CTNF 18/556,660 CTNF 101927 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by SATOH EP-1071151-A1 . Regarding claim 1, SATOH teaches a method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell, comprising: a process A of manufacturing a first structure by stacking a first film (2), and a first electrode (4); PNG media_image1.png 707 1134 media_image1.png Greyscale a process B of manufacturing a second structure by stacking a second film (2), a second current collector (3b; (0021), “the collector is not particularly limited and, for example, a metal foil or a metal mesh having high conductivity and excellent malleability is used. For such collectors, for example, … copper foil is preferable in the case of the anode”; the Examiner notes that electrode 3b of SATOH corresponds to the second current collector 122 of the instant disclosure as depicted in FIG. 3), and a second electrode (5); PNG media_image2.png 707 1134 media_image2.png Greyscale a process C of disposing a separator (6) between the first structure and the second structure; PNG media_image3.png 707 1134 media_image3.png Greyscale a process D of manufacturing a unit cell by sealing ((0032), “In this example, as shown in … Fig. 2 … first packed with a shaped laminated film 2, and the periphery … sealed”) an outer periphery of the first film and an outer periphery of the second film; a process E of charging the unit cell while pressurizing the unit cell ((0040), “the battery is pre-charged while pressure is applied thereto at least once, thereby suppressing the deformation due to charge and discharge involved in using the battery thereafter”) in a stacking direction of the first structure, the separator, and the second structure. Regarding claim 2, the method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to claim 1, wherein the process E comprises a process of pressurizing and charging the unit cell under a reduced-pressure atmosphere ((0039), “preferably 0.05MPa or more. At the same time, it is necessary that the pressure is at a degree whereby a separator is not crushed”; the Examiner notes that atmospheric pressure is generally accepted as 0.101325 MPa (Britannica). Therefore, a pressure in the atmosphere of 0.05 MPa represents a reduced-pressure atmosphere). Regarding claim 4, the method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to claim 1, wherein the process E comprises a process of charging two or more unit cells while pressurizing the two or more unit cells ((0046), “the pressurized pre-charging is performed on a plurality of batteries”) in a stacking direction of the two or more unit cells with the two or more unit cells stacked ((0092), “the four film packed batteries were placed in … two columns”; the Examiner notes that placing batteries in columns requires the unit cells be staked in a stacking direction) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATOH as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KWAK US-2022040710-A1 . Regarding claim 3, SATOH teaches: The method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to claim 1, wherein the process D comprises a process of sealing ((0032), “In this example, as shown in … Fig. 2 … first packed with a shaped laminated film 2, and the periphery … sealed”) the outer periphery of the first film (see FIG. 2) and the outer periphery of the second film (see FIG. 2) outside the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (5), respectively, PNG media_image4.png 707 1134 media_image4.png Greyscale SATOH is silent on wherein the invention further comprises a non-sealing region at least part of the outer periphery of at least one of the first film and the second film. KWAK US-2022-0407105-A1 teaches a non-sealing region (120; (0013), “a fixing jig capable of preventing deformation of corner portions of an electrode assembly receiving portion and maintaining the initial shape of the corner portions”) in at least part of the outer periphery of at least one of the first film and the second film. PNG media_image5.png 151 210 media_image5.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of SATOH by further comprising a non-sealing region at least part of the outer periphery of at least one of the first film and the second film, as suggested by KWAK. This modification would benefit the system by preventing deformation of corner portions of the electrode assembly receiving portion and maintaining the initial shape of the corner portions . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATOH as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of OTA US-20170025646-A1 . Regarding claim 5, SATOH teaches the method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to claim 1, but is silent on: Further comprising a process F of disposing the unit cell in a package, wherein the process E (charging the unit cell while pressurizing the unit cell in a stacking direction of the first structure, the separator, and the second structure) is performed after the process F (disposing the unit cell in a package) OTA teaches: further comprising a process F of disposing the unit cell in a package (260), PNG media_image6.png 619 330 media_image6.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of Satoh by comprising a process F of disposing the unit cell in a package, as shown by OTA. This modification would benefit the system by mitigating defect propagation, fire hazard, and metal contamination ((0130), “the module case 260 … can further mitigate defect propagation, fire hazard, and metal contamination”). Claim 5 further requires wherein the process E (charging the unit cell while pressurizing the unit cell in a stacking direction of the first structure, the separator, and the second structure) is performed after the process F (disposing the unit cell in a package). OTA further teaches: ((0174), “the enclosed battery module (process F of instant) is then subject to a formation process in step 980 , in which an initial charging operation (process E of instant) can be performed” OTA additionally teaches the concept of charging the unit cell while pressurizing the unit cell ((0057), “A degassing step is normally performed to release gases introduced either during initial charging stage called pre-charge step or during the electrochemical reactions in the battery formation step”) OTA therefore teaches process E performed after the process F. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of SATOH by performing process E (charging and pressurizing) after process F (disposing the unit cell in a package), as suggested by OTA. This modification would benefit the system by increasing cycle life and overall safety performance ((0057), “the presence of entrapped gas in the electrodes generally reduces … cycle life, and the overall safety performance”). Regarding claim 6, modified SATOH teaches the method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to claim 5 … wherein the process E is performed after the process F and before the process G (see below), but is silent on: further comprising a process G of manufacturing a stack cell by sealing the unit cell in the package after the process F, OTA teaches: Further comprising a process G of manufacturing a stack cell by sealing the unit cell in the package after the process F (the unit cell is disposed in a package) (OTA, (0057), “A reseal step may be taken to seal the battery cell again after the entrapped gas is released”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of modified SATOH by comprising a process G of manufacturing a stack cell by sealing the unit cell in the package after the process F, as suggested by OTA. This modification would benefit the system by allowing for entrapped gas in the stack cell to be released before final sealing (OTA; (0057), “a degassing step is normally performed to release gases introduced either during initial charging stage called pre-charge step or during the electrochemical reactions in the battery formation step”). Further regarding claim 6, modified Satoh already teaches a packaging, and a corresponding order of the method of packaging wherein the process E is performed after the process F and before the process G. An analysis of modified Satoh teaching this limitation is provided below: To support clarity of the record, the Examiner notes the following claim limitation of the instant application “wherein the process E is performed after the process F and before the process G” will be interpreted as follows below: wherein the process E (charging and pressuring of the unit cell) is performed after the process F (the unit cell is disposed in a package) and [the process E (charging and pressuring of the unit cell) is performed] before the process G (sealing). Regarding claim limitations analysis as it pertains to the ordering of processes E, F, and G as disclosed above, the Examiner notes that modified Satoh teaches the resealing to occur after the entrapped gas is released (OTA, (0057), “A reseal step may be taken to seal the battery cell again after the entrapped gas is released”). Modified Satoh further teaches that entrapped gas is introduced in the initial charging and pressuring stage (Ota, (0057), “A degassing step is normally performed to release gases introduced either during initial charging stage called pre-charge step or during the electrochemical reactions in the battery formation step”). Therefore, it is implied by modified Satoh that the unit cell(s) is disposed in a package (as taught in claim 5), charged, gases are released, and then the packaging is resealed. Therefore, modified Satoh teaches the process E (charging and pressurizing of the unit cell) is performed before the process G (sealing), but after process F (disposing the unit cell(s) in a package; further see claim 5 where OTA teaches process E performed after the process F). Regarding claim 7, modified SATOH teaches the method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to claim 5, and modified Satoh further teaches: OTA teaches wherein the package comprises a first package member and a second package member (see OTA, FIG. 2) PNG media_image7.png 621 330 media_image7.png Greyscale and the process F comprises a process of disposing the unit cell in a first recessed portion formed in the first package member with a gap formed between an inner wall of the first recessed portion and the unit cell, a process of disposing the unit cell in a second recessed portion formed in the second package member with a gap formed between an inner wall of the second recessed portion and the unit cell (see below for explanation of rejection of this limitation) The Examiner notes that each of the unit cell (201/202/203) pouches comprises a first recessed portion with a gap formed between an inner wall of the first recessed portion and the unit cell and a second recessed portion formed with a gap formed between an inner wall of the second recessed portion and the unit cell (see FIG. 2 below) PNG media_image8.png 756 405 media_image8.png Greyscale Moreover, the Examiner notes that OTA teaches that the packaging comprises substantially the same material that constitutes the pouch in each single pouch battery cell (OTA, (0130), “the module case 260 comprises substantially the same material that constitutes the pouch in each single pouch battery cell 201 - 203 ”). Therefore, OTA implies that if each single pouch battery cell comprises a gap, first recessed portion, and second recessed portion, the packaging will also comprise a substantially same gap, first recessed portion, and second recessed portion. The instant claim limitation further requires: a process of stacking the first package member in which the unit cell is disposed and the second package member in which the unit cell is disposed. The Examiner notes that FIG. 2 of OTA shows the first package member and second package member stacked. The Examiner notes that first package member is situated above and has contact with the second package member. PNG media_image9.png 814 436 media_image9.png Greyscale The Examiner further notes the first and second portion of the pouch on each of the cells of OTA are shown to be stacked in FIG. 2 in the same arrangement as the stacking disclosed in FIG. 4 of the instant disclosure, and as explained above, the packaging of OTA comprises substantially the same material that constitutes the pouch in each single pouch battery cell of OTA. Therefore, OTA implies the package of OTA is stacked in the same arrangement as the stacking of the instant disclosure. Stacking of package members of individual pouches in OTA: PNG media_image10.png 675 362 media_image10.png Greyscale Stacking of package as disclosed in instant FIG. 4 for reference: PNG media_image11.png 463 622 media_image11.png Greyscale Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EVAN M ABELSON whose telephone number is (571)272-9302. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM U.S. EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allison Bourke can be reached at (303) 297-4684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. EVAN ABELSON Examiner Art Unit 1721 /ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 2 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 3 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 4 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 5 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 6 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 7 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 8 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 9 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 10 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/556,660 Page 11 Art Unit: 1721