Claims 19, 20 are amended. Claims 35-36 are added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 19 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Minnich , US 20210040284, Okamato (US 20090121375) listed in IDS and JP 2005007818 hereinafter JP’818.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-25, 28-34,36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minnich , US 20210040284, Okamato (US 20090121375) listed in IDS and in view of JP 2005007818 hereinafter JP’818.
Regarding Claim 19, Minnich discloses method for forming a molded fiber product, in which method a layer is formed of fibers by a pair of molds , and in the method, fibers are fed between the molds (Figure 1A, [0100], [0120], molds-38), before the …..and …., wherein the foam including fibers , air is formed before feeding ([0114], [0120]) and the foam include the air bubbles carrying the fibers.
Minnich didn’t specifically disclose that foam include foaming chemical and water. In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Okamato discloses use of foaming chemical and water in the foam ([0003], [0004], [0011]) and the foam including air bubbles the fibers ([0027], [0070]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention to combine Minnich with the teaching of Okamato’s foaming chemical/water for the purpose of forming a multi layer molded product which decides the appearance and flexibilty of the molded product ([0004], [0089], Okamato).
Minnich didn’t specifically disclose that the fibers are fed between the molds before the pair of molds is closed foam and the pair is closed and open. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’818 discloses that foam is fed while the pair is one or more of open (Figure 3, showing the material M being suppled while the molds sealing-71 are in open state, and Figure 6 in closed state, [0031]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention to combine Minnich with the teaching of JP’818 to feed the material before the closing of the mold for the purpose of uniform spreading of the material under gravity which would help in homogenous expansion of the foamed material when clamped.
Further JP’818 discloses material M is fed via one of the molds having a passage/channel arranged to open between the molds while the pair is sealed from its sides (Figure 3, passage-62, [0030], [0032], seal mechanism-70). JP’818 didn’t disclose several lateral channels arranged to open between the molds while the pair is sealed from its sides. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
JP’818 discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the channels for the material, since it have been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the channels for the purpose of faster inflow of the materail. However, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). SEE MPEP 2144.04VI
Regarding Claim 20, JP’818 discloses wherein the foam is fed while the pair is one or more of open (Figure 3, showing the material M being suppled while the molds sealing-71 are in open state).
Regarding Claim 21, Okamato discloses after closing the pair is opened and more foam is fed for a further layer, and the pair is closed (Figure 2f, extra foam layer-122, [0077]).
Regarding Claim 22, Okamato discloses, wherein the foam is fed to either side of the layer (Figure 2c, layer-121).
Regarding Claim 23, Okamato discloses the foam is exchanged before forming the further layer ([0063], Figure 1, machines 30 provide the first layer and machine 130 provide the second layer).
Regarding Claim 24, Okamoto discloses wherein the fiber product is formed without extra heating ([0067. Heaters are mounted on the cyylinder-31,131, no additional heating was required ).
Regarding Claim 25, , Okamato discloses the mold temperature is 30-deg C therefore, the material injected would maintain the same temperature ([0087]).
Regarding Claim 28, Okamato discloses the foam is supplemented with foaming chemical used for foam generation ([0011]).
Regarding Claim 29, Okamato discloses after the further layer is formed on either side of the fiber product. (Figure 2 e-f, extra foam layer-122 formed on the either side of the layer-121, [0077]).
Regarding Claim 30 , Okamato discloses further layers are formed (Figure 2 e-f, extra foam layer-122 formed on the either side of the layer-121, [0077]).
Regarding Claim 31 , Minnich discloses product is combined of multi- layered partial products from two pairs of molds (Figure 1A).
Regarding Claim 32 , Okamato discloses “mold 10 is composed of a stationary mold 3, which is attached to a stationary platen 1, and a movable mold 4, which is attached to a movable platen 2. The stationary mold 3 and the movable mold 4 have a semi-positive structure, and are fitted together at a fitting part” (Figure 1, [0063]).
Regarding Claim 33, , Okamato discloses wherein the pair is formed of an upper mold and a lower mold, and the upper mold is moved while the lower mold is arranged stationary (Figure 1, stationary mold-3, movable mold-4, [0063]).
Regarding Claim 34. In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Okamato discloses the mold temperature is 30-deg C therefore, the material injected would maintain the same temperature ([0087]).
Regarding Claim 36 JP’818 discloses wherein the pair is sealed from its sides by an outer sleeve (Figure 3, [0032]).
Claim(s) 26, 27, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minnich , US 20210040284, Okamato (US 20090121375) listed in IDS and in view of JP 2005007818 hereinafter JP’818.
Regarding Claim 26, Minnich did disclose method for forming a molded fiber product, in which method a layer is formed of fibers by a pair of molds , and in the method, fibers are fed between the molds (Figure 1A, [0100], [0120], molds-38), didn’t disclose wherein before and after feeding the foam is circulated. In the relate field of endeavor pertaining to the art , de Graff discloses before and after feeding the foam is circulated (([0033], [0036]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention to combine Minnich with the teaching of de Graff’s circulation for the purpose of moisture to escape through the vent channels.
Regarding Claim 27 Minnich did disclose method for forming a molded fiber product, in which method a layer is formed of fibers by a pair of molds , and in the method, fibers are fed between the molds (Figure 1A, [0100], [0120], molds-38), didn’t disclose comprising closing the pair of molds to remove the water and the air from the foam. In the relate field of endeavor pertaining to the art , de Graff discloses closing the pair of molds to remove the water and the air from the foam ([0036]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention to combine Minnich with the teaching of de Graff’s removal of water and air from the vents for the purpose of improving the strength of the molded product
Regarding Claim 35, Minnich did disclose method for forming a molded fiber product, in which method a layer is formed of fibers by a pair of molds , and in the method, fibers are fed between the molds (Figure 1A, [0100], [0120], molds-38), didn’t disclose wherein the water and air removal is aided by vacuum. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, de Graaff discloses wherein the water and air removal is aided by vacuum ([0026]).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention to combine Minnich with the teaching of de Graff’s removal of water and air by vacuum for the purpose of improving the strength of the molded product.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741