DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/17/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11 and Species A Fig. 1 in the reply filed on 9/17/2025 is acknowledged.
The applicant asserts that claims 4-5 read on Species A, however, the Examiner deems claims 4-5 readable only on Species C figure 3 because species A does not have a width, W varies along the longitudinal axis from a first width value to a second width value, and wherein the second width value is selected from a range between 0.1 times of the first width value to 5 times of the first width value, which is only shown in Species C figure 3. Claim 5 depends from claim 4. Claims 4-5 stand withdrawn from consideration
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second volume fraction in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Publication No.: 2020/0326134 hereinafter “Chen”).
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses a vapor chamber (Fig. 1a, 1) comprising: a first thermally conductive plate and a second thermally conductive plate separated from each other (Fig. 1a, plates 11 and 12) by a plurality of bridging elements (Fig. 1a, bridging elements 13) to form a chamber having a first height, H1 (Fig. 1a, height of 100), wherein the vapor chamber having a length L along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1b, length from left to right) and a width W defined perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1b, width is from the top to bottom of the figure) and comprises a bending section configured to provide a bend around an axis in a direction parallel with the width W (Fig. 2, bend at R1 is in a direction R1 that is parallel to the width if R1 is 90 deg), said vapor chambers further having a first volume fraction of bridging elements (Fig. 1a and figure below, 2 middle elements 13 within the bend), and a non-bending section having a second volume fraction of bridging elements (Fig. 1a and figure below, four bridging elements 13 in the non-bending section), and wherein a ratio of the first volume fraction and the second volume fraction is less than 0.7 (The ratio of 2/4 is .5 which is below .7 or figure 1B shows 6 first elements and 12 second elements which is .5).
With respect to claim 11, Chen discloses the vapor chamber according to claim 1 as discussed above. Chen also discloses wherein the plurality of bridging elements comprise columns (Fig. 1a, 13 are columns).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Publication No.: 2020/0326134 hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Tan et al. (US Publication No.: 2017/0363366 hereinafter “Tan”).
With respect to claim 2, Chen discloses the vapor chamber according to claim 1 as discussed above. Chen does not disclose wherein the ratio of the first volume fraction and the second volume fraction is selected from a range between 0 and 0.3.
Tan teaches having only bridging elements in the bending portion or first volume and none in the non-bending portion or second volume (Fig. 2c, bridging elements 12 within bend B volume and therefore having a ratio of 21/0=0 which is between 0-0.3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have removed the bridging elements of Chen in the non-bending portion as taught by Tan to reduce the overall cost of materials while maintaining structural strength within the bending region (Para 0032).
With respect to claim 6, Chen discloses the vapor chamber according to claim 1 as discussed above. Chen discloses wherein the vapor chamber comprises an ‘n’ number of the bending sections (Fig. 2, one bend section at R1), and an ‘(n-1)’, n or ‘(n+1)’ number of the non-bending sections (n number of bends which is one).
Chen does not disclose wherein ‘n’ is selected from a range between 2 to 20, and wherein the non-bending section and the bending section are arranged alternately.
Tan teaches two bending sections on a vapor chamber that have non-bending sections between them (Fig. 4, two bend sections B and non-bending sections between). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the number of bend sections of Chen to be two as taught by Tan to have a U-shaped configuration for ease of clipping onto a cooling fin assembly (Para 0040).
Claims 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Publication No.: 2020/0326134 hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Martin et al. (US Publication No.: 2023/0184422 hereinafter “Martin”).
With respect to claim 3, Chen discloses the vapor chamber according to claim 1 as discussed above. Chen does not disclose wherein a ratio of the length, L and the width, W is selected from a range between 0.2 and 5.
Martin teaches a ratio of the length, L and the width, W is selected from a range between 0.2 and 5 (Para 0029). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the length and width of Chen to have a ratio between 0.2-5 as taught by Martin to have a desired overall length and width to maximize heat transfer (Para 0029).
With respect to claims 7-9, Chen discloses the vapor chamber according to claim 1 as discussed above. Chen also discloses wherein the vapor chamber has a thickness, de (Para 0041 & 0048), wherein the bending section is configured to provide a bend having a bending angle, θ (Fig. 2, θ on opposite side of R1) , a bending radius, rb (Fig. 2, R1), and a bending length, Lb along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2).
Chen is silent to the bending length Lb is greater than or equal to π*(rb+de)/(360/ θ)(as per claim 7) wherein the bending radius, rb that is less than or equal to 3 mm (as per claim 8), wherein the bending angle, θ is selected from a range between 45 degrees and 135 degrees (as per claim 9).
Martin teaches the claimed equation for a bend length (Para 0058) wherein the bending radius, rb that is less than or equal to 3 mm (Para 0038) wherein the bending angle, θ is selected from a range between 45 degrees and 135 degrees (Para 0039). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the bend length, bending radius and bending angle of Chen to satisfy the equation and a bending radius less than or equal to 3mm and a bending angle between 45-135 degrees taught by Martin to have a desired bend length depending upon the angle of the desired bend and thickness of the vapor element (Para 0058) and to maintain a small bend radius with a sturdy enough bend that won’t collapse (Para 0008).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Publication No.: 2020/0326134 hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Hulse et al. (US Patent No.: 10,458,716 hereinafter “Hulse”).
With respect to claim 10, Chen discloses the vapor chamber according to claim 1 as discussed above. Chen also discloses wherein the chamber comprises a wick structure (Fig. 1a, 14), wherein the wick structure comprises a first wick structure attached to an inner surface of the first thermally conductive plate facing the chamber (Fig. 1a, wick 13 is on inner surface of plate 12 and faces chamber 100).
Chen does not disclose a second wick structure attached to an inner surface of the second thermally conductive plate facing the chamber.
Hulse teaches two wick structures on opposite plates (Fig. 1b, wick 110 is on top plate 102 and bottom plate 106 and faces a chamber 108). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the vapor chamber of Chen with a second wick structure as taught by Hulse to obtain maximum passive fluid pumping performance (Col. 5, lines 13-18).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763