DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species 1 (Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12 and 20) in the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged. However, since applicant did not distinctly indicate whether election is with or without traverse and did not point out any supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a) and 818.03(c)).
Claim Objections
Claim7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(a) Claim 7. line 6, typing error: “the ferrite member” should be “the magnetic member”.
(b) Claim 8. line 3, typing error: “a tubular shape” should be “the tubular shape”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 20230068474 A1) in view of Kim (US 20150249286 A1).
Regarding Claim 7:
Nakamura teaches that a power generation element comprising:
a magnetic member (1, Fig. 1; para 0042-0069) that produces a large Barkhausen effect (see Abstract) by a change in an external magnetic field formed by a magnetic field generation source (12, Fig. 1);
a ferrite member (3, para 0076) enclosing the magnetic member, the ferrite member having a rectangular shape; and a coil (2) wound around the ferrite member.
Nakamura teaches the claim invention except the ferrite member having a tubular shape.
However, this feature is very well known in prior art as Kim taught in para 0050 that ferrite member 330 is formed in the cylindrical shape that surrounds the coaxial cable.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ferrite member having a tubular shape to provide exceptional structural strength and uniform pressure distribution.
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Nakamura teaches that the ferrite member includes a main body (i.e. upper and lower part of 3 in Fig. 1) that encloses the magnetic member, the main body having a tubular shape (see Nakamura’ para 0050), and a first flange (right part of 3 in Fig. 1) and a second flange (left part of 3 in Fig. 1) provided at both ends of the main body in a winding axis (not labeled; i.e. axis of coil 3 in Fig. 1) direction of the coil, the first flange and the second flange having a flange shape, and the coil is located between the first flange and the second flange (construe from Fig. 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Koji (JP 2018-120921 A).
Regarding Claim 10:
Nakamura teaches that a power generation element comprising:
a magnetic member (1, Fig. 1; para 0042-0069) that produces a large Barkhausen effect (see Abstract) by a change in an external magnetic field formed by a magnetic field generation source (12, Fig. 1);
a coil (2) wound around the magnetic member
a ferrite member (3, para 0076) provided at an end of the magnetic member, the ferrite member being aligned with the coil along a winding axis (not labeled; i.e. axis of coil 3 in Fig. 1) direction of the coil.
Nakamura teaches the claim invention except wherein the ferrite member is a resin molded body containing at least one of a soft magnetic powder and a hard magnetic powder, and a resin.
However, Koji teaches that the ferrite member is a resin molded body containing at least one of a soft magnetic powder and a hard magnetic powder, and a resin (see claim 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to select Koji’s ferrite member made of soft magnetic powder, hard magnetic powder, and resin for Nakamua’s material, since this modification will provide at least low core loss, high permeability and resistance to corrosion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 11-12 and 20
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 recites, A power generation element comprising:
a magnetic member that produces a large Barkhausen effect by a change in an external magnetic field formed by a magnetic field generation source;
a coil wound around the magnetic member; and
a ferrite member provided at an end of the magnetic member, the ferrite member
being aligned with the coil,
wherein
the ferrite member includes a main body and a protrusion protruding from the
main body,
the main body is located inside a columnar space, the columnar space being
surrounded by a virtual plane when it is assumed that an outer edge of the coil when
viewed from a winding axis direction of the coil is extended to both sides in the winding axis direction of the coil, and the columnar space being sandwiched between two virtual planes that are in contact with both ends of the magnetic member in the winding axis direction of the coil and are orthogonal to the winding axis direction of the coil, and
the protrusion is connected to the main body and located outside the columnar space.
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837