DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argument pertaining to Arai and YEH fail to disclose "individual plastics particles of the particle foam material are conveyed into the mold cavity at a greater compression and/or slower speed”, that this processing has no relation to extrusion or injection molding, as there is no melt which then solidifies in the cavity of a molding tool. YEH discloses a molding device suitable for use in injection molding or extrusion molding. However, the disclosure of YEH does not relate to the processing of expandable plastics particles to form a particle foam component. Therefore, YEH does not belong in the same technological field of endeavor, this is not persuasive as YEH discloses forming foamed polymer articles and teachings about temperature, pressure, and pore size would still be relevant. However, as the present application has been addressed by Arai (US 4,818,451) and Kuwabara (US 5,284,431).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Arai (US 4818451) in view of Kuwabara (US 5284431).
Regarding Claim 1 Arai discloses method for filling a mold cavity of a mold for producing a particle foam molding using a particulate particle foam material (abstract), the method comprising: providing particle foam material, to be processed in a mold cavity of a mold for producing a particle foam molding (Figure 1, cavity-21), via at least one filling container device, wherein there is a first pressure level in the filling container device (Figure 1, filling container/blow filling gun-15, first pressure-P2); providing a mold cavity which is to be filled with the particulate particle foam material that is to be processed for producing the a particle foam molding, wherein there is a second pressure level in the mold cavity; filling the mold cavity with the particulate particle foam material from the filling container device in a filling process (Figure 1, second pressure-P1), wherein during the filling of the mold cavity with the particulate particle foam material a difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level is purposefully varied by at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level (Col 8 line 58-65).
Arai fail to teach that individual plastics particles of the particle foam material are conveyed into the mold cavity at greater compression and/or slower speed, during the filling process. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art Kuwabara discloses that foamed particles are conveyed by compressed air into the cavity (Col 1 line 29-33, Col 3 line 64-69).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Arai’s system with that of Kuwabara’s teaching of foamed particles are conveyed by compressed air into the cavity for the purpose of fill the cavity as densely as possible.
Regarding Claim 2 Arai discloses wherein the at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level during the filling of the mold cavity includes setting a defined difference (Col 8 line 58-65), which can be changed, in particular in a time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level (Col 8 line 61-68, Col 9 line 1-2).
Regarding Claim 4 Arai discloses wherein the at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level during the filling of the mold cavity includes setting a defined difference, which is unchangeable, in particular in a time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level (Col 8 line 61-68, Col 9 line 1-6).
Regarding Claim 5 Arai discloses wherein the at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level during the filling of the mold cavity includes firstly setting a defined difference, which can be changed in a time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level, over a first time interval after the start of the filling (Col 8 line 58-65), and, after the first time interval has elapsed, setting a defined difference, which is unchangeable, in particular in a time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level (Col 8 line 65-68, Col 9 line 1-6).
Regarding Claim 6 Arai discloses the at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level is carried out by controlling or regulating the operation of at least one controllable or regulatable pressure-influencing device, in particular in the form of a valve device, which is assigned to the mold cavity (Claim 1, Col 3 line 21-25).
Regarding Claim 7, Arai discloses the control or regulation of the operation of the controllable or regulatable pressure-influencing device which is assigned to the mold cavity and/or to the filling container device is carried out on the basis of detection data that describe the pressure level within the mold cavity (Figure 1, pressure influencing device/pressure sensitive switch, Col 3 line 12-20, line 32-37).
Regarding claim 11, Arai discloses wherein the control or regulation of the operation of the controllable or regulatable pressure-influencing device assigned to the mold cavity and/or the filling container device is carried out on the basis of detection data that describe the pressure level within the mold cavity and/or the filling container device (Col 2 line 31-38).
Claim(s) 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (US 4818451) and Kuwabara (US 5284431) as applied in Claim 2, in view of Lee, (US 20220097266).
Regarding Claims 3 and 16 Arai discloses wherein the setting of a defined difference, which can be changed, in particular in a time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level includes a gradual continuous, manner, reduction of the second pressure level from a starting value before the start of the filling of the mold cavity to a defined end value after a defined time interval has elapsed after the start of the filling of the mold cavity (Col 8 line 61-68, Col 9 line 1-2). It didn’t disclose that time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level in ramp like manner. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Lee discloses a control system to control the gas injected and the pressure in the mold cavity. Therefore, Arai’s system of the time-dependent manner pressure difference, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level includes a gradual continuous and control system taught by Lee could be combined to change the pressure difference in ramp like manner.
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Arai’s system with that of Lee’s control system to maintain the pressure difference for the purpose of injecting sufficient amount of foamed resin particles into the mold cavity.
Claim(s) 8-10, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (US 4818451) and Kuwabara (US 5284431) as applied in Claim 1 in view of Yeh (US 20210069949)
Regarding Claim 8 Arai/Kuwabara discloses the setting of a defined difference, which can be changed, in particular in a time-dependent manner, between the first pressure level and the second pressure level includes a gradual continuous, manner, reduction of the second pressure level from a starting value before the start of the filling of the mold cavity to a defined end value after a defined time interval has elapsed after the start of the filling of the mold cavity (Col 8 line 61-68, Col 9 line 1-2, Arai).
Arai/Kubawara didn’t disclose specifically that before filling the carrying out the at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level, at least one additional measure for matching the first pressure level and the second pressure level is carried out. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Yeh discloses that a pressure regulating system-20 in a molding device communicating with a mold cavity -13 (Figure 1, [0017]-[0018]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Arai’s system with that of Yeh’s teaching of pressure regulating system for the controlled operation during the start before filling the cavity
Regarding claim 9 Arai discloses the at least one measure includes increasing the second pressure level (Figure 1, pressure influencing device/pressure sensitive switch, Col 8 line 58-60).
Regarding claim 10 Arai/Yeh disclose wherein the at least one measure for matching the first pressure level and the second pressure level is carried out by controlling or regulating the operation of at least one controllable or regulatable pressure-influencing device, in particular in the form of a valve device, which is assigned to the mold cavity (Figure 1, [0017]-[0018], Yeh , pressure regulating device-20).
Regarding Claim 12 Arai discloses method for processing particle foam material to produce a particle foam molding (abstract), the method comprising: providing particulate particle foam material, to be processed in a mold cavity of a mold for producing a particle foam molding, via at least one filling container device, wherein there is a first pressure level in the filling container device (Figure 1, filling container/blow filling gun-15, first pressure-P2); providing a mold cavity which is to be filled with the particulate particle foam material that is to be processed for producing a particle foam molding, wherein there is a second pressure level in the mold cavity (Figure 1, second pressure-P1); filling the mold cavity with the particulate particle foam material from the filling container device in a filling device (Figure 1, cavity-21, Col 2 line 40-48), wherein during the filling of the mold cavity a difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level is purposefully varied by at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level (Col 8 line 58-65); and carrying out at least one measure for connecting the particle foam material filled into the mold cavity, forming a particle foam molding that is to be produced (Col 1line 6-8, Col 9 line 58-62, Col 10 line 3-9 ). Arai didn’t particularly disclose that individual plastics particles of the particle foam material are conveyed into the mold cavity at greater compression and/or slower speed during the filling process, IN the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art Kuwabara discloses that foamed particles are conveyed by compressed air into the cavity (Col 1 line 29-33, Col 3 line 64-69 )
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Arai’s system with that of Kuwabara’s teaching of foamed particles are conveyed by compressed air into the cavity for the purpose of fill the cavity as densely as possible.
Further above combination didn’t disclose specifically that before filling the carrying out the at least one measure for varying the difference between the first pressure level and the second pressure level, at least one additional measure for matching the first pressure level and the second pressure level is carried out. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Yeh discloses that a pressure regulating system-20 in a molding device communicating with a mold cavity -13 (Figure 1, [0017]-[0018]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Arai’s system with that of Yeh’s teaching of pressure regulating system for the controlled operation during the start before filling the cavity
Regarding claim 17 Arai discloses wherein the pressure level is increased to the first pressure level (Col 8 line 58-60)
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/NAHIDA SULTANA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743