DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring element recited in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018/136987 (WO’987) in view of US Patent Application 2015/0219172 to Saoyama et al.
Re: claims 20 and 22. WO’987 shows in figure 3 a travel unit for moving a driverless transporter, the travel unit comprising: at least one wheel carrier 2 on which at least one driven wheel 3 is arranged, wherein the at least one driven wheel 3 is connected to at least one gear transmission, as labeled, of the travel unit through at least one gear wheel, as labeled, that forms part of the at least one gear transmission, at least one electric motor 4 configured to drive the at least one gear wheel, which in turn drives the at least one driven wheel, but is silent with regard to the motor being electric and with regard to the limitation wherein the at least one gear wheel, the at least one gear transmission, or the at least one driven wheel is directly paired with at least one blocking device which is configured such that, in the case of a malfunction or interruption in an energy supply to the transporter, the at least one blocking device being activated, so that the at least one gear transmission, the at least one
[AltContent: textbox (Gear wheel/transmission)]
[AltContent: arrow]
gear wheel, or the at least one driven wheel, is blocked or locked-via the at least one blocking device.
Saoyama et al. teach in paragraph [0046] the use a motor in the environment of a movement blocking device or brake being electric.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the motor of WO’987 to have been electric, in view of the teachings of Saoyama et al., in order to provide a power driving source that facilitates active control and performance optimization.
Saoyama et al. teach in figures 4a and 4b the at least one gear wheel 28, the at least one gear transmission 28 as best understood, or the at least one driven wheel is directly paired with at least one blocking device 3, 4, 5 which is configured such that, in the case of a malfunction or interruption in an energy supply to the transporter i.e. when the electric motor has no power as described in paragraph [0046], the at least one blocking device being activated, so that the at least one gear transmission, the at least one gear wheel, or the at least one driven wheel, is blocked or locked-via the at least one blocking device i.e. the locking mechanism cannot be switch to an unlocking state once it is in the locking state set forth in fig. 4A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been as recited immediately above, in view of the teachings Saoyama et al.., in order to provide a means of maintaining the travel unit in a braked position in the case of power loss for improved safety.
Re: claims 21 and 24. WO’987, as modified, teaches in figures 4A and 4B of Saoyama et al. wherein the at least one blocking device 5 is formed by an electromagnetic brake pin 29 which, without a supply of energy to element 30, is arranged in a defined position shown in figure 4B via a spring element 41.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been as recited immediately above, in view of the teachings Saoyama et al.., in order to provide a means of selectively engaging the gear wheel or transmission to selectively lock the wheel in place depending on operating conditions.
Re: claim 23. WO’987, as modified, teaches in figures 1, 2, 4A, and 4B of Saoyama et al. wherein the at least one blocking device 5 is arranged within at least one wheel carrier 1, 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the at least one blocking device of WO’987, as modified, to have been arranged within the at least one wheel carrier, in view of the teachings Saoyama et al.., in order to provide a means of protecting the components of the at least one blocking device from damage and premature wear.
Claim(s) 15-18 and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018/136987 (WO’987) in view of US Patent Application 2015/0219172 to Saoyama et al. as applied above, and further in view of AT-509305 (AT’305)(using DE-502010001552 as an English equivalent).
Re: claim 25. WO’987, as modified, is silent with regard to the travel unit being of a driverless transporter with a chassis that is generally U-shaped with the travel unit comprising at least two travel units arranged on each of the two legs of the chassis and with the travel units being connected to a control system for the driving operation.
AT’305 teaches in figures 5 and 6 the use of a driverless transporter with a chassis that is generally U-shaped as shown best in figure 6 with the travel unit comprising at least two travel units shown in the area of 11 arranged on each of the two legs of the chassis and with the travel units being connected to a control system or that which provides the automated guiding based on sensor output as set forth in the last claim, for example, for the driving operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been arranged on a driverless transporter, in view of the teachings AT’305, in order to provide a means of enabling the translation capability of an automated vehicle to help complete important warehouse tasks, for example.
Re: claims 15-18 and 26-28. WO’987, as modified, teaches in paragraph [0046] of Saoyama et al. wherein the at least one blocking device is deactivated during driving operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been arranged on a driverless transporter, in view of the teachings of Saoyama et al., in order to provide a means of ensuring that the locking mechanism is switched to the unlocking state to not be kept in a braked position and to allow the transporter to carry on its required functions. Examiner notes that the combination results in each travel unit including its separate blocking device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the lock pin 29 of Saoyama is generally in an unblocking position when the locking mechanism 5 does not receive electrical power. While Saoyama may indicate that the locking pin 29 is generally in an unblocking position when the locking mechanism 5 does not receive electrical power, Examiner emphasizes that paragraph [0046] explains that “when the electric motor unit 2 is powered off, the braking force applying mechanism 4 and the speed reduction mechanism 3 are rotated in a direction in which the braking force decreases, by a pressing reactive force of the braking force. Thus, a frictional force occurs between the lock pin 29 and an inner diameter surface of the locking hole 28a, so that the locking mechanism 5 cannot be switched to the unlocking state”. Therefore, at least in the state described above, the lock pin 29 which is a part of the blocking device 3, 4, 5 is in a blocking position when the locking mechanism does not receive electrical power. This section of the Saoyama reference includes the teaching that satisfies the limitation “the at least one blocking device is activated so that the at least one gear wheel…is blocked or locked via the at least one blocking device”. Accordingly, the above art rejections have been maintained. The previously presented 112 rejections and specification objection have been withdrawn in light of the most recent amendments. The drawing objection has been maintained since the drawing change, while mentioned in the response, was not shown.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
mmb
October 4, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616