DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A (ethylene tetrafluoroethylene film) without traverse is acknowledged. Claims 5 and 7 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 2-4, 6, 8-11, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 13, this claim depends on cancelled claim 12.
As to claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, and 13-17, each of these claims recite a “use”, and while claim 1 was amended to remove this language, the dependent claims still recite this phrase. Since there is no more “use” in claim 1, “The use” in each of these dependent lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wybrow (US 20200009805) in view of Solvay (Solvay Product Portfolio for Process Materials Aerospace and Industrial Markets), with A6200 MatWeb data sheet (of record) as evidence only.
As to claim 1, Wybrow teaches a method for shaping a composite material, wherein the method comprises:
(a) placing a substantially planar composite material (Fig. 1A, item 110) between an upper film (130) and a lower film (120) by creating a pocket between the upper fluoropolymer film and the lower fluoropolymer film which houses the composite material (Fig. 1A generally),
(b) bringing the upper film and the lower film into intimate contact with the composite material thereby forming a layered structure (Fig. 1B), wherein the composite material is held stationary between the upper film and the lower film until heat or force is applied to the layered structure (see Fig. 3A and 3B);
(c) (optionally) pre-heating the layered structure in a heating apparatus (320) at a temperature sufficient to either lower the viscosity of the composite material or soften the upper film and the lower film ([0112]);
(d) positioning the layered structure in a press tool comprising a male mold and a corresponding female mold separated by a gap (Fig. 3A, items 330 and 340), wherein the male mold and the female mold each independently have a non-planar molding surface,
(e) compressing the layered structure between the male mold and the female mold by closing the gap between the male mold and the female mold (Fig. 3B, right portion); and
(f) maintaining the male mold and the female mold in a closed position until a viscosity of the layered structure reaches a level sufficient to maintain a molded shape ([0112]-[0118]),
wherein the upper film (Fig. 1A, 130) and the lower film (120) are held together by a structural frame comprising a top frame (180), a center frame (170) and a bottom frame (160), wherein the lower film is held between the bottom frame and the center frame and the upper film is held between the center frame and the top frame (See Figs. 1A-1B, items 120-180).
Wybrow is silent to the upper film and lower film comprised of a fluoropolymer.
Solvay shows that it is conventional (as of 2018 when the document was published – see last page right margin) to use ETFE fluoropolymer films for bagging or release of composite materials (see Product Focus: A6200M on page 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the A6200M ETFE film from Solvay materials into Wybrow because Wybrow teaches/suggests a diaphragm that can be easily released from the final molded part ([0072]) and Solvay provides materials within the scope of this Wybrow teaching/suggestion.
As to claims 2-4 and 6, Wybrow teaches two diaphragms not disclosed as being different films, and Solvay provides an ETFE A6200M film (see page 10) which could be used as both of the Wybrow diaphragms. The A6200 MatWeb data sheet provides evidence which suggests the Solvay ETFE A6200M film meets the claimed melt temperature (melt temperature must be higher than the 232 C maximum service temperature shown on the data sheet), thickness (25 microns meets claimed about 30 microns), tensile strength (41.4 MPa meets claimed about 45 MPa), elongation at break of 350% (meets claimed about 400%), and since it is made from ETFE as claimed it would likely have the claimed elastic modulus, even though the MatWeb does not disclose this data.
As to claims 8 and 11, Wybrow teaches the same feature as claimed (Wybrow, claims 29 and 32). As to claims 9 and 10, see Wybrow ([0114]) for molds maintained at an elevated temperature above 100 C. As to claim 13, Wybrow teaches a center frame which supplies vacuum to the assembly ([0042]-[0044]). As to claim 14, Wybrow teaches a configuration which meets the claimed frames and films (Figs. 1A-1B). As to claim 15, Wybrow teaches positioning the layered structure using automated means ([0046]). As to claims 16 and 17, Wybrow teaches all of the claimed materials ([0051]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742