Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 4 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a grinding device in claim 1; an immersion device in claim 1; and a crushing device in claim 1; water adding devices of claim 2, an air blowing device in claim 16, and a heating device in claim 10.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The immersion device is understood to comprise at least a conveyance channel or pipe for immersing and conveying the soybeans (Specification, p. 2, line 21 and 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claiming 1,2,and 17 recite a “grinding device”. Applicant does not describe what this device comprises. This is only depicted as a black box in fig. 1 (element 5). For purposes of examination, this is understood to be a “grinder”. Claim 2 recites “water adding devices”. Applicant does not describe what these devices comprise. For purposes of examination, these are understood to be “water supplies to add water”. Claim 10 recites a heating device. Applicant does not describe what this device comprises. For purposes of examination, this is understood to be a “heater”. Claim 16 recites an “air blowing device”. Applicant does not describe what this device comprises. For purposes of examination, this is understood to be an air blower.
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention, nor which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 1 recites “a crushing device”. Applicant does not describe what this crushing device comprises. This is only depicted as a black box in fig. 1 (element 9). For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as any device capable of at least some crushing.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 13 recite “the lower part” and “the upper part”. There is insufficient antecedent bases for these in the claims. For purposes of examination, these are understood as “a lower part” and “an upper part”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[Examiner’s note: Strikethrough indicates that the limitation is not disclosed by the reference]
Claim 1, 3, 5- 8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada Sangyo Co Ltd. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2012187058A; in applicant’s IDS; English machine-translation of Description attached; herein “Harada”) in view of Atinaja (U.S. Application Publication 2021/ 0022557) and Nakano (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/01769258).
Regarding claim 1, Harada discloses a tofu product production device comprising:
an immersion device (fig. 2, immersing device 16) that immerses the ground soybeans in water
a crushing device (Harada, Fig. 1, grinder 44, this is the crushing device for grinding the said soaked ground-growing soybean) that crushes the swollen soybeans to obtain raw soybean paste,
wherein the ground soybeans are immersed for a short period of time in the immersion device (¶0042; some is put back in the immersion device).
However, Hamada does not disclose “a grinding device that grinds raw soybeans to obtain ground soybeans”; nor, wherein in the immersion device, with the soybeans in water, “obtaining swollen soybeans swollen to at least 1.2 to 2.4 times”.
However, Hamada does teach that the immersing device is provided with “chopped” raw soybean (¶0030). And Atinaja, for instance, teaches that a griding device can “chop” beans for such purposes for further processing into bean butters and pastes and the like (Atinaja, ¶0052) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hamada in view of Nakano with the teachings of Atinaja, to provide a “grinding device” for pre-grinding/chopping the soybeans before putting them into the hopper leading into the immersing device, to provide the chopped/ ground soybeans to the hopper, in order to improve water absorption and shorten immersion time (¶0014). Regarding “obtaining swollen soybeans swollen to at least 1.2 to 2.4 times”, Hamada already teaches the immersion device and soaking the soybeans and, and it would only be a matter of time in the immersion device, and the properties of the soybean that would account for the soybeans swelling/ absorption of water. The device is fully capable of achieving the claimed swollenness, and the manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (see MPEP 2114(II). As well, for instance, in making their tofu product, Nakano teaches having the 100 kg of soybeans swell to 220kg, which is a swell factor of 2.2, which is within the claimed range. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to keep the soybeans soaking, enabling them to swell to within the claimed range, in order to process the beans to create a conventional tofu product and the swelling of the soybeans with water is a conventional method of making this product.
Regarding claim 3, Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein the immersion device is provided with at least one water adding device (Harada, 18, ¶0032) that adds water according to a swelling speed of the ground soybeans.
Regarding claim 5, Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein the immersion device has a conveyance channel (Harada, Fig. 2, long tank 20 is the channel) for conveying the ground soybeans while the ground soybeans are immersed in water, and
the conveyance channel conveys the ground soybeans from a lower part to an upper part in a direction of gravity (fig. 1, lower part of 16 to upper part of the next process).
Regarding claim 6, Hamada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein
the immersion device includes
a pipe (Hamada, 20) configuring a conveyance channel for conveying the ground soybeans while the ground soybeans are immersed in water, and
a pump (Hamada, Fig. 1, 32 and 34 that move/pump the water) that supplies the ground soybeans and the water toward the pipe.
Regarding claim 7, Hamada n view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 6, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein the pipe is formed such that the ground soybean is directed from the lower part to the upper part in the direction of gravity (Hamada, fig. 1, dropping from 36 to get to P and eventually get to 42, initially going in the direction of gravity).
Regarding claim 8, Hamada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 6, as above, and further teaches wherein the pipe (Hamada, 20) has a folded portion with an angle of 180 degrees or less (Hamada, fig. 1, where the pipe lets the soybean in, connecting 20 to 12, that is a “folded portion” with a turn of 180 degrees; or where 20 turns into 36.).
Regarding claim 12, Hamada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein the immersion device includes a trough (20) configuring a conveyance channel for conveying the ground soybeans while the ground soybeans are immersed in water (Hamada, ¶0038), and a screw provided inside the trough (rotating shaft 22), and the ground soybeans and water supplied into the trough travel through the inside of the trough as the screw rotates.
Regarding claim 13, Hamada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 12, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein the trough is formed such that the ground soybean is directed from the lower part to the upper part in the direction of gravity (Hamada, fig. 1, dropping from 36 to get to P and eventually get to 42, initially going in the direction of gravity).
Regarding claim 14, Hamada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 12, as above, and further teaches a tofu product production device wherein one or a plurality of the screws (Hamada, 24) are provided inside the trough.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada Sangyo Co Ltd. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2012187058A; in applicant’s IDS; English machine-translation of Description attached; herein “Harada”) in view of Atinaja (U.S. Application Publication 2021/ 0022557) and Nakano (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/01769258) and further in view of Matsuura (U.S. Patent 4,636,398).
Regarding claim 2, Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach a tofu product production device wherein the grinding device is provided with one or more water adding devices for grinding the raw soybeans while water is added. Harada and Atinaja, though, already teach that the beans may be chopped/ground before the immersion/soaking step. However, Matsuura teaches how to grind soybeans, and he teaches “wherein the grinding device is provided with one or more water adding devices for grinding the raw soybeans while water is added.” (Matsuura, column 1 line 66 - column 2 line 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano, to add the teachings of Matsuura, to do the initial griding in a conventional method, by adding water, in order to wash off the beans and remove the “soluble saccharides” in order to better prepare the beans for tofu and for the soaking in a conventional method without unexpected results, as Harada and Atinaja already teach that the beans may be chopped/ground before the immersion/soaking step, so this adding water would help prepare them. .
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada Sangyo Co Ltd. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2012187058A; in applicant’s IDS; English machine-translation of Description attached; herein “Harada”) in view of Atinaja (U.S. Application Publication 2021/ 0022557) and Nakano (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/01769258) and further in view of Ismagilov (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/ 0256870) and Struble (U.S. Patent 2,232,282).
Regarding claim 4, Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teach all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but do not further teach a tofu product production device wherein the immersion device has a conveyance channel for conveying the ground soybeans while the ground soybeans are immersed in water, and a cross-sectional area of the conveyance channel increases in accordance with volumetric expansion due to swelling of the ground soybeans. However, Struble teaches bean expansion in water, as is well known, and the need to accommodate for such expansion (Struble, p. 3, column 2, lines 50-60), and Ismagilov teaches having a channel with a tapered/expanding diameter/cross section in order to accommodate expanding beans or product (Ismagilov, ¶60, “duct can be …tapered”), in order to make sure there is enough room for the product to expand and at the same time, move it through the further food processing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano with the teachings of Struble and Ismagilov, to have the channel diameter increase in size as it moves along, in order to make sure there is enough room for the product to expand and at the same time, move it along to further food processing.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada Sangyo Co Ltd. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2012187058A; in applicant’s IDS; English machine-translation of Description attached; herein “Harada”) in view of Atinaja (U.S. Application Publication 2021/ 0022557) and Nakano (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/01769258) and further in view of Iwamoto (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/ 0128335).
Regarding claim 17, Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach a tofu product production device comprising: a rotary positive displacement single shaft eccentric screw pump to which the ground soybeans obtained by the grinding device and water are supplied, wherein the rotary positive displacement single shaft eccentric screw pump supplies the ground soybeans and the water to the immersion device while mixing the ground soybeans and the water. However, such a pump, such as a mohno pump (Applicant’s specification, ¶79) , is conventional in the art to move a soybean slurry product, such as in Iwamoto (Iwamoto, ¶0071). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Harada in view of Atinaja and Nakano with the teaching of Iwamoto, to have the claimed conventional pump moving the ground beans to the immersion device, in order to move a slurried mixture in a conventional way with the expected result of moving the product consistently.
No art is currently being applied against claims 9-11, 15, 16, and 18-19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761