DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 2. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 16-22 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. Status of Claims 3. Claims 16-22, 31-51 are pending, wherein claims 16, 31 , 38, and 45 are in independent form. 4. Claims 1-15 and 23-30 have been canceled. Claims 31-51 have been added newly. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. 6. Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the BS" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 7 . The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 8 . Claim s 16 -17, 21-22, 31-32, 36-39, 43-46, and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al ( US 2019027412 1, hereinafter referred to as Cheng) . Re claim 16, Cheng teaches an apparatus (Base station) for wireless communication by a network entity (Fig. 2, Fig. 5) , comprising: ( i ) one or more memories (memory, 1330, Fig. 13) (Par 0187) ; and (ii) one or more processors (1340, Fig. 13) coupled with the one or more memories (1330, Fig. 13) (Par 0187, Par 0191-0192) , and configured to cause the BS to: (iii) transmit a configuration for a u ser equipment (UE) (configuration message transmitted to the UE, step 530, Fig. 5, 1610, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130) to monitor first control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) for selection of one or more available resource pools ( Par 0089 states, “t he UE 115 may transmit, based at least in part on the configuration message, a request for resources within the available sidelink resources ”; Par 0102 states to make a “ request for resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message ”) for a first sidelink (SL) transmission of a first radio access technology (RAT) (making resource request for a first RAT or both the first RAT and the second RAT based on the control information ( available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) included in the configuration message, Fig. 5, Fig. 16 , Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0103, Par 0131 ) , wherein the first control information schedules a second SL transmission of a second RAT (available resource pools included in the configuration message are allocated for both the first RAT and the second RAT , Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130-0131 ) , and wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT ( NR and LTE are different RAT, Fig. 2-3, Par 0092-0093, Par 0096) ; (iv) receive, from the UE, an indication of the one or more available resource pools (resource request from the UE to allocate resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message; resource request including RAT identifier indicating to allocate available resources corresponding to the identifier, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0102-0103, Par 0105, Par 0116-0117, Par 0131 ) ; and (v) transmit an indication of a second resource pool for the first SL transmission (providing resource grant from the available resource pools) , wherein the second resource pool is selected from the one or more available resource pools (resource grant is selected form the available resource pools) (Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0104-0106, Par 0117-0119, Par 0131-0134) . Claim 38 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 16 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 16. Re claim s 1 7 , 32, 39, 46, Cheng teaches to cause the network entity to transmit a configuration for the UE to monitor second control information for the selection of the one or more available resource pools (configuration message including available resource pools for the sidelink communication causes the UE to transmit a resource request for scheduling resources within the available resources) ; and the second control information schedules a third SL transmission of the first RAT (resource grant allocating resources for the first RAT or both the first and second RAT) (Fig. 2-3, Fig. 5, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0105, Par 0112-0119, Par 0129-0135). Re claim s 21 , 36, 43, 50, Cheng teaches that the first RAT comprises new radio (NR) ; and the second RAT comprises long-term evolution (LTE) (the first RAT and the second RAT include NR and LTE, Fig. 2-3, Par 0092-0093, Par 0096). Re claim s 2 2 , 37, 44, 51, Cheng teaches to cause the network entity to transmit the configuration via the at least one antenna (antenna 1325, Fig. 13, Fig. 5, Par 0130, Par 0187, Par 0190) . Re claim 31, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Fig. 5, Fig. 9) , comprising: ( i ) one or more memories (930, Fig. 9) (Par 0159, Par 0163) ; and (ii) one or more processors (940, Fig. 9) coupled with the one or more memories (930, Fig. 9) (Par 0159, Par 0163-0164) , and configured to cause the UE to: (iii) receive, from a network entity (base station) , a configuration (configuration message received by the UE, step 530, Fig. 5, 1415 , Fig. 1 4 , Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130) for the UE to monitor first control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) for selection of one or more available resource pools (Par 0089 states, “the UE 115 may transmit, based at least in part on the configuration message, a request for resources within the available sidelink resources”; Par 0102 states to make a “request for resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message”) for a first sidelink (SL) transmission of a first radio access technology (RAT) (making resource request for a first RAT or both the first RAT and the second RAT based on the control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) included in the configuration message, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0103, Par 0131), wherein the first control information schedules a second SL transmission of a second RAT (available resource pools included in the configuration message are allocated for both the first RAT and the second RAT, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130-0131), and wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT (NR and LTE are different RAT, Fig. 2-3, Par 0092-0093, Par 0096); (iv) transmit , to the network entity , an indication of the one or more available resource pools (resource request from the UE to allocate resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message; resource request including RAT identifier indicating to allocate available resources corresponding to the identifier, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0102-0103, Par 0105, Par 0116-0117, Par 0131); and (v) receive an indication of a second resource pool for the first SL transmission ( receiving resource grant from the available resource pools), wherein the second resource pool is selected from the one or more available resource pools (resource grant is selected form the available resource pools) (Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0104-0106, Par 0117-0119, Par 0131-0134). Claim 45 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 31 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 31 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 9 . The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 10 . Claim s 18 -20, 33-35, 40-42, and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Chen et al ( US 20210105760 , hereinafter referred to as Chen) . Re claim s 18, 33, 40, 47, Cheng does not explicitly disclose a bitmap that indicates the one or more available resource pools . Chen teaches a bitmap that indicates the one or more available resource pools (Par 0070-0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by including a bitmap that indicates the one or more available resource pools , as taught by Chen for the purpose of obtaining TDD sidelink configuration to properly identify resources available for sidelink communication, as taught by Chen (Par 0071-0072). Re claim s 19, 34, 41, 48, Cheng does not explicitly disclose to transmit, to the UE, an indication of a mapping of each bit of the bitmap to one of the one or more available resource pools . Chen teaches to transmit, to the UE, an indication of a mapping of each bit of the bitmap to one of the one or more available resource pools (Fig. 2, Fig. 7, Par 0025, Par 0067-0068, Par 0070-0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by including the feature to transmit, to the UE, an indication of a mapping of each bit of the bitmap to one of the one or more available resource pools , as taught by Chen for the purpose of obtaining TDD sidelink configuration to properly identify resources available for sidelink communication, as taught by Chen (Par 0071-0072). Re claim s 20, 35, 42, 49, Cheng does not explicitly disclose to transmit the indication of the mapping via a radio resource control (RRC) message . Chen teaches to transmit the indication of the mapping via a radio resource control (RRC) message (Par 0068, Par 0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by including the feature to transmit the indication of the mapping via a radio resource control (RRC) message , as taught by Chen for the purpose of obtaining TDD sidelink configuration to properly identify resources available for sidelink communication, as taught by Chen (Par 0071-0072). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT HARUN UR R CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3895 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Kwang B Yao can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712723182 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HARUN CHOWDHURY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473