DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (claims 15-22, 25-27 and 38-39) and species i (a volatile liquid) in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Group I, II and IV (claims 1, 4-7, 12-13, 28, 31 and 33-35) and species ii (compressed gas, claims 17-18) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/22/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 17-18, 21, 26-28 and 38-39 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 2-3, 8-11, 14, 23-24, 29-30, 32 and 36-37 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12-13, 15-22, 25-28, 31, 33-35 and 38-39 is/are pending with claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12-13, 17-18, 28, 31 and 33-35 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 15-16, 19-22, 25-27 and 38-39 is/are under examination in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16, 19-22, 25-27 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purandare et al (US 20160002278 A1).
Regarding claims 15-16, 19-22, 25-27 and 38-39, Purandare teaches a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a foam for rectal administration comprising fidaxomicin and optionally one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients [0031].
Suitable excipients include a vehicle, foaming agents, propellants, thickening agents, and emulsifiers [0055, 0100].
The vehicle includes aqueous vehicle, ethanol, ethanol, propylene glycol, glycerol, polyethyleneglycol, polypropylene glycol [0056], which read on the claimed liquid component.
The foaming agents read on the claimed foaming agent.
The propellants include HFA 134a [0068], which is 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane and reads on the claimed volatile liquid bubble-forming component as specified in claims 16 and 19-22 (H134A).
The thickening agents include xanthan gum and guar gum [0065], which read on the claimed bio- adhesive as specified in claim 39.
Fidaxomicin is art recognized as an antibiotic agent, which reads on the claimed therapeutic agent as specified in claims 25-26.
The emulsifiers include cetyl alcohol [0103], which reads on the recited cetyl alcohol in claim 38.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the above compounds as the excipients in Prrandare’s composition, as they are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The recited “the composition forms a foam after administering to a targeted area in the patient's body” in claim 27 is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nonetheless, Purandare teaches that the pharmaceutical composition forms a foam in rectal area [0031].
The recited “for treating a gastrointestinal infection” represents a statement of intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Nonetheless, Purandare teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is for treating rectal infections [abstract], which is a gastrointestinal infection.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762