U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the claims filed January 13, 2026, in which claims 1-14 were presented for examination, of which claims 1-3 and 9-14 were withdrawn due to not being included in the elected embodiment, and claims 4-8 were amended, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed January 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claim(s) 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kazuyoshi Yoshida “Yoshida”(JP6685071B2) in view of Borrell et al. “Borrell” (US Patent 5,051,110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuyoshi Yoshida “Yoshida”(JP6685071B2) in view of Borrell et al. “Borrell” (US Patent 5,051,110).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida discloses a method for producing an aramid spun
yarn, comprising applying the para- aramid staple fiber according to claim 1 to a ring
spinning process to produce an aramid spun yarn (Page 2, line: 10 (starting with “(1)
Twist yarn spun yarn”) to line: 16, and Page 5, Par. 5 (starting with “Example 1
Polyparaphenylene), last 8 lines of Par. 5) having a Ne16 to Ne30 single yarn (Page
5, Par. 5 (starting with “Example 1 Polyparaphenylene), last 5 lines of Par. 5.
Examiner notes a “cotton count of 20s” is well known as Ne20) and a twist
multiplier in the range of 2.0 to 4.0 (Page 5, Par. 5 (starting with “Example 1
Polyparaphenylene), last 5 lines of Par. 5. Examiner notes a “twist coefficient of
2.9” is within the claimed range), and
wherein the para-aramid staple fiber has an elongation of 4.1% to 6% (shown as an elongation of 4.5% in Example 1 of Machine Translated Table 2 below) and a strength of 15 to 24 g/d (Examiner notes one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the tensile strength of 13.4 cN/dtex in Example 1 is within the Applicants claimed range).
Table 2 – Machine Translated
Yoshida is silent regarding wherein the ring spinning process includes a carding process at a speed of 30 kg/hr or more.
However, Borrell teaches yet another fiber produced from ring spinning, wherein Borrell teaches the ring spinning process includes a carding process at a speed of 30 kg/hr or more (Col. 9, lines: 51-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring spinning process of Yoshida, to include a carding process at a speed of 30 kg/hr or more as taught by Borrell, in order to create a structurally stable fiber. Incorporating a carding process at a speed of 30 kg/hr or more into Yoshida’s ring spinning process would have been a predictable use of a known technique, that leads to a reasonable expectation of success, and is well known for ring spinning processes.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida in view of Borrell disclose the aramid spun yarn has a twist multiplier of Ne 20 single yarn in the range of 2.0 to 4.0 (Page 5, Par. 5 (starting with “Example 1 Polyparaphenylene), last 5 lines of Par. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida in view of Borrell disclose the aramid spun yarn according to claim 4, wherein: the aramid spun yarn satisfies an elongation of 3.5% or more (Table 2 machine translated from original foreign document, as shown below, comparative examples 2-3 with elongations of 3.9% and 4.0%) and a strength of 7 g/d or more (Page 2, line: 10 (starting with “(1) Twist yarn spun yarn”) to line: 13, examiner notes the strength is 10 CN/detx which is within the Applicants claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida in view of Borrell disclose the invention substantially as claimed above.
They do not explicitly disclose the produced aramid spun yarn satisfies a cut resistance index of 12 to 18, as measured according to the test method specified in the EN388 Blade Cut Resistance version 2016.
While they do not disclose a cut resistance index of 12 to 18, as measured according to the test method specified in the EN388 Blade Cut Resistance version 2016, it does disclose satisfying the cut resistance standards presented in JIS L 1096: 2010 (Page 5, Par. 3-4), and discloses structural features/physical properties from the Applicants invention, as claimed.
Therefore, the resultant product would obviously provide the same test results because it satisfies the EN388 Blade Cut Resistance version 2016 limitation the Applicant has posed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent (See
PTO-892) to applicant's disclosure.
/DAKOTA MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732