DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 16-22 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
3. Claims 16-22, 31-51 are pending, wherein claims 16, 31, 38, and 45 are in independent form.
4. Claims 1-15 and 23-30 have been canceled. Claims 31-51 have been added newly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the BS" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 16-17, 21-22, 31-32, 36-39, 43-46, and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al (US 20190274121, hereinafter referred to as Cheng).
Re claim 16, Cheng teaches an apparatus (Base station) for wireless communication by a network entity (Fig. 2, Fig. 5), comprising:
(i) one or more memories (memory, 1330, Fig. 13) (Par 0187); and
(ii) one or more processors (1340, Fig. 13) coupled with the one or more memories (1330, Fig. 13) (Par 0187, Par 0191-0192), and configured to cause the BS to:
(iii) transmit a configuration for a user equipment (UE) (configuration message transmitted to the UE, step 530, Fig. 5, 1610, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130) to monitor first control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) for selection of one or more available resource pools (Par 0089 states, “the UE 115 may transmit, based at least in part on the configuration message, a request for resources within the available sidelink resources”; Par 0102 states to make a “request for resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message”) for a first sidelink (SL) transmission of a first radio access technology (RAT) (making resource request for a first RAT or both the first RAT and the second RAT based on the control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) included in the configuration message, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0103, Par 0131), wherein the first control information schedules a second SL transmission of a second RAT (available resource pools included in the configuration message are allocated for both the first RAT and the second RAT, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130-0131), and wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT (NR and LTE are different RAT, Fig. 2-3, Par 0092-0093, Par 0096);
(iv) receive, from the UE, an indication of the one or more available resource pools (resource request from the UE to allocate resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message; resource request including RAT identifier indicating to allocate available resources corresponding to the identifier, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0102-0103, Par 0105, Par 0116-0117, Par 0131); and
(v) transmit an indication of a second resource pool for the first SL transmission (providing resource grant from the available resource pools), wherein the second resource pool is selected from the one or more available resource pools (resource grant is selected form the available resource pools) (Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0104-0106, Par 0117-0119, Par 0131-0134).
Claim 38 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 16 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Re claims 17, 32, 39, 46, Cheng teaches to cause the network entity to transmit a configuration for the UE to monitor second control information for the selection of the one or more available resource pools (configuration message including available resource pools for the sidelink communication causes the UE to transmit a resource request for scheduling resources within the available resources); and the second control information schedules a third SL transmission of the first RAT (resource grant allocating resources for the first RAT or both the first and second RAT) (Fig. 2-3, Fig. 5, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0105, Par 0112-0119, Par 0129-0135).
Re claims 21, 36, 43, 50, Cheng teaches that the first RAT comprises new radio (NR); and the second RAT comprises long-term evolution (LTE) (the first RAT and the second RAT include NR and LTE, Fig. 2-3, Par 0092-0093, Par 0096).
Re claims 22, 37, 44, 51, Cheng teaches to cause the network entity to transmit the configuration via the at least one antenna (antenna 1325, Fig. 13, Fig. 5, Par 0130, Par 0187, Par 0190).
Re claim 31, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Fig. 5, Fig. 9), comprising:
(i) one or more memories (930, Fig. 9) (Par 0159, Par 0163); and
(ii) one or more processors (940, Fig. 9) coupled with the one or more memories (930, Fig. 9) (Par 0159, Par 0163-0164), and configured to cause the UE to:
(iii) receive, from a network entity (base station), a configuration (configuration message received by the UE, step 530, Fig. 5, 1415, Fig. 14, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130) for the UE to monitor first control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) for selection of one or more available resource pools (Par 0089 states, “the UE 115 may transmit, based at least in part on the configuration message, a request for resources within the available sidelink resources”; Par 0102 states to make a “request for resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message”) for a first sidelink (SL) transmission of a first radio access technology (RAT) (making resource request for a first RAT or both the first RAT and the second RAT based on the control information (available resource pools for a first and second RAT, RAT identifier, identifier for transmission types, LCID to transmission type mapping etc.) included in the configuration message, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0100-0103, Par 0131), wherein the first control information schedules a second SL transmission of a second RAT (available resource pools included in the configuration message are allocated for both the first RAT and the second RAT, Par 0100-0101, Par 0116, Par 0130-0131), and wherein the first RAT is different than the second RAT (NR and LTE are different RAT, Fig. 2-3, Par 0092-0093, Par 0096);
(iv) transmit, to the network entity, an indication of the one or more available resource pools (resource request from the UE to allocate resources within the available sidelink resources indicated in the configuration message; resource request including RAT identifier indicating to allocate available resources corresponding to the identifier, Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0089-0090, Par 0102-0103, Par 0105, Par 0116-0117, Par 0131); and
(v) receive an indication of a second resource pool for the first SL transmission (receiving resource grant from the available resource pools), wherein the second resource pool is selected from the one or more available resource pools (resource grant is selected form the available resource pools) (Fig. 5, Fig. 16, Par 0104-0106, Par 0117-0119, Par 0131-0134).
Claim 45 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 31 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 18-20, 33-35, 40-42, and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Chen et al (US 20210105760, hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Re claims 18, 33, 40, 47, Cheng does not explicitly disclose a bitmap that indicates the one or more available resource pools.
Chen teaches a bitmap that indicates the one or more available resource pools (Par 0070-0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by including a bitmap that indicates the one or more available resource pools, as taught by Chen for the purpose of obtaining TDD sidelink configuration to properly identify resources available for sidelink communication, as taught by Chen (Par 0071-0072).
Re claims 19, 34, 41, 48, Cheng does not explicitly disclose to transmit, to the UE, an indication of a mapping of each bit of the bitmap to one of the one or more available resource pools.
Chen teaches to transmit, to the UE, an indication of a mapping of each bit of the bitmap to one of the one or more available resource pools (Fig. 2, Fig. 7, Par 0025, Par 0067-0068, Par 0070-0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by including the feature to transmit, to the UE, an indication of a mapping of each bit of the bitmap to one of the one or more available resource pools, as taught by Chen for the purpose of obtaining TDD sidelink configuration to properly identify resources available for sidelink communication, as taught by Chen (Par 0071-0072).
Re claims 20, 35, 42, 49, Cheng does not explicitly disclose to transmit the indication of the mapping via a radio resource control (RRC) message.
Chen teaches to transmit the indication of the mapping via a radio resource control (RRC) message (Par 0068, Par 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by including the feature to transmit the indication of the mapping via a radio resource control (RRC) message, as taught by Chen for the purpose of obtaining TDD sidelink configuration to properly identify resources available for sidelink communication, as taught by Chen (Par 0071-0072).
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473