branch of the controllable phase shifter has great guiding significance for the application of the controllable phase shifter in practical engineering” as disclosed by Qun aligns with “The development of FACTs devices raises concerns about their installation for better controllability and voltage stability enhancement in the power sector” as disclosed by Tiwari. Furthermore, both references seek to find an optimized installation point so it would be understood/obvious that one could perform operations before or after the phase shifter installation. Qun as modified by Tiwari above reads on all mentions of a thyristor controlled phase shifter in Claim 1.
Neither Qun nor Tiwari teaches but Singh teaches:
wherein a formula for calculating the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes is
where
is the voltage stability index of the load node j,
is an equivalent power allocated to the load node j by the power system,
, is a conjugate of self-admittance of the load node j,
is self-admittance of the load node j, and
is a voltage of the load node j. (Page 1: Let us consider the N bus system, where G and L denote the generator and load buses, respectively. By applying the nodal analysis, the following nodes current injection equation can be obtained; Page 2:
)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the nodal analysis of Singh with the voltage addressing factor of modified Qun in order to rank the area-based voltage stability index “It is used to make AVSI equal to unity at the no-load condition. As the system moves toward the saddle-node bifurcation point, the area enclosed by curve decreases. Therefore, the proposed index, AVSI varies from unity (no-load) to zero (voltage collapse). On the other hand, all the buses can be ranked using the proposed index as the proposed index moves toward zero as the system move toward its stability limits” described by Singh.
Regarding Claim 3,
Neither Qun nor Singh teaches, but Tiwari teaches:
wherein the voltage stability index of the power system is a set of the voltage stability indexes of all load nodes. (Page 3: The voltage stability margin expressed with L-index can vary between 0 (no-load) to unity (voltage collapse). The most vulnerable load bus represented by the highest L- index value. The expression for load buses L-index is given by:
. The proximity of the power system voltage collapse is given by maximum value of Lj (i.e. L = max(Lj)). The voltage stability margin is computed as the distance of L from unit value, i.e., (1 − L). Therefore, lower is the value of L- index; higher is the voltage stability margin. The rationale of membership function (μL) is to find optimum locations of FACTS devices so that L-index can be minimized. The membership function for the L-index (μL) is similar to the red one curve as shown in Fig. 1. From this curve, the membership function is defined as follows:
).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the voltage stability margin of Tiwari with the voltage addressing factor of Qun as modified by Singh in order to “find optimum locations of FACTS devices so that L-index can be minimized” as described by Tiwari.
Regarding Claim 5,
Qun teaches:
a node calculation module configured to calculate voltage stability indexes of load nodes of a power system (a factor calculation module: calculating a system load degree factor according to the active power flow of each branch of the system)
a system calculation module configured to calculate, according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes obtained, a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed (a factor calculation module: calculating a system load degree factor according to the active power flow of each branch of the system)
a traversing module configured to traverse the load nodes according to the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes and a preset rule, calculate the voltage stability index of the power system (and a traversal calculation module: traversing all the alternative branches, and calculating the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor)
take the corresponding load node as an installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter if the voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed is greater than the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed (and selecting the alternative branch with the maximum absolute value of the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor as the installation branch of the controllable phase shifter)
and end the traversing L (screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules; traversing all the alternative branches, and calculating the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor)
Qun does not teach, but Tiwari teaches:
before a thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes
(Page 1: seek the optimal locations and sizing of Thyristor-controlled series capacitor (TCSC) and Thyristor-controlled phase-shifting transformer (TCPST) to improve the voltage stability margin and decrease active and reactive power losses in the power sector)
It would have been obvious to swap the thyristor controlled phase shifter of Tiwari with the controllable phase shifter of Qun since “The installation branch of the controllable phase shifter has great guiding significance for the application of the controllable phase shifter in practical engineering” as disclosed by Qun aligns with “The development of FACTs devices raises concerns about their installation for better controllability and voltage stability enhancement in the power sector” as disclosed by Tiwari. Furthermore, both references seek to find an optimized installation point so it would be understood/obvious that one could perform operations before or after the phase shifter installation. Qun as modified by Tiwari above reads on all mentions of a thyristor controlled phase shifter in Claim 5.
Neither Qun nor Tiwari teaches but Singh teaches:
wherein a formula for calculating the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes is
where
is the voltage stability index of the load node j,
is an equivalent power allocated to the load node j by the power system,
, is a conjugate of self-admittance of the load node j,
is self-admittance of the load node j, and
is a voltage of the load node j. (Page 1: Let us consider the N bus system, where G and L denote the generator and load buses, respectively. By applying the nodal analysis, the following nodes current injection equation can be obtained; Page 2:
)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the nodal analysis of Singh with the voltage addressing factor of modified Qun in order to rank the area-based voltage stability index “It is used to make AVSI equal to unity at the no-load condition. As the system moves toward the saddle-node bifurcation point, the area enclosed by curve decreases. Therefore, the proposed index, AVSI varies from unity (no-load) to zero (voltage collapse). On the other hand, all the buses can be ranked using the proposed index as the proposed index moves toward zero as the system move toward its stability limits” described by Singh.
Regarding Claim 7,
Qun teaches:
wherein the voltage stability index of the power system is a set of the voltage stability indexes of all load nodes (The invention achieves the following beneficial effects: the method considers the system actual active power flow calculation and calculates the system load degree factor, calculates the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor, arranges the voltage site selection factors and the phase angle site selection factors according to the absolute value of the site selection factors, prepares and reliably provides the controllable phase shifter mounting branch, and has great guiding significance for the controllable phase shifter to be applied to actual engineering. Abstract and Page 6)
Regarding Claim 9,
Qun, Tiwari, and Singh, in combination, teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as incorporated in claim 9.
Qun further teaches:
A computer-readable storage medium having one or more programs stored therein, wherein the one or more programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by a computing device, the computing device implements the method for determining the installation (A computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a controllable phase shifter addressing method that takes into account the actual active power flow. Abstract and Page 6)
Regarding Claim 10,
Qun, Tiwari, and Singh, in combination, teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as incorporated in claim 10.
Qun further teaches:
A computing device, comprising: one or more processors, one or more memories, and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the one or more memories and are configured to be executed by the one or more memories, and the one or more programs comprise instructions for implementing the method for determining the installation position (A computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a controllable phase shifter addressing method that takes into account the actual active power flow. Abstract and Page 6)
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qun, in view of Tiwari, in further view of Singh, and further in view of Tsehay (Investigation and Minimization of Power Loss and Voltage Profile Enhancement Using Unified Power Flow Controller (Case Study: North Western Region of Ethiopia 230 Kv and 400 Kv Transmission Systems)).
Regarding Claim 2,
Qun teaches:
a voltage stability index of the power system is obtained (use the system load degree factor to calculate the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor of each alternative branch; select the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor)
Qun Does not teach:
wherein the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes
a flow equation in a presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is constructed, and the flow in the presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is calculated
a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed is calculated
where
is a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed,
is a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, and
is the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
a greater
indicates a better installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and a smaller
indicates that a poorer installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, that is, if
is greater than
, a position of a corresponding load node can be taken as an installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and traversing is ended
if
is not a positive number, the corresponding load node is eliminated, and traversing continues.
However, Tiwari teaches:
wherein the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes
(Page 1: seek the optimal locations and sizing of Thyristor-controlled series capacitor (TCSC) and Thyristor-controlled phase-shifting transformer (TCPST) to improve the voltage stability margin and decrease active and reactive power losses in the power sector)
It would have been obvious to swap the thyristor controlled phase shifter of Tiwari with the controllable phase shifter of Qun since “The installation branch of the controllable phase shifter has great guiding significance for the application of the controllable phase shifter in practical engineering” as disclosed by Qun aligns with “The development of FACTs devices raises concerns about their installation for better controllability and voltage stability enhancement in the power sector” as disclosed by Tiwari. Furthermore, both references seek to find an optimized installation point so it would be understood/obvious that one could perform operations before or after the phase shifter installation. Qun as modified by Tiwari above reads on all mentions of a thyristor controlled phase shifter in Claim 2.
Tiwari further teaches:
a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed is calculated
where
is a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed,
is a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, and
is the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
a greater
indicates a better installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and a smaller
indicates that a poorer installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, that is, if
is greater than
, a position of a corresponding load node can be taken as an installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and traversing is ended
if
is not a positive number, the corresponding load node is eliminated, and traversing continues. (Page 3: The voltage stability margin expressed with L-index can vary between 0 (no-load) to unity (voltage collapse). The most vulnerable load bus represented by the highest L- index value. The expression for load buses L-index is given by:
. The proximity of the power system voltage collapse is given by maximum value of Lj (i.e. L = max(Lj)). The voltage stability margin is computed as the distance of L from unit value, i.e., (1 − L). Therefore, lower is the value of L- index; higher is the voltage stability margin. The rationale of membership function (μL) is to find optimum locations of FACTS devices so that L-index can be minimized. The membership function for the L-index (μL) is similar to the red one curve as shown in Fig. 1. From this curve, the membership function is defined as follows:
).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the voltage stability margin of Tiwari with the voltage addressing factor of modified Qun-Singh combination in order to “find optimum locations of FACTS devices so that L-index can be minimized” as described by Tiwari.
Tsehay teaches:
a flow equation in a presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is constructed, and the flow in the presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is calculated (Page 43: There are n nonlinear complex equations in equation (3.5). They are the principal equations in load flow calculation. In power system load flow problem, the variables are nodal complex voltages with its angle and complex powers: V, θ, P, Q. If there are n nodes in a power system, the total number of variables is 4n.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the load flow calculation of Tsehay “principal equations in load flow calculation” with the voltage addressing factor of Qun as modified by Singh and Tiwari in order to minimize power loss as described by Tsehay “it is possible for utility to place multi-type FACTS devices in a transmission system such that the optimal reactive power planning can be achieved and the system real power loss can be minimized” (Page 24).
Regarding Claim 6,
Qun teaches:
a voltage stability index of the power system is obtained (use the system load degree factor to calculate the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor of each alternative branch; select the voltage addressing factor and phase angle addressing factor)
Qun Does not teach:
wherein the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes
a flow equation in a presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is constructed, and the flow in the presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is calculated
a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed is calculated
where
is a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed,
is a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, and
is the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
a greater
indicates a better installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and a smaller
indicates that a poorer installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, that is, if
is greater than
, a position of a corresponding load node can be taken as an installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and traversing is ended
if
is not a positive number, the corresponding load node is eliminated, and traversing continues.
However, Tiwari does teach:
wherein the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed at the load nodes (Page 1: seek the optimal locations and sizing of Thyristor-controlled series capacitor (TCSC) and Thyristor-controlled phase-shifting transformer (TCPST) to improve the voltage stability margin and decrease active and reactive power losses in the power sector)
It would have been obvious to swap the thyristor controlled phase shifter of Tiwari with the controllable phase shifter of Qun since “The installation branch of the controllable phase shifter has great guiding significance for the application of the controllable phase shifter in practical engineering” as disclosed by Qun aligns with “The development of FACTs devices raises concerns about their installation for better controllability and voltage stability enhancement in the power sector” as disclosed by Tiwari. Furthermore, both references seek to find an optimized installation point so it would be understood/obvious that one could perform operations before or after the phase shifter installation. Qun as modified by Tiwari above reads on all mentions of a thyristor controlled phase shifter in Claim 6.
Tiwari further teaches:
a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed is calculated
where
is a variation of the voltage stability index of the power system before and after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed,
is a voltage stability index of the power system before the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed, and
is the voltage stability index of the power system after the thyristor controlled phase shifter is installed
a greater
indicates a better installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and a smaller
indicates that a poorer installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, that is, if
is greater than
, a position of a corresponding load node can be taken as an installation position of the thyristor controlled phase shifter, and traversing is ended
if
is not a positive number, the corresponding load node is eliminated, and traversing continues. (Page 3: The voltage stability margin expressed with L-index can vary between 0 (no-load) to unity (voltage collapse). The most vulnerable load bus represented by the highest L- index value. The expression for load buses L-index is given by:
. The proximity of the power system voltage collapse is given by maximum value of Lj (i.e. L = max(Lj)). The voltage stability margin is computed as the distance of L from unit value, i.e., (1 − L). Therefore, lower is the value of L- index; higher is the voltage stability margin. The rationale of membership function (μL) is to find optimum locations of FACTS devices so that L-index can be minimized. The membership function for the L-index (μL) is similar to the red one curve as shown in Fig. 1. From this curve, the membership function is defined as follows:
).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the voltage stability margin of Tiwari with the voltage addressing factor of Qun as modified by Singh in order to “find optimum locations of FACTS devices so that L-index can be minimized” as described by Tiwari.
Tsehay teaches:
a flow equation in a presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is constructed, and the flow in the presence of the thyristor controlled phase shifter is calculated (Page 43: There are n nonlinear complex equations in equation (3.5). They are the principal equations in load flow calculation. In power system load flow problem, the variables are nodal complex voltages with its angle and complex powers: V, θ, P, Q. If there are n nodes in a power system, the total number of variables is 4n.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the load flow calculation of Tsehay “principal equations in load flow calculation” with the voltage addressing factor of Qun as modified by Singh and Tiwari in order to minimize power loss as described by Tsehay “it is possible for utility to place multi-type FACTS devices in a transmission system such that the optimal reactive power planning can be achieved and the system real power loss can be minimized” (Page 24).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qun as modified by Singh and Tiwari, in further view of Zhu (Stochastic Economic Dispatching Strategy of the Active Distribution Network Based on Comprehensive Typical Scenario Set).
Regarding Claim 4,
Qun teaches:
wherein the preset rule is traversing the load nodes (screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules; traversing all the alternative branches, and calculating the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor)
Qun, Singh, or Tiwari does not teach:
in a descending order of the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes.
However, Zhu does teach:
in a descending order of the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes (Page 4: Traverse all nodes in MST in descending order of priority, and judge whether the traversed node n has ever been merged)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the descending order node traversal “Traverse all nodes in MST in descending order of priority” of Zhu with the traversing alternative branches of Qun as modified by Singh and Tiwari “screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules” in order to find all nodes connecting to the node currently traversed and output clustering results as shown in Fig. 2 of Zhu.
Regarding Claim 8,
Qun teaches:
wherein the preset rule is traversing the load nodes (screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules; traversing all the alternative branches, and calculating the voltage site selection factor and the phase angle site selection factor of each alternative branch by using the system load degree factor)
Qun, Singh, or Tiwari does not teach:
in a descending order of the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes.
However, Zhu does teach:
in a descending order of the voltage stability indexes of the load nodes (Page 4: Traverse all nodes in MST in descending order of priority, and judge whether the traversed node n has ever been merged)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the descending order node traversal “Traverse all nodes in MST in descending order of priority” of Zhu with the traversing alternative branches of Qun as modified by Singh and Tiwari “screening alternative branches capable of installing controllable phase shifters from system branches according to preset rules” in order to find all nodes connecting to the node currently traversed and output clustering results as shown in Fig. 2 of Zhu.
Conclusion
/HAYDEN JAMES DANSEREAU/Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189