DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring element recited in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: element number 14 is used to represent both the gear wheel and the electric motor. See paragraph [0042] of the instant published application for example.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re: claim 15. The phrase “the travel unit” is indefinite. It is unclear which travel unit Applicant intends to refer to since more than one travel unit was previously recited.
Re: claim 20. The phrase “at least one electric motor that drives at least one gear transmission of the travel unit, wherein the at least one gear wheel, the at least one gear transmission, or” is indefinite. It is unclear whether the gear wheel and the gear transmission refer to the same or different elements. Paragraph [0040] of the instant published application explains “gear wheel 14, thus forming a so-called transmission or gear, respectively” which appears to suggest that the gear wheel forms the transmission.
The remaining claims are indefinite due to their dependency from claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018/136987 (WO’987) in view of US Patent Application 2015/0219172 to Saoyama et al.
Re: claims 20 and 22. WO’987 shows in figure 3 a travel unit for moving a driverless transporter, the travel unit comprising: at least one wheel carrier 2 on which at least one driven wheel 3 is arranged, wherein the at least one driven wheel 3 is connected via at least one gear wheel, as labeled, to at least one motor 4 that drives at least one gear transmission, as labeled and as best understood, of the travel unit, but is silent with regard to the motor being electric and with regard to the limitation wherein the at least one gear wheel, the at least one gear transmission, or the at least one driven wheel is directly paired with at least one blocking device which is configured such that, in the case of a malfunction or interruption in an energy supply to the transporter, the at least one blocking device is configured to be activated, so that the at least one gear transmission, the at least one
[AltContent: textbox (Gear wheel/transmission)]
[AltContent: arrow]
gear wheel, or the at least one driven wheel, is blocked or locked-via the at least one blocking device.
Saoyama et al. teach in paragraph [0046] the use a motor in the environment of a movement blocking device or brake being electric.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the motor of WO’987 to have been electric, in view of the teachings of Saoyama et al., in order to provide a power driving source that facilitates active control and performance optimization.
Saoyama et al. teach in figures 4a and 4b the at least one gear wheel 28, the at least one gear transmission 28 as best understood, or the at least one driven wheel is directly paired with at least one blocking device 5 which is configured such that, in the case of a malfunction or interruption in an energy supply to the transporter i.e. when the electric motor has no power as described in paragraph [0046], the at least one blocking device is configured to be activated, so that the at least one gear transmission, the at least one gear wheel, or the at least one driven wheel, is blocked or locked-via the at least one blocking device i.e. the locking mechanism cannot be switch to an unlocking state once it is in the locking state set forth in fig. 4A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been as recited immediately above, in view of the teachings Saoyama et al.., in order to provide a means of maintaining the travel unit in a braked position in the case of power loss for improved safety.
Re: claims 21 and 24. WO’987, as modified, teaches in figures 4A and 4B of Saoyama et al. wherein the at least one blocking device 5 is formed by an electromagnetic brake pin 29 which, without a supply of energy to element 30, is arranged in a defined position shown in figure 4B via a spring element 41.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been as recited immediately above, in view of the teachings Saoyama et al.., in order to provide a means of selectively engaging the gear wheel or transmission to selectively lock the wheel in place depending on operating conditions.
Re: claim 23. WO’987, as modified, teaches in figures 1, 2, 4A, and 4B of Saoyama et al. wherein the at least one blocking device 5 is arranged within at least one wheel carrier 1, 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the at least one blocking device of WO’987, as modified, to have been arranged within the at least one wheel carrier, in view of the teachings Saoyama et al.., in order to provide a means of protecting the components of the at least one blocking device from damage and premature wear.
Claim(s) 15-18 and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018/136987 (WO’987) in view of US Patent Application 2015/0219172 to Saoyama et al. as applied above, and further in view of AT-509305 (AT’305)(using DE-502010001552 as an English equivalent).
Re: claim 25. WO’987, as modified, is silent with regard to the travel unit being of a driverless transporter with a chassis that is generally U-shaped with the travel unit comprising at least two travel units arranged on each of the two legs of the chassis and with the travel units being connected to a control system for the driving operation.
AT’305 teaches in figures 5 and 6 the use of a driverless transporter with a chassis that is generally U-shaped as shown best in figure 6 with the travel unit comprising at least two travel units shown in the area of 11 arranged on each of the two legs of the chassis and with the travel units being connected to a control system or that which provides the automated guiding based on sensor output as set forth in the last claim, for example, for the driving operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been arranged on a driverless transporter, in view of the teachings AT’305, in order to provide a means of enabling the translation capability of an automated vehicle to help complete important warehouse tasks, for example.
Re: claims 15-18 and 26-28. WO’987, as modified, teaches in paragraph [0046] of Saoyama et al. wherein the at least one blocking device is deactivated during driving operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the travel unit of WO’987, as modified, to have been arranged on a driverless transporter, in view of the teachings of Saoyama et al., in order to provide a means of ensuring that the locking mechanism is switched to the unlocking state to not be kept in a braked position and to allow the transporter to carry on its required functions. Examiner notes that the combination results in each travel unit including its separate blocking device.
Election/Restrictions
No claims have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/14/25. Examiner notes that the claims have been amended by Applicant to depend from claim 20 which was a part of the elected group.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP-2017149579 and JP-2007216886 teach the use of similar unmanned transporter devices and US Patent Application 2015/0041261 teaches the use of a locking mechanism selectively cooperating with a gear wheel in a movement stopping environment.
mmb
February 7, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616