Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eilertsen (US 2021/0209937) in view of Cavalcanti et al (US 2018/0295655)
Regarding claims 1 and 24. Eilertsen discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a roadside unit, a message comprising an indication of a network address associated with a location-based service (see at least paragraph [0058]); access the location-based service over a connection with a network device, wherein the location-based service is accessed using the network address received from the roadside unit and based at least in part on a location of the UE (see at least paragraphs [0047] and [0058]); and receive location-based information from the location-based service over the connection with the network device (see at least paragraph [0046]).
Eilertsen discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that message is a sidelink message, However, Cavalcanti, from the same field of endeavor, teaches RSUs and UEs exchanging sidelink communication services (see at least abstract and paragraph [0045]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Cavalcanti, as indicated, into the communication method Eilertsen for the purpose of establishing communication and extending network services.
Regarding claims 2 and 25, Eilertsen in view Cavalcanti discloses an apparatus wherein the sidelink message further indicates a set of one or more locations at which the UE accesses the location-based service to receive the location-based information, the location-based information comprising signal phase and timing information for a respective location of the set of one or more locations (see at least fig. 4, and paragraphs [0046], [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Eilertsen in view Cavalcanti discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to compare the location of the UE to the set of one or more locations: and determine that the location of the UE matches a location of the set of one or more locations based at least in part on the comparison, wherein accessing the location-based service is based at least in part on the location of the UE matching the location of the set of one or more locations (see at least paragraphs [0047] and [0058]).
Claims 1-3 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eilertsen (US 2021/0209937) in view of Yang et al (US 11,937,211, hereinafter referred to as Yang)
Regarding claims 1 and 24. Eilertsen discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a roadside unit, a message comprising an indication of a network address associated with a location-based service (see at least paragraph [0058]); access the location-based service over a connection with a network device, wherein the location-based service is accessed using the network address received from the roadside unit and based at least in part on a location of the UE (see at least paragraphs [0047] and [0058]); and receive location-based information from the location-based service over the connection with the network device (see at least paragraph [0046]).
Eilertsen discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that message is a sidelink message, However, Yang, from the same field of endeavor, teaches RSUs and UEs exchanging sidelink communication services (see at least Col.11, lines 20-33). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Cavalcanti, as indicated, into the communication method Eilertsen for the purpose of establishing communication and extending network services.
Regarding claims 2 and 25, Eilertsen in view Yang discloses an apparatus wherein the sidelink message further indicates a set of one or more locations at which the UE accesses the location-based service to receive the location-based information, the location-based information comprising signal phase and timing information for a respective location of the set of one or more locations (see at least fig. 4, and paragraphs [0046], [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Eilertsen in view Yang discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to compare the location of the UE to the set of one or more locations: and determine that the location of the UE matches a location of the set of one or more locations based at least in part on the comparison, wherein accessing the location-based service is based at least in part on the location of the UE matching the location of the set of one or more locations (see at least paragraphs [0047] and [0058]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eilertsen in view Cavalcanti/Yang and further in view of Yang et al (US 2021/0211850). Hereinafter referred to as Yang-850.
Regarding claims 10-12, Eilertsen in view Cavalcanti/Yang discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the sidelink message comprises application description/service type/commercial information specific to the location of the UE; and accessing the location-based service is based at least in part on the commercial information. However, Yang-850, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that the sidelink message comprises application description/service type/commercial information specific to the location of the UE; and accessing the location-based service is based at least in part on the commercial information (see at least paragraph [0056]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Yang-850, as indicated, into the teaching of Eilertsen in view Cavalcanti/Yang for the purpose of extending network range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 13-14 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476