DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,929,621 in view of Harty and Konishi.
Although the claims are not identical, the claims are directed to a control unit is configured to control an output of the conversion circuit such that a received power from the power grid becomes a target value during charging the vehicle energy storage apparatus by the charging/discharging unit, and to change the target value of the received power based on a predicted value of a power generation amount of the distributed power supply and a predicted value of a power consumption of a demand facility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harty in view of Konishi (20220060026)
Re Claims 1, 9 and 10; Harty discloses a charging/discharging system (10) for a distributed power supply being interconnectable with a power grid (30), the charging/discharging system comprising:
a conversion circuit (70, 82);
a control unit (14) configured to control the conversion circuit; and
a charging/discharging unit (50) connected to the power grid (30) and the conversion circuit (70 and 82) and being capable of charging electricity to a vehicle energy storage apparatus (100, Par 0016 teaches the vehicle has a storage apparatus),
wherein the control unit (14) is configured to control an output of the conversion circuit (70, 80) such that a received power from the power grid (30) becomes a target value during charging the vehicle energy storage apparatus by the charging/discharging unit. (Par 0026, 28)
Harty does not disclose wherein the control unit is configured to change the target value of the received power based on a predicted value of a power generation amount of the distributed power supply and a predicted value of power consumption of a demand facility
However, Konishi discloses wherein the control unit (EMS, 10) is configured to change the target value (reverse power flow) of the received power based on a predicted value of a power generation amount of the distributed power supply and a predicted value of power consumption of a demand facility. (Par 0090-95)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have change the target value of the received power based on a predicted value of a power generation amount of the distributed power supply and a predicted value of power consumption of a demand facility in order to provide the required power needed to operate the load effectively.
Re Claim 2; Harty discloses further comprising an energy storage unit (40) being capable of discharging electricity to the charging/discharging unit via the conversion circuit. (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 3; Harty discloses wherein the control unit includes a communication unit being capable of communicating with the charging/discharging unit. (Par 0019, 29)
Re Claim 4; Harty discloses wherein the charging/discharging unit acquires or estimates a state of charge of the vehicle energy storage apparatus. (Par 0019, 29).
Re Claim 7; Harty discloses further comprising a housing that houses the conversion circuit, the control unit, and the charging/discharging unit, wherein a charging/discharging cable (62) extends from the housing. (Fig. 1).
Re Claims 11, 13 and 15; Konishi discloses wherein the charging of the vehicle energy storage apparatus is assisted by the output of the conversion circuit (116) to suppress an increase in the received power and to control the received power from the power grid to the target value. (Par 0090-95)
Claim(s) 5, 8, 12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harty in view of Konishi (20220060026) and further in view of Mrlik et al (US 20190168630)
Re Claim 5; Harty discloses wherein a communication unit.
Harty does not disclose the communication unit is configured to transmit information that includes a state of the conversion circuit and information that includes a state of the charging/discharging unit to an information processing apparatus.
However, Mrlik discloses the communication unit is configured to transmit information that includes a state of the conversion circuit and information that includes a state of the charging/discharging unit to an information processing apparatus. (Fig. 6, Par 32, 40)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have communicated the state of the components to an information processing apparatus in order to monitor operating data regarding the EV charging systems and to determine control actions to be implemented by the EV charging systems as needed.
Re Claim 8; Harty disclosure a power converter as shown above.
Harty does not disclose further comprising a first converter circuit, a second converter circuit, and a third converter circuit that are connected to the conversion circuit, wherein a distributed power supply is connected to the first converter circuit, the energy storage unit is connected to the second converter circuit, and a charging/discharging cable is connected to the third converter circuit.
further comprising a first converter circuit (103), a second converter circuit (DC-DC converter Low voltage), and a third converter circuit (106) that are connected to the conversion circuit, wherein a distributed power supply (grid) is connected to the first converter circuit (174), the energy storage unit (200) is connected to the second converter circuit (DC-DC low), and a charging/discharging cable (116) is connected to the third converter circuit (106). (Fig. 6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have had this arrangement of components in order to provide power from a plurality of sources to charge the vehicle effectively.
Re Claims 12, 14 and 16; Mrlik discloses wherein a plurality of the charging/discharging units are provided at a charging/discharging station, and a power conditioner comprising the conversion circuit and the control unit is arranged adjacent to the plurality of the charging/discharging units. (Fig. 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-16 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mrlik
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
03/02/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836