DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 7 (claims 11-21, 23, 25, 31 and 40) and a heavy chain variable region of amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 167 and a light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 43 in the reply filed on 9/2/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, 11-21,23,25,28-36, and 39-41 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 7,9, 28-30, 32-36 and 41 are withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected inventions (i.e., Groups 1-6, and 8-10). Claims 12-13,15-21, 23, 25 are withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected sequences of a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region of an antibody.
Claims 11, 14, 31 and 40 are under examination to the extent they read on a heavy chain variable region of amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 167 and a light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 43.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDSs) filed on 10/20/2023 and 6/24/2026 have been considered.
Specification
(a)The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
(b)The use of the term PER.C6® (page 157), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected because a title “BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF FIGURES” is missing at Pg. 164 which describes Figures 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 14, 31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11, 14, 31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete because claims depend from claim 9 which is non-elected invention.
For a compact prosecution of the instantly claimed invention, the examiner assumes that claim 11 does not depend from claim 9, and that claim 11 is broadly drawn to an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof , wherein the antibody or antigen binding fragments thereof comprises: (i) a CDR-H1 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 9, a CDR-H2 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 10, a CDR-H3 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 11, a CDR-L1 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 18, a CDR-L2 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 19 and/or a CDR-L3 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 20; or (ii) a CDR-H1 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 164, a CDR-H2 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 10, a CDR-H3 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 11, a CDR-L1 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 18, a CDR-L2 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 19 and/or a CDR-L3 domain comprising SEQ ID No: 20, optionally wherein the antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises at least one, at least two, at least three, at least four, at least five, or at least six of the CDRs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The written description in this case only sets forth an antibody or a fragment comprising (i) a CDRH1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10-11, respectively, and CDRL1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18-20, respectively; or (ii) CDRH1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 164, 10, and 11, respectively, and CDRL1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18-20, respectively; or an antibody comprising a heavy chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 167 and a light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 43; and therefore the written description is not commensurate in scope with “ optionally an antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprising at least one, at least two, at least three, at least four or at least five CDRs”.
The specification at page 49 discloses an antibody H3_H3 that comprises a heavy chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 167 and a light chain variable region that comprises amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 43. However, the specification does not disclose any antibody that comprises only one CDR, two CDR, three CDR, 4 CDR or less than six would specifically bind to an antigen.
Making a polyclonal antibody against a polypeptide is well known in the art. Chamow and Ashkenazi state on page 52, 1st paragraph (TIBTECH 14: 52-60, 1996) teach that making human monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) which are suitable for therapeutics are difficult for two reasons. First, humans are generally tolerant to their own antigens. Second, ethical considerations place restrictions on the active immunization of humans for the purpose of generating mAbs. They suggest that alternative technologies have been used to generate mAbs for therapeutic purposes, such technologies are (i) to produce chimeric or humanized antibodies, (ii) to select antibodies from phage display library, (iii) to generate human antibodies in animals such as mice by replacing the genetic loci for endogenous antibodies with gene elements for human antibodies, and (iv) to generate an antibody like molecule by combining framework sequences from a human mAb with sequences from a human protein that carries a target recognition function. Rudikoff et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 79: 1979-1983, 1982) teach that a large number of structural diversity can be generated from the germ line repertoire because more than 200 light (L) and heavy (H) chain gene exist in the germ line. They disclose that a single amino acid mutation in antigen can result in different antibody generation with different specificities and one CDR would not be enough for the antigen recognition. An antibody would need 6 CDRs to recognize the antigen with high specificity.
The first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. § 112 "requires a 'written description of the invention which is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement." Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563 (Fed. Cir. 1991). An adequate written description of a chemical invention "requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties." University of Rochester V. G.D. Searle & Co., Inc., 358 F.3d 916, 927 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., Inc., 119 F.3d 1559, 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Fiers V. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1993). "A description of what a material does, other than of what it is, usually does not suffice." Rochester, 358 F.3d at 923; Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568. Instead, the "disclosure must allow one skilled in the art to visualize or recognize the identity of the subject matter purportedly described." Id. In addition, possession of a genus "may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of [compounds].. falling within the scope of the genus." Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1569. Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus. See Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927. One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Therefore, only the antibody or a fragment thereof comprising (i) a CDRH1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10-11, respectively, and CDRL1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18-20, respectively; or (ii) CDRH1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 164, 10, and 11, respectively, and CDRL1-3 having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18-20, respectively; or an antibody comprising a heavy chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 167 and a light chain variable region of SEQ ID NO: 43, but not the full breadth of the claim meets the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph.
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. No. 11,066,480 (Soan-Kettering Cancer Center).
The instantly claimed antibody or a fragment thereof comprising at least one CDR having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18 is 100% identical to the SEQ ID NO: 6 (16C5, LCDR1) taught by US Pat. No. 11,066,480 (see sequence alignment).
Therefore, the instantly claimed invention is anticipated by the prior art of record.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevens et al. (US Pat. 7,582,298).
The instantly claimed antibody or a fragment thereof comprising at least one CDR having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 19 is 100% identical to the SEQ ID NO: 15 as taught by Stevens et al. (see sequence alignment).
Therefore, the instantly claimed invention is anticipated by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
An antibody or a fragment comprising a heavy chain variable region comprising or consisting of SEQ ID NO: 167 and a light chain variable region comprising or consisting of SEQ ID NO: 43 (as recited in claim 14 (v)) is free of prior art.
/GYAN CHANDRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674