DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-42 are pending.
Claims 1-15 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/23/2026 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 22, 28-31, 35, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190274121 A1), hereinafter Wu, in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190037443 A1), hereinafter Lee, and further in view of in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220061041 A1), hereinafter Chen.
With respect to claim 16, Wu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication by a user-equipment (UE), comprising ([0009], UE):
one or more memories ([0009], memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to ([0009], memory and processor):
receive, from a network entity, a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of the UE and a second protocol stack of the UE ([0121-0126, 0130], receive a message a configuration for sidelink (SL) traffic a first protocol stack of the UE and a second protocol stack / a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT) of the UE),
wherein the first protocol stack is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second protocol stack is for a second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)),
wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)), and
wherein the configuration indicates a layer of the first protocol stack and a layer of the second protocol stack to be used for the ([0126, 0130, 0100], the configuration indicates a layer / identifier of the first protocol stack and a layer / identifier of the second protocol stack to be used for); and
communicate, via the second protocol stack, for SL communication in accordance with the configuration ([0121-0126], communicate, via LTE RAT or NR RAT, for SL communication in accordance with the configuration).
Wu does not explicitly teach traffic splitting.
However, Lee teaches traffic splitting and configuration indicates traffic splitting ([0154], performs traffic splitting based on the received assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, traffic splitting, into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
The combination of Wu and Lee does not explicitly teach communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication.
However, Chen teaches communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication ([0005, 0110], receive the transport block (TB) for SL communication by a protocol stack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen, communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication, into the teachings of Wu and Lee, in order to improve spectra efficiency (Chen, [0043]).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Wu teaches wherein the layers of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack comprise a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layers ([0121], PDCP layers).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Wu teaches wherein the layers of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack comprise a medium access control (MAC) layers ([0121], MAC layers).
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Wu teaches select a carrier of the second RAT to be used for the SL communication ([0121-0126]); and transmit, to the network entity, an indication of the selected carrier ([0121-0126]).
With respect to claim 28, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Wu teaches from the layer of the first protocol stack to the layer of the second protocol stack ([0121-0126]).
Wu does not explicitly teach the traffic splitting comprises providing a protocol data unit (PDU).
However, Lee teaches the traffic splitting comprises providing a protocol data unit (PDU) ([0044, 0081, 0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, the traffic splitting comprises providing a protocol data unit (PDU), into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
With respect to claim 29, Wu teaches A method for wireless communication by a user-equipment (UE), comprising ([0121-0126], a method for wireless communication by UE):
receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of the UE and a second protocol stack of the UE ([0121-0126, 0130], receive a message a configuration for sidelink (SL) traffic a first protocol stack of the UE and a second protocol stack / a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT) of the UE),
wherein the first protocol stack is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second protocol stack is for a second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)),
wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)), and
wherein the configuration indicates a layer of the first protocol stack and a layer of the second protocol stack to be used for the ([0126, 0130, 0100], the configuration indicates a layer / identifier of the first protocol stack and a layer / identifier of the second protocol stack to be used for); and
communicating, via the second protocol stack, for SL communication in accordance with the configuration ([0121-0126], communicate, via LTE RAT or NR RAT, for SL communication in accordance with the configuration).
Wu does not explicitly teach traffic splitting.
However, Lee teaches traffic splitting and configuration indicates traffic splitting ([0154], performs traffic splitting based on the received assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, traffic splitting, into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
The combination of Wu and Lee does not explicitly teach communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication.
However, Chen teaches communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication ([0005, 0110], receive the transport block (TB) for SL communication by a protocol stack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen, communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication, into the teachings of Wu and Lee, in order to improve spectra efficiency (Chen, [0043]).
With respect to claim 30, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 17, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 31, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 18, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 35, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 22, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 41, Wu teaches (New) A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processors, cause a user-equipment (UE) to ([0009, 0011], a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code):
receive, from a network entity, a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of the UE and a second protocol stack of the UE ([0121-0126, 0130], receive a message a configuration for sidelink (SL) traffic a first protocol stack of the UE and a second protocol stack / a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT) of the UE),
wherein the first protocol stack is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second protocol stack is for a second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)),
wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)), and
wherein the configuration indicates a layer of the first protocol stack and a layer of the second protocol stack to be used for the ([0126, 0130, 0100], the configuration indicates a layer / identifier of the first protocol stack and a layer / identifier of the second protocol stack to be used for); and
communicate, via the second protocol stack, for SL communication in accordance with the configuration ([0121-0126], communicate, via LTE RAT or NR RAT, for SL communication in accordance with the configuration).
Wu does not explicitly teach traffic splitting.
However, Lee teaches traffic splitting and configuration indicates traffic splitting ([0154], performs traffic splitting based on the received assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, traffic splitting, into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
The combination of Wu and Lee does not explicitly teach communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication.
However, Chen teaches communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication ([0005, 0110], receive the transport block (TB) for SL communication by a protocol stack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen, communicate, via the second protocol stack, at least one transport block (TB) for SL communication, into the teachings of Wu and Lee, in order to improve spectra efficiency (Chen, [0043]).
Claims 21 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee, in view of Chen, and further in view of Pan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200205209 A1), hereinafter Pan.
With respect to claim 21, the combination of Wu, Lee, and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 16. The combination of Wu, Lee, and Chen does not explicitly teach configured to select a sidelink traffic channel (STCH) of the first protocol stack for the SL traffic splitting based on a priority associated with STCH.
However, Pan teaches configured to select a sidelink traffic channel (STCH) of the first protocol stack for the SL traffic splitting based on a priority associated with STCH ([0236, 0238, 0241).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pan, configured to select a sidelink traffic channel (STCH) of the first protocol stack for the SL traffic splitting based on a priority associated with STCH, into the teachings of Wu, Lee, and Chen, in order for handling mobility of a UE with one-to-one sidelink communication in a wireless communication system (Pan, [0002]).
With respect to claim 34, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 21, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 23-25, 27, 36-38, 40, and 42 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee.
With respect to claim 23, Wu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising ([0126], base station):
one or more memories ([0023], memory); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the network entity to ([0023], memory and processor):
generate a message that indicates a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of a user-equipment (UE) and a second protocol stack of the UE ([0121-0126, 0130], generate a message that indicates a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of a user-equipment (UE) and a second protocol stack / a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT) of the UE),
wherein the first protocol stack is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second protocol stack is for a second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)),
the first RAT is different than the second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)), and
wherein the configuration indicates a layer of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack to be used for ([0126, 0130, 0100], the configuration indicates a layer / identifier of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack to be used for); and
transmit the message for the UE ([0126, 0130], transmit the message for the UE).
Wu does not explicitly teach traffic splitting.
However, Lee teaches traffic splitting and configuration indicates traffic splitting ([0154], performs traffic splitting based on the received assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, traffic splitting, into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
With respect to claim 24, the combination of Wu and Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 23. Wu teaches the layer comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer ([0121], PDCP layers).
With respect to claim 25, the combination of Wu and Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 23. Wu teaches wherein the layer comprise a medium access control (MAC) layer ([0121], MAC layers).
With respect to claim 27, the combination of Wu and Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 23. Wu teaches receive, from the UE, an indication of a carrier of the second RAT to be used for SL communication ([0209-0210]); and perform carrier selection for SL scheduling for one or more other UEs based on the carrier ([0209-0210]).
With respect to claim 36, Wu teaches A method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising ([0126], a method for wireless communication by a base station):
generating a message that indicates a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of a user-equipment (UE) and a second protocol stack of the UE ([0121-0126, 0130], generate a message that indicates a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of a user-equipment (UE) and a second protocol stack / a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT) of the UE),
wherein the first protocol stack is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second protocol stack is for a second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)),
the first RAT is different than the second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)), and
wherein the configuration indicates a layer of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack to be used for ([0126, 0130, 0100], the configuration indicates a layer / identifier of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack to be used for); and
transmitting the message for the UE ([0126, 0130], transmit the message for the UE).
Wu does not explicitly teach traffic splitting.
However, Lee teaches traffic splitting and configuration indicates traffic splitting ([0154], performs traffic splitting based on the received assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, traffic splitting, into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
With respect to claim 37, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 24, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 38, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 25, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 40, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 27, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 42, Wu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processors, cause a network entity to ([0021, 0023], a non-transitory computer-readable medium:
generate a message that indicates a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of a user-equipment (UE) and a second protocol stack of the UE ([0121-0126, 0130], generate a message that indicates a configuration for sidelink (SL) between a first protocol stack of a user-equipment (UE) and a second protocol stack / a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT) of the UE),
wherein the first protocol stack is for a first radio access technology (RAT) and the second protocol stack is for a second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)),
the first RAT is different than the second RAT ([0121-0126], a first RAT (e.g., an LTE RAT) and a second RAT (e.g., a NR RAT)), and
wherein the configuration indicates a layer of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack to be used for ([0126, 0130, 0100], the configuration indicates a layer / identifier of the first protocol stack and the second protocol stack to be used for); and
transmit the message for the UE ([0126, 0130], transmit the message for the UE).
Wu does not explicitly teach traffic splitting.
However, Lee teaches traffic splitting and configuration indicates traffic splitting ([0154], performs traffic splitting based on the received assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, traffic splitting, into the teachings of Wu, in order to provide an efficient solution in terms of cost for the traffic splitting function (Lee, [0034]).
Claims 26 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lee, and further in view of Pan.
With respect to claim 26, the combination of Wu and Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 23. The combination of Wu and Lee does not explicitly teach configured to select a sidelink traffic channel (STCH) of the first protocol stack for the SL traffic splitting based on a priority associated with STCH.
However, Pan teaches configured to select a sidelink traffic channel (STCH) of the first protocol stack for the SL traffic splitting based on a priority associated with STCH ([0236, 0238, 0241).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pan, to select a sidelink traffic channel (STCH) of the first protocol stack for the SL traffic splitting based on a priority associated with STCH, into the teachings of Wu and Lee, in order for handling mobility of a UE with one-to-one sidelink communication in a wireless communication system (Pan, [0002]).
With respect to claim 39, this claim recites the apparatus of claim 26, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 and 32-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20220014963 A1; “Yeh”, ([0042])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469